Login
Reviews For Ignite

Name: StarFeather (Signed) · Date: 14 Jan 2019 02:25 AM · starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Story:Ignite Chapter: Hot Pursuit

What I thought it very creative is that you put the words praising nature beauty here and there, which I noticed in the previous chapters as well. The mission was very dark, but the weather is fine as usual, without being waylaid.

Hahaha, I like Jones who knew Scorp very well, “his reluctance wouldn’t last”. As I expected, Jones will be his best mate from here!

A map of Forbidden Forest”! A very nice idea!

 

Well, my guess so far, the situation that Scorp and Jones are both hale and hearty, the people including professor Lockett, were in the forest couldn’t be cursed at that time. Ah, I like the timing, how Hugo joined them, I really like it, including the way how he entered the scene, his flying on his broom. And I really like the new trio. I love each dialogue and description, the process you created, finally Jones and Scorp let Hugo in.

 

I was very impressed by Methuselah’s perspective reading people’s mind. “We all require approval. It reinforces that we are behaving as we ought…” And he knew himself and their response towards his true words which sounded harsh to the others. I am struck with awe again by your talent to create each character.

 

 The description of the route until they reached to the spot Scorp was going to climb the tree is very creative. I don’t think even J.K.Rowling had ever written about the forest so in detail in her books.

    Wow…the next scene is terrific! Hugo is my star! That was the moment I felt happy with a fan of your works! I held my breath when Methuselah couldn’t summon his Patronus like Harry. Hugo saved both, Scorp and Methuselah.

Oh…no… after his heroic action, Hugo was the victim. Now Methuselah, your turn, please be the hero for us! Find the clue to the horrible ritual!

 

K

@ Magical Menagerie 1, Team Wyvern



Name: StarFeather (Signed) · Date: 14 Jan 2019 12:46 AM · starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Story:Ignite Chapter: Fever Pitch

This chapter has a big turning point. His trust towards the adults being betrayed (agh, professor Lockett, I understand her, I might do the same thing in my real life under the severe circumstances) and his best friends suffered from unidentified infectious disease, even Scorp's best mate Albus had to be with Lily , who did understand Scorp, seemed to be infected (or affected by the curse Scorp witnessed in the forest?). Still, Albus was supportive towards Scorp (before Lily succumbed to the disease) , responding with his wan smile, which Scorp must be thankful for under the serious circumstances.

 

You sow the seeds, the expectation that new friendship would be born through this predicament happening in Hogwarts, the friendship between Jones and Scorp and his righteous indignation which had been hidden was revealed. This ignition will make Scorp a hero of this story, I expect. Perhaps panicked Rose will see him in a different POV from the one in the past she had towards Scorp, if the trial is done successfully by Jones and Scorp.

 

I smiled at the riddle of the door knocker at the Ravenclaw Tower and Scorp's reaction. You thought of a nice riddle at the good timing of the scene. The limited situation let the Slytherin think the plan pestering through the night, which he had been dismissing caring about his best mate's opinion.

 

I enjoyed how quickly Hogwarts fell into hell from the protagonist's POV, how he ignited his fighting spirit. All descriptions are great as usual. I am very curious to know how and when Albus will take action along with Scorp.

 

K

@ Magical Menagerie 1, Team Wyvern

 



Name: you-make-me-wander (Signed) · Date: 13 Jan 2019 06:49 PM · starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Story:Ignite Chapter: Sackcloth and Ashes

Doubling my reading of this and the last chapter with helping catch a creature for The Magical Menagerie.


Goodness, the way you write is just brilliant. I honestly envy your descriptions, your dialogues, your prose. Everything Is just so beautiful and poetically put, it’s a joy to read. I couldn’t be happier that I’m re-reading your story to be honest.


I really like the way you have Rose wishing she could still have intellectual discussions with Mathias although she prefers Hector’s good looks. Because both the things she likes/gives more importance about both boys is something we know she’ll later find in Scorpius, and until then it’s nice to see her struggle a little to try and compensate what she doesn’t have at the moment or didn’t have before.


I’m so glad things are finally starting to be set into motion with all five of them in detention! Can’t wait to come back and read what comes next :)



Name: you-make-me-wander (Signed) · Date: 13 Jan 2019 01:30 PM · [Report This]
Story:Ignite Chapter: Melting Pot

Finally back for Chapter 3!


Scorpius’ dislike for Rose at this point of the story is so incredibly amusing, I kept smiling and laughing throughout the chapter. While he may have gone a little overboard with the prank, I have no doubt at this point Rose would have likely done the same. She’s probably even more bummed that she didn’t come up with the same idea before he did.


Also, Rose reminded me of Hermione so much in this chapter, it’s uncanny. I loved her characterization, well done. Not to mention your attention to detail in the descriptions throughout the chapter. They felt so real it was like I could easily see myself in the classroom with them!


Invoking the mortal sin had me laughing, even though poor Albus is the one suffering with Scorpius’ and Rose’s antics. Detention shall be fun *smirks*


Last but not least, I remember before finding Professor Lockett an intriguing character, and it still stands true, no matter that I remember parts of what will happen with her character and not.


Can’t wait to continue ^^



Name: StarFeather (Signed) · Date: 13 Jan 2019 01:39 AM · starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Story:Ignite Chapter: Afterburn

Scorp lapped up his best mate's friendship like a loyal dog. I may like this chapter the best so far. Albus had priority over anything in caring him rather than accusing him for what he had done in the past.

 

Rose surely cared him, too, even after Albus urged her to do for Scorp. In the first half, the whole world came back as normal for Scorp, from his perspective, everything was alright, he simply felt happy with it.

 

I also like Lily in your story, the banter, playing with the Latin words, their conversation. Her perspective towards Scorp is accurate and thoughtful. I felt happy reading their friendship, too.

 

Each description per each emotional movement is written well as usual.

 

What your story is great, I think the readers can enjoy mystery and action blended with friendship and angst. Even the anti-protagonist takes the important role in the story. What on earth was happening to Miranda Traverse?! I wonder if she had been cursed by the wizards in the forbidden forest. Or did she know something related with the incident they encoutnered in the previous chapter? You set up mystery after mystery. I am so hooked.

 

K

@ Magical Menagerie 1 Team Wyvern



Name: you-make-me-wander (Signed) · Date: 04 Dec 2018 10:08 PM · [Report This]
Story:Ignite Chapter: Heartburn

Hey there! Here for Chapter 2 :)


Going back to your story now, afater having had the chance to watch The Cursed Child performance at the Palace Theatre, really makes me think you've captured Scorpius perfectly in this story. I was already a fan before (seriously, this trilogy might just be one of the best works of fiction I've ever read and I read a lot), but putting things in perspective now is so much better. I'm really glad I came back to the story.


Also, Scorpius telling Selena that he was consulting for Albus had me cracking up!


I'm really sorry for the way Miranda is dealing with Scorpius, and for the lies that she's told and made everyone believe. He's obviously a good bloke, not wanting to tarnish her reputation knowing that his will not recover even if the truth comes out. I do want to know what they're keeping from Rose though (I don't much remember what happened, but I think it involved Flynn? Not sure).


Anyway I'm loving Scorpius and Rose's animosity, and poor Al stuck in the middle! It's a shame though that Rose believed the lies going around about Scorpius, but I know it'll all come out eventually so I'm not too worried. Plus I love me a little drama ^^


Lovely chapter. Be back soon for more.


- Susana


Favourite quote: «"Come, now, Weasley - I know that would be a dark, dark deed indeed, but I am not responsible for the existence of Hector Flynn. You'll have to take that up with his mother."» - This made me laugh out loud and think that Scorpius probably has a repertoire of snarky comments to make about Flynn at any given time xD



Name: StarFeather (Signed) · Date: 27 Oct 2018 11:57 AM · starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Story:Ignite Chapter: Like Wildfire

Hi! I came back! I really enjoyed this chapter from Scorp's POV. He always tried to catch Rose's heart towards him.

 

 First, they had been arguing, worried about their parents who would be informed what they had done. (mostly Scorp was to blame.) It's a fun read Scorp got angry at Rose's words about his father Draco. I sensed Ron-ish in her attitude and Scorp showed his pride. I thought it interesting.

And I got thrilled when I spotted it was Albus who found centaurs coming fast and he yanked Scorp along. So cool, he behaved like his father, Harry.

 It was a sweet moment that he clutched at her hand for dear life, she squeezed back just as tightly though he got dived into cover before Rose, which showed he was surely Slytherin. Then he showed chivalry later, volunteered to spy what was the cause.  This time he was supposed to be a hero, however, things didn't go so easily. 

I'm looking forward to reading next, I couldn't go next in the previous site due to various reasons.

If Scorp could find what was happening there, Rose would change her impression towards him.

 

 

K

 

 

 

 

 

 



Name: StarFeather (Signed) · Date: 27 Oct 2018 06:28 AM · starstarstarstarhalf-star [Report This]
Story:Ignite Chapter: Sackcloth and Ashes

Hi! I came back to your story. Firstly, your CI looks so cool!

This chapter is mostly written from Rose's POV and I enjoyed it very much. The scene when she struggled to find the best practical clothing including Artemis is fun and later, she found only ex-boyfriend and Scorp notice her wearing, I enjoyed reading her mind movement. 

 

I'm jealous that you can create so many characters in one chapter, each character is breathing and talking as if they really exist. Still my favorite is Albus who doesn't have a chance to talk so much compared with Scorp or other characters here. Mostly, he has Harry's characteristics, that's the reason why I am happy to spot him the most.   

 

As I read the following chapters before in the previous site, I am sure Professor Lockett has conspiracy or something may control her?

 

It's an interesting read, I spotted,  Methuselah's opinion around Lockett,

"I simply queried her aptitude at student management. Not her credentials as a Potions Expert." I wonder which house he belongs to. Sounds like Ravenclaw or Slytherin. Did I miss your mentioning about his house?

 

OOhhh, the Forbidden Forest! Mystery begins. I will come back.

 

K

 



Name: you-make-me-wander (Signed) · Date: 18 Oct 2018 11:23 AM · [Report This]
Story:Ignite Chapter: Steam Out

Hi there! Finally took the time to come back to the Stygian trilogy, and I couldn't be more excited *-*


 


I've read the stories before, and even reviewed a few times (on AO3, I think), but it's been a while since I've followed your updates (RL is kind of a bummer that way). But now that I'm more active on the HPFT forum and got to reading and reviewing quite a few stories, I decided that now was a good time as any to go back into your story, that I've grown to love a lot. Plus you deserve more and lengthier reviews because you're a truly talented writer! Just bear with me if at times I won't remember some parts of the plot...


 


I dislike Flynn just as much as I did before, and am completely entranced by Rose and Scorpius and Albus, as always. The way you write their dynamic is funny but most of all relatable; not only their bickering but also Albus' struggle to keep peace between the other two.


 


I can't remember much about Draco's plot in the story, I'll admit, which is outrageous sinc Draco is one of my favorite characters. So I look forward to rediscover him in your fic, no matter what part he plays =)


 


I'd forgotten all about Scorpius' guitar as well, but as soon as it was mentioned parts of the story came back to me and man, I've missed this story!


 


love that not only Ron almost "likes" Scorpius (using this very liberally here lol) solely for disliking Flynn, but also that he couldn't help himself with the chocolates. It's such a Ron thing to do xD


 


Oh and I've missed Methuselah. It's funny how we warm up to him through chapter after chapter after chapter and... Sometimes I wish I didn't remember parts of the plot so well... Anyway, I'm so glad to be back in the story, and it's bittersweet just how factual Methuselah is about not needing to continue DADA with what's to come.


 


I'll admit I laughed out loud when Rose said "When I was little, it was cool our parents were on these. Bur now whenever I pull out a card with Mum on it, I just feel judged". I can imagine it perfectly, and I'm sure it's a struggle for most of the Weasley-Potter clan to deal with.


 


Also, the detention. I look forward to go back to that.


 


All in all, it's a great beginning to the story! I love how Scorpius and Rose have this rivalry, but it's really more like Rose likes teasing him, and he likes being teased by her, and I'm eager to continuing.


 


Favourite quote: "Why Scorpius Malfoy happened at all, ever, anywhere in her life, was a question Rose Weasley had asked herself many times before, and would ask many times again. It was a point of personal pride for Scorpius that he made her do it at least once a week." - I just loved this so I thought I should point it out ❤



Name: MadiMalfoy (Signed) · Date: 10 Sep 2018 04:20 AM · starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Story:Ignite Chapter: Embers

Hey there! :) 

 

So I remember reading this (to about 15 chapters in, I believe) way back on HPFF and then I was scrolling through things for the House Cup Finale and saw this pop up and I was just like, I HAVE to come back to this later, and then I left you one review at the beginning and here I am at the end. OKAY so I love ALL of your characters here, especially your OCs in Methuselah, Selena, and Professor Lockett. This story captivated me from the beginning, and I'm honestly very excited to see that you've started a sequel for it as well because of Thane's continued existence. This whole plot you weaved around Phlegethon was absolutely stunning and just complex enough that all of the (conscious) characters were kept on their feet, and so were we as readers. They make a fun little group, and I'm so happy you gave all of them very distinct character arcs because it really gives them a chance to have a voice/personality for readers to imagine them like while reading that may go beyond just what's on the screen. The slow burn/mutual pining from Rose & Scorpius is obviously my fave, but I just LOVE his whole matchmaking deal in this last chapter with Lockett because he's just like "he still loves you, she still loves you, now makeout please k bye" and it's just such a teenager thing, I love it. Also, Methuselah and Selena -- I kind of started to see it about halfway through thanks to Selena's well-written body language, but I didn't expect it to end the way it did, so I'm curious to see how Selena handles it in the sequel because she refused to leave his body until her mother dragged her away. I'm usually a fan of Draco but here you've made him into an enemy that exists outside of Hogwarts and Phlegethon for Scorpius, and their constant ire for each other is actually quite moving and helps the plot move along in multiple occassions, even if Draco is an absolute mean father. 

 

I'm just so excited to see what happens in Starfall -- are they actually going to take that world trip they all said they wanted to? Are they going to hunt down Thane? I'M SO EXCITED! Awesome job with this first installment, Slide! :) 

 

~MadiMalfoy x



Name: MadiMalfoy (Signed) · Date: 30 Aug 2018 06:14 AM · [Report This]
Story:Ignite Chapter: Steam Out

Hello!! :)

 

So I remember starting this fic back on HPFF years ago and never got around to finishing it so here I am and now I'm actually going to go through and read it with fresh eyes and pause every chapter to gather my thoughts. I've also totally forgotten what happens so it's like I never even read it yet! :P 

 

Okay so I love the relationships you've got going on here already. The train scene was definitely the perfect way to introduce everyone without it being too overwhelming or anything. Also, I love the focus on Scorpius and his perspective here -- he's definitely got something weird/bad/wrong happening with his family and specifically his relationship with his father. I hope this gets addressed later on, especially since Harry was able to pick up on Scorpius's emotions about him letting slip about the guitar playing at home and wanting to be a support for him. The introduction of your character Methuselah Jones is hilarious because it's done so well and his characterization has clearly been thought through so precisely, I love it. UGH JUST SO GOOD ALL OF IT. 


I'll be back for another chapter here soon! :)

~MadiMalfoy x



Name: StarFeather (Signed) · Date: 12 Aug 2018 03:33 PM · starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Story:Ignite Chapter: Melting Pot

Quodpot review for Match 2

 

Hi, I came back after a long time grabbing a chance, a review activity on the forums.

 

It’s hilarious, the scene, Scorp did his prank, oh, yeah, not prank, it is his revenge or eruption of his irritated feeling towards Rose. He should have listened or accepted a signal, warning from Albus.

I’m struck with awe at your setting each characteristic. Professor Lockett is strict but better than Snape as a Potion teacher, it’s my first impression.

 

Rose has rather Ron’s temper in this chapter, she got so angry and couldn’t think of the other way than casting Ginny’s best charm. I could catch Slytherin’s traits here and there in Scorpius: Preparing the second cauldron and plotting prank and pretending to be a nice person flashing his smile at Lockett.

 

 And talking of Albus, I made sure the previous review answer and could grasp it as well. He was smart not to mention which person did cause the mess, Rose or Scorp. So yeah, Harry might behave just like Albus did, if he was there. I remembered he had also Slytherin’s trait, too. Albus inherited the part, it’s plausible that he was sorted into the Slytherin House. The traditional rule between Potters and Weasleys, I enjoyed the spot very much. I held my breath wondering what would be like, Lockett’s next move, her judge.  A detention, of course! It must be more interesting in the next chapter!

 

I love the title, the Melting Pot.  :D

 

K



Name: GinnyHarry123 (Signed) · Date: 12 Apr 2018 05:28 PM · starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Story:Ignite Chapter: Crash and Burn

This is so so amazing story...you are great writer :)

Write soon :)



Name: 800 words of heaven (Signed) · Date: 31 Mar 2018 02:08 AM · [Report This]
Story:Ignite Chapter: Steam Out

*Transferred from HPFF*

 

OMG! This is such a fantastic start to your story! Consider me very hooked!

 

You have some mad skills with introducing and establishing your characters. Already, I feel like I know a lot about Scorpius and Rose and Albus! Your supporting cast of the Potter-Weasley clan was also fantastic to read. I am looking forward to seeing more of ALL your characters.

 

On that note, I love everyone's characterisations. They're so different and fresh to what one usually finds in Next Gen stories. I am so excited to see where you take these characters in the following chapters!

 

I have trouble with description, so I'm always on the lookout for it - and I found no complaints here! Whilst reading this, I was like, I should be taking notes on how to structure my sentences. These are fantastic!

 

Obviously, I loved the beginning of your story! Be back soon for more!



Name: StarFeather (Signed) · Date: 11 Feb 2018 04:48 AM · starstarstarstar [Report This]
Story:Ignite Chapter: Heartburn

Hi, I stopped by after I found you had posted more chapters.

The most impressive spots in the first half are:

 

At the least, it made Scorpius think harder about whatever he asked of Albus. He didn’t, himself, care much about lying or cheating to get by in life. He did care about making Albus do the same.

 

Albus took a deep breath. ‘Some day, Scorpius, people are going to realise that you’re a good guy after all.’

‘I want to be there on that day.’ Scorpius flung his broom to the right, and punched the Quaffle away from Albus’ latest, heavily distracted strike. ‘It’ll be really cool to see it rain fire.’

 

I love  this friendship between Albus and Scorp. I wondered how Albus ended in Slytherin House after the Sorting Ceremony. Was he distracted by the existence of Scorp? What characteristics of him pulled attention from Albus? Albus seems to have inherited his calmness and judge towards Scorp from his father Harry.

 I also love the episode how they worked hard to get a chance to play Quidditch in the first year like Harry Potter.

 

You wrote not only how stylishly Scorp wore his school uniform but also his inner emotions and angst deeply, I like that.

 

Apparently, Rose seems to have inherited her prejudiced opinions towards Scorp, from her father, Ron. It'll be more interesting guessing how she gets to know him better, his true characteristic as the story goes.  

 

K

 



Author's Response:

Oh hey reviews cool I should deal with this. *coughs* Al and Scorp are, frankly, too adorable, and not at all way too co-dependent, nah, super not. Honest, guv. Albus' journey to Slytherin House is indeed explained down the line, and while he has traits of leadership, drive, and his own form of cunning (this Al is a planner rather than a schemer), Scorpius is a not-insignificant factor. And of course they played really hard to be first year Quidditch team members - and of course they failed, because there's only one Harry Potter. ;)

Scorpius dresses to impress and also to hide his feelings. As for Rose, I choose to interpret Ron's epilogue comments as being more tongue-in-cheek; she has her reasons for her opinions towards Scorpius, not all of them are fair, and the Malfoy name may be a bit of a factor - but although that's never explicitly addressed, I suspect any prejudice towards the family becomes more of a reason to not cut Scorpius a break than a reason to dislike him. The reasons for disliking Scorpius are all from Rose and not at all about Ron or Draco. Thanks for reviewing, it's exciting to get these. ;)



Name: StarFeather (Signed) · Date: 18 Sep 2017 12:08 AM · starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Story:Ignite Chapter: Steam Out

Hallo, there! I came to poke you to write and post more grabbing a chance at HC on the forums activity, Magic Bingo. As I did only focus on Harry on the previous review at hpff, I’d like to write more about this chapter. And I’m struggling with writing Scorpius Malfoy, your splendid characterization will give me some hints. I respect your writing style. :D

 

I miss this. Cynical Scorpius and thoughtgul Albus who “had several inches of height on Harry and was a good deal broader”, I like the descriptions about two Potters. You really did a good job with observing Harry and his second son, Albus. You started building up how friendship will go between Albus and Scorpius. You condense the circumstances around Scorp especially, Potter- Weasley clans, how he sees them. I really like your way.

 

The latter half, you created Scorp as a troublesome, imperfect juvenile, but he can observe things around him calmly and think wiser. Then again, the question rose up in my mind again, the same one I had when I reviewed at hpff. Why Draco and Astoria wouldn’t send his son off. “he was grinning again, all charm and easy manners”, there must be a serious problem behind his mask. I guess his parents doesn’t like his father was an ex-Death Eater and they don't want their son feel miserable.

 

I really like the scene, the way how Harry cared Scorpius carrying his trunk, and the conversation (I might have left the same at the previous review). Harry worries and cares about Scorp and Albus while Scorp could only feel perplexed at his care. I like this spot, “This took Scorpius by surprise, and he had never been more grateful for the interruption of the train’s horn.”

 

Overall you described how Scorp had been enjoying his school life so far marvelously, the relationship with girls and boys, the closest friends and Quidditch. And he was set as a really a troublemaker, especially for Rose.

 

K



Submit a Review