Login

Name: starbuck (Signed) · Date: 21 Jan 2019 09:33 PM · starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Story: Chapter: Like a House on Fire
i can't believe how much sirius has changed - i think that before, he would have pestered millie until she finally gave in and started arguing with him and then everything would have probably fallen apart. now, he is letting her think things through, giving her space and that's wonderful, though i'm obviously rooting for him and millie to finally end up together. i admit, when he poked her to see if she was real, i had to laugh at him, but sirius is exceptionally cute when he's unsure of himself.

oh and millie knows he's an animgaus? how did she figure that out? and she knows remus is a werewolf! i guess that millie is smart and figured it out all by herself.

finally she tells him she loves him - i thought it would never happen, the way millie likes to hide her true feelings even though they're painfully obvious (to everyone except sirius).

they're going to be in love and scared of it together, at least, and that's what counts. forever? maybe and i hope so because the two of them together are too perfect to not last forever. i just really loved this story and reading about sirius and millie through their crazy antics, bottled up feelings, fake dating that's not really fake and the way both of them changed little by little during the story.

kris


Name: starbuck (Signed) · Date: 21 Jan 2019 09:14 PM · starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Story: Chapter: Like a House on Fire
excuse me, millie white! sirius absolutely deserves another chance and there's no way you can not give it to him, seriously!

millie's reminiscing at the start of this chapter was really sad - it's always like that with seventh year stories when the characters you've grown to love have to leave the familiar confines of hogwarts, a place they called home for seven years and embark into adulthood. especially when what awaits them is war. it's great that nobody was seriously injured in the death eater attack but the sheer terror it caused was surely felt across the castle - and obviously, not just that one attack, but all the disappearances and attacks on muggles and muggleborns, as well.

i love how you manage to balance out the scary things that voldemort and death eaters mean with something so beautiful as two teenagers (adults in the wizarding world) being in love with each other. it's something the death eaters and voldemort can't stop, can't do anything about it - love is there and they can't fight it (which is what ultimately brings voldemort down, as we know). and even in a fairly light hearted story like this one, i think it's great that you've incorporated some of the threat that the wizarding world faces. both millie and sirius know that they want to fight in the war and portect their friends (who are both of their families since they don't have their own anymore).

their whole exchange was very sweet to read, especially sirius' blurted out declaration of love, but he wouldn't be sirius if it didn't come out like that. and i'm glad he told her finally!

(and also i'm happy that after 30+ chapters i finally found out how millie's parents died - i did suspect it was death eater related but it's nice when a mystery is solved. it just goes to show how much millie has grown as a person and how her relationship with sirius has changed when she has no qualms about talking to him about her family).

kris


Name: starbuck (Signed) · Date: 21 Jan 2019 08:59 PM · starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Story: Chapter: Like a House on Fire
the way millie's father made her fall in love with reading with chocolate frogs is very original (and obviously a good way to do something like that) and also very cute.

i see sirius is being as frustrating as ever - i don't understand why he couldn't act like a normal person and just talk to millie and tell her how he feels, but at least with ignoring her (or simply respecting her wishes) he is managing to get a reaction out of her so at least there is that. but the little notes he puts on the chocolate frogs are adorable - let's hope millie softens up enough for her to actually listen to what he has to say.

and okay, lol at millie planning to stumble into sirius and giving him a note like some sort of spy - what's wrong with actually talking abut things when you can reenact james bond or something?

well, it seems millie is coming to her senses and realising she wasn't really fair to sirius. she finally started talking to him after everything that's happened.

kris


Name: starbuck (Signed) · Date: 21 Jan 2019 09:20 AM · starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Story: Chapter: Like a House on Fire

i can't believe sirius is hanging out in the hospital wing as a dog just to be close to millie. he should just gather up his courage (we know he is brave) and try and talk to her. tell her he loves her. do something instead of pretending all the time (now he's a dog, before he was pretending to be with her and all that). i know he wants to be close to her but after everything, after realising he is in love with her, i would have expected more from him. and from millie, as well - i would have expected she would be at least willing to listen to him instead of still thinking about how  to avoid him.


and yes, remus! finally someone who is trying to make these two silly people see the truth. please convince sirius to do something about this whole mess! remus is a really smart guy and i truly hope sirius listens to him and fixes things. and that millie is in a mood to listen to sirius. and forgive him. and love him.


kris    



Name: starbuck (Signed) · Date: 21 Jan 2019 07:17 AM · starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Story: Chapter: Like a House on Fire

this was certainly an explosive (pun intended!) chapter - i can't believe that the death eaters actually managed to attack hogsmeade! regulus seemed shifty though - did he know anything about the explosions? from the way he talked to sirius and the way he hesitated before he said 'blasts' i got the feeling that he knew more than he was letting on. though i don't believe he is actually evil and his character is one of my favourites from the books even though we don't actually see much of him or know a lot about him.


sirius' desperation when he thought millie was really badly hurt was difficult to read, but he saved her! he brought her to the castle and from the sound of her injuries, if he hadn't done that she would have probably died from blood loss. he finally realised he loved her - and i agree that he was stupid for taking so long to realise that, it was obvious around christmas, and even before that. but hopefully millie will be more likely to forgive him and actually listen to him now that he saved her life.


kris    



Name: starbuck (Signed) · Date: 20 Jan 2019 09:04 PM · starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Story: Chapter: Like a House on Fire

you are absolutely evil. i had really hoped that they would have gotten back together after their talk in the kitchens. but obviously, i was very wrong. sirius is dreadfully bad at explaining himself - i mean, who, in their right mind, would say that he was with millie to make marissa jealous when in reality that was never quite true! he should have done a much better job of telling her that he likes her or loves her or whatever he feels about her. and millie! she needs to stop being so damn stubborn and just accept the fact that sirius likes her. and she needs to start trusting him because if i were him, i would be at least a tiny bit hurt that she wouldn't believe him, his explanation, however bad he was at actually explaining things.

they need to get back together soon because my heart hurts - i really love both of them and just want them to be happy!

kris



Name: starbuck (Signed) · Date: 20 Jan 2019 08:34 PM · starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Story: Chapter: Like a House on Fire

my heart goes out to both sirius and millie. they're both hurting right now and it really isn't sirius' fault and if she would just give him the opportunity to talk to her, to explain things, i think she might forgive him.

maybe i am wrong because millie can be incredibly stubborn, especially when it comes to sirius. but ignoring him won't solve anything and she still loves him. so i hope she'll actually show up at the kitchens after dinner. sirius deserves this chance to try and convince her to actually be with him for real, no more of the fake dating stuff, no more wondering if what they have is real or not. i'm not quite sure about millie's reaction at his explanation or whether she will believe him but i really hope she does. she currently still wants to kill him or curse him but if he explains things properly, there's hope. even with someone as stubborn and insecure as millie. sirius needs to turn up his charm at like 1000% and be persuasive as hell.

kris



Name: starbuck (Signed) · Date: 20 Jan 2019 07:49 PM · starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Story: Chapter: Like a House on Fire

oh no, is millie in the hospital wing again? she probably fell or something while playing quidditch but at least they won the cup! and she's in love with sirius - so good news all round.

sirius is still as sweet as ever - he really is the perfect boyfriend, fussing over millie's comfort and wanting to stay with her. and it was quite obvious he was a little scared that she was badly hurt, even with madam pomfrey's wonderful ability to put back together quidditch players after they fall down. and he really has it bad for millie. he can't keep denying that he might be in love with her (but of course he will because love is too scary, isn't it?)

god no, drunk sirius with marissa is a bad bad idea. of course millie saw the two of them and i'm not sure if she'll ever trust him again, with all her insecurity! i'm not sure if she'll ever talk to him again. stupid marissa. sirius needs to fix this asap.

kris



Name: starbuck (Signed) · Date: 20 Jan 2019 07:28 PM · starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Story: Chapter: Like a House on Fire

are sirius and millie finally together then? without the fake prefix to their relationship? it sounds like they are and i'm really happy for them!

okay, it actually seems like they haven't talked about what their relationship is. and sirius is being dim - he is obviously in love with her, he just doesn't want to admit it. here's hoping he does think up and do something romantic for valentine's day with millie.

millie really needs the title of queen of denial - how could she even think that first, sirius would forget, and second, that they were anything but together, for real? how could she doubt he liked her by this point in time!

and a dinner date with sirius sounds wonderful - hopefully millie can rest assured that he does like her now. a romantic picnic in the forbidden forest might sound a tiny bit dangerous but obviously, it's incredibly romantic. and sirius is in love with millie! yeah you are, sirius, stop trying to deny it. their date was perfect.

kris



Name: starbuck (Signed) · Date: 20 Jan 2019 07:07 PM · starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Story: Chapter: Like a House on Fire

i think millie has some issues with her logic, especially when it comes to sirius and his playboying ways - how exactly does she come to the conclusion that being in a steady relationship for two months actually confirms his womanising ways? but at least she wouldn't be against more snogging with sirius, though i don't actually believe her that that's all she wants to to with him, because honestly, they've been doing a lot of stuff together for two months and she had fun and she realised he was a nice and decent guy. so she's just deluding herself, but that's okay, she'll come to her senses. i think.

millie's christmas morning with sirius might have started out with her threatening to kill him, but i'm definitely glad that it proceeded to be much more enjoyable. sirius' gift to her is lovely, but is he ever going to tell her the meaning behind it? but that ending! god, they're both so silly and perfect.

kris



Name: starbuck (Signed) · Date: 20 Jan 2019 06:46 PM · starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Story: Chapter: Like a House on Fire

i love how hard sirius has to try to control himself around millie in order to not just ravish her (or merely snog her, it's almost the same thing really!). i'm not sure why millie still doesn't believe that he is, in fact, sincere when he tells her that she is beautiful and amazing or that he cares about her but i'm hoping he will manage to convince her he is, and soon! they're too adorable and perfect for each other to not be together.

millie's confession about how she is going to feel very lonely without him was really touching and i bet sirius was just mentally jumping up and down from joy when he heard that.

and millie's explanation for not wanting to dance is actually hilarious but i see her point. that just gives sirius the perfect excuse to dance alone with her and i'm definitely down for that! they kissed again and it was sweet but what is sirius doing, pulling away? okay, i understand his reasoning but still.

yes, millie things are changing for the better and i love it!

kris



Name: starbuck (Signed) · Date: 20 Jan 2019 05:50 PM · starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Story: Chapter: Like a House on Fire

i feel really bad for millie - obviously, she's just now starting to process the grief she feels at her parents' death and there's not really a good time for that. christmas or no christmas, you can't escape grief. at some point you have to confront it and deal with your feelings or it will eat you up inside. millie might feel a little better with her friends and sirius, but i bet that the feeling of loss won't really disappear. and that's normal.

it's good that sirius is so stubborn and persistent - millie might want to close herself off from everyone, but having a friend or, well, a boyfriend, during a time like this is a really good thing and she needs someone in her life who truly cares about her. the way he comforted her, not really wheedling her about why exactly she was crying because he didn't need to - he understands millie and he likes (loves?) her, it was just a beautiful scene even if millie was crying in it. and they're going to the ball together on a proper date! or something like it anyway.

kris



Name: starbuck (Signed) · Date: 20 Jan 2019 05:34 PM · starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Story: Chapter: Like a House on Fire

i'm excited to find out more about millie - visiting her ancestral home seems like it might give us more information about her and her family, i'm still dying to know how her parents died. witherwoods sounds dreary by the way millie is describing it, and her house even more so - i'm not sure if it's because no one has lived there for some time or is it generally kinda creepy? i think millie must be happy that she doesn't have to this alone, that sirius is with her and i adore him for, not offering, but just simply stating that he'll go with her, like there was no question about it.

millie obviously hasn't really dealt with her parents' death - she needs to grieve and i feel like she's been avoiding all of it. it's not a great idea, bottling up your emotions or just ignoring them, but from what we see how she is with sirius - she's the queen of denial.

the scene at the graveyard was beautiful - i think millie might stop denying things soon. i hope.

kris



Name: starbuck (Signed) · Date: 20 Jan 2019 04:41 PM · starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Story: Chapter: Like a House on Fire

the norwegian ridgebacks is the most perfect band name - i love it!

and lily is right - sirius and millie are way too cute when they're mock arguing or playfully bantering. but it's definitely better than when they're actually arguing about stuff they wouldn't argue about if they could just admit to each other how they feel.

aw, i can just imagine millie looking all cute when she's annoyed instead of menacing or whatever and then sirius just annoying her so she would look cute. and omg, sirius almost snogged her again and millie didn't run away and why must james always interrupt them when they have these moments?

mrs potter is just so motherly with her concern about millie's eating but i totally get millie - breakfast is too early in the day to eat, tea is much more easily manageable in the morning instead!

millie hasn't been to her home since her parents died? i can understand her reasoning but still. she should go (though she should go when she's ready, not when someone is forcing her). it's lovely that sirius wants to go with her. i think it will mean a lot to millie.

kris



Name: starbuck (Signed) · Date: 20 Jan 2019 03:54 PM · starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Story: Chapter: Like a House on Fire

i feel like without sirius there to catch her, millie could have died a number of ways since the start of their school year. but i definitely have nothing against her accidentally pulling him to fall on top of her, making it so they end up in an interesting position. of course james has to come along and kinda ruin what could have been a moment between sirius and millie.

so, millie's father worked in the department of mysteries. does that have anything to do with why her parents died?

it must be so weird for lily to meet james' parents for the first time when they probably know everything about her already the way they mention james talking about her all the time.

there is going to be a christmas ball at the potters! i see that as the perfect opportunity for sirius to get on millie's good side for once. though millie doesn't really seem all that excited for it. she's probably not into balls much, but maybe this time she'll manage to have fun with her friends and sirius.

kris



Name: starbuck (Signed) · Date: 20 Jan 2019 03:40 PM · starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Story: Chapter: Like a House on Fire

millie, you were thinking that it would be beautiful to go home for the holidays with sirius, to enjoy his company and to snog him senseless at one point in time during said holidays - that's a grand idea!

sarah sounds like a cool girl but we don't really see much of her - it would be nice if she could get remus to loosen up a bit, stop being so shy and let himself have some fun and romance once in a while. merlin knows he deserves it. she's also being very nice in trying to explain the obvious fact that sirius really likes her (or maybe even loves her) to oblivious millie.

millie falling asleep on top of sirius and enjoying it was adorable but she's hilarious when she wakes up and gets all flustered.

mrs potter seems like such a nice person, i can see why sirius likes her and how she and james' dad took him in after he ran away from home. i felt really bad for millie because she misses her own mother - i hope she manages to find some comfort in sirius and james' family.

kris



Name: starbuck (Signed) · Date: 20 Jan 2019 03:20 PM · starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Story: Chapter: Like a House on Fire

the description of how sirius' closeness affects millie was funny and cute, but how can she be so cruel to him? asking her if she would care if got hurt or something and she couldn't find it in her to answer him properly and truthfully. no, she just had to go and tease him about it, evading the proper answer.

and she's just so confusing - she has a huge crush on sirius and yet, and yet she doesn't want to let him know because i think she thinks that he's not seriously interested in her. and she's wrong, obviously. but god, sirius can be so thick sometimes, as well - he should've just told her the truth. that he likes her and wants to be with her for real, instead of this fake dating relationship. for him, it's not fake, and for her, she doesn't want it to be but she's too scared to do something about it because of sirius' reputation. at least that's what i think.

hopefully, some of these things will get resolved during the christmas holidays at the potters.

kris



Name: starbuck (Signed) · Date: 20 Jan 2019 01:38 PM · starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Story: Chapter: Like a House on Fire

well, who is this stephanie that sirius dated for a long time? (long for him) 


it's touching that mrs potter wants to meet millie but i think she'll have a bit of trouble at having to meet sirius' adopted parents. she'll probably get scared of what the whole thing could mean. at least, if we ever come to the part when sirius tells her this - they first have to get over themselves and snog again and continue their relationship. at least lily is going to the potters' house for christmas as well so things are good between her and james and maybe she can stop millie from murdering sirius if it comes to that.


hanging out with millie as a dog might be a little bit weird, but that whole part of the chapter was adorable. if only sirius and millie got on so well while he was in his human form! will she ever find out about him being an animagus? why is millie so intent on avoiding and ignoring sirius anyway?


kris



Name: starbuck (Signed) · Date: 20 Jan 2019 12:27 PM · starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Story: Chapter: Like a House on Fire

sirius has seriously fallen hard for millie. after one snog he can't stop thinking about her and the fact that she didn't say anything. it's adorable when he concludes that he hasn't actually felt this way for a girl ever. and millie is almost the same, i have no idea how she just doesn't jump him in potions when he's sitting right next to her.

both of them have such trouble communicating properly - if they would just sit together and try and talk about this whole (fake) relationship thing maybe they would both be much happier. or maybe they should just snog some more and resolve things that way - i don't think either of them would mind that.

is sirius thinking about approaching millie in his animagus form? maybe she would be open to talking to a dog about what she really feels. and then he can use that to his advantage in seducing her properly. i must say, i like that plan (if that is his plan).

kris



Name: starbuck (Signed) · Date: 20 Jan 2019 12:18 PM · starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Story: Chapter: Like a House on Fire

i'm not sure whether to consider sirius' secret stalking of mille cute or creepy, but since i like him, i'll go for cute. and he's finding out that millie and regulus dated! the exchange he overheard between millie and regulus has me thinking much the same thing he is - is millie in love with regulus? does she really regret breaking up with him? but we know she likes sirius now and idk, i'm confused and i imagine sirius is, as well. he should probably just talk to millie about it instead uf sulking and brooding. then again, i don't see millie as someone who would be willing to discuss her previous relationship with his brother with him. she might just get mad at learning about how sirius eavesdropped on her and regulus.

omg, finally they are kissing!! after all the back and forth about his brother, sirius' insecurities and jealousy, he did the thing he was supposed do! and millie likes it!

kris



Name: starbuck (Signed) · Date: 20 Jan 2019 11:55 AM · starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Story: Chapter: Like a House on Fire

i'm just laughing at lily and sarah thinking that millie was disappointed that sirius didn't propose (seriously girls?) when in reality she's mostly disappointed that they didn't end up snogging against a tree or something.

but omg finally, lily is realising she is actually in love with james! she should tell him soon just so we can see james die of happiness. maybe not die but you know.

merlin, millie, just accept the fact that you like sirius black and stop berating yourself over it! and yes, definitely join him in carrying out another scheme. who knows what regulus is up to? wait, millie dated regulus? when? why? and now regulus seems to be dating his brother's ex-girlfriend and his brother is fake dating/falling in love with his ex-girlfriend. seems like a recipe for good drama. and millie thought she was close to being in love with regulus while dating him in secret (so sirius doesn't know that?)? wow, there's so much stuff that we're finding out in this chapter.

kris



Name: starbuck (Signed) · Date: 20 Jan 2019 11:43 AM · starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Story: Chapter: Like a House on Fire

well, their date was good, at least i think so. they even almost snogged by the end of it, even though they were kind of arguing before it (almost) happened. and millie was actually disappointed that it didn't happen which is definitey a good sign. she obviously has a thing for him and likes him, but why does she have that stupid plan about breaking up their fake relationship? i hope that now that she's seen how much fun she had with him on a real date, that plan goes away.

they were both adorable in realising how much they actually liked each other but, really, the need to sort their feelings out and finally do something about turning their fake relationship into a real one.

we finally found out about some information about millie's family and her backstory is quite interesting. it's nice to see a pureblooded family that's mostly normal and not obsessed with the dark arts and blood purity. i'm still wondering about her parents' death? judging by millie's nightmares they were murdered? but why? and who murdered them?

kris



Name: starbuck (Signed) · Date: 20 Jan 2019 10:53 AM · starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Story: Chapter: Like a House on Fire

okay, so millie still very obviously likes sirius and even thinks that his change, weird though it was, is nice and suits him - he can be nice to her. what was up in the previous chapter then? she so wants to be with him but also doesn't. i can't decide whether or not she is scared or just stubborn in thinking they wouldn't work together - they've been fake dating for some time now, well, actually they've been steadily becoming closer, becoming friends, and they get along well so i don't understand her. maybe sirius should just snog.millie, get the sexual tension over with and make her realise she can't deny her feelings any longer. the snowball fight and the ensuing pinning against the ground was a perfect opportunity for that but i get the feeling that sirius hasn't done something of the sort for a reason - maybe he wants to tease her as much as possible until she can't stand it and makes the first move. which isn't a bad strategy.


kris    



Name: starbuck (Signed) · Date: 20 Jan 2019 10:38 AM · starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Story: Chapter: Like a House on Fire

i can understand millie missing her parents, her dad but what happened to make her suddenly want to break up the fake relationship with sirius? she seemed to really like him lately and even admitted to herself that she likes him and now? for some reason she is determined to end things before they've even truly began. why is she so afraid of feelings and of being with someone she likes and who likes her? so afraid of real committment? does she think sirius might not feel the same way she does?


sirius' inner musings are adorable to read but what's even more adorable is his concern for millie and his decision to try and convince her that they would be great together. i think he's surprised that he even wants to do that and it shows but obviously, he feels more for millie than he ever did for another girlfriend before. maybe he shouldn't have used their friends' feelings as an argument for the two of them staying together - instead he should have been honest with her and told her he is actually into her.


kris    



Name: starbuck (Signed) · Date: 20 Jan 2019 10:11 AM · starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Story: Chapter: Like a House on Fire

millie is just being mean about james and lily snogging - she should be happy that her and sirius' plan worked.

but i'm totally aww-ing at the whole 'spontaneously combusting every time sirius looks at her' thing because that means we're getting close to her actually admitting she likes him. the fact that sirius just practically said he wants to spend time with her and that's why he's failing arithmancy should be enough for her but of course she has to tease him about it for a little bit. but at least she is pleased about it. though all that teasing him about her not actually liking him seems a bit cruel to me - he seems to genuinely like her. it's a good thing that he took it as a joke.

the talk with lily about sirius was funny, though millie finally admitting to herself that she does like him was cool - now she only needs to act on her feelings and let him know. i love how she's suddenly disappointed that he never even tried to kiss her!

but that whole exchange in the broom closet, especially how sirius helped take her mind off of things, and later when they were walking to class was perfect.

kris



No results found.
Submit a Review