Login
Reviews For Stand Tall

Name: Danniclaire (Signed) · Date: 04 Nov 2018 12:57 PM · [Report This]
Story:Stand Tall Chapter: Chapter 14: When Reality Sets Back In

Thank you for updating!



Name: MadiMalfoy (Signed) · Date: 22 Sep 2018 07:31 PM · starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Story:Stand Tall Chapter: Chapter 11: He Loves Her So

Hiya again for BvB Team Bronze :) 

 

Alrighty then. That's a very interesting way for the points & places to have broken down for the first event. But after Dimitri's explanation, it makes a lot more sense and I still don't know why he's got Vesela as his companion still because clearly she's not doing anything to help him very much! So cute that the Mediator wanted to hear all about how Alba won the first event, too! The bit about the Yule Ball -- classic. And Alba being upset about James & Chandra being back together. I can tell she's just so conflicted about it and him because he's also her best friend but she probably (definitely) has a hidden crush on him that she refuses to acknowledge because she knows that Chandra and James are good for each other (ish). But YES BEN asking her to the Yule Ball!! His tirade had definitely been something he's kept in for a while and clearly he knows something about Chandra that James and Alba likely don't know. I'm almost certain she put Alba's name in the Goblet of Fire instead of her own but uagh I just want everything revealed!!! Also, I love Nurse Wainscott taking control of Alba's hair -- she knows Alba almost better than Alba herself does, and that she deserves a beautiful look for the Yule Ball. I'm SO EXCITED for the next chapter!! :) 


~MadiMalfoy x



Name: MadiMalfoy (Signed) · Date: 16 Sep 2018 05:19 PM · starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Story:Stand Tall Chapter: Chapter 10: There's a Girl I Know

I'm back again for BvB Team Bronze :)

OKAY HI I HAVE LOTS OF FEELINGS ABOUT THIS CHAPTER!! First of all, it's very long because you have so many things that happen here and honestly, I'm not even mad that it's almost 8.5k because I think it would have felt weird to break it up into smaller halves because everything just flows so well together I didn't even realize it was so long until I scrolled back to the top to start my review. Just wanted to say again, how much I love the tokens and their shapes as chess pieces of King, Bishop, and Knight. James's creation of Alba's emblem too is neat and fits perfectly as a white elephant. He clearly knows her very well and it shows explicitly in his creation of her emblem. I also like the mental chess game the two of them have going in an attempt to possibly determine what the first task is to be. The weighing of the wands ceremony plus the team interviews being written by Ginny just makes that whole scene so much better for Alba. She knows her interviewer well so she knows that the bulk of the article on the Tournament participants won't deal with her CP at all. I'm happy to see that Ben seems to be feeling better and is back to teasing Alba about holding hands and such again too! 

 

AND WE GET THE FIRST TASK YES!! I was highly anticipating what you were going to come up with for the tasks, and whether or not they'd be similar to what happens in GOF for Harry and co. I love this idea of having to recreate the three tokens out of 5 various magical items and be the first to do so while also fighting off the other two champions. This was written so effortlessly, the task flows beautifully even as Alba isn't paying attention to her competitors. The announcer in the background helps with that, and also gives the reader a bit of a different perspective as the task progresses as well. And Alba's done it! Finished first with some nice sabotage thrown in there as well. I hope she wins for most accurate depiction as well as just getting first in the time aspect of the event. Great job with this monster of a chapter! :) 

 

~MadiMalfoy x



Name: MadiMalfoy (Signed) · Date: 15 Sep 2018 10:09 PM · starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Story:Stand Tall Chapter: Chapter 9: She Wins Him

Hello again, here for another round of BvB for Team Bronze! :) 

 

Okie dokie so once again, great chapter! I really hope that Alba & Dimitri form a good friendship during school year and during the Tournament, even though they are competititors. He seems like he's a genuine guy but who knows why he chose the rude Vesela girl to be his companion -- especially since as soon as she heard James's last name she immediately tried berating him for being Alba's friend and "letting" her compete in the Triwizard Tournament. She seems likely to be Dimitri's downfall, if I do say so myself, because of her snobbish nature. I like how you've written this middle-aged Viktor Krum though -- he's very much in character to how he was written in the GOF book which I quite enjoy. But poor Benjamin -- knowing how he feels about Alba and having her snap at him because he thinks she's in love with James or something stupid like that because she chose him to be her Companion when he very well knows he can't be anyway because he's underage and it's not because she doesn't like him. Augh. Just, so much hurt and anger and wounded pride to go around with Ben and James and Alba's triangle. I'm honestly very happy too that Alba's not having to give up her potions regimen until the tasks approach -- it would have put her at a severe disadvantage from the get-go simply because she's not up to a base standard level of physicality compared to her competitors. These new tokens that each Team is going to be measured by are very curious indeed and I like the ambiguity you've provided so far as to how they do their measuring. I'm so excited!! Onwards I go :) 

 

~MadiMalfoy x



Name: MadiMalfoy (Signed) · Date: 15 Sep 2018 01:43 AM · starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Story:Stand Tall Chapter: Chapter 8: She's who's Winsome

Hello again! :) Here for Blue vs. Bronze once more!

 

Alrighty so we know James didn't put her name into the Goblet, and we also know now that he and Chandra broke up, likely because of this whole debacle. This breakup for them also seems to be much more final than others in the past have been. I'm honestly hoping that it was Chandra that put Alba's name into the Goblet instead of her own because that would make SO MUCH SENSE. OKAY so Ben has been needing to see Nurse Wainscott as well.....which is also very suspicious to me, but I'm not sure in what kind of way. I felt super uncomfortable for Alba when Nurse Wainscott sadi that she was happy that Alba ahd her whole team together in front of Ben even though he was not a part of it. It was super nice of her though to consider him and wait for him like he always does for her as they went to the Owlery. So nice of Ben too to let Alba use his owl to send the letter to her mum about her being chosen as the Hogwarts champion for the Triwizard Tournament. I also quite enjoyed Alba's meeting of the Durmstrang champion and his rude companion girl. He seems....lively and I hope to see more of him later on, especially during the Tournament. He's got a fun personality already from just this brief interaction with Alba and Ben, and I so hope you've given us more! I'll be back again soon to see how things are developing!! :) 

 

~MadiMalfoy x



Name: MadiMalfoy (Signed) · Date: 31 Aug 2018 02:13 AM · [Report This]
Story:Stand Tall Chapter: Chapter 7: Blithe Smile, Lithe Limb

Back again for BvB with Team Bronze! :) 

 

OKAY WAIT HOLD UP JAMES DID NOT PUT HER NAME INTO THE GOBLET!?!? THEN WHO DID IT?!!??! CHANDRA?????? OH MY GODHHD YOU ARE MAKING ME QUESTION EVERYTHING!! 

 

Sorry again, the all caps were kind of necessary :P Alrighty then, so I actually really liked the concept you created here with the Ravenclaw House Meeting! It's very much a Ravenclaw-thing to do, and the order and systems in place by the Mediator just make so much sense. Alba's careful, practiced explanation of her condition with cerebral palsy and the demonstrations she provides her housemates and the questions she answers also helps the reader out a lot. I have a very basic knowledge of CP, but this was a very clever way of more fully explaining it to your readers who may have no knowledge whatsoever of CP and how it can vary in its degree of severity. AND THEN JAMES FREAKING SIRIUS POTTER! WHAT IS GOING ON THERE HOLY CRAP. These two need to unpack so much stuff right now, like, I can't even coherently explain my feelings on this right now. They need to figure out who put her name in the Goblet (my bet is on Chandra, she seemed far too prideful when she put her paper in, and she was earlier concerned that she had no chance, plus she definitely has it out for Alba in some format because of her closeness to James that threatens her). 

 

I'll be back soon to finish this up because it is just SO FREAKING GOOD!! <3 

~MadiMalfoy x



Name: MadiMalfoy (Signed) · Date: 31 Aug 2018 01:52 AM · [Report This]
Story:Stand Tall Chapter: Chapter 6: Wishing Only Wounds the Heart

Once again, here for BvB Team Bronze! :) 

 

OKAY SO last chapter you had me all freaked out and whatnot and now I'm all teary-eyed and sad. Chelts, you are ruining me with this fic! Alba's outburst at Chandra was rightfully deserved, although it definitely did not help the situation that she was in full public view of her fellow students. Furthermore, because James's name got dropped, it'll definitely get talked about for MONTHS and Alba will get no rest, the poor soul. I really hope that she gets to chew James out about what he did because she was a good friend and didn't rat him out to McGonagall for putting her name into the Goblet (wow ~parallels~ here with Harry, nice!). He deserves a good yelling because he thinks he has things under control and knows what he's doing but with this development he clearly does not have any control and has no idea what he's doing. Besides very much hurting his best friend, of course. I really want to see what Ben has to say about the development with Alba too because he was still missing and I JUST NEED MORE BEN/ALBA INTERACTION!! You did a great job with Alba and McGonagall in her office -- she's a very to-the-point woman, (even with the biscuit offering) and trusts Alba's words because she knows who she is as a student and a person from their previous sessions in her office. I look forward to seeing who Alba ends up selection for her Guide and ooooh the decision for Companion. On I go!

 

~MadiMalfoy x



Name: MadiMalfoy (Signed) · Date: 31 Aug 2018 01:42 AM · [Report This]
Story:Stand Tall Chapter: Chapter 5: Don’t Wish, Don’t Start

Here for BvB Team Bronze once more (I'm going through your whole lovely story) :)

 

OKAY I HAVE SO MANY THINGS GOING ON IN MY HEAD RIGHT NOW FROM THIS CHAPTER HOLY CRAP! THE NEW RULES FOR THE TRIWIZARD TOURNAMENT! ALBA THINKING ABOUT BEN IN A DIFFERENT WAY MAYBE! JAMES BEING A SON OF A GUN AND SUBMITTING ALBA'S NAME TO THE GOBLET OF FIRE! ALBA GETTING CHOSEN BECAUSE OF WHAT HE'S DONE AND THE HORROR ON HIS FACE AS HE REALIZES WHAT HE'S DONE! ALL OF IT JUST AHHHHH! 

 

Okay i'll be done with the caps lock now, but HOLY CRAP did you write one heck of a chapter here, Chelts! I love the buildup with the introduction of the Goblet and then the subsequent chatter about who's going to enter and who isn't, etc. Ben's absence from the Great Hall during the Halloween feast has me worried in a peculiar way. We know James and him have met now on several occassions and have a tentative cordiality towards each other due to Alba, but I wonder if James maybe confided in Ben about his plan for submitting "his" name for the Goblet of Fire? Ah just WHO KNOWS ANYMORE, GAH! I've gotta continue because you can't just leave it at a cliffhanger like that, alright?! 

~MadiMalfoy x



Name: MadiMalfoy (Signed) · Date: 31 Aug 2018 12:51 AM · [Report This]
Story:Stand Tall Chapter: Chapter 4: Sudden Heat

Hello again! :) Here for BvB Team Bronze!

 

ALRIGHTY THEN LETS GET THIS TRIWIZARD TOURNAMENT SHOW ON THE ROAD!!! I loved the bit with the Potters and the bouillabaisse during dinner because that just speaks to classic teenage boy eating habits to me and us girls being like, uh no thanks, that's disgusting. Durmstrang is here, woohoo! AND YOU HAD GIRLS COME TOO THANK YOU OMG I hated that they did the gender separation in the GOF movie, let me tell you. I also quite enjoy that you had Viktor Krum be there as a Guide and Arithmancy Professor of Durmstrang -- it really gives him depth besides being a former world-class Quidditch player and Tournament champion, so nice work there! I'm curious to see if there's anything to why the Durmstrang Headmaster didn't come along. Ahhh now I see what Chandra's deal with the mud was -- very well portrayed here and explained in a neutral way too by Albus, which I really appreciate. We often throw around "OCD" and "bipolar" in common vernacular and we really shouldn't, so I appreciate the time you took to make it not only realistic but also not talked about in the way we tend to do as a society. Okay, bless Nurse Wainscott trying to play matchmaker for her favorite charge. I'm curious to see if you start the next chapter with the Beauxbatons arrival or not so I'm off to that! :)


~MadiMalfoy x



Name: MadiMalfoy (Signed) · Date: 31 Aug 2018 12:36 AM · [Report This]
Story:Stand Tall Chapter: Chapter 3: Sudden Silence

Once again for BvB Team Bronze! :) 

 

Alrighty so Maude seems like she is very observant but also not at the same time, and also knows routines fairly well (regarding Alba at least) so I'm curious to see how she interacts with Alba later on in various other settings like studying and the like for NEWTS. The breakfast scene is SO WELL WRITTEN!!! It's done in a way that truly makes it feel realistic and applicable in real life situations and James being concerned about the well-being of his best friend. Also, the interruptions by Ben were priceless and true to his character. Even the asking her out again for the umpteenth time and brushing her rejection off was fun. I do hope these two have a future or something, I just NEED something!!! The interactions that Alba has with Nurse Wainscott are nice and honestly refreshing -- we don't see much about the Hospital Wing or students that could be regular visitors there in canon, so I love seeing your expansion of it here. Okay now what is with that wink that James throws at Alba outside the Great Hall!??! What is he going to do?!? Onward I go to find out!

~MadiMalfoy x



Name: MadiMalfoy (Signed) · Date: 30 Aug 2018 02:37 PM · [Report This]
Story:Stand Tall Chapter: Chapter 2: Eyes Meet

Okay hi again here for BvB Team Bronze! :) 

 

I'm very curious to see how you delve more into Alba's use of Strengthening Solution, Pain Philter, and how she does physical therapy now that she has to wait for her cut to heal. James's feelings towards her injury and his immediate pain over her very public escorting from the Great Hall during the feast is something I'd love to see the two of them unpack sometime, but clearly it wasn't going to happen during this chapter because he was too late to meet her at Ravenclaw tower. Bring on the jealousy and pain because I am here for it! I love Benjamin Honeypucker and his relationship with Alba too -- he also doesn't pity her for having CP but also doesn't let that stop him from 'helping' her up the stairs and having a good time with her while at it. I hope they develop better as friends because he just seems like a really great guy. I am curious too about Chandra and what her deal is with not only Alba but also her issues from the carriage maybe getting dirty from the mud on that first night. I'll be back shortly for chapter 3! :) 

~MadiMalfoy x



Name: MadiMalfoy (Signed) · Date: 30 Aug 2018 02:16 PM · [Report This]
Story:Stand Tall Chapter: Chapter 1: Hands Touch

Hey hey! I'm here for BvB on Team BRONZE and also because I've been meaning to read this properly for AGES! :) 

 

Okay so first of all, I LOVE that this is next-gen with James Potter being the best friend of your character Alba because often times next-gen focuses on Albus beign best friends with someone, so I'm happy to see lots of James interactions that'll be happening! Furthermore, I already love Alba so much. She's so well written and I'm very excited to see how you go with her because she's got so many different facets to herself besides her intelligence, friendship with James, and her disability. Speaking of which, I'm very curious to see how you work her cerebral palsy further into the story and her time at Hogwarts. One of my classmates in high school had CP and while she didn't need crutches to walk, she did have ankle braces and it definitely took her a lot longer to get around places, but she was (is) smart as hell so I'm happy to see you've created Alba in a similar manner. Her disability does not define her, as you've clearly illustrated already within the first train scene and with getting to the carriages as well. 

 

Honestly I'm just loving this so much already and I can't wait to see what happens next! :) 

~MadiMalfoy x



Name: Danniclaire (Signed) · Date: 27 Jun 2018 05:40 AM · starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Story:Stand Tall Chapter: Chapter 13: He Could be That Boy

I love this story, please keep writing. 



Author's Response:

Don't worry, we still have two more tasks honey!



Name: TheGoldenKneazle (Signed) · Date: 08 Jun 2018 05:10 AM · [Report This]
Story:Stand Tall Chapter: Chapter 2: Eyes Meet

Aww nooo. I felt so bad for Alba with the healing setback! and you portray the physical exertion of it all so well. I liked the weird interaction with Chandra, so much mystery. And loving Benjamin as well as the weird jealousy stuff with James - looking forward to seeing where it goes!



Author's Response:

Haha! Glad to see you're as invested in these character relationships as I am.



Name: TheGoldenKneazle (Signed) · Date: 08 Jun 2018 04:59 AM · [Report This]
Story:Stand Tall Chapter: Chapter 1: Hands Touch

Hola! I am here for Nargles reading (we shall see how far I get ahha) and loving the first chappie. Lovely introduction to Alba - her challenges, pride, vulnerabilities. Your portrayal of CP is fab as well. And I like James, can't wait to see where their development goes! Also - 'stand tall' is a lovely meaningful phrase aww.



Author's Response:

Thank you! I was afraid it was getting too repetative later on, but in the beginning it was quite nice. 



Name: justawillowtree (Signed) · Date: 22 May 2018 08:40 PM · starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Story:Stand Tall Chapter: Chapter 13: He Could be That Boy

Okay so I promised you I was going to review this once it was up, and it’s been a few days but I’m here now! I just read through the entire chapter again, and ugh it’s so good. I’m so happy that you’ve picked this up again, and I’m actually really amazed at how flawlessly you write in their voices after so many years! <3

 

First and foremost, BEN KISSED ALBA. WHAT. I mean, I ship these two very much, so I’m so so happy, but I can’t believe it actually happened!! This whole time, I thought Alba was too hung up on James to let someone else into her life, but it turns out that wasn’t the case, and I’m very, very happy. I hope Alba will continue to open herself up to other people other than James, like Ben and Maude, because I am very happy right now and so I have high ambitions for her.

 

Though I want to know…who did Chandra cheat on James with?? Not gonna lie, my first thought was Ben, because he sat there feeling miserable a few chapters ago, didn’t he? But I’m going to be an optimist for once and say that he wouldn’t do that, because he’s not the type of person to do that. Still, though. Chandra cheated on James??? Whaaat.

 

Also I loooved learning more about Vesela! I think it’s very impressive that she’s so capable, and that she managed to win this position with her own merit. Even if she is really terrible to Alba. The fact that even she didn’t seem to know why she was chosen as Companion made me super curious about it. I hope it’ll be revealed soon! I’m very eager to figure out this relationship between the two.

 

And then Alba’s part was my favorite scene of the section, when she was telling Ginny Weasley that there wasn’t any particular reason that she left her hair long other than the fact that she liked it. Because, like, while Ginny’s points about forced femininity in the public make sense to a degree, a lot of times, intersectionality isn’t considered too often in mainstream feminism. So I just really liked getting to see Alba’s take on that, and hearing her voice and opinion.

 

Such a good chapter! Thank you for picking this story up again! <3

 

~Eva



Name: BBHP (Signed) · Date: 21 May 2018 10:32 PM · starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Story:Stand Tall Chapter: Chapter 13: He Could be That Boy

Just found this story and read it all in one go. I’m loving it so far! 



Author's Response:

Thank you so much! Keep on checking back for more!



Name: dumbledore_wannabe (Signed) · Date: 20 May 2018 11:03 PM · [Report This]
Story:Stand Tall Chapter: Chapter 13: He Could be That Boy

Oh, I'm so happy you and Alba are back!  And glad she may be giving Ben a chance after all. I like him!  Should be interesting to see what happens with this unintended admission...

 



Author's Response:

We're back! and we will be back again soon!



Name: justawillowtree (Signed) · Date: 15 May 2018 05:50 PM · starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Story:Stand Tall Chapter: Chapter 12: I Wasn't Born for the Rose and Pearl

I can’t believe I’m at the most recent chapter omg. This story is charming and moving, and all of your original characters have so much spunk, energy, and personality, and not a single character is one-dimensional, and you are such a talented, talented writer, I don’t think it’s possible for me to not love anything you write. <3

 

I loved the preparations for the Yule Ball here! Alba’s disheartened spirit at the beginning was so saddening because of all the implications that come with it. If no one made such a huge deal gawking at her braces, then she wouldn’t feel so self-conscious that the dress revealed everything underneath her knees. And that’s just so terrible, no one should have to be made to feel bad for wearing something that helps them.

 

I have to be honest, makeovers are my guilty pleasure. I just really like the fun and excitement of makeup and dresses and prettiness, because how often do people get to wear such fancy things, anyway? So I’m so glad that Alba got to experience all that too, because for me prom is coming up and I’m about to go through the same whirlwind of clothes and makeup hahaha.

 

And I am so so happy that Chandra helped Alba out omg. Chandra’s definitely a girl who’d be good at makeup, and I’m just absolutely delighted that she used her skills to help another. Her idea of Disillusioning the braces was so smart, and the fact that she can change shoe-sizes so easily is just amazing imo. People who are fashionably sensible make me envious because they’re so talented haha.

 

The entire Yule Ball made me happy. I’m so glad that you included such a fun chapter amidst the stress of the tournament, because it’s amazing and I love it.

 

Alba…really likes Ben, doesn’t she? Which I can understand. He’s really lovely, Alba. <3

 

Ahhh I can’t believe this is it for now! I’ll be waiting in excitement for your next update, and as soon as it’s up, I’ll definitely come and leave you a review. <3

 

~Eva



Name: justawillowtree (Signed) · Date: 14 May 2018 10:47 PM · starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Story:Stand Tall Chapter: Chapter 11: He Loves Her So

YES, ALBA. YOU ARE AMAZING AND I LOVE YOU AND I AM SO PROUD OF YOU.

 

But I’m so disappointed that Dimitri got last place! His explanation for why was rather saddening, and I’m just left trying to figure out still why he has Vesela as his Companion if he can’t stand her. I wonder if we’re going to see a development in their relationship, or if it will remain stagnant this whole time, because I do want him to do well. And I feel like for him to do well, he needs to have Vesela cooperating with him.

 

Also I’m trying to figure out what Chandra did. Was it what she said to Alba? Or was it something significantly worse? WAIT. Was she actually the one who put Alba’s name into the Goblet of Fire, then? If she was, why would she have yelled at Alba like that?

 

Okay. I have a theory. I think that Chandra put Alba’s name into the Goblet of Fire for the same reason that Alba suspected James of doing at first; Chandra didn’t want to participate because she was terrified, so she used Alba’s name because she was positive that the Goblet wouldn’t pick a girl with cerebral palsy as the champion. But then, when it turned out that Alba’s name was picked, she needed to throw people off her trail, so she yelled at Alba and pretended it was her fault for “making James put her name in.” But seriously, if all this is true, then Chandra is really honestly terrible. And I honestly don’t know if I’ve ever met a teenage girl who’s this terrible.

 

I’d like to know more of Dimitri and Vesela! Their enmity sounds so fascinating, I just want to learn more about them.

 

At first I didn’t really appreciate Ben asking himself to the ball for Alba, but then he did offer her a choice, so. Still. Ben, stop being so pushy, and stop guilting her into being your date. It’s not terribly nice.

 

Oh my god and every scene with Nurse Wainscott makes me want to cry. She’s just so kind and so loving that I want to hug her all the time, and I just. So much love to her. <3

 

~Eva



Name: justawillowtree (Signed) · Date: 14 May 2018 12:51 AM · starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Story:Stand Tall Chapter: Chapter 10: There's a Girl I Know

Getting to see such a wonderfully characterized Ginny was such a delight in this chapter! My favorite line from the wand-weighing scene (written absolutely beautifully, by the way) is: “Alba smiled, and accepted her wand back gratefully while resisting the urge to stroke it like some pet that behaved well.” I LOVE THIS GIRL SO MUCH.

 

Also I love the scoreboard between Alba and her cerebral palsy, and that her score keeps ticking higher. You go, girl.

 

AND OKAY THAT TRIWIZARD TOURNAMENT WAS THE MOST EXCITING THING EVER. And it was such a clever use of the three chess pieces!! Without a doubt, I’m sure Alba won this first task, because her attention to detail is just amazing, and I am so, so proud of her. James’s strategy worked really well here, and I am proud of him, too. At first when Zhang was describing the task to them, I was feeling the same way as the competitors, like, “…So this is a memory game, essentially?” But then you made it even more exciting, with the various obstacles and difficulties that they had to get through.

 

After this task, they likely won’t underestimate Alba again. Which will likely be both a blessing and a curse.

 

GOOD JOB, ALBA. I HOPE WITH ALL MY HEART YOU WIN THIS THING.

 

~Eva



Name: justawillowtree (Signed) · Date: 13 May 2018 11:49 PM · [Report This]
Story:Stand Tall Chapter: Chapter 9: She Wins Him

AHHH THE TRIWIZARD TOURNAMENT IS STARTING THIS IS SO EXCITING. I can’t wait to read on to the next chapter!!

 

I just really like Ben. I don’t know why. There’s something about his presence that’s incredibly comforting, and I know that Alba treasures her friendship with James more, but every time I see James I just get stressed out hahaha. His questioning about her feelings towards men worried me a little. Like. Okay. He just broke up with Chandra, and he’s trying to figure out if Alba likes another boy? Smells a little fishy to me.

 

That exchange with the judges of the competition was really good. I was stressed out at first that they would force her to stop treatment for the entire time, but at least she can continue taking the potions up until the week of the task. Zhang and Hambledon are really kind-sounding, and I’m very thankful for them. I’m not understanding why Madame Maxime wouldn’t agree. From the books, she’s always seemed to be fairly understanding and wise, so what prompted her nay vote?

 

Also haha Vesela is highly entertaining. I’m so curious about her relationship with Dimitri, like, why are they working together if they dislike each other? Is it because she’s the most qualified, and so they have to set aside personal differences? But also she needs to cut out that nonsense about Alba because it’s getting tiresome. I’m also really curious about the French competitors, but I’m sure we’ll find out more about them in the future.

 

I’M VERY EXCITED ABOUT THIS. You’re amazing at worldbuilding, so I’m so excited to see what type of Triwizard Tournament you’ve set up here! Three chess pieces? Is it going to be like the first Harry Potter book, where they have to face-off with live-sized chess pieces?

 

I’m going straight to the next chapter after this lol, I need to know what happens afterwards. <3

 

~Eva



Name: justawillowtree (Signed) · Date: 13 May 2018 11:30 PM · [Report This]
Story:Stand Tall Chapter: Chapter 8: She's who's Winsome

I can’t tell if James is just pretending not to be the person who put Alba’s name in, or if he’s genuinely indignant on her behalf. THIS IS VERY FRUSTRATING. (In the best way possible, hehe.) I’m pretty sure James didn’t put her name in? And based on Ben’s behavior, I don’t think my guesses last chapter were right, either.

 

Did Chandra do it? Since she’s the only other major character we know. Or Maude? It doesn’t really make too much sense for either of them to do it. Chandra isn’t unkind, necessarily; I doubt she’d risk Alba’s life for the sake of avoiding the Goblet herself. And in any case, she wouldn’t’ve attacked Alba like that afterwards if she’d put Alba’s name in. And Maude doesn’t have any motivation for this. Unless there’s some secret reason for all of this that no one knows about eep!

 

Also, aww, James and Chandra broke up? I hope James feels better soon, though breakups are always hard. :(

 

Have I mentioned before how much I love Nurse Wainscott? [Probably too many times lmao.] The potions worry me a little. It makes sense that they don’t want her to take them – though I don’t really see how the one that numbs the pain gives her any advantages. I can understand the Strengthening Solution being against the rules, though.

 

Hmm was that the only thing wrong with Ben in the previous chapter? I hope so. If that boy pulls out any surprises I’m going to be very upset with him.

 

Hahaha I loved getting to meet the Bulgarian competitor and his Companion! Not gonna lie, I found Vesela to be highly entertaining; her personality was rough and refreshing and I really liked that. Of course, I hate that she felt the need to insult Alba, though. That was pretty awful of her.

 

Ahh this chapter was very well done! <3

 

~Eva



Name: justawillowtree (Signed) · Date: 12 May 2018 11:02 PM · starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Story:Stand Tall Chapter: Chapter 7: Blithe Smile, Lithe Limb

Okay I don’t even know how you manage to have such amazing worldbuilding in a world that’s already been built, but you do. I love the development into a House we don’t see much of in the books. Like, I loved that Alba was sourly criticizing the stairs, and the Eagle Knocker, and I also loved that there are these things called House Meetings that no one else knows about.

 

I really appreciated this chapter because it was a really detailed look at Alba’s condition. For everyone who didn’t know much about cerebral palsy going into the story, this chapter definitely would’ve been a good point of explanation. And I really like that you took the time to fully explain everything – because everyone should know at least the basics of cerebral palsy, not everyone does, and it’s not really their fault generally, so this is just a really, really good chapter for that.

 

Now onto the story because WHAT. So if James didn’t do it, then who did? (If James really didn’t put her name into the Goblet of Fire, I’m going to feel terrible because I really uh attacked him quite viciously in my previous reviews.) Ben was looking quite terrible in the Common Room there…was it him? But he’s not even of age, unless he is, and he was just lying to Alba about it? But that doesn’t make sense. Or does it??

 

I DON’T KNOW.

 

Either way, I do approve of her choice of James as Companion. Like even if he did betray her and put her name in the Goblet (and tbh it makes perfect sense that Alba doesn’t believe him when he tries to defend himself against the accusation), he’s still one of the most talented people in the grade. (Okay but if James did just put a blank slip of paper, like he said, he still tricked Chandra into putting her own name, didn’t he?? Which is also pretty terrible. So I’m not quite ready to forgive him just yet, even if he’s innocent of what Alba’s accusing him for.) Though obviously Ben’s going to be quite upset.

 

If Ben somehow found a way through the age loophole and put her name in, did he do it in the hopes that she would pick him as Companion?

 

This story is so thrilling omg I love it so much. <3

 

~Eva



Name: justawillowtree (Signed) · Date: 12 May 2018 12:27 AM · starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Story:Stand Tall Chapter: Chapter 6: Wishing Only Wounds the Heart

Can I just say, I love McGonagall? I love canon McGonagall, and I love the way you wrote her here. Her characterization is so accurate, to the point where I think you did McGonagall better than Jo did hahaha.

 

I hate that the students think that she’ll be the laughingstock of the school. I mean, the Goblet literally just proved to them all that she was one of the worthiest champions from the Hogwarts options. Even James had no faith in her, but the Goblet clearly does.

 

Ugh. I’m not really at the point of disliking Chandra herself just yet, but I honestly hate what she said to Alba. James is his own person with his own choices, and he was the one who chose the traitorous, cowardly route, not Alba. For Chandra to try to shift the blame onto Alba’s shoulders is such a horrible thing to do, especially since she knows that Alba didn’t want to be a part of the tournament in the first place.

 

I also wanted to say that this line – “The forgotten nooks and crannies with their oddly shaped corners and sagging wallpaper were just as peaceful as an ocean breeze, or a spring meadow.” – melted my heart. It’s so beautiful. I love reading your stories for these beautiful lines you put in.

 

Having Professor McGonagall’s quiet, solid support must be an amazing feeling. I’m so proud of Alba right now. I hope she’ll choose Nurse Wainscott as her Guide, though I have a feeling she’ll go with Professor Pimbly instead. And I wonder who she’ll pick for her Companion? I really, really hope it’s either Ben or Maude, but I have a feeling it might end up being James or Chandra. (Probably not Chandra. They parted on bad terms. I just think Chandra might be a good Companion haha.)

 

Beautiful chapter! <3

 

~Eva



Submit a Review