Login
Reviews For Chai

Name: Felpata_Lupin (Signed) · Date: 27 Jan 2019 11:46 AM · starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Story: Chapter: Chai, Dancing, and a Friend in the Wee Hours of the Morning

Hi, dear! Here for the menagerie! :)

Everyone is so enthusiastic about this series, so I thought this was a good occasion to check it out... and I'm not disappointed in the slightest!

This was just so sweet!!! Everything was so plain adorable and I'll absolutely need to check out all the other stories too very soon... but for now, I'll try to review this lovely piece...

First of all, I love the Indian culture bits. I know very little about Indian culture (the little I know, I've learnt through HPFT, actually) but I find it so fascinating. Diwali sounds like such a beautiful holiday and of course I love the idea that it now has an even more special meaning for Hannah, since it's the first holiday she and Neville are spending together.

These two are so adorable. I loved their playful teasing throughout the piece, and how they can understand each other with a look. They are so in love with each other and it is so evident and just so endearing, and it's even more endearing how much they want to tell each other, but are reluctant because they think it might be too soon and they don't know how the other would react... Did I already say that these two are adorable?

"Hufflepuffs don't have nefarious minds."

"Or is that what you simply have the rest of us believe?"

"Oh, no! You've discovered our secret!"

For some reason, I especially loved this bit of dialogue... maybe because it really feels so very Hufflepuff-y? :P And talking about Hufflepuff-y, Hannah dancing to the wireless while cooking must be the most Hufflepuff-y thing ever!

Another thing that I really appreciated is that you showed us both Hannah's and Neville's POVs. I loved that switch, it was so nice to see both perspectives, and funny to discover how similar their thoughts were. I'm just in love with the dynamics you've created between these two.

Your descriptions were to die for, too! Really, everything about this is just perfect and I'm officially in love! <3

Sorry if this review is a mess, and thank you for warming up my morning!

Lots of love,

Chiara



Name: Chemical_Pixie (Signed) · Date: 20 Jan 2019 08:47 PM · [Report This]
Story: Chapter: Chai, Pakoras, and a Friend in the Wee Hours of the Morning

I'm here once more for the magical menagerie and for gryffindor's january rvg!

 

AHHHH. Why is this the final installment of the Chai series? It is SO GOOD and amazingly written and I have all the feels after reading this chapter (and the ones preceeding it)! I hope that one day, you will write another sequel.

 

Okay. Neville is once again endearingly charming in his attempts to bake a cake to impress Hannah. It goes to show that not much has changed--except, as the story continues, their love for each other has grown deeper (as if that were even possible). When he goes back to his flat with Hannah, it's absolutely hysterical how he wakes her up, and she thinks she is dreaming. I burst out laughing when she asks why he is wearing pyjamas, ahahaha! They have grown so comfortable with each other, and I love how they joke around.

 

It's even better when Hannah returns to Hogwarts with Neville to make pakoras. Honestly, when they are in the kitchen together, their relationship truly shines. I said in an earlier review how much I love you bringing in Hannah's Indian culture. The same rings true in every single installment of this incredible series. There is something amazing that happens when people prepare food. I have tried many of the Indian foods (and have even attempted to make some of them), but I have learned so much about the ingredients and the cooking methods by reading these stories. I feel like I'm learning alongside Neville. It was so good to go through that experience one more time. (Though, I wouldn't mind if there happens to be another installment, so I could do it again!)

 

Thank you so much for writing and sharing this series!



Name: Chemical_Pixie (Signed) · Date: 20 Jan 2019 08:35 PM · [Report This]
Story: Chapter: Chai, Chutney, and a Friend in the Wee Hours of the Morning

Back again for the magical menagerie and for Gryffindor's rvg!

 

Neville Longbottom is the dorkiest, most bumbling, and most adorable Gryffindor in existence!!! I love him in this chapter so much!!!! His proposal, while scattered and stumbled, is actually quite perfect. You write his insecurity about how to "do things properly, in the normal way" so well. If he were to write a speech, rehearse it, and do it "properly", I feel like his proposal would have lost most of its spark. What you have written here is so authentically Neville Longbottom. It is perfect. 

 

I like how you also bring the marriage talk on the table through Hannah's comment about her mother saying that she will only give her daughter the recipe for chutney if she gets married... here, you show that her parents 1. approve of her relationship with Neville and 2. want them to officially tie the knot. And because Hannah mentions this, you show that she also wants to get married to Neville. 

 

Even with all of that support, proposing to someone must be a daunting experience! Poor Neville! But he pulls it off well. I also love how you explore more of Neville's affinty for plants, especially the ones he grows in the bathroom, ahahaha. That is so endearing, and I can see Hannah and Neville teasing each other about that. Another great installment! I cannot believe that there is only one more left!!



Name: Chemical_Pixie (Signed) · Date: 20 Jan 2019 08:11 PM · [Report This]
Story: Chapter: Chai, Dancing, and a Friend in the Wee Hours of the Morning

I'm here again for the magical menagerie and gryffindor's rvg. 

 

As if Hannah and Neville could not get any more adorable... and then you go and write this moment in their lives. Incredible! They have a perfect level of companionship, flirtation, love, and food.

 

Saying "I love you" can be so intimidating in a relationship, especially since people like Hannah and Neville are ones who wouldn't say it unless they truly and really meant it. And they are reaching some milestones in their relationship: meeting the parents, meeting the extended family, celebrating a major holiday together... it is a lot for two people who are desparately in love and who are dying to confess it to the other. You capture their nerves, the deep ache of their feelings, and their affection so well, and you show it way more than you tell it. I can feel what they're feeling, and I root for them.

 

I also like how you explored the different perspective shifts in this chapter. It was nice to read how they both felt similarly about their love and expressing it. Including both of their points of view added a lot to the story, I think. Also, I could relate to this fic so well. I lived in a country for a couple years that celebrates Diwali nationally, and it was nice to be able to revisit those memories of my second favorite Hindu holiday (the first is Holi). It's so cool to see your take on Hannah's background, and I am thrilled that you have found a way to not only share delicious recipes but to share amazing customs in a fan fiction. Wonderful writing!



Name: Chemical_Pixie (Signed) · Date: 20 Jan 2019 06:41 PM · [Report This]
Story: Chapter: Chai, Carrots, and a Friend in the Wee Hours of the Morning

I'm back for the magical menagerie and gryffindor's rvg!

 

This chapter is everything that I hoped it would be!! And I absolutely LOVE how you switched to Neville's point of view for this story. It's great to see his perspective on things, especially since he feels the pressure to make the first move and is endearingly insecure about being rejected. Again, you write him so well. This is like a continuation of canon. 

 

I can relate well to Neville in this chapter because of the career shift. I, too, worked a rather thankless job which left me exhausted, and now I am in the process of changing career paths. What Neville feels is so accurate, and I am so happy that he has someone like Hannah around to vent his feelings, too. And she is so understanding and supportive of him. Regardless of her (obvious to everyone but Neville) romantic feelings for him, she cares deeply about him, too. It's just... perfect. Absolutely perfect.

 

The build to the final part, the first kiss, is some great writing. Lots of tension and nervousness but Neville is filled with awe and adirmation for Hannah. It's such a beautifully captured moment. Well done! :) 



Name: Chemical_Pixie (Signed) · Date: 20 Jan 2019 06:01 PM · [Report This]
Story: Chapter: Chai, Zebras, and a Friend in the Wee Hours of the Morning

Hey! Back again to check out this wonderful series, for the magical menagerie, and for Gryffindor's rvg (go Gold!)

 

This has been such a delightful read. Your first fic and this one have made me love the Neville/Hannah ship even more! Hannah's characterization is absolutely stunning. She is a natural Healer (and cook/baker), a natural nurturer. And a true Hufflepuff: loyal, kind, hard working. And Hannah is incredibly strong: having survived the War and gone back to Hogwarts for another year in order to get the necessary qualitifications to become a Healer. I am sure that the year after the Final Battle was a difficult one, with no one really knowing what they were doing but they were rebuilding anyways.

 

And Neville. He is an absolute sweetheart. And you write him perfectly. In canon, he does not really see how he is brave, when, in fact, he IS. Neville has such a big heart, too. It is touching that he was there for Atticus Dooley at the very end, and he is so thoughtful for reflecting on the impact this man has had in his life. His sadness is very believable, and I LOVE how he comes to Hannah's place so late at night to find comfort.

 

The chemistry between the two of them is impeccable. It is so obvious that they like each other, but they are not quite there with acknowledging their feelings for one another (at least, Hannah is). They are so cute, and I cannot wait to see how their relationship progresses!



Name: starbuck (Signed) · Date: 19 Jan 2019 04:08 PM · starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Story: Chapter: Chai, Pakoras, and a Friend in the Wee Hours of the Morning

i can't imagine how hard it is for neville and hannah to be together, be married, and yet be apart because of their jobs. i always kind of wondered about hogwarts professors and their private lives - did they just not have any? they spend their life in the castle with the students, away from everyone else - sure, they can go down to hogsmeade and also apparate somewhere, but still, being cooped up with a bunch of teenagers must drive them mental.

and yes, neville, people not dying of food poisoning is definitely something to be celebrated! also, growing dangerous plants in your bathroom is definitely a great idea!

sleepy hannah with her thoughts about how problematic it was that neville dared wear pyjamas made me chuckle. but i would pay good money to read this autobiography of neville's with the amusing title. and aw, hannah is going to work at hogwarts now and they're going to be together and i just can't with them, i love it so much.

i don't think i can say this enough BUT NEVILLE AND HANNAH ARE ADORABLE. there, i yelled it for all the world to hear. you should never stop writing about them.

kris



Name: starbuck (Signed) · Date: 19 Jan 2019 03:43 PM · starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Story: Chapter: Chai, Chutney, and a Friend in the Wee Hours of the Morning

this whole chapter was incredibly sweet, but also, hilarious. i think i laughed the whole time during neville's proposal, and honestly, that's the best proposal ever. he's so silly and wonderful. but the whole bit about the really goo chutney and just his randomly blurted out 'we should do that, get married' had me in tears (of laughter and joy, of course). and i think it's the perfect proposal for hannah - she loves him the way he is, funny and adorable, and she wholeheartedly jumped in the joke, without so much as an eye bat. some girls would have been expecting a grand gesture, but for hannah and neville, it's the way they are, natural and spontaneous and it works great for them.

but all the lines about neville talking to his plants, about how he should've asked for help with the proposal, about albus and his puppy dog eyes, forgetting to give her the ring...everything is just so neville - you've made me headcanon neville and hannah like what you wrote them. they're perfect for each other.

kris



Name: starbuck (Signed) · Date: 19 Jan 2019 01:29 PM · starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Story: Chapter: Chai, Dancing, and a Friend in the Wee Hours of the Morning

first of all - i loved your descriptions of diwali and how much it means to hannah, and how much she loved celebrating the holiday with neville as her boyfriend. i would have loved to read about how neville got on with her whole family - i imagine there might have been some funny scenes there, but i also think it's beautiful how both diwali and christmas are celebrated in the abbott household.

the casual and natural way in which neville and hannah cook together and just generally are with each other is wonderful to read, and honestly, they are probably relationship goals for most people. the ease with which they interact really shows how good they are with each other.

even after eight months of dating, and the even longer span of time that they've been friends for, they can still be shy around each other - their insecurity is cute, especially when it leads to situations as both of them declaring their love for each other, without the other one knowing. but it's obvious they're madly in love and i love reading that!

kris



Name: starbuck (Signed) · Date: 19 Jan 2019 12:00 PM · starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Story: Chapter: Chai, Carrots, and a Friend in the Wee Hours of the Morning

poor neville - he has no idea that hannah most certainly has feelings for him. i can't imagine him being scared but understand his worry about losing the friendship that the two of them have. it's always a risk, turning friendship into something more, into a romantic relationship, but in my opinion, all the best relationship start from a friendship. so i'm rooting for neville to use that gryffindor courage that allowed him to do guerilla warfare during his seventh year at hogwarts, and finally ask hannah out on a date. or just kiss her - i'd be happy with that, too!

it's sad to see neville so unhappy with his job but i bet hannah's success and happiness at the leaky cauldron might inspire him to try the same thing. only with herbology? the way she accepts his feelings about being an auror is beautiful and neville is lucky to have her. but i think she's a bit sad at the fact that he might be away at hogwarts.

okay but neville's inner monologues about impressing hannah with his carrot grating, firefighting and plant-pruning skills are hilarious!

 the ending to this was perfect, especially the last line. neville has it bad for hannah and i suspect it's much the same for her.

kris



Name: starbuck (Signed) · Date: 19 Jan 2019 11:37 AM · starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Story: Chapter: Chai, Zebras, and a Friend in the Wee Hours of the Morning

hannah mentioned having a crush on neville in sixth year in the previous story but i think that that crush is starting to come back, at least judging by how she smiles when she sees it's neville that's in front of her door. convincing herself that they were just friends even if they are flirting with each other all the time (and it seems to me that they might be) isn't going to work much longer, i think (i hope!).

i love how hannah lets neville stay silent (and wallow for a bit) and doesn't press him about whatever happened. she knows she'll find out eventually and she's doing her best to try and comfort him even when she doesn't know what exactly is the matter.

the story about how atticus convinced neville to become an auror was incredibly touching and it really made me feel for neville.

the little touches and interactions between neville and hannah were very cute and i honestly can't ship them more than i do right now!

kris



Name: starbuck (Signed) · Date: 19 Jan 2019 11:18 AM · starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Story: Chapter: Chai, Samosas, and a Friend in the Wee Hours of the Morning

i don't cook but i love watching movies with people cooking, masterchef and all the other iterations of competitive cooking shows, and now i found out i love reading about cooking. specifically, i love reading about hannah cooking indian food.

your descriptions of how she cooks and how she uses magic for some thing, but her hands for others, and why, were really good - i could clearly see everything she did in my mind. i loved how at some point after neville showed up, the whole thing stopped being hannah cooking in the middle of the night for herself and started being hannah and neville cooking together and bonding over it. i also admit my mouth watered a bit at all the food descriptions (i love indian food even though i'm pretty sure i never tried a non-westernized version of it).

both neville and hannah are adorable in this story and hannah burning out so quickly as a healer (by the way, using parts of the body as a measurement is hilarious!) actually didn't come as surprising for me. she survived and had to deal with so much and she obviously really enjoys cooking and i can easily imagine her opening a restaurant at some point in her life. tending bar at the leaky cauldron isn't stressful and she gets the opportunity to do what she loves in a big kitchen.

kris



Name: Chemical_Pixie (Signed) · Date: 22 Dec 2018 01:50 PM · [Report This]
Story: Chapter: Chai, Samosas, and a Friend in the Wee Hours of the Morning

Hello and Happy Holidays! Here for Kaitlin's/Treacle Tart's request to leave you a review in the "Keepy Away from the Nifflers" thread on the forums.

 

When I saw you had a chai series, and one that's Neville/Hannah, I got really excited. I love chai. And Neville and Hannah are so cute, and I've wanted to read more fics about them. The perfect combo for this fic, no?

 

Your opening is so powerfully written. Hannah has done a lot for a twenty-something, especially the war bit. I can tell that it's had an effect on her, though it might not be terribly obvious in the beginning.

 

I love how you give Hannah some Indian heritage. I have never read anything like that with this character, and I quite like it, especially when she's in her element: cooking in the kitchen of the Leaky Cauldron. This is fantastic characterization, showing the readers just how much joy (and peace) cooking gives her. And then Neville! Already, I sense a tension between the two of them. I love how Hannah has her wand pointed (because again, she's been affected by the war). And the phrase: "Merlin's egg timer" had me laughing! I love it and may have to use it in RL. :)

 

What a wonderful development in their relationship. Hannah's annoyance at Neville's presence but then her thoughtfulness of maybe there's a reason he's here and let's him stay. And it turns out well for her. Not only does she get to share some of her culture, she further cements a good relationship with Neville. I love your descriptions of all of the tasty foods throughout the story. There's something special about making food together, especially if the food is outside the cultural realm of one person. I've learned so many things when I've cooked with my friends with different background. I love, love, love how you capture this in this fic.

 

I really want to have some samosas and chai with Neville and Hannah right now--but I also don't want to interupt them. Let their relationship blossom! This was such a lovely piece of writing. I'll definitely be back for more. Happy Holidays!

Abby



Name: Godric’sFamulus (Anonymous) · Date: 13 Sep 2018 05:14 AM · [Report This]
Story: Chapter: Chai, Zebras, and a Friend in the Wee Hours of the Morning

Transferred from offsite at request of the author

Originally left on 05/27/2015

Neville Longbottom, who is lame, clumsy and awkward, is one of the bravest Gryffindors, so I've been worried if he could find happiness.

Then I found he often go to Hannah who is very good at cooking, making cakes, I felt very happy for him. As for now she thought they were just friends but I believe Neville will propose to her.

I happened to have an experience to drink chai in the mordern period, I love tea spice flavour, to tell the truth, I often drink chai in winter. One of the most impressive expressions here,

'you couldn’t let the sadness fester; you had to pull it from your body, like poison.'

I guess you're writing Hannah tried to heal Neville preparing chai, which itself looked mental healing activity.

The zebra cake, flavour of chai and their gentle old blanket like relationship remain in our mind for a long time.

Your story challenge might be about friendship but I could feel woman's heart in your Hannah who wavered between love and friend. I enjoyed very much. Your enriched writing expression fills up a cup which readers drink, after drinking your work smells sweet forever.

Author's Response: Neville Longbootm really grows into his own, doesn't he? And he is most deserving of happiness.

Oh, Neville definitely has a crush on her! Their relationship is going to change and grow over time, and it's wonderful for the both of them. The cake making is just a very happy bonus.

Yes! Chai is definitely like a mental health activity! I remember my mother force feeding me lots of tea when I was sick as a child. Hannah's doing the same, in a way.

Ah, thank you so much! You are just too sweet *hugs*



Name: SunshineDaisies (Anonymous) · Date: 13 Sep 2018 05:14 AM · [Report This]
Story: Chapter: Chai, Zebras, and a Friend in the Wee Hours of the Morning

Transferred from offsite at request of the author

Originally left on 05/15/2015

So I've been saving stories as pdfs to my computer so I can read this offline and write reviews even when I don't have internet, and I saved this one AND IT CUT OFF AFTER ""Did you make a wish?"" AND IT WAS THE MOST STRESSFUL MOMENT OF MY LIFE.

I was so pleased to see that it didn't actually end there, though I'm a little disappointed the ending didn't go quite like I'd hoped. You know, with declarations of love and snogging. Alas, this ending is probably a bit more realistic.

But Neville, bro, you missed an opportunity there.

Like the last time, I really did adore this. This is such a sweet series! I love seeing the little snippets from Hannah and Neville's relationship, without seeing every little detail. You've given enough information that we can imagine it on our own. It's a really enjoyable way to read a story!

I don't think I can give you much more detail without saying exactly what I did in my last review. So basically, these are just so absolutely wonderful and I LOVE them sososo much.

Author's Response: OMG THAT IS LIKE THE MOST CLIFFHANGER PLACE IN ALL OF MY STORIES COMBINED FOR IT TO CUT OFF. That is some seriously intense yet completely accidental stress-inducing stuff. I hope you are okay!

I wanted declarations of love and snogging also but Neville was like nope! I'm going to be super cryptic and really vaguely hint that you are the love of my life even though I don't quite know that yet.

But typical Neville to miss an opportunity like that, amiright? (I love you Neville &heart;)

Ah, I'm glad these little windows into Neville/Hannah are working! I didn't have enough material to do them justice in a full story, so I just went for a series of one-shots, instead.

Thanks so much for the lovely review :)



Name: Penelope Inkwell (Anonymous) · Date: 13 Sep 2018 05:14 AM · [Report This]
Story: Chapter: Chai, Zebras, and a Friend in the Wee Hours of the Morning

Transferred from offsite at request of the author

Originally left on 04/27/2015

THEY ARE SO CUTE! I cannot even handle it! I like how you're slowly growing their attraction--how they're a little more flirtatious this time, but still shy. Still friendly.

Oh, and she mixed her tea to his personal taste. But they're totally just friends. Sure, Hannah.

Loved it!

--Penny

Author's Response: They are just too adorable here, aren't they? Writing these two always leaves me feeling happy and I hope at least some of that comes across. I seriously wanted to just push them towards each other here and go KISS ALREADY. But you're right - they're not quite there yet.

The ultimate sign of romance - they mix the tea to your taste. You know it's true love.

Thanks so much for the lovely review :)



Name: Crumple-Horned Snorkack (Anonymous) · Date: 13 Sep 2018 05:14 AM · [Report This]
Story: Chapter: Chai, Zebras, and a Friend in the Wee Hours of the Morning

Transferred from offsite at request of the author

Originally left on 04/18/2015

Greetings from the Crumple-Horned Snorkack! While I normally spend my days lurking in forests and/or hiding from the Lovegoods, I thought that today seemed a good day to venture out and read some fanfiction.

This is such a cute story! I really love your portrayal of both Neville and Hannah, and their friendship is so wonderfully supportive and give all the warm and fuzzy feels :D I love how patient Hannah is - I think that's one of the things about her that really shines through. She doesn't pressure Neville into talking, just provides comfort and a listening ear if he wants it. And cake! That cake sounds amazing and now I want one, only I would make mine in the shape of my favourite animal: a Blibbering Humdinger.

Poor Neville - what a rough day he had. But I'm glad he feels welcome at Hannah's and knows that he can always count on her to be a friend when he really needs one, plus the good chance that he'll get some delicious food and some tea as well. The friendship between these two is just beautiful. I love it. :)

I have really enjoyed reading this adorable one-shot! And now I'm actually meeting my own friend the Yeti for some chai!

Author's Response: I have been graced by the elusive and mysterious Crumple-Horned Snorkack! I am truly honoured that you have taken the time out of your busy schedule to come visit my story.

Yes, all the warm and fuzzy feelings! I wanted to show a romantic relationship grow out of one that was based on a solid friendship. Hannah is exactly what Neville needs. Her patience is but one of the many amazing things about her. I aim to be more like Hannah every day.

Neville could do with a hug, for sure! But yes, he has Hannah to turn to in time of need. And that's what friends are for.

I hope you and the Yeti enjoy your chai! Don't forget the cake :)



Name: ScarlettANDJames (Anonymous) · Date: 13 Sep 2018 05:14 AM · [Report This]
Story: Chapter: Chai, Zebras, and a Friend in the Wee Hours of the Morning

Transferred from offsite at request of the author

Originally left on 03/09/2015

aw this was so sweet, i really like the atmosphere of this story, idk feels peaceful, well done! xx

Author's Response: Peaceful is a good word to describe the mood for this one - that's what I was going for. Glad you liked it :)



Name: pointless_proclamations (Anonymous) · Date: 13 Sep 2018 05:14 AM · [Report This]
Story: Chapter: Chai, Zebras, and a Friend in the Wee Hours of the Morning

Transferred from offsite at request of the author

Originally left on 02/16/2015

Hello there, 800 words of heaven! Jamie Nott here to read about, Professor Longbottom and Mrs. Longbottom?!?

This is strange and endearing all at the same time. Strange because he's my professor and endearing because of the way you write the story. You write remarkably well, I must say!

From the beginning, ah, I can relate to Hannah--er Mrs. Longbottom's situation all too well. She should ask him out, I think. They'd be lovely--they are lovely together.

And their courtship, too, I see involves much food! 800 words of heaven, if this works out for them, you've given me much hope. And you've melted my heart like a Blast-Ended Skrewt melts butter just by touching it. IT IS ALL JUST SO BEAUTIFUL! Good Merlin!

It's amazing the way these two just work together, you know? [sighs] I'll read this to Gail next time I visit her. I'm sure she'll love it!

Oh, that will be Em now, calling me back to my story. I will see you shortly, 800 words of heaven! Thank you for the absolutely wonderful read. :D

Cheers,

Jamie

Author's Response: Hello Jamie! Oh, how I have missed you! When will I get to see you again at Hogwarts? Hmm? I miss your adventures, Giant Squids included.

Oh, haha! I quite forgot that Neville is one of your professors. I can imagine it would be quite strange indeed to read about your teacher's love life. I hope you enjoyed it all the same. I imagine Professor Longbottom is one of those cool teachers who has an interesting life that you want to know about, adorable love story included.

YES. ALL THE FOOD. Their wedding was great. It was rumoured that some people thought they'd eaten the best food all year at their wedding. And that was before they tried the cake.

Thank you so much Jamie for this lovely review! Tell Em that I love her and that I hope to visit you in your story very soon :)



Name: Aphoride (Anonymous) · Date: 13 Sep 2018 05:14 AM · [Report This]
Story: Chapter: Chai, Zebras, and a Friend in the Wee Hours of the Morning

Transferred from offsite at request of the author

Originally left on 02/11/2015

Hey there! :) I just had to stop back on this series when I saw you in the Review Tag, because it's such a brilliant series and I love them so much! :)

As before, I adore your Hannah and Neville - and I'm pretty convinced your version of Hannah, Indian background and all, is pretty likely to become canon for me. There's something so wonderfully perfect about it, that I almost kick myself for not thinking of it before :P Also, the way you write their friendship - from the mention of the flirting and laughing, and how it's sort of become their thing, you know, chai at midnight, to how she helps Neville so easily to deal with his grief and understands him so well. It's just a brilliant, brilliant rendition of friendship.

Your Neville and Hannah individually are so strong, too. I love the way Hannah is making the cake (zebra cake sounds awesome, btw!) for him anyway as a surprise, and how he sneaks up on her to talk to her over her shoulder. Plus, the whole conversation between them with Neville saying how he didn't want to be an Auror - he was so scared about it - is so true to his character in the books its almost unreal.

I have to mention the details you put in this as well, because some of your phraseology was to die for, I swear to god. I especially loved 'his shoulder drooping upwards towards his ears' (I think that was the quote...). It's such a wonderful image! :)

Your writing, of course, was so gorgeous and the use of food is so good - it's just a wonderful snapshot of life, and the simplicity of the moment makes it so much more powerful. It's just amazing.

Love it. As always.

Aph xx

Author's Response: I'm so incredibly mindblown by the love this series has received. I'm just. Ugh. Thank you. It means a lot.

Yes. Missions accomplished. Head-canon established. What more could I want? I was surprised myself by just how well Hannah worked out. She really became something else when I started writing her. And thank you! I'm not sure how people feel about friendship, but it needs to be written more. I wanted the relationship between Neville and Hannah to be first and foremost about friendship. No matter what else they are, or become, they'll always be friends.

Yes! Another mission accomplished! Sometimes when you write romance, you find out that your two characters wouldn't be able to stand up by themselves. Co-dependence like that was something I seriously wanted to avoid. And of course they still had to be adorable together! I want people to ship them :P

Ah! Thank you so much! I struggle with description so that means a lot ^.^

Thank you so much for the lovely review :)



Name: True Author (Anonymous) · Date: 13 Sep 2018 05:14 AM · [Report This]
Story: Chapter: Chai, Zebras, and a Friend in the Wee Hours of the Morning

Transferred from offsite at request of the author

Originally left on 02/09/2015

Hi! I'm here for our review swap! I'm so so sorry for leaving this review so late, but I had to go out of town urgently. :( I hope you understand! Real life likes to play evil sometimes. :(

Anyways, now onto the review.

I only just realised that this one shot has a prequel! This one did make sense to me, but I'll be sure to check the other one when I have some more time. :)

Aah, chai! I simply cannot spend a day without it. And I'm pretty sure that I'm no exception. We Indians literally live for chai. ;) And reading this is making me want to go and make a cup of it right now. Huh. Maybe I will!

Aww, Neville and Hannah were so cute together! I would really love to know when and how they will realize that they are in love with each other. :) They seem to make a really good couple as they understand each other so well and know so much about one another.

Your take on Hannah was very refreshing and new. She is always assumed to be a quiet and shy girl somehow, but I don't think she was like that. We just didn't get to know her very well during the books. So I liked that you've done something different. I loved her characterization here. Also, your Neville was just our dear old Neville from the books, but even though he was the same, he was more mature too. Great job with that!

Your descriptions are seriously good. I literally could picture it all happening. Writers are always told to 'show not tell' and I think this one shot was a good example of it. Amazing!

This was a great read! Now let me go and make myself some chai. ;) Thanks for swapping! It was fun! And again sorry for the wait.

Ashwini

Author's Response: That's alright. Real life comes first :)

There's four of them in the series, but I want each of them to be able to be read separately. I'm pleased that it made sense without you needing to read the first one.

Chai is life. It is the blood that runs in my veins. Along with cricket. And yes, drink all the tea!

There are two more stories in the series, so there's heaps of Hannah and Neville cuteness. Those two tell stories later on in their relationship. And I'm glad that they seem to make a good couple. Chemistry can be a little difficult sometimes when two characters get along as well as these two.

I wanted to add a little dimensionality to Hannah so that she could stand as a character without the need for Neville. I'm glad you liked it! And if Neville reads as canon that's all I really need!

My descriptions were good? OMG. This is amazing. I'm going to remember this review forever. I'm terrible with descriptions, so this means a lot.

Thank you for the lovely review :)



Name: adluvshp (Anonymous) · Date: 13 Sep 2018 05:14 AM · [Report This]
Story: Chapter: Chai, Zebras, and a Friend in the Wee Hours of the Morning

Transferred from offsite at request of the author

Originally left on 02/05/2015

Hey! Here for review tag!

Yay I am so glad I got a chance to come back for the sequel. Ghosh, Hannah and Neville are just adorable! Just friends, really? *raises eyebrow and smirks* Come on, have a little kiss already xP

I really loved this! Once again, your portrayal of Neville and Hannah was brilliant. It was interesting how Hannah's healer-y instincts kicked in when she saw Neville and I liked her thought process there. The way she just let Neville talk it out was also very sweet. And the little flirtations, the way she blushed, it was so adorable and I can't wait for these two to get together (hope that happens in the next story)!

The prompt you got would have totally baffled me but I'm so impressed with the way you incorporated it. A zebra cake sounds awesome, haha.

All in all, another brilliant one shot and I had an awesome time reading this. Once again, you've made hungry and smile xP Great writing, brilliant descriptions, smooth flow and error-free - recipe for a perfect one shot which you've mastered!

10/10

Cheers

AditiDraco95

Author's Response: Heya!

Hannah and Neville really are adorable. Haha, ""just friends"" indeed. Everyone knows what's going on, guys.

I like that! Healer-y instincts. That's the way I think of them in my head! She has so much experience with this that she just knows. She's very good at letting people work through it themselves and just supporting them. And yes, they still manage to flirt! Neville has far more game than he realises.

I was the same when I saw it. I was like ""whaa...?"" It's a bit difficult to casually introduce a zebra into one's story, but I tried my best. Maybe if they'd gone to the zoo...

Thanks so much for the lovely review. And I aim to make people hungry with this series. It's all about the food :P



Name: Veritaserum27 (Anonymous) · Date: 13 Sep 2018 05:14 AM · [Report This]
Story: Chapter: Chai, Zebras, and a Friend in the Wee Hours of the Morning

Transferred from offsite at request of the author

Originally left on 02/05/2015

Hi hi!

Here for the review swap and I need to apologize for taking far too long to get to this amazing, beautiful and heart wrenching story.

Oh my! I've always shipped Neville/Hannah, but you've got me DYING to read more! Aww, they are so incredibly sweet and I just want to snuggle both of them.

At the same time, you've created just the perfect amount of romantic tension between the two. I love, love, love how you've got this uncertainty between the two when it's just SO obvious to the rest of us that they are completely head over heels!

As much as I wanted them to just fall into each other's arms, I appreciate that they are taking time to get to know each other. They are treating their relationship with such care, because it is so precious to both of them.

You did such a fabulous job of portraying Neville's grief - especially considering that the story is from Hannah's point of view. The little ways you describe his emotions and her understanding is simply beautiful. This line:

Loss suspended rational thought; how could you stop the hurting when it was inside you?

completely tugged at my heart. At the same time, I want to scream at Neville, ""You are a war hero! Everyone owes you for your bravery!""

And the way you slipped in the baking and brewing was so perfect. I'm totally wanting some lemon cake right now! This set of stories is quickly becoming my head canon for this couple.

Thanks again for doing a review swap! I'm up for one anytime with you!

♥ Beth

Author's Response: That's okay! I took a while too. It happens :)

Ah, good! I want to get as many people as I possibly can on board for this ship. They're just too adorable. Maybe just writing a lot of stories about them will change people's minds ;)

I was worried about the tension here. I wanted it to be present, but very much in the background because that's not what it's about with these two. Their friendship is far more important than any possible blossoming romance. I'm glad you felt that was achieved.

Gosh, grief is something with which I struggle to write. Oddly, I like writing it though. It's in a very different tone to what I usually write, and so I was very happy that I got the chance to combine that here. And yes! Neville just needs all the hugs all the time.

Don't write when you're hungry. I think that's the lesson learnt here :P

Thanks so much for your lovely review :)



Name: Lululuna (Anonymous) · Date: 13 Sep 2018 05:14 AM · [Report This]
Story: Chapter: Chai, Zebras, and a Friend in the Wee Hours of the Morning

Transferred from offsite at request of the author

Originally left on 01/29/2015

Hey 800! :D Sorry for being so late with your Hot Seat review! :) I was so excited to get back to this series though, and hopefully I'll get to read the next two stories soon!

I love how you continued to focus on Neville and Hannah in different circumstances, but similar situations. It's a really neat way to frame the story in how it happens in such an enclosed amount of time, yet we learn so much about the characters and their relationship.

Something very clear here is how nicely the two of them get along. They clearly have this natural companionship which makes me think that they'd get along so well as life partners. Not that there's anything wrong with the classic love/hate relationships that I read so often, but it's nice to see people genuinely getting along and showing how compatible they are and setting the foundations for a great longterm relationship.

I really liked the story about Atticus and how important he was to Neville. It felt like he was a bit of a father figure for Neville, and although he had his grandmother I'm sure the loss of his parents would have left him feeling like he didn't have good role models like his other friends. I found that his feelings of self-doubt were so realistic with the Neville from canon, but also showed how much he's grown as a person and in his own self-confidence. It was lovely how Hannah was able to comfort him.

The description of how she makes chai tea was so neat! I'm a big fan of descriptions like that, it almost felt like a recipe, and it's a real sign of good writing. The zebra cake sounded delicious as well.

I thought the last lines were a really great way to round off the story and make it feel complete, while still promising more in the future. This was such a great instalment, this series is just lovely! :)

Author's Response: No worries! I'm slow in my replies so I guess that evens out ^.^

That was an interesting aspect of this series actually. I didn't initially intend to set them all in kitchens, but then I wrote this one, and it ended up being in a kitchen. So I kind of rolled with it. But I'm glad it worked out, haha!

These two are the most compatible couple I've ever written. Every aspect about which I've written about concerning these two complements each other. It's strange. The two characters are so separate in my head, but they magically work with each other despite that. They were meant to be :P And love/hate relationships are great too but I've written SO MANY of them.

Yeah... I never explicitly state what kind of Neville and Atticus shared. I imagine it's somewhere between father figure, mentor, and friend. I'm pleased that it comes across. My writing is not known for its subtlety! You're absolutely right in saying that Neville lacked those role models that other characters had, especially his greatest comparison: Harry. It was part of the reason that I wanted to show that Neville now surrounds himself with people who understand and support him in his adult life.

This is only the second time I've written descriptions like this - basically recipes masquerading as descriptive prose... like edible descriptive ninjas. I'm pleased it worked for you :)

Thanks so much for your lovely review, Jenna :)



Name: mymischiefmanaged (Anonymous) · Date: 13 Sep 2018 05:14 AM · [Report This]
Story: Chapter: Chai, Zebras, and a Friend in the Wee Hours of the Morning

Transferred from offsite at request of the author

Originally left on 01/26/2015

Hello! I'm SO SORRY for how long it's taken me to get this review written. I really don't know what was wrong with me but for some reason it felt unreasonably difficult to just sit down and write it. I read your wonderful story as soon as we agreed to swap so I really have no excuse.

But anyway, that said, this is SO LOVELY. I'm not always a big fan of fluff but your characters are so real and have so much depth that it feels natural rather than excessively sweet and artificial.

Starting from the beginning -

I loved that Hannah was thinking about Neville before he arrived but from a practical, kind point of view. She's not obsessing about him and she's not even really viewing the whole relationship from a romantic point of view. She just cares and that comes across in her thoughts. I like it a lot.

And then the fact she's cooking is just a lovely trait for her to have. She seems very much like the kind of girl that would be good for the Neville we know from the books. He's grown up with his incredibly stern, not very affectionate grandmother and the idea of him eventually falling in love with somebody that bakes and offers him tea late at night is wonderfully sweet. It's reminiscent of Harry finding his first real family in the Weasleys. Neville needs somebody like Hannah in his life.

Having said that, I feel like it's also important to talk about the fact that although you make Neville need Hannah, it's not at all in an unhealthy or damaging way. He's not dependent on her to find out who he is or to live or any of that. Sometimes relationships based on need come across as being very dangerous for the people involved. Your Neville and Hannah aren't like that at all. He needs her because he needs something simple and happy and he appreciates the support she offers. That's so much healthier than basing his whole self around her.

The whole discussion of Atticus is just really sweet. It's not some huge trauma that you're putting your characters for, but it has just the right amount of sadness to demonstrate the tenderness in Neville and Hannah's friendship. And you're showing the importance of little things in people's lives. Atticus mattered to Neville. The whole thing is just really well handled.

The zebra cake is great. I want a zebra cake. Fantastic idea.

And then finally the wish at the end was adorable. You show such a sweet side to Neville and it's just so smiley and lovely and awww.

I'm so glad we did this swap. I really enjoyed reading this lovely story and I'm so sorry about the delay!

Emma xx

Author's Response: That's alright! I'm terrible at getting back to people about owed reviews sometimes (a lot of the time).

Such is the curse of fluff - it's not that popular. But I'm extra pleased that you liked it because it's not your usual thing.

I wanted both the characters to come across as natural - or more correctly, normal. I find that I tend to think of people in ""practical"" terms rather than in deep, introspective passages like in stories. I wanted something of that sense. I'm glad you liked it.

There is A LOT of cooking in this series. A LOT. And yeah, these two are definitely the most compatible couple I have ever been. There's nothing overtly epic or magical about their love. It's all between them, which I find is what happens in most cases. It's a quiet sort of thing, but is no less important because of it. And I never really thought of it that way, comparing it to Harry and the Weasleys, but I can see where you're coming from! Haha! That is so true :P

The part of ""healthy"" needing is very much intentional. Neville needs Hannah in the way we all need good friends. I'm so pleased that it comes off as healthy. She's most certainly not his ""reason to live"" or ""she completes me"" or anything like that. But they balance each other out. I think it's the biggest reason that I wrote their relationship as beginning with such a solid friendship before moving onto the romantic aspect. They enter that particular phase of their relationship as equals.

My writing can get too fluffy sometimes. I included death and loss as a theme because they're a normal part of people's lives. It was a way of underlining that these two characters have lives outside of their relationship with each other. And I'm so happy that you found the sadness to be the correct amount. It's a difficult balance for me to strike.

Everyone wants a zebra cake. I'm not even a big fan of zebras, and I want one. Such is the magic of zebra cake.

I think the biggest character trait with which I wrote Neville is ""huggable"". I want my readers to want to give Neville a hug.

Thanks so much for the swap! I really enjoyed it :)



No results found.
Submit a Review