Login

Name: ReillyJade (Signed) · Date: 15 Jul 2018 03:45 AM · [Report This]
Story:In Which Harry and Ron Discuss Everything BUT Quidditch Chapter: The Chat

Okay. Here's the thing: I can't write humor. I'm atrocious at it. No matter how many times I try, I can never get it right. Therefore, I really admire when someone is able to pull it off without it sounding forced or unnatural. 

 

You are now that person. This was HILARIOUS!

 

The dialogue in this was so witty that I actually giggled out loud a few times. (And when I read this, I was sitting in a quiet waiting room, so thanks for that lol.) Everything about it flowed so smoothly and the pacing was perfect. 

 

Your characterizations were spot-on as well. Ron would totally wait up to have a "talk" with Harry, and Harry would be far too respectful to ignore him despite how uncomfortable he knew it'd be. Of course they'd be too immature to actually talk about it, so they use a quidditch metaphor instead. And typical Harry, stumbling over his words and having a bad case of word vomit. XD  This truly feels like a missing moment from canon and I absolutely love it!

 

Favorite line: "I'll bludger anyone who... ya' know- deserves a bludger and if Quidditch needs me to sit on the sidelines and just cheer for a bit, I'll do that too." -I like this one in particular because, beneath the silliness of it all, it really shows just how much Harry gets Ginny. Nine times out of ten, she doesn't need a hero and can totally stand up for herself, and I love that he respects and admires that.

 

I really can't describe how much I enjoyed this; you'll just have to take my word for it. :D Excellent job!

 

Cheers,

Reilly

 



Name: Stella Blue (Signed) · Date: 28 Jan 2018 08:19 PM · [Report This]
Story:In Which Harry and Ron Discuss Everything BUT Quidditch Chapter: The Chat

Hey Beth! Congrats on your FROGS nominations!

 

I loved this! The first half was so sweet and I loved the way you wrote Harry and Ginny here, their nonverbal conversation was just so sweet - and the fact that Ginny wants to have a word with Ron for being nosy, but Harry convinces her to let it go. Just the way you write the affection between them is so wonderful. I also laughed at the fact that Ron's potions book was upside down, as it's clear he is totally not reading it and was literally just waiting for the two of them to return haha.

 

The conversation about 'Quidditch' that followed was really funny, especially how Ron went for an analogy so he doesn't have to actually be confrontational to have this conversation, and how Harry takes a moment to pick up on it. And how the analogy doesn't 100% make sense and they're trying so hard to make it make sense so they don't actually have to talk about Ginny XD The 'scoring goals' bit had me in stitches! And HArry's panic as he obliviously says things like this. At least he did catch himself after he said he'd play any position hahaha

 

What's especially great is that, as funny as this is, I could totally see it happening. You write the friendship between Harry and Ron so well. And I liked that you made references to the book with the "creature in Harry's chest."

 

I really enjoyed this! Good luck in the FROGS!



Name: Felpata_Lupin (Signed) · Date: 27 Jan 2018 03:19 PM · starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Story:In Which Harry and Ron Discuss Everything BUT Quidditch Chapter: The Chat

Hi, Beth! :)

I'm checking out FROGS noms, so here I am.

This was... interesting. I loved the tension between Harry and Ron and how Harry was so careful at not saying the wrong thing... I guess Ron as the protective older brother can be scary... and the Quidditch metaphore... a bit crazy, maybe, but it was fun. So Ron. I can totally imagine this conversation happen. I'm glad Harry got Ron's approval. And I loved the wordless communication between Harry and Ginny as well.

Sorry for the short review, anyway this was a fun one-shot, I enjoyed reading it. :)

Good luck for FROGS!

Chiara



Name: justawillowtree (Signed) · Date: 19 Jan 2018 06:18 AM · [Report This]
Story:In Which Harry and Ron Discuss Everything BUT Quidditch Chapter: The Chat

As a staunch Harry/Ginny shipper and as someone who just adores the heck out of Ron, this story was possibly the best thing I could've stumbled across while going through the FROGS reading list. I'm so, so happy I read this, I've never smiled so hard in my life. You wrote Ron and Harry so preciously, I just. My heart. <3

 

First of all, my shipper heart would like me to compliment you on all the absolutely freaking adorable interactions between Harry and Ginny. It was just so cute, like, so, so, so cute. I'm pretty sure I died and went to heaven, it made me so unbelievably happy. Their sweet goodnight kiss, their nonverbal interaction, their goodbye before Ginny went off to bed... *sigh*

 

Okay, now Ron. He's so funny. When I first saw the title for this fic, I just sorta tilted my head a bit and went, "What does that mean?" But as soon as Ron opened his mouth and started blathering about Quidditch, I simultaneously wanted to groan and also laugh at him forever. Leave it to Ron to come up with a strangely creative way out of difficult conversations.

 

So with the Quidditch euphemism underway, the two boys somehow managed to hold a conversation about Harry's relationship with Ginny. And you wrote the conversation so hilariously. It was the funniest thing. Everything Ron said was absolutely glorious, but especially this gem here -- “SCORING GOALS?!  ARE YOU TELLING ME THAT YOU INTEND TO…”

 

Harry just sorta walked himself right into that one.

 

So I loved this, I really, really loved it. Thank you for writing it! <3 <3 <3

 

~Eva



Name: Rumpelstiltskin (Signed) · Date: 03 Dec 2017 07:07 AM · starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Story:In Which Harry and Ron Discuss Everything BUT Quidditch Chapter: The Chat

Hello!

 

First of all, the Hinny cuteness is amazing and I love the fluffy cuteness. Secondly, I am squeeing in delight because Harry is so happy and free in this compared to the majority of the times we've seen him canonically and it's all because of Ginny and they are the most adorable couple ever in this. 

 

Anyway, using Quidditch analogies to dance around the subject of Harry dating Ron's sister is pretty much amazing. The fact that Ginny is Quidditch is even more amazing, in my opinion. I love that it took Harry a moment to realize what Ron was referring too. It must be a little awkward for your best friend to start dating your sister, but at least Ron knows that Harry is a good guy.

 

Oh my goodness--the entire scoring goals bit is hysterical...this entire analogy is hysterical because they're trying to connect a person to a sport's match but it seems like the perfect way to go about it between Harry and Ron. And when all is said and done, Ron is appeased. 

 

So this was cute and fluffy and hilarious and I loved it!

 

-Rumpels



Name: poppunkpadfoot (Signed) · Date: 03 Dec 2017 06:17 AM · starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Story:In Which Harry and Ron Discuss Everything BUT Quidditch Chapter: The Chat

Omg this is hilarious, I loved it! I thought the tone of this story was really fun right off the bat. I loved Harry's reference to the "creature in his chest" (great book reference) and that he felt like someone had cast a lumos charm inside him.

 

I was glad that Ginny actually reacted to Ron being there and wanted to go tell him off. That was definitely in character for her, it would've been a bit strange if she hadn't reacted like that. But I liked her and Harry's non-verbal conversation and that he was able to calm her down (and I liked that he actually noticed it was their first non-verbal conversation - I thought that was very cute, lol).

 

The whole conversation between Ron and Harry was so well-done. Perfect dialogue and characterization. All the little metaphors they came up with for the various balls were so funny. My favourite moments were Ron almost losing it when Harry obliviously mentioned "scoring goals" and when Harry had absolutely no idea what Ron was talking about when he brought up the Quaffle. Overall, I was really glad that you went the route of Ron calmly talking to Harry, rather than absolutely blowing up at him or something.

 

This is a brilliant little story and was a lot of fun to read. Great work!

 

-Kayla



Name: dirtydeedsdonedirtcheap (Signed) · Date: 12 May 2017 10:22 PM · starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Story:In Which Harry and Ron Discuss Everything BUT Quidditch Chapter: The Chat

Although his back was to them, the tell-tale red hair and upside down potions book left little mystery to what the youngest Weasley son was doing there.



This made me chuckle. I like that the book is upside down. Man, in that instant if I was Harry I would have been afraid of Ron. Ron isn't even menacing but still, don't mess with his little sister. 

“Ya know, I’d be really really upset if anything… erm… happened to my Quidditch game.”


I'm having a fit here. I can't stop giggling. Boys!

“SCORING GOALS?!  ARE YOU TELLING ME THAT YOU INTEND TO…”


What an idiot. Harry has never been one with words. Give him a break Ron, he's practically a muggle. Ha-ha. 

I loved this! Ron is my favorite so any story about him where he isn't completely AU and mean I like. The Quidditch analogy was great. I didn't think you'd be able to keep it up throughout the entire story but you did and that make this 1000x better. Boys are silly, aren't they? He acts like he's Ginny's dad. It really isn't any of his business but I suppose his sister and his best friend that can't be an easy thing. 


Name: WindingArrow (Signed) · Date: 08 May 2017 10:19 PM · starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Story:In Which Harry and Ron Discuss Everything BUT Quidditch Chapter: The Chat

I'm positively bursting with laughter! Ridiculously, whenever we have kids, I can see my husband having similar conversations with boyfriends of daughters, only it would have more to do with Dragon Ball Z than quidditch- Harry Potter is my area of expertise, hahaha.

 

I LOVE the silent conversation bit- absolutely perfect and Ron was just... Ron's my favorite. Always has been. I love him here. If I had to critique anything, it would be the use of the word 'ya' as opposed to 'you.' I understand what you were doing with it and it's more of a personal preference than critique- it's just bugged me after a little while.

 

I must say, I don't know what I was expecting when I read the title, but that wasn't it, hahaha! So delightfully good!

 

-Liz



Submit a Review