Login
Reviews For Complicated

Name: starbuck (Signed) · Date: 21 Jan 2019 02:42 PM · starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Story:Complicated Chapter: Complication #3

gryfitdors is probably a worse name than even the ravenclaw royals, though i get that the boys in question didn't name themselves, but still - hogwarts student population seems a tiny bit extreme in naming their groups haha.
brooke severed ties with her parents? for real? were her parents bad parents or is there another reason for severing ties?


i also find it hilarious that abigail doesn't swear because i honestly can't imagine that in someone, but it just goes to show that she really wants to maintain her lady-persona/facade or whatever she wants to call it.
her mother is a real, er, witch, let's say, to keep things proper. i can't blame abigail for running away from the drama that's about to unfold between her mother, father and her father's fiancee.


okay, abigail seems capable of being a witch as well, at least judging by what she says about making people's lives become torture.    

 

kris



Name: starbuck (Signed) · Date: 21 Jan 2019 01:43 PM · starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Story:Complicated Chapter: Complication #2

wow if i kinda hated (maybe hate is a strong word) abigail/abby in the previous chapter, i really hate her parents - i have never understood how people could be so selfish that they couldn't act as adults during and after a divorce to make things easier on their children. no, they have to act like petty, jealous, spiteful children and make things worse, not just for themselves (honestly, how much energy do you have to invest in so much arguing and all that comes with it?!) but mostly for their children who have to go through that. i obviously have a lot of strong feelings about that but it just irks me so much. i can't blame abby for not being really fond of her parents - she obviously wishes for them to be and act as real parents to her. she may say she doesn't really mind the way they try to buy her love, but i don't actually believe her, it's something she may tell herself to make herself feel better but it's not the truth.


why does she think she isn't supposed to have feelings? i felt really sorry for her when she thought that and also at the fact that blaise stood her up without a real explanation and she felt so very lonely.    

 

kris



Name: starbuck (Signed) · Date: 21 Jan 2019 08:25 AM · starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Story:Complicated Chapter: Complication #1

okay, i know i'm supposed to hate abby in this first chapter but i really hate her. she's just so vain and full of herself - something i have trouble with accepting in people. but, since the story is also about her growth as a person, i'm interested to see how you handle that and what she goes through. her friends are also somewhat similar to her - i suppose she hangs out with the same type of people, though honestly, it doesn't seem like they are all that close. i get the mean girl vibe from all of them, including abby. and the name they made up for themselves is...awful, it made me laugh out loud (admittedly they were in second year when they thought it up but still - keeping it all these years seems very funny to me). for all of abby's queen bee attitude she's still just a girl who is also insecure about her body sometimes (and probably some other things as well) and even though i don't like her i can sympathise with her :D


james and freddy don't really seem much better, just a different side of the same coin. abby seems also to really plan stuff out, like sleeping with her boyfriend which i find weird but i understand she wants to make it all special and everything. i'm excited to see how all these characters grow throughout the course of the story!


kris    



Name: Sleepingbagonthesofa (Signed) · Date: 14 Jan 2019 11:38 PM · [Report This]
Story:Complicated Chapter: Complication #1

(disclaimer: this review may contain slight spoilers and will make no sense out of context)

 

After our wee chat there my brain went "why the hell not" so I'm here to review chapter one of a novel of which i have already read the whole thing and reviewed most of it and most of the sequel and read the spinoffs and also formed a fanclub for one of the side characters and had a fic about her gifted to me. So chapter one is going to seem a bit weird.

 

Ahaha I was right. This is really bizarre reviewing about Baby Abb- wait... Nooooo... Abigail... WOW this is weird. I guess I should actually start reviewing now... Enjoy!

 

Let me just start by saying OH MY GOD THE ROYALS!! Well ain't this a throwback. Opening a novel like this with a group of four pretty unlikable OCs is a bold move but wow does it work. From our first impression of Abigail she is pretty basic and shallow. You focus a lot on her appearance when introducing her which works beautifully because that is everything she's about. Her looks, her hair, her best friends-  who she almost seems to have chosen because they go with her, compliment her lifestyle, in the same way that she'd choose a dress or a handbag.

 

Speaking of handbags... "I walk out of the shop, cradling the lilac shopping bag in the crook of my elbow." I love this line. It's so small and insignificant but for some reason it's stuck with me from the first time i read this. I feel like this really sums up your writing style. It shows us Abigail in one line and paints this Blair Waldorf esk queen-bee image of her right from the off. It's very typical of your amazing descriptions and it just works so well here. Crazy to think you did this years ago!

 

Abigail comes across so controlled here, she's almost scary (the foreknowledge is killing me here) which i guess is the whole point. It's almost hard to read her at this stage because she is just SO much of a brat. The whole friendship group is really. They seem to live off gossip and boys (Caroline and Scarlet gossiping about Freddie... can we just...)  and being seen to be perfect.

 

There are glimmers of hope though, even now. She's got a sense of humor, buried deep deep down and she's sassy as hell. We can see it in her cursing James who LOL she does not like at the start!! I'm not going to say anything more on that because if I will say something I probably shouldn't in a chapter one review.

 

Anyway, this was a fun trip down memory lane! Still love this story as much as the first time, but you know that.

 

All my love

Deni xx

(Review left for Team Leucrocota and January RvG)    

 

EDIT: oh my god that last line. You were still making bad, cheesy puns five years ago... That is actually amazing. 

Also it's not me reviewing Complicatelex without mentioning my girl... who isn't in this chapter... so all i'm going to say is that i need a new chapter of HLAG like... now.    

 



Name: Chemical_Pixie (Signed) · Date: 14 Jan 2019 02:58 AM · [Report This]
Story:Complicated Chapter: Complication #21

Hey Taylor! (Yes, I know your name. And you're right, I don't have any regrets re: my last review). Here for RvG January (GOLD!) and the Magical Menagerie and the story!

 

The past few chapters (which I lurked and read) have been pretty intense! Blaise and Scarlett... I knew it! But I am indignant at the total lack of disgust by the general student body at Blaise's infidelity--which had been going on waaaaay longer than Abby's one night stand with James (by the way, it's awesome getting to call her Abby. What a brilliant name choice, hahahaha)! It's good commentary on the expectations on women versus expectations on men. It sucks, and I would have been one of those few girls glaring at him when he enters the Great Hall.

 

It's nice to see Dom and the entire Wotter clan supportive of Abby's decision to let her have her distance from James. It's in incredibly sticky situation, with no happy outcome. Abby deserved to hear it from Blaise, but that meant that James had to sit on that bit of information for a long time. Yikes. I am glad that they make up in the end. It shows a real leap of maturity in them both. Just seeing teenagers acknowledge the multi-layered concepts of communication is refreshing, and my heart melted a little bit at seeing the two of them interact with each other. I know. I know that they're friends right now, but that "mushy" ending shows that they like each other way more than they are willing to admit.

 

Baby steps, I suppose, but I'm looking forward to what is coming next! :D 



Name: Finefrenzy__ (Signed) · Date: 11 Jan 2019 06:03 PM · [Report This]
Story:Complicated Chapter: Complication #2

Howdy Sarah!

 

So... Abigail is a little bit of a princess right at this point isn't she? I mean... just a little, haha. I really hope she loosens up a little bit and also learns to open up to people a bit more, she seems so lonely at the moment. She seems a bit of an ice queen at the moment too. She totally comes across as someone who always needs to be in control of the situation. Also, her relationship with her mother isn't exactly the healthiest. I guess neither is her dads. I actually feel really sorry for her ☹

 

And Blaise seems like a right tosser if I'm being honest. Standing her up and then only sending her what? Like, three words nearly an hour later. Completely unacceptable. Two words: Boy Bye! She desperately needs to give him the flick, that's all I can say. She puts on a brave face, but between her parents and her boyfriend, Abigail needs to start looking after herself. Anyway, thanks for the read fabulous read, can't wait to read on.

 

 

Rhi 😊



Name: StarFeather (Signed) · Date: 27 Dec 2018 12:05 PM · starstarstarstarhalf-star [Report This]
Story:Complicated Chapter: Complication #5

Hi, Taylor. I came back. Thank you for reading my work, I guess you consumed much energy reading the dark one-shot. So I felt I needed to go back to see your Abbie and James.


 


Wa. .. I was very surprised how they ended on the same bed. I could guess this was coming in the latter of your novel. Too early development...hmm, nevertheless, I think you thought of the plausible plot. Your choice, Whomping Willow is clever. I feel like Snape must have scoffed at them saying, James Potter's grandson was just like his twin, or something cynical.


Though I have been skeptical about the plot, "one girl happens to stumble and kiss one boy", I think you chose the plot wisely. James Potter inherited the characteristics, reckless action and curiosity which have been pulsing in Potters through and through from generation to generation.


Wow...under the circumstances, being drunken,  they had relationships. I guess James had a feeling towards Abbie, but I wonder how she will accept the fact from here...


 


K



Name: Felpata_Lupin (Signed) · Date: 26 Dec 2018 09:17 AM · starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Story:Complicated Chapter: Complication #2

Hello, Taylor! Happy holidays! :)

Looks like my prevision was wrong... I was expecting something very dramatic, like Blaise wanting to break up with her, or refusing her advances... instead he simply didn't show up. Which I guess is almost as bad, considering how many expectations Abigail had, and more importantly, the feeling of abandonment she already had in regards to her family (I truly do feel bad for her about it... and I'm very, very angry with her parents...)

Also, Blaise, let's be honest... I understand family emergency, but you don't cancel an appointment an hour after the appointment itself! That's unrespectful! I wonder what held him back... I hope he has a good reason (well, okay, maybe not too good... I hope nothing bad happened...)

I know it's only a very little detail, but I loved the reference to Seamus' "pyrotechnical talents" so much! It was so much fun to read!

I'm sure there are other things I should mention... this was a great chapter anyway. I love how you are building Abigail's character, and I love your writing style, so well done. :)

Happy holidays and snowball hug, dear!

Chiara



Name: TreacleTart (Signed) · Date: 13 Dec 2018 12:23 AM · starstarstarstarhalf-star [Report This]
Story:Complicated Chapter: Complication #3

Hey Taylor!

 

I'm here to drop off one last holiday gift for you! But don't worry, I'll definitely be back to read more of this story soon!

 

I feel like Abigail might being just a bit melodramatic here when she says the end of her summer was horrible. I mean I get that it was disappointing, but in the grand scheme of things her boyfriend not being able to make it for the night is relatively minor. I suppose as a teenager those things do seem a lot more important though. Ah, teenage angst.

 

The fight between her parents is so awkward. I never understand why people behave like that. Having been through a divorce myself, I get that it's very painful, but how does one just forget all of the good time you shared with that person? How do you go from loving them to hating them so fiercely? And I especially don't understand how they can act that way in front of their child. They are supposed to be the adults and frankly they are acting like spoiled, selfish children.

 

Ooh. The short interaction between James and Abigail is interesting. He seems a bit concerned at her lack of fight. Maybe he actually does care about her?

 

I think it's really sad that Abigail felt the need to lie to her friends about her boyfriend not showing up. Again, I get that it's disappointing, but if he has a good reason, why should she be so embarrassed about it? I would think her friends would offer her some support and comfort if she told them the truth. (And if not, then they aren't very good friends.)

 

You've definitely got my curiosity piqued with this story. I'm curious to see how Abigail grows and changes as this develops. Right now, I have a very hard time relating to her, but I imagine that's sort of the point.

 

Good job!

 

~Kaitlin




Name: TreacleTart (Signed) · Date: 11 Dec 2018 11:30 PM · starstarstarstarhalf-star [Report This]
Story:Complicated Chapter: Complication #2

Hey Taylor!

 

I'm here to drop off a holiday gift for you! After the last chapter I couldn't resist coming back to see what happens in this chapter, so here I am.

 

OMG. I'm so excited that you have Seamus written as having blown up the bridge at Hogwarts. I actually have a whole one-shot specifically about that. It's totally my head canon that he became an explosives specialist for the Auror department post war. Even though I know him blowing stuff up in the movies was used as a punch line, I always imagined him learning to control that aspect of his magic and using it! I'm so happy to see that you've written him that way too.

 

It's really sad that Abigail's parents are so hostile towards one another. I know from personal experience that going through a divorce can be really rough, but when you have kids with someone, the needs of the child should take precedence. She shouldn't be made to feel bad for wanting to spend time with her father. In the end, it really does more damage to the kid than to either parent.

 

Well, at least the dad's girlfriend seems nice. Perhaps she's too peppy, but at least she's friendly.

 

Tiffany's? Wow. That's quite the gift. And a white Mercedes without a driver's license. Am I watching an episode of My Super Sweet Sixteen?

 

I had a feeling Blaise was going to disappoint Abigail. In this case, I'm very glad that the disappointment came from him not showing up instead of a bad romantic experience. I know she feels pretty upset about it and I get it's a big letdown, but something deep down is telling me that this is for the best. Hopefully, she'll come to realize that too.

 

This story is off to a good start! I'm really excited to see how things go once she gets to Hogwarts and to see some of the characters we know from the extended canon.

 

Good job!

 

~Kaitlin




Name: TreacleTart (Signed) · Date: 11 Dec 2018 10:56 PM · starstarstarstarhalf-star [Report This]
Story:Complicated Chapter: Complication #1

Hey Taylor!

 

I'm here to drop off a holiday gift for you! I saw that you wanted some reviews on Complicated (and/of Complex). Since I haven't read Complicated yet, I thought this was a good opportunity to start it!  

 

My immediate impression of this is of Mean Girls. Just the whole attitude of the girls as they shop seems very similar to that. Was that in anyway an Inspiration for your characters?

 

Ooh. The Ravenclaw Royals. I can tell I would've gotten along with these girls in my school days. (Note the sarcasm) You've really nailed the voice of these preppy, popular girls. They actually remind me very strongly of what we called "Valley Girls" way back in my day. Did I just date myself?

 

The tension between the Royals and James and Freddie is really well done. You highlight the differences between them without it being overly cliché or dramatic. James and Freddie seem a bit more rough around the edges where as the girls are more polished and snooty.

 

I am guessing based on the relationship between Abigail and James that they're going to be an example of hate turned to love. They seem to detest each other now, but it's amazing how that can grow into tension which can eventually grow to like and then love. I'll be curious to see if my instincts are correct.

 

I like that Abigail pulls a Langlock spell on Potter. It's pretty funny to imagine him stuck at the bar unable to speak.

 

Uh oh. The surrendering of the V-Card. Why do I have a feeling this isn't going to go as Abigail has planned? I really hope it isn't some horrific situation. Maybe she'll change her mind? I just have a bad feeling about it, although in fairness, he does seem like a nice enough guy when she runs into him in Diagon Alley. And ambitious too if he's meeting with goblins to discuss business before he's even graduated.

 

I found Abigail's thoughts on house elves to be very interesting. I would've expected that she'd never have given a thought to house elves, but I find that I really appreciate that she does.

 

Her home life sounds quite depressing to be honest. Gifts and unlimited money is nice, but it doesn't make up for loving relationships. I can't imagine what it would be like to grow up in such a cold environment. I like that you included this bit. It definitely humanized her a little bit.

 

I'm excited to see what the next chapter brings! Good work!

 

~Kaitlin




Name: LadyMarauder (Signed) · Date: 04 Dec 2018 12:25 PM · [Report This]
Story:Complicated Chapter: Complication #2

Tasha here for the RvG - Team Red - and Christmas gift giving again!

 

Abigail's family situation really sucks. A divorce battle while putting the kid in the middle is never fun and no matter how much Abigail likes the material benefits, she really could do with some actual attention and interest from her parents. And she wants it too! It does explain why she seems so materialistic - but she recognises that it's not a great way for a family behave. I liked how she seems so unfussed about her Mercedes - I'm pretty sure Muggle or wizard would be jumping for joy at receiving such a generous gift, but she really isn't bothered at all.

 

It also kind of explains her anger at Blaise not showing up for their special date - she clearly wants someone to actually love her and show her that they love her and she put so much effort in, bless her! The poor girl. I really hope someone does give her a proper hug soon.

 

I'm really glad you've dedicated a couple of chapters to getting to know her and her home life - I like knowing a character's motivations behind their actions. I can't wait to see what she's like at Hogwarts and delving into the action... and of course, seeing a bit more of James Potter!

Tasha xx



Name: LadyMarauder (Signed) · Date: 04 Dec 2018 12:23 PM · [Report This]
Story:Complicated Chapter: Complication #1

Tasha here for the RvG - Team Red - and Christmas gift giving.

 

I've been meaning to stop by and read this story for ages especially as it is finished and has a sequel. You have no idea how happy this makes me! Also, I recognise this from HPFF days is that right? I can't really remember too much, so I'm going into this with fresh (ish) eyes!

 

Firstly, Abigail is a bit, well...stuck-up, and her gal pals are also pretty awful. It's really cool having a main character that's pretty unlikable on face value to begin with, so I'm guessing she has so much more to her than we already know. I can't wait to find out more about her. One little thing that stood out for me was "I'm never one to publicly curse or hex anyone - words can solve most problems" - this is pretty cutting and also very, very smart. Words are stronger than actions. I reckon Abigail is definitely a tough cookie. Also, as an exception to that rule, could James Potter be her Achilles' heel?  I reckon so. I do love some James Sirius too, I can imagine him being a right little rogue around school and I love it!

 

Overall I think this is a fun introduction to your story and your characters and I'm looking forward to finding out where this is going.

 

Tasha xx

 



Name: Finefrenzy__ (Signed) · Date: 04 Dec 2018 04:37 AM · [Report This]
Story:Complicated Chapter: Complication #1

Hi Taylor,

 

I’m here from the forums to spread some festive spirit. You have no idea how happy I was when I realised this was not only a Next Gen fic, but JSP/OC as well. On top of that, it’s a completed fix, so I can become as obsessive as I want and delve into Abigail’s story as much as I want.

 

I don’t know why, but I have a soft spot for James. Obviously, I’m only on the first chapter, but I can’t wait to read more. I truly hope to see some more of Fred. He’s already shaping up to be one of my favourite characters. I’m getting Gossip Girl vibes from Abigail; she seems a bit like Blair Waldorf (which is not a bad thing. B is my fav from that show). Elegant, put together and not afraid to go after what she wants. I am very much looking forward to the next chapter.

 

Thank you for the great start, see you next time.

 

 

Rhi



Name: Chemical_Pixie (Signed) · Date: 13 Nov 2018 01:42 AM · [Report This]
Story:Complicated Chapter: Complication #17

Taylor! Here for our swap and RvG - team Red! (and let's be honest, the story).

 

Quidditch!! For me as a writer, it's a daunting thing to write. Kudos to you for having so many characters interested in Quidditch. You're sly here, for many, many reasons. First: "James is a Keeper." (I agree, he is a keeper, lol). Second: Abigail calls Quidditch "complex." Knowing that you're writing the sequel, did you have the idea for this fic's sequel this early on? Third: The use of Circe, which is a great feminine alternative to Merlin. And fourth: how you write the Quidditch match. Here, you juggle many of the characters very well, especially showing how they get ready for the match. These little details say so much about everyone, and I'm in awe how well it all comes together.

 

Also, Cassie Long makes a remarkable Quidditch commentator. Her straightforward approach is refreshing after Lee's biased (albeit hysterical) commentary and then Luna's... unusual twist to the job in the books! Also, she makes it really easy to follow the action, so you do some great writing there!

 

That victory party is adorable! James and Abigail are attracted to each other; it's as plain as day... and yet she's quite oblivious to it. Sure, she notes the lingering touches and James's determination to get her flying, but the way she brushes it off like it's nothing, like it's purely friendly (is platonic the right word here?), makes me shake my head--but also smile. Oh, Abigail, you have another thing coming to ya. At least, that's what I'm getting so far, hahaha! Who knows? I'm sure you have a few curve balls (curve Quaffles?) up your sleeve, Taylor!

 

And Cecile's comment about Fred falling for a girl... if that isn't foreshadowing, then I don't know what is. But my question is... who?!

 

Great chapter, Taylor! I'll be back for more soon!

 

 



Name: Chemical_Pixie (Signed) · Date: 12 Nov 2018 03:12 AM · [Report This]
Story:Complicated Chapter: Complication #16

Taylor! Here for November's RvG (team red) (It was almost team read before I stopped myself) and your requested review. And the story!

 

Abigail is a girl after my own heart, getting biscuits on an unassuming Tuesday night. It's awesome that she's benefiting from being in the Potter/Weasley clan, and that she's flourishing. Really, her character has grown so much! And then she stumbles upon James. I love how she tries to talk her way out of drinking with him but concedes...

 

And their conversation! It's so interesting to have James feel like he's in his brother's shadow because a lot of Next Gen fics have it the other way around. And Abigail reflecting on her own growth, on becoming a different person... this is such good relationship building, and I absolutely admore the little tidbits about their knees touching and her resting her head on his shoulder. They've had a rocky start to their friendship, but soon I have a feeling the things they're doing now, all of these small, innocent touches, might start to mean a little more. And I'm thrilled about that!

 

And that end scene... Dom being the most amazing support (and devious about our two Heads just pining after each other, hahaha) but also really perceptive. Abigail, you might not be looking to date anyone like James Potter, but right now, you do not have me convinced that you wouldn't want to date him, hook up with him, whatever. "Yes, we're best as just friends." That's such a weak statement from the main character; I don't believe it for a second. Which is why is a brilliant one to end a chapter on, Taylor! My writer's heart is cackling with glee at this!

 

Another great chapter. I'll be back again soon for more!



Name: Chemical_Pixie (Signed) · Date: 11 Nov 2018 06:35 PM · [Report This]
Story:Complicated Chapter: Complication #15

Taylor! Here for the story, the requested review, and for RvG (Team Red for November). :)

 

And I must say, I really like the characters featured in this chapter. It was fun to learn more about the Potter/Weasley clan and their 'unnecessarily complicated' (I see what you did there) system. And after reading this chapter, I think interventions is a really good way for them to solve their problems outside of the limelight, espeically with the prospect of being featured in The Prophet looming over this famous family's heads. And it's a great plot device, too. I'm a happy passenger of the HRMS Potter/Winchester ship, so I'm hoping there's an intervention between the two of them... probably way later, since your fic has so many chapters, but it's awesome that you're laying the foundations here early on.

 

And can I say how much I love Lily Potter here? James is looking out for Dom, I suppose, but Lily calls him out for his hotheadedness and impatience. Truly amazing. I love how well your female characters speak up for themselves and each other, and how receptive your male characters are to them (maybe after a little further convincing). It's so refreshing to see female leadership writtin in a fic (see Lily and then Dom for further details). They both present logical explanations for James's concerns, and I love how cool he is with being corrected (another reason to love him). 

 

And I can relate to Abigail at the end of the chapter when she sees the Royals do their weekly ritual, Girl Talk. When ending a relationship, no matter what kind, it's perfectly normal to miss things that you once did. And Dom's understanding of that makes me respect her even more (standing up for herself about her choice in whom she dates AND being a good listener to a fellow female? Dom, you're a rock star). Another great chapter, Taylor! I'm definitely reading on. Your second review will come sometime soon! 



Name: Chemical_Pixie (Signed) · Date: 21 Oct 2018 10:43 PM · [Report This]
Story:Complicated Chapter: Complication #13

Taylor! Here for the HC Maze (Hogwarts Dungeon edition) as well as Team Gold for RvG (because why not) as well as of course I'm reading this fic!

 

Well... Abigail has certainly been through some... interesting situations, to put it lightly. I love seeing her vulnerability (though not her humilitation, that was cruel what Blaise did to her... and the whole 'Slag' thing. People can be the absolute worst). Abigail is lucky to have someone like Dom to help nudge her in the right direction. I like how you have Abigail walk into the Great Hall... and everyone's reactions to her forehead is completely different than what's in her head. That is one of my favorite bits of characterization of Abigail so far in the story. She has these grand ideas of what reality is or what it's going to be... but it's just not. I'm glad that she's starting to see that! And Dom is a great guide!

 

Breakfast, Potions, and the common room hangout are great ways to introduce some of your story threads, especially with this large cast of characters. Sometimes, it's overwhelming to have so many characters at once. But you gradually add more and more people, so by the end of the chapter, it's easy for me to keep track of who is who. Not to mention, I get to see more of Freddy and James, who are two characters I really, really like. Abigail seems to be fitting in well, and I'm looking forward to how these relationships develop! :) 

 

P.S. I remember talking to you about characters and Halloween costumes, so I can't wait to see what everyone decides on! And it's very seasonal to RL right now. Love it!



Author's Response:

Hey Abby! (oh god, this is weird, calling you Abby and proceeding to talk about the other Abby, lol)

 

Abigail's been through quite a bit, and it definitely has brought out her more vulnerable side, much to her own chagrin. And she definitely has a tendency to hype up situations in her head, and they always end up either so much worse or so much less dramatic than she's expected. And Dom is definitely a really solid rock for her, especially at this point in the story.

 

This was suchhhhh a challenging part of the story, because I just threw so many characters in at once, so I'm glad you think it's nice and spaced out and still easy to keep track of. And I'm happy you like Freddy and James, because I also really love them.

 

Their Halloween costumes were not something I planned in advance - they picked them out themselves and I just ran with it. It was fun.

 

Thanks for reviewing!!

 

-Taylor



Name: Crimson Quill (Signed) · Date: 10 Oct 2018 02:36 PM · [Report This]
Story:Complicated Chapter: Complication #48

 

omgggg.

 

Taylor!

 

So this story really is so addictive, I've just binge read through the whole of this in like a day. I seriously feel like I'm 16 again! It's been ages since I've done anything like that! I love how balanced this story has been like you've had such a mixture of emotions, we've seen Abby's angst about her family and Royals then James' 'daddy issues' then we've had highs of the last few chapters, it's great how you can write about real issues like Abby's issues with slut shaming and bullying but also make it is so fluffy and wonderful!!

 

I thought this chapter was a lovely ending (and new beginning!) because I thought it wasn't over the top. You've dropped in little clues about what everyone is up too (eg. we know Al is married.) but not too much detail about stuff but setting up for the sequel. I love the first section about Abby reflecting on their lives together and how each of them has made room for each other like James loving photos and Abby letting him have them but framed. I love the details which photos are on the wall especially the article clipping (which is a great callback to James' wall clipping stuck on his wall by Fred.)

 

I'M SO EXCITED ABOUT JAMES MENTIONING PROPOSING! I just had to get that out there! It's exciting because I love a good wedding plus this couple have been through so much together! This chapter has made me so excited for this sequel. more general comments - the character development has been amazing, the dialogue always on point, the banter so natural. Believable characters that I really rooted for! Congratulations on finishing such a monster project! It was fantastic. 

 

- Abbi xo

 

 

RvG - Team Gold. (but mainly because it's amazing!)

 



Author's Response:

Gahh I love that you binge-read this whole thing. <3

 

I definitely wanted to address real issues and angst here, but we all need some good fluffiness and a happy ending too. I'm glad I managed to strike that balance well!!

 

This chapter is definitely designed to give a few hints at things that happen in the sequel, but I didn't want it to wrap things up too completely, given that there's a whole new monster story following this one. The biggest thing about this chapter is just showing how they've grown up a little bit and really become integral parts of each other's lives, which sets up nicely for the fact that the sequel literally begins with a proposal.

 

Thanks for reading this monster, and I'm so glad you liked it!!

 

-Taylor



Name: Crimson Quill (Signed) · Date: 08 Oct 2018 07:04 PM · [Report This]
Story:Complicated Chapter: Complication #3

 

Hey Taylor,

 

So I feel like this chapter was really good at setting up all the big players in the story and giving them a bit of back story especially Caroline. I think she'll be interesting character because she doesn't like muggles but not for the usual reasons. I look forward to seeing a bit more of her. I think your James is good too because I feel like he is such a genuine person but also full of banter. I think Abby and him are going to have some fantastic chemistry later in the story too. I'm really looking forward to see that dynamic develop. 

 

Abby is kinda heartbreaking to read about, I feel like there is just two sides to her and it's so obvious that one is crying and trying to figure out the world and the other rules the world.  I feel like she puts up so many barrier around herself for protection more than anything else. She is all about appearances, I felt especially bad for her when she said pretending to herself that she did sleep with blaise. I love the way you balance her though between her two 'personalities' as such. I think you've got a great way of making me feel sorry for her but also like 'who does she think she is?'. She is going to such a great character to see develop because at the moment, I'm not sure who she is and I don't think she really knows either. It's going to be so fun to follow this through and get to know Abby.

 

I'm really excited about getting to see more of Abby and James in the future chapters. I liked how you've set up the main issues and it's going to be great to see where you take them!

 

- Abbi xo

 

RvG - Team Gold

 



Author's Response:

Hey Abbi!

 

Caroline's definitely an interesting character - I love her a ton, because she's also one of the characters that grows a lot in this story. And you've got James nailed down as a person - he's very genuine and true to himself, which will work really well as his and Abby's dynamic develops. 

 

Abby, at this point, is definitely an interesting character - it's interesting that you find her heartbreaking at this point, because she's such a mean girls still that I definitely understand not having any sympathy for her at this point. But she definitely is at war with herself, and so much of the rest of this story becomes her trying to match the interior and exterior versions of herself to one another.

 

Thanks for reviewing!!

 

-Taylor



Name: Chemical_Pixie (Signed) · Date: 06 Oct 2018 06:58 PM · [Report This]
Story:Complicated Chapter: Complication #1

Tayyyyylor! I'm here for RvG, but also it's about darn time I dip into this fic.

 

First off, congratulations on finishing this novel. You should be proud of what you've accomplished! I'm excited to have the completed work ahead (though I'll probably be reading at snail pace, but by golly, I'll get through it). 

 

Second, your author's note rings true. Abigail is rather insufferable. But I see some potential redeeming qualities: her loyalty, her wit, her willingness to stick to her beliefs, her composure. However, these qualities are misdirected in a lot of immature things, like (petty) gossip, and in values that are different from my own (her materialism, emphasis on appearance, etc.). Though, I can see a ball of insecurities behind her exterior, so I look forward to everything crumbling around her. (Does that make me mean? Not too sure, lol).

 

Also, her friends. Are kinda the worst. And she is, too. So it works. For now. But ugh. I'm way more interested in getting to know Freddy and James, to be honest, because they stand up to this group of girls. I'm sure they have their quirks and downsides, too. But from what I see, James and Freddy are way more likeable than Abigail.

 

But her name... good choice, Taylor! ;)

 

I'll definitely be reading more. Let her character development begin!



Author's Response:

Hi Abby! I'm excited to get your reactions to this fic. :)

 

Abigail is definitely supposed to be insufferable, but I'm glad you caught onto those redeeming qualities as well. They'll come to the forefront as time goes on, and will eventually start to make her less insufferable. And yep, her friends are just as bad as she is. And I'm glad you like both James and Freddy - although honestly, most people don't like James at this point, so it's interesting that you do. I guess you're good at not seeing him through Abby's eyes.

 

And haha, yes, excellent name choice for a main character on my part.

 

-Taylor



Name: Sleepingbagonthesofa (Signed) · Date: 02 Oct 2018 12:50 PM · starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Story:Complicated Chapter: Complication #47

So a whole ten minuets ago I said that I couldn't read Complex unless I finish reviewing Complicated first and HERE I AM!! (As it turns out that was an excelent motivator!)

Right... Trying my best to be calm I am just going to say OH MY GOD absheiagrhsk... THEY WENT BACK TO THE SHREIKING SHACK!!! That whole sceen was so perfect. It's different and brings them right back to the start, it shows how far they've come since Abby was dating Blaize and James was just a bit of a twat. Now they're together and being adorable. 

Abby's line about James's tatoo was GOLD! It reminds me so much of Ginny and Harry and is so satisfying in that way but also because the Abigail from the start fo the story would never have said something like that. She's come into her own and I love it. I love her! 

That brings me onto the next point. The last scene. You saw my reaction when I first read this chapter and all I can say reading it back it is WOW. You've got it nailed, it is the absolute kicker. Scarlet is still the same person she was when we met her, the mean girl who doesn't understand that there is more to life than popularity and now Abby is so much better than that. It was such a mic drop moment, the perfect ending. 

I dont know what to say now... How to round up the last (well, second last) review on a story like this. I think by sayign that Taylor, out of all the fanfiction I have read (and i've read a LOT) I have never found one that captured me like this. It is, by a mile, my favourite. 

And Holy Hippogriff, thank god you came back to finish it!!

Deni xx



Author's Response:

I'm glad that served as an effective motivator, lol.

 

Going full circle in this chapter was SO FUN - so much has changed since the last time they were in the Shrieking Shack, and putting them back in the same place really shows that.

 

I had entirely too much fun borrowing from HBP in these last couple of chapters - the kiss in the common room and the tattoo line, specifically. And then the Scarlett comment was another full circle moment; Abby has changed so much, which is so starkly contrasted to how Scarlett hasn't changed at all.

 

But asefhjkl this story being your favorite makes me too happy for words. <3

 

-Taylor



Name: Felpata_Lupin (Signed) · Date: 22 Sep 2018 07:35 AM · starstarstarstarhalf-star [Report This]
Story:Complicated Chapter: Complication #1

Hello, Taylor! :)

Here for the Interhouse Camaradie Challenge! :)

I was feeling bad for not having ever stopped by your AP before, and this story has been mentioned so much around the site, so I just had to check it out, right? ;)

Okay, so... my first thought was, indeed, that Abigail is sort of unsufferable... and I'm not 100% sure how much I like her group of friends, either... I just don't really appreciate girls who are all gossip-y and fashion-y and judging on appearences... but I guess that's my personal bias and it's kind of simplicistic judgement from my part? Does this make me a bit snobbish myself? Yeah, probably...

I will admit, though, I kind of change my mind a little bit already when you introduced Abigail's family situation. It must be really horrible to be the object of a competition between your divorced parents who are trying to buy your affection... it's just so sad and it really makes me feel a lot of sympathy for poor Abigail. (Even if I still think she's quite conceited...)

Okay, so... I kind of have a feeling her plans for Blaise aren't going to work out the way she hopes? I say this because 1) she's supposed to end up with James in the long run (right?), 2) this plan seems kind of a stretch, especially since the relationship started when they were so young and 3) I've read your excerpt from chapter 2...

As for James Potter II.... I actually found him a fun boy... :P I love when people make his personality and mannerisms mirroring his grandfather's, and of course you have that here, with the messing with his hair bit and pranking attitude and everything. It's kind of cliched, maybe, but it's totally my headcanon and I always love that interpretation of him. :P (Also I have a big passion for the Marauders (maybe you knew that already) and I always love any parallel with them...)

Okay, this review is a mess, as per usual... but I did enjoy this first chapter, it was a fun introduction to your characters and I'm very curious about how you are going to develop them and make them grow in your story (which is part of the purpose of it, if I understood straight?)

Goodbye for now!

Lots of love,

Chiara



Author's Response:

Hi Chiara!!

 

Your first thought would be correct! They're not exactly great gals to be around at this point in the story - they're petty and vain and gossipy. But Abigail's family situation complicates things, and is really presented in this first chapter to show that she's not completely the character she makes herself out to be.

 

And as for her plan with Blaise, you probably have some pretty good points about the plan being a stretch, and well, the sneak peek of chapter 2, lol.

 

James is definitely a bit like his grandfather, although that characterization doesn't carry through completely (although James I also did some growing up, so honestly, they may be one in the same). But they've definitely got some differences that become more pronounced as we start to see more of James' insecurities in future chapters. But I'm glad you enjoyed the parallel that's here to begin with!!

 

And yes, a huuuuuuuuge purpose of this story (almost moreso than the romance part) is Abby and James and all these characters growing into better people who learn how to deal with the consequences of their actions. (Which actions, you might ask? You'll find out soon enough. ;) )

 

Thanks for stopping by my AP and leaving this review!! <3

 

-Taylor



Name: Stella Blue (Signed) · Date: 13 Sep 2018 03:01 AM · [Report This]
Story:Complicated Chapter: Complication #48

Ahh! It's the end! Congratulations on finishing, btw - I know this is recently finished and it's such a crazy, exciting, bittersweet feeling to finish writing a novel and I'm so proud of you.



This fic has been entertaining from start to finish, and I'm so glad to have read it! It was so rewarding to follow Abby's journey of growth and change from the person she was at the beginning to who she is now at the end - I really like the person she became. She's such a great character. And James was great too - I love the two of them together. And I would be remiss I'd I  didn't mention the supporting characters as well, Dom being my favorite. She became my favorite when she was kind to Abby after everything the Royals had done to Dom, and forgave her and was just generally an amazing friend. And I love her sass.


This was a beautifully fluffy end and sets everything up so well for the sequel, which I cant wait to read! And I love how even despite the fluff, you worked in there the fact that these best friends don't see one another as often as they wish - Caroline's even on a different continent - because that is just such a real thing, as sad as it is, but I can relate. Things may be fluffy and good with a proposal coming in the near future (!) but they and all their friends are still young adults trying to find their place in the world and hold on to these relationships as everyone moves apart and starts their own lives. Damn, if that isn't real. But there's enough fluff in there that I can't feel too bad about anything!


Sorry for the low quality reviews up until this point haha, I only have internet on my phone these days and typing reviews on a phone keyboard is really frustraitbg, but I did really enjoy the story. You have such a fun writing style. And, yeah, this story is so completely deserving of the Addicting Story award. This was so much fun - waiting excitedly for the sequel! Congrats once again on finishing this wondeful story. <3



Author's Response:

It truly is such an exciting and bittersweet feeling. These characters were so fun to write, and I'm so glad you liked them so much - especially Dom, who's sassy and just such a good person all at once.

 

And yep, this ending was definitely designed as both a conclusion and a set-up - the story could end here if you wanted it to, but there's all sorts of hints that things still need to be settled, and that everyone's still trying to figure out their place in the world.

 

I've loved all of these reviews, and don't think that they're low-quality at all! I've loved your reactions to the story. <3 Thank you so much for reading and reviewing it.

 

-Taylor



Name: Stella Blue (Signed) · Date: 13 Sep 2018 02:20 AM · [Report This]
Story:Complicated Chapter: Complication #46

 There is not much of a point to this review other than to highlight the brilliance of this remark:

Wow! This is definitely the first time they’ve kissed! I, for one, am so surprised this is happening!”

 

I, for one, am definitely not dying of laughter.

Just kidding, I am.

 

PS, looks like this is your 300th review on this story! Congrats!



Author's Response:

Gah, that was such a funny line - probably one of my favorites in the entire story.

 

And yaayyyyy, thanks for being my 300th review!!! <3



Submit a Review