Login
Reviews For Dull Ache

Name: LadyL8 (Anonymous) · Date: 29 Mar 2018 06:13 AM · [Report This]
Story:Dull Ache Chapter: Chapter 1

Transferred from offsite at request of the author

Originally left on 08/22/2015

Hi Rose.

So this story is very personal to you, I know. I actually remember the tweet about your baby, and it really broke my heart. It’s definitely part of the reason why I’m so happy you are now going to be a mum, cause everyone that wants to be parents and that can and will give a child a good home should be allowed to be parents. And I know you’ll be an amazing mum, and I can’t wait to hear all about it.

This story is so heartbreaking that it actually took me a while to come up with a review for it. You really convey her emotions, the sadness, confusion and desperation. And it really touched my heart, because it’s very close to me personally. My sister has been trying to get pregnant for over 10 years, but she’s been having many issues with it. And she’s now taking hormone pills to help her higher the odds of getting pregnant. And she was actually pregnant last year and so happy about it, but she lost her child a few weeks later. And she closed herself off a lot, and it broke my heart to see her like that. But now they’re trying again, and I really hope she will eventually get to be a mum, because I know she’d be an amazing.

It’s also close to my heart because I’ve always known I want to be a mum, but I have a blood type that makes the chances of me having problems in a pregnancy much higher. But fortunately they’d advanced a lot when it comes to medicine, so the chances have been reduced a lot. So hopefully everything will work out for me when or if I get pregnant sometime in the future.

But anyway, I love how you wrote this. It’s an amazing story, and I felt really sorry for Andromeda. It was just incredibly moving to read, but it really broke my heart. I feel like this is the best place to end it, so I’m just going to do that. Thanks for sharing the story.

Lots of Love

Lotte

(P.S did I mention how brave I find you to be for daring to be so personal, to write about something so close to you. I would never have the courage to do that, so you're definitely braver than I am)



Name: Beeezie (Anonymous) · Date: 29 Mar 2018 06:13 AM · [Report This]
Story:Dull Ache Chapter: Chapter 1

Transferred from offsite at request of the author

Originally left on 06/20/2015

Oh, Rose. As I was reading this, my heart was breaking for Andromeda, especially once they said she was having a son, because I thought I knew how this was probably going to end. I was sad that I was right, and very sad once I read your author's note at the end. I'm so sorry for your loss, belated though the sympathy is.

I do want to say, though, that I disagree with your author's note. I didn't notice a lot of typos, and I think that this is well written. You conveyed the confusion, pain, and loss here perfectly, and I think the style in which you wrote the story fit that in a way that lots of beautiful flowery prose wouldn't have. It would have felt odd for the story to move along at a slower, calmer, more controlled pace, because it wasn't about a slow, calm, and controlled situation.

I could feel their anguish, and my heart broke particularly for Andromeda when I remember what she'd already lost when her family disowned her and what she was going to lose in the future during the SWW. I thought that your decision to have Ted use Obliviate on her at her urging was perfect - I'd never thought about that being an option in the wizarding world, but given the grief she was feeling that was really tearing her apart, I could understand why she wanted him to do it. I'm not sure what I think of leaving the burden on him in a way that leaves him without any support, because he's clearly crushed by the loss as well, but I do understand it.

This was incredibly moving, and again, I'm very sorry for your loss. I hope that writing this did turn out to be cathartic.

House Cup 2015 - Ravenclaw!

Author's Response: I just want to say thank you for the review and kind words on this piece. ♥ I'm still tore up about this story and have a hard time thinking about it objectively.

thank you so much

-rose



Name: Dr. Evil III (Anonymous) · Date: 29 Mar 2018 06:13 AM · [Report This]
Story:Dull Ache Chapter: Chapter 1

Transferred from offsite at request of the author

Originally left on 05/30/2015

It's a good thing mini me was already put down for his nap because this story was very emotional. An evil villain like me felt a pang where his heart used to be (I got it replaced, too many malfunctioning valves thanks to toomanycurlyfries).

Number-two has been thrown in the dungeon because he realized a lone tear was trickling down my face. The evils can feel too.

Especially this evil who wants to sob at this story. She reminded me of a kind woman I once knew who did not deserve the hand that the world dealt her.

I don't like to admit it but I have some good stuck in me. That's what happens when your great uncle is Austin powers.

Ssh...its a shame in my family.

Anyway, if I could I would create a device that would have made her son be okay. Unfortunately my very intelligent mind, though can be used for good, has not come up with a solution. Removing the memory at the end was painful and slightly relieving but it was still there, locked away but threatening to bubble to the surface I'm sure one day.

Author's Response: It's probably good to keep your softer side from mini me. He could use it against you in his rise to power. I do appreciate your kind words on this story and might risk a hug...

*hug*

You've been the best on these reviews



Name: Shadowkat (Anonymous) · Date: 29 Mar 2018 06:13 AM · [Report This]
Story:Dull Ache Chapter: Chapter 1

Transferred from offsite at request of the author

Originally left on 05/18/2015

I read this last night, but I literally had to wait until I thought of a good enough response...this was absolutely heartbreaking. I knew a girl who went through this, even though I didn't really talk to her before this happened, and the worst part was that she was a freshman in high school. She'd never dated before, and this boy drew her in just to dump her right after he got what he wanted. She decided to keep the baby and try and make something good out of what happened, and like here something went wrong halfway through. To top it off she dropped out of school because of how everyone was treating her after word got out, and the last thing I heard about her was that her dad was going to homeschool her. That was a very extreme situation, but it's the only one I've been around, and it reminded me of it all over. :(

I really liked how you contrasted the scenes with happy and tragic, which really made it hit the feels button. I can't imagine what that would be like, but I imagine it would hurt, and the fear that would be there if you ever became pregnant again. Luckily, we know she does get pregnant again with Tonks.

I find the plain style you used normally makes a story seem a bit dull, but here it works. There's nothing but what's already there, and I feel like no matter how you feel this came out, it should stay exactly the same.

Also, you don't have to answer this, but was that your first baby? If not, I'm sure you're a wonderful mom to the kids you do have, and if not I have faith that one day you'll get a chance to be one. It takes a lot of courage to share something that's about such a personal topic, and I'm glad you let us read this. It was amazing.

Author's Response: *hug* thank you so much for the review and kind words. This was my first pregnancy but now I have a baby - it's nice to look back on this now that I'm a mother and know I've moved on from a very difficult time.

-rose



Name: TreacleTart (Anonymous) · Date: 29 Mar 2018 06:13 AM · [Report This]
Story:Dull Ache Chapter: Chapter 1

Transferred from offsite at request of the author

Originally left on 05/13/2015

Hi Rose!

I'm here for our swap!

Wow. The emotions in this were so clear and moving. I'm not the biggest of criers or particularly emotional myself, but I couldn't help getting teary-eyed towards the end. What poor Andromeda is going through is so incredibly hard to deal with. I really felt a lot of sympathy for her.

My sister-in-law actually had a stillborn child at 7 months and I remember how devastating that was for everyone, but particularly her. I feel like this story was able to put that into words and make it something that anyone could understand. It is so heart-wrenching.

In regards to the style, I really loved that the timeline pops back and forth between pregnancy and loss of pregnancy. The contrast really makes it so much more tragic. Seeing the moments of happiness that Andromeda and Ted are feeling and then the intense sorrow that they feel afterwards, particularly when you put the moments side by side, really draws the reader into what they are feeling. It was brilliantly handled.

I did notice a few typos here, but honestly they were very minor and were easily lost in the tragedy of your writing. Normally, I would point them out in case you wanted to edit this, but I think that this is as it should be. I think the whole story and the way it's written really speaks to where you were when you wrote this and I wouldn't change that at all.

On a bit of a more personal note, I hope that this story helped you to release some of the things you were feeling. It certainly felt that way in reading this. I'm so sorry that you had to go through something like this, but I know in the end you will have a beautiful family.

Truly a moving story, Rose. Great work writing a very tough subject. You handled it with great care.

~Kaitlin

Author's Response: Kaitlin!!

thank you so much for the kind review on this. I appreciate comments from people who have experienced smething similar or who know people that have - it makes their perspective mean something more to me.

*hugs*

-Rose



Name: Oregonian (Anonymous) · Date: 29 Mar 2018 06:13 AM · [Report This]
Story:Dull Ache Chapter: Chapter 1

Transferred from offsite at request of the author

Originally left on 03/25/2015

Oh, Rose, what a sad story. I am so sorry. I hope that things are a little better by now. Your story is vivid to me because I was for many decades, until my recent retirement, an obstetrical nurse who has seen countless births, delivered some myself, and seen more than a few tragic outcomes like this one. It is impressive that you could write a complex story like this one, with its non-linear timeline, so soon after your sad loss. I hope that the writing helped. This story reflects the experience of many women who lose a baby, and of all the other women who don’t lose a baby but do count the weeks, one by one, yearning for the magic number of weeks when, even if the baby came early, it would have a chance to survive.

Perhaps you felt that you could not apply your best efforts to the crafting of this story, and just relied on your own skill and experience to carry you through to the end. If so, they served you well, because the story is well written and I didn’t notice any typos. It’s a good thing that the Potterverse is vast enough that anything we need to say can be applied into that universe somewhere. I picked this story to review, out of all of yours, simply because it didn’t have a lot of reviews already, but I’m glad that fate directed me here.

Maybe someday you might read my story “The Crofter and the Snake”. The words of my heroine in the final part of that story were inspired by my feelings when I feared that my daughter had drowned in the Indian Ocean tsunami of 2004. Luckily, she did not, but that bit of emotion fit into the Potterverse in that story. It is good that we can write about these things.

Vicki

Author's Response: Hi Vicki!!

I'm so so so sorry that it took me ages to reply to this wonderful review. Out of everyone who has reviewed this, you have a unique perspective on what the experience was like. I'm at the point now where I'm pregnant again and 24 weeks along. It's been an anxious wait.

Your review touched me in so many ways that I cannot adequately say everything it means to me still. Thank you for the compassion and insight.

-Rose



Name: The Basilisk (Anonymous) · Date: 29 Mar 2018 06:13 AM · [Report This]
Story:Dull Ache Chapter: Chapter 1

Transferred from offsite at request of the author

Originally left on 03/21/2015

Hello, it is The Basilisk.

Oh dear me, this was so very sad and heartbreaking. You really tackled this sensitive issue beautifully. I felt for Andromeda so much in this. The whole pregnancy and ultimately losing the baby was all described perfectly. The pain, the emotions, Andromeda's thoughts, they were all spot on. I am completely moved by this piece of writing and I think you've done a very good job with this.

It was interesting to see Andromeda and Ted going through this - but happy times came after and they did have Nymphadora Tonks so I'm glad to think of that. The ending of this story really hit me though. The amount of turmoil and pain Andromeda must have been going through would be terrible since she got the memory of losing the child obliviated.

All in all, a very powerful, beautifully written story that I am glad I read.

Hiss Hiss,

The Basilisk

Author's Response: Hisss!

Hiss hiss his (um, amd I doing parsletounge right? I should probably just use English - I hope that's okay.)

Your feedback on this is quite touching. I'm glad it was able to move you and that it felt realistic. Part of the reason I picked Andromeda and Ted is because we know they hit happy times after this and went on to have a family together.

Thanks for slythering by and leaving such a kind review!

-Rose



Name: typewriter (Anonymous) · Date: 29 Mar 2018 06:13 AM · [Report This]
Story:Dull Ache Chapter: Chapter 1

Transferred from offsite at request of the author

Originally left on 03/14/2015

Hello! Here for our review swap!

This story brought on all of the feels. My sister recently had a baby, and it was not an easy pregnancy by any means. She was is lots of pain, and there were many scary moments. Now she has a wonderful baby girl, who is just the light of all our lives. It makes me so sorry to hear about your loss, and to read this and the depth of the emotion you've managed to convey. It's a terrible situation to have to go through, but I truly appreciate that you've written this and that I can now pass it along to others. Your author's note mentions that you think this is not particularly well-written. You either were being silly :) or have gone back and corrected what you deemed to be typos, because this was VERY well-written. I loved it, and look forward to reading more from you! Anyone who can convey such detailed and realistic emotion is someone I can favorite. Thank you for writing! I'm so happy I review swapped with you and got a chance to be enlightened to your writing!

Amanda

Author's Response: Hi Amanda!!

It's always nice to see/hear that people do pull through those situations. I'm currently pregnant again (it's July) and at 23.5 weeks so I'm starting to see the potential for hope after everything. I was crying when I wrote this so I really had no idea if I typed words for the whole thing, ha. I am glad it's a powerful read and not horrible with the typos. Thank you for such an encouraging and uplifting review.

-Rose



Name: AdinaPuff (Anonymous) · Date: 29 Mar 2018 06:13 AM · [Report This]
Story:Dull Ache Chapter: Chapter 1

Transferred from offsite at request of the author

Originally left on 01/25/2015

Review swap!

So this isn't going to be a particularly long review. But I just wanted to tell you that your writing style and how you portrayed this was beautiful. It left tears in my eyes. I can't imagine going through that, and I'm so sorry to hear that you've gone through it yourself.

It's amazing that you can write something so close to home. I haven't written anything that reflects off my life. But you wrote this so beautifully and it was just so sad. I could feel their hope growing and then crashing down. It was a perfect one shot, truly.

Thanks for the swap. This was beautiful!

-Leigh

Author's Response: Leigh!!

I can't tell you how much your review means. Thank you so much for picking this and leaving a lovely review.

Usually I avoid topics that are *really* close to my heart but this was worth the risk in the end.

Thank you again!

-Rose



Name: HeyMrsPotter (Anonymous) · Date: 29 Mar 2018 06:13 AM · [Report This]
Story:Dull Ache Chapter: Chapter 1

Transferred from offsite at request of the author

Originally left on 01/12/2015

Rose ♥

This isn't going to be a particularly long review, I could comment on your beautiful writing style and excellent touches of magic throughout this, which I loved, but I know you probably didn't write the story with those in mind.

Knowing what you went through and having seen a few things from you on twitter about your boy, I felt terribly for you then, and then reading this made me shed more than a few tears for you and your husband. I hope writing this story gave you a little bit of release even if it was temporarily.

This was really beautiful. ♥

Author's Response: Dee!!

Thank you so much for leaving a lovely review and being so supportive. Writing this helped a bit - it was a snapshot of how I felt at that time. I'm glad to have experienced a bit more healing since then.

xoxo

-rose



Name: Aphoride (Anonymous) · Date: 29 Mar 2018 06:13 AM · [Report This]
Story:Dull Ache Chapter: Chapter 1

Transferred from offsite at request of the author

Originally left on 01/11/2015

Hey Rose! :) So I felt there was something right about reviewing this - it's a new thing of yours, and it's Andromeda, which I love, and I dunno... it just seemed right, somehow.

So yeah, I'm here.

I just want to say first, that I am always so, so amazed by people like you who can write so frankly and so honestly about things which they've been through, especially things which are as hard as this. It's always so personal, and so difficult, so thank you so much for sharing this with us *hugs* You're seriously, genuinely amazing, and I don't really think I can accurately explain how brave I think you are.

It's actually a really hard thing to review, imo - it's so sobering, so solemn and weighty, and it really makes you think and feel for the characters, and try and consider somehow how it would feel like, or seem like to go through something like that. Ofc, it's not really possible, because it's just such an emotional thing.

The way you write this is gorgeous. Really, really gorgeous. I love the whole set-up with the jumping timeline, and how it still tells this devastating story through it, and how you describe everything so wondefully. Your word choice is outstanding, it's just so perfect.

Your characterisation is amazing, as well. It's so gorgeous - it's so real and so true and speaks so deeply to the human experience.

This is an incredibly stunning, amazing one-shot. Thank you so, so much for writing it and sharing it with us *hugs*

Aph xx

Author's Response: Aph!!!

Thank you so much for stopping by this story. ^_^

Before this I've avoided writing about anything too personal or emotional for me. I'm glad that it's not as awful to read as I thought it would be and people have been really kind about the fact that this did come from a difficult place.

It is nice to make people think and feel for the characters in a way that's hard to respond to (as a reader). It's not a very fun or lighthearted story but I'm glad it's still enjoyable.

ahh, I just can't begin to tell you how much your review means. xoxo thank you so very much!!

-Rose



Name: MargaretLane (Anonymous) · Date: 29 Mar 2018 06:13 AM · [Report This]
Story:Dull Ache Chapter: Chapter 1

Transferred from offsite at request of the author

Originally left on 01/09/2015

I saw this in the ""recently added"" section lately and was going to read it, but didn't get around to it, so I'm glad you offered this swap, because otherwise I'd have completely forgotten about it.

I really like the opening. It leaves me wondering if Andromeda is ill or if she's been drinking or if she's stressed. I DEFINITELY want to read on, having read the first line.

Hmm, the implication they've no guests is interesting. Maybe because her family and their fellow pureblood supremacists have basically disowned her, but maybe other people are wary of the Black's reputation for Dark Magic.

You've written ""the baron room."" I assume you mean ""the barren room.""

Hmm, I wonder what is happening to her. She seems sort of depressed or something.

Uh oh, I'm getting concerned something bad is going to happen with Andromeda's baby, that she's going to lose it.

Oh, that is so sad about their little boy. They must be heartbroken.

Really sorry about the loss of your baby.

Honestly, I didn't see many typos in this. The one I mentioned above is the only one I noticed.

Really good and emotive story. Poor, poor Andromenda and Ted. This must have been so hard for them.

Author's Response: Thank you so much for the lovely review. It's nice to have feedback on this from someone as astute a reader as you. I'm glad the beginning seems like she could be drunk or ill. I wasn't sure if her general attitude of something not being right would stand out. Thank you so much for reading this and for your kind words.



Name: Unicorn_Charm (Anonymous) · Date: 29 Mar 2018 06:13 AM · [Report This]
Story:Dull Ache Chapter: Chapter 1

Transferred from offsite at request of the author

Originally left on 01/09/2015

Hi Rose ♥

I first want to say how sorry I am about what happened and just know that you have been in my thoughts.

This was probably the most real and most powerful thing I have read on this site and I'm so sorry that it had to come from real life.

I thought the format of this was done perfectly. The way it jumped all around to different memories. I imagine that while something like this is happening, your thoughts would be all over the place. How she thinks about all the different events that led up to it, all kind of out of order. It really portrayed the complete mess your head would be during that experience.

Ted was just wonderful. He was so loving, supportive and just the perfect husband to her. Of course he would be feeling the loss and sadness as well, but it really would be important for him to be there for his wife, and he was. You can just feel the unconditional love between them. They're a wonderful couple.

When she whispered that about him being perfect, that broke my heart. I don't even know what to say, because I can't even imagine going through that.

The last line in this story was really the most powerful one of them all.

Thank you for doing the swap. I have to disagree with your Author's Note. This was very, very well written. And again, I'm so sorry, Rose. If you need anyting, I'm only a PM away. *hug* ♥

xoxo Meg

Author's Response: Meg, thank you so much for the kind words and awesome review. I usually don't write about something that is still actively painful but I'm glad it came through well in the story. I thought of this storyline before losing the baby (it had an infant death instead) and it always seemed like a plot that would be best told broken up. I loved writing ted as such a loving husband. That's really the only kind of spouse worth having. Your review means a lot to me - thank you

Rose



Name: patronus_charm (Anonymous) · Date: 29 Mar 2018 06:13 AM · [Report This]
Story:Dull Ache Chapter: Chapter 1

Transferred from offsite at request of the author

Originally left on 01/06/2015

Rose ♥

Wow, what can I say? This was so raw and moving and powerful and I'm going to have to go against your author note as I think the writing in this was amazing as it was so personal and seeping with feeling that it really did move me!

Andromeda and Ted were written so well and really did seem to be made for each other. Her pain was his pain, his joy was her joy, and they really were there for each other in the best and the worst times and that really did move me. I think it was especially poignant when they were trying to choose a name for the baby as Andromeda had acknowledged his muggle roots and they were still trying to smile through the pain even though it must have been unimaginable for them.

When you describing the miscarriage happening there seemed to be this weird slow motion feel to it, like they were accepting it had to happen and were going through the motions of like going to St. Mungo's and stuff, but then there was this reluctance too with the way they were clinging onto the past and not wanting to let it go. I think that eerie sort of feeling is really what made my heart break as they really deserved this child and they would have been such great parents to it, it was so cruel for it to be taken from this.

Wah, like other people have said that last line was just wow and I'm still trying to take it in, it just made me want to hug you and take away some of your pain. I'm so sorry that this happened, Rose, because just reading this story made me realise how unimaginable the pain must be.

I'm sending lots of love and hugs your way and keep on being the strong and awesome person that you are, Rose! ♥

-Kiana

Author's Response: Kiana!

I guess this didn't feel amazing when I posted it but I was also crying at the time. :-/ As a vindictive author, I'm glad it was moving to read and that the raw emotion in it came out.

Andromeda and Ted have always been a favorite couple of mine so it was easy to give them such a nice relationship. I mean, they flow together but they have their incongruencies as well. I like to think that Andromeda did her best to understand parts of Ted's muggle life as he still carries a fascination for muggle culture.

Part of me wanted avoid some of the worse details of losing a pregnancy so I tried to make it a bit removed for Andromeda.

The last line was a reflection of sorts from me. It kind of pulled the whole experience together in terms of being torn between remembering and purging the past. I can say that I'm at least getting better. :)

thank you so much for your incredible review and very kind words.

-Rose



Name: Lululuna (Anonymous) · Date: 29 Mar 2018 06:13 AM · [Report This]
Story:Dull Ache Chapter: Chapter 1

Transferred from offsite at request of the author

Originally left on 01/04/2015

Hi Rose! ♥

Wow, I just wanted to drop by and say that I read this and am sending so much love your way. I'm so sorry for your loss. This story was beautiful and powerful and heartbreaking, and I felt myself even more immersed in Andromeda's ordeal here because of your experience.

This story really made my heart hurt. It was really strong and immersive and I couldn't tear my eyes away. The structure of going back and forth between the past and present added a new layer of how her mind must be working.

I loved the name Elvis here and how the name was tied in with Ted's Muggle heritage. Throughout the story, the characters of both of them really shone through: the humour, the anger, the grief and the way they both face it in different ways. I felt like Andromeda's body being a constant physical reminder of her loss was very relatable and uniquely feminine.

Wow, that last line. It was such a unique contrast. I feel like when many people experience grief or trauma we wish we could have it removed from our memories, and the way that her body remembers even if her brain has been coaxed into forgetting was just beautiful. It gave a really interesting dimension to the first section as well, revealing how she had been Obliviated and while her brain didn't remember, her body tells her that something isn't right. The word ""barren"" to describe the room really emphasized that and shows how somehow, she still remembers. It was an amazing and heartbreaking twist.

Thank you so much for sharing this. ♥

Author's Response: Jenna!!

Thank you so much for stpping by and for the lovely review. I had the idea for this before my loss but I got the power to write it because I could so freshly relive those emotions and experiences.

I'm glad you liked them picking that name. I had to change a standing joke in Epitaph/HIKLM to make Tonks' body pillow named Elvis (because I had a living person's name before). I wanted that tie in with Tonks and her life. I was worried that their characterization was flat so it's nice to hear that their personalities came through with their experiences. I do find Andromeda's experience to be a piece of what is uniquely feminine and something a man could never experience or fully get.

One reason I'm glad you read this is that you connected the first and last sections. You really hit the nail on the head with how I hoped people would read the end/beginning.

thank you so much for reading and reviewing

xoxo



Name: marauderfan (Anonymous) · Date: 29 Mar 2018 06:13 AM · [Report This]
Story:Dull Ache Chapter: Chapter 1

Transferred from offsite at request of the author

Originally left on 01/04/2015

Saw your status and came by to read this - it's such a sad, powerful story and even made more powerful by the way the story is shaped by your personal experience - it feels like a very personal story and that really connects me to the characters and makes their emotions and struggles that much more real and heartbreaking. The use of the broken narrative and jumbled up happy and sad memories really show how broken their lives are afterwards, and I'm just so sad after reading this. At least Andromeda and Ted still have each other. That last line was really powerful too, about how she can forget temporarily with the obliviating charm, but her body still remembers.

I've never experienced anything like this before, but I still felt very connected to the characters and their loss - the way you write emotion is incredible. But I can relate in the way that writing a cathartic story helped me get past something I had been holding onto for ages. I wish there was something I could say to help, but just know that I'm here for you if you need. You're such a strong person Rose and I'm sorry you had to go through something like this.

*hugs Rose*

Author's Response: Kristin!!

I've thought about using this for your non-linear challenge but I have another plot in mind for that. I am glad that the broken narrative acted as a parallel for their shattered feelings and lives. The last line has been my life over the past weeks as my body has been recovering. It doesn't matter what I do, my body is still doing its thing.

I didn't think the story would be very relatable for people so it's nice to know it was still accessible.

thank you so much for your care and kindness

-Rose



Name: maraudertimes (Anonymous) · Date: 29 Mar 2018 06:13 AM · [Report This]
Story:Dull Ache Chapter: Chapter 1

Transferred from offsite at request of the author

Originally left on 01/04/2015

Hey Rose, I was just here to check all of this out because of your status, and I know I wasn't much comfort when the original occurrence happened, but I am terribly sorry and if you need anything, I'm here.

This story is very sad and not at all relatable personally for me because: I have never been pregnant; ergo I've never lost a baby; I've never even been kissed so that's a long way to go for me. But the emotions you've made through Andromeda, the descriptive powers your words had , everything felt so real and raw that: I couldn't stop reading; I couldn't shake the feeling that it was me.

I do know many people who have experienced miscarriages, but all of them happened long ago, so I've never experienced the aftermath of someone losing a baby either. But it is shattering and heart-breaking and absolutely gut-wrenching. I can't imagine what you've been through Rose, but I want to tell you that I'm here for you and that I'm so proud of you for posting this. You say that it's not particularly well-written and that it is likely full of typos, but I can't comment on that because the aura of the story and the emotions you've put me through had me glued to the story, not the exact words, but the actions and the characters and what was happening. So it might not be well-written, it might have a few typos, but I wanted to tell you that it is powerful and beautiful in the saddest way possible.

Andromeda seems to be quite suspicious and wary of the pregnancy, telling me that something has obviously happened before. I love how you pulled experiences from your own life to really make this story something amazing, even if it pains me to know that you drew on your own personal experiences.

I don't know what else to say Rose. Everything is just kind of a blur because as I said, but I want you to know that: I really enjoyed this because of the fact that the emotions were so vivid; I didn't like this because it meant you had to go through this; I'm just kind of sitting here staring at my screen. I wish I could say great job, but I wish it could have come under different circumstances. I hope you understand.

Lo

P.S. I'm always here for you Rose. I hope you know that.

Author's Response: Lo!

Your review means a lot to me. I felt like I needed to write this but wasn't sure about sharing it. I'm glad the story was relatable even though you haven't gone through the same.

Andromeda's suspicion definitely reflects my own tentative joy at being pregnant. It's more of 'can't believe it finally happened' doubt.

I'm not doing a very good job responding but believe me that your review means so much to me.

xoxo

-rose



Name: WeasleyTwinMom_staff (Anonymous) · Date: 29 Mar 2018 06:13 AM · [Report This]
Story:Dull Ache Chapter: Chapter 1

Transferred from offsite at request of the author

Originally left on 01/04/2015

Oh sweetie... This is beautiful and tragic and I am so, so sorry. I know I already said, if there's anything you need or you want to talk, you let me know, so I'll comment on the story instead.

I like the style you wrote this in, the sort of ""the end is the beginning"" broken narrative is perfect for the emotions of this piece. It really has a lot of emotion to it, too, from their joy at being successfully pregnant to their devastation at the loss of their little boy. So beautiful and so sad at the same time. I was sniffling through the entire thing.

Big hugs. Love you girl.

Author's Response: I've been pretty bad about talking to people so I talked to some HP characters instead.

I thought the broken narrative would push the jarring feelings they're going through in the story - I'm glad that worked.

Love and thanks



Submit a Review