Login
Reviews For Cottage Neighbours

Name: ShadowRose (Signed) · Date: 12 Jan 2019 10:00 PM · [Report This]
Story:Cottage Neighbours Chapter: The Potters

I’m back for chapter 3!! 

 

“Although, if I was being honest, suffocation by being pressed up against James for too long was a death I would accept without protest.” …. Honestly, Lily, same.

 

Haha I love that Euphemia rigged up a charm on their coat hook to impress guests - I’m honestly more impressed by that than I would be by the wandless, wordless magic, haha. And just a tiny detail, but I love that they pay their house elves? You go, Potter fam, you go. And then her just relentlessly embarrassing James is absolutely perfect.

 

I also really like how much description you put into each of your settings - I always feel like I can actually picture the scene perfectly because of how much detail is there.

 

“Then again, Sirius wasn't the one with the arse that I wrote poetry about.”  Idk if Lily meant this literally but if she did I would very much like to see a snippet of said poetry at some point in this story, lol.

 

OH MY GOD THE JEWELRY SCENE. I ABSOLUTELY CANNOT DEAL. THESE TWO IDIOTS ARE BASICALLY ALREADY IN LOVE WITH EACH OTHER. Also, “I tightened my grip on James's arm and stuck myself to his side for the rest of the walk.” - yes, Lily, you’re definitely only doing this because you’re afraid of the plants, there are absolutely no ulterior motives to this whatsoever.

 

“The only thing that could possibly happen is you get cursed with a sense of humour.” Merlin, I love Sirius.

 

James, what the hell, why did you just give Lily a head pat. Of all the things you could’ve done, you did THAT. 

 

This has been a lovely read so far and my Jily-obsessed heart is v happy, so thank u.

 

-Taylor

Written for the Magical Menagerie event and January RvG



Name: ShadowRose (Signed) · Date: 12 Jan 2019 09:39 PM · [Report This]
Story:Cottage Neighbours Chapter: Surprise!

Hi Greis! 

 

I love how entirely oblivious Lily is at the beginning of this chapter, and how she gradually accepts the fact that they’re going to be right next to the Potter’s as the story goes on. You also get a really nice glance at just how stubborn a person she is through her internal narration - my personal fave is  “It just couldn't, and it wouldn't be him because I had made the executive decision that it wasn't possible.”

 

Petunia is, true to character, the absolute worst in this, and I want to smack her for acting so dang stuck up all the time. Although like, I also wait to pack until the absolute last minute, so I can relate to her on that part. But also this line “I was waiting for the day when she left some sort of scratch on mums cream coloured walls and all hell broke loose.” was absolutely hilarious and I’d pay to see that happen.

 

I love James’ parents already and I’m absolutely obsessed with the fact that Fleamont immediately knew exactly who Lily was and got that look on his face - unlike Lily, I would LOVE to know what stories James has told them about her, haha.

 

I was getting worried that we weren’t going to get any James in this chapter, but then we got shirtless James at the end and everything in the world was right again. Stealing James’ shirt when they have company definitely sounds like a Sirius thing to do, especially if he knew who one of those guests was going to be. ;)

 

This chapter was super fun and I’m v excited for the next one, which I assume will involve even more Jily wonderfulness.

 

-Taylor

Written for the Magical Menagerie event and January RvG



Name: ShadowRose (Signed) · Date: 12 Jan 2019 01:01 AM · [Report This]
Story:Cottage Neighbours Chapter: Winter Holidays

Hi Greis! I’m so excited to finally read + review this bc JILY. And the ‘oh my god they were roommates’ trope except it’s ‘oh my god they were cottage neighbours.’

 

(Please excuse my terrible Vine references, I’ll see myself out now.)

 

I love the dynamic you’ve established between Lily and Dorcas in this chapter, even though I get the feeling we won’t see too much more of them after this because of the whole ‘staying-in-a-cottage-in-the-woods’ thing. But I’d *love* to know what meddling Dorcas did to make this happen, or at least to know that it was happening. 

 

I also just love Dorcas going out of her way to embarrass her about her crush on James - that’s such a classic best friend thing to do, honestly. And of course James is entirely oblivious to it all the entire time too. But honestly, all the dialogue in this chapter was great, and Dorcas was so full of so many witty one-liners - my personal favourite being “I'm just surprised you noticed how well James did considering your eyes were glued to his arse all of last year.” Iconic.

 

Also, after Lily’s comment about Petunia flirting with Sirius before she finds out he’s a wizard…. I really hope this happens now. This is the kind of hysterical embarrassment she deserves - especially for expecting her sister to not wear a freaking cloak in December, geez. Anyways, I assume there will be an actual James Potter appearance in the next chapter and I for one am EXCITED.

 

-Taylor



Name: Tantrum (Signed) · Date: 20 Oct 2018 02:46 PM · [Report This]
Story:Cottage Neighbours Chapter: Winter Holidays

Good first chapter. I’m looking forward to the next one. I love Jily too so I think I will definitely like this story. 



Name: PaulaTheProkaryote (Signed) · Date: 29 Aug 2018 11:46 PM · starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Story:Cottage Neighbours Chapter: Surprise!

I'm crying because there is no chapter three but YES I LOVE THIS STORY SO FAR COME BACK DON'T ABANDON ME! James and Sirius are the absolute cutest and I love the way you've captured the Petunia and Lily dynamic so well. The Potters are everything I want out of the Potters. 



Name: Tantrum (Signed) · Date: 21 Aug 2018 06:07 PM · [Report This]
Story:Cottage Neighbours Chapter: Surprise!

You’re right. I liked the ending too. Btw, did James just hug Lily in front of her whole family with no shirt on? Lol! I am really enjoying this story. I hope you update it soon. Great job! – Really want to read more ... 



Name: Tantrum (Signed) · Date: 21 Aug 2018 05:32 PM · [Report This]
Story:Cottage Neighbours Chapter: Winter Holidays

Good first chapter. I’m looking forward to the next one. I love Jily too so I think I will definitely like this story. 



Name: Theia (Signed) · Date: 09 Aug 2018 04:39 PM · [Report This]
Story:Cottage Neighbours Chapter: Surprise!

HI I'M BACK! Again, Team Blue for the August BvB. 

I cannot tell you how much I love this chapter!! I was squeeing in excitement all through that interaction with the Potters and the ending was absolutely golden! I mean, of course James had to be shirtless in it, of course the boys would be overenthusiastic and all over Lily, of course Dorcas orchestrated the whole thing, that absolutely brilliant witch! Aaah I love it so much! 

Your characterisations are brilliantly done; Petunia's contempt of magical folk and her gushing over Vernon are so on point! Her using the word "freak" for her sister, even in front of her parents, just goes to show how deep-rooted her jealousy is and I like how you've written the dynamic between the sisters as well, it ties in with canon perfectly. 

I have to admit,the way Vernon greeted Lily for the first time had my blood boiling a bit, but I definitely gushed over your choice of dialogue because "oh, you're the abnormal one" totally sounds like something he would say with all his pompous arrogance. It's also interesting that Petunia told him about magic so early on in the relationship - I haven't really thought about how that conversation might have gone till now, and I like your take on their relationship. (I would also be super interested in reading something from Petunia's PoV if you ever feel like exploring that further) 

The way you described Euphemia was so heartwarming and instantly brought a smile to my face. :) 

I love how you've captured Lily's thoughts in this and I'm really looking forward to reading more! 

- Nim 



Name: Theia (Signed) · Date: 09 Aug 2018 04:18 PM · [Report This]
Story:Cottage Neighbours Chapter: Winter Holidays

Heya! I'm here for the August BvB - Team Blue! 

I absolutely loved this first chapter. Your portrayal of the friendship between Lily and Dorcas is so wonderful, and it was so much fun reading their playful banter and talk about boys. Your characterisation of Lily is also spot on, and I love how you've showed her warming up to James after he stopped being so childish. The balance between her studious, school loving nature and her lighthearted teenage spirit is also so well done! 

You're so good at writing dialogue - every single line was easy to read and at the same time, revealed enough information to set the background for the story, reveal Lily's feelings about her sister, as well as show the progression of her feelings for James. I am also impressed with how you've brought in different characters and shed light on their personalities and past behaviour through just one conversation! 

"It would be hilarious to see Petunia's eyes bug out of her head once she realized that James and Sirius were both wizards. Especially after she no doubt tried to flirt with Sirius." --> This bit cracked me up because I immediately got a visual of her turning bright red after flirting with Sirius and I really hope this actually happens! 

I'm really looking forward to seeing how all of this will play out! This chapter got me hooked onto your fic and I enjoyed every single word of it. Moving on to the next chapter now! :)



Submit a Review