Login
Reviews For That's All

Name: starbuck (Signed) · Date: 11 May 2019 09:46 AM · starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Story:That's All Chapter: Chapter 6

hey bex, i'm here for our swap!

 

i love the witty banter between remus and clara – it shows just how comfortable with each other they’ve become and how used to each other. clara’s obvious dislike of the fact that remus started working, meaning he spent less time with her, is for some reason hilarious to me :P mostly because i think she knows he’d get bored soon, just staying at home, not to mention that he would feel embarrassed by the fact that he’s living at her home for free.

 

i admit i still don’t understand clara’s reasoning for not being a part of the wizarding world. i have no idea how she does it, being able to do magic, to be a part of something so fantastic and then just choosing not to. i mean, she could’ve made new friends, much like she sort of did in her muggle life :I

 

their drunken conversation about snape’s snogging skills had me laughing out loud! i can just imagine remus’ face when she asked him if he was interested haha

 

i definitely like drunk clara, she’s a lot of fun, especially when she’s teasing remus about him fancying her (here’s hoping drunk!clara makes an impact on sober!clara :P ) and the fact that remus liked her in school is adorable :D

 

but omg remus….needs to get over himself and make a move (yes…i’m definitely agreeing with sirius on this one!)

 

kris



Name: Lacey Black (Signed) · Date: 07 May 2019 01:10 AM · starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Story:That's All Chapter: Prologue

Hey there! I am here for our swap and the EvS battle Team Silver


i couldn’t wait to get into this after reading the summary! 


One of my favourite eras is the first Wizarding war and I am so so curious what is going to happen in this story.


i really like that you started this story with Harry’s Point of View and Clara (finally?) putting herself into the war.  I really want to know more about the friendship she has with Severus and about her marriage to Lupin.  Why had he am also on the edge of my seat wanting to know if Lupic survived or not!


I love that Harry and Clara are both of the mind that it is not the time or place to have pleasantries after such a horrible ordeal.  It’s very true to life I think.  Though Harry’s curiosity that he is so very famous for gets the better of him and he goes to attain the information he desires from Minerva.  


I like how Minerva has the decency to consider the feelings and privacy of Clara before deciding how much to tell. Though she chooses to share her story with Harry, she does so not out of being a gossip but more so out of knowing that her story is one that is meant to be shared because she has an important perspective on the war (can’t wait to see what that is).  Shocked about her being friends with Severus AND married to Lupin does not even begin to cover it.  And I’m so so intrigued.  


I ak adding this to my favourites right now because I need to know more!


great writing hun


xo 


LB



Name: MegGonagall (Signed) · Date: 27 Apr 2019 05:22 PM · [Report This]
Story:That's All Chapter: Chapter 1

Hey Bex! Here for our EvS swap! 

Sorry it’s taken so long, love. I’ve been slowly but surely making my way through all the swaps from the other day. But, I’m here now :) 

 

Ugh, I know that pain all too well, from when I was a teen. Always the friend, never the girlfriend. The one that you could practice your kiss on, yet not really want to kiss. And it is almost literal hell when you fall for your best friend, and have to hear them speak of another. My heart goes out to the girl, because I’ve so been there. It’s only natural that she’d feel bitterness and resentment towards Lily, after watching Snape pine after her for all of those years. Anyone in her position would. 

 

It definitely doesn’t seem as if she has any romanticized version of Snape in her head. She sees him for exactly who he is, and still cares for him. And that pact is so cute. I had a similar one with one of my male best friends. If we weren’t married, or seriously committed to someone by 30, we would get married lol. I doubt we would have went through with it, consider I was 15 and he was 17 when we made the pact haha. But yeah, not an ideal way to have your first kiss. I mean, mine was at 13 in a game of truth or dare, so not much better. But, to have it almost as a last resort, I can get why Clara wasn’t totally excited, and more nervous  than anything else. I did love how they kept trying to one up each other, to gain “control” of the situation in the broom cupboard. 

 

Then the kiss. It was like a balloon deflating hahaha. Clara’s all like, nope. Nope this isn’t right. Isn’t it crazy how you can have someone built up in your head, and then you finally kiss them, or get to know them better, or whatever, and you’re like, ooooh nooo. Not at all, so I like this person like that. To be honest, I was relieved for her. Because I wouldn’t have wanted to see the poor thing be all heartbroken after the kiss, knowing he wished it were someone else, while she was pining for him. In a way, it seems that kiss is the best thing that could have happened to her. It woke her up. 

 

Bah, it’s always James and Sirius, isn’t it? Can’t they just leave Snape alone? He wasn’t bothering anyone. He was just trying to have a quick snog, just as I’m sure Sirius, and James had done enough times in broom cupboards with randoms. I’m glad that Clara stuck up for herself, and Snape. But, oooooooh, Lupin. See something that interests you? *wink wink* Also, I was 10000% expecting that reaction from Snape towards Clara after she “saved” him. Because, as we know, and like he said, he doesnt like to look “weak.” *eye roll* I’m glad to see that Clara can squash that attitude immediately without batting an eye. 

 

Well, my love, this was a great chapter! I’m going to be continuing on for sure. I’m dying to see where this is headed. Thanks for the swap!! 

 

Love and Hugs,

Meg




Name: Rumpelstiltskin (Signed) · Date: 24 Apr 2019 07:45 PM · starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Story:That's All Chapter: Chapter 11

Hey, Bex! I'm here for our swap & April EvS! #TeamSilver! [And because I think it's been about 103 years on the dot since I've last reviewed this.]

 

I love how nervous and excited Clara is about going on a date with Remus! It's so sweet, and so like Clara to be overreacting and trying to figure out what to wear and how to act. While, yes, she's right in that their relationship has been moving in strange steps, I think it's absolutely adorable that they're going to be going on a first date together, and that Remus has chosen a secret location as a surprise. Gah, these two never get old. As it is, Remus seems to appreciate the lack of clothes rather than being picky on what she'll be wearing, hahaha! And still, I love the way Remus reacted to seeing her all dressed up for him. It sounds like Severus, to steal all of her photos of him and burn them, haha! I love that they took a picture of each other, even though Clara was clearly unintersted in having her photo taken. 

 

OH my gosh, they're going to Hogsmeade together because Remus wanted to take her in his 7th yeah -- can these two get any freaking cuter? I love that he surprised her, knowing that she wouldn't have anythign but Muggle money -- smooth, Remus ;). Yeah, I couldn't picture Clara and Remus having a date at Madame Puddifoot's -- I agree that the Three Broomsticks is much more fitting for them Plus, I love how much more confident she feels in knowing that she's much different than the last time she'd visited the pub. Ahhh and she can guess what he's going to order -- I swear, these two are just my favorite. I love them to bits and pieces.

 

Uhuh, and despite Clara's thoughts that a first date would be wasted on her as she and Remus knew each other quite well, they're still learning about one another. I'm glad we got a bit of backstory about her family (as sad as it was with her father's side of the family during the war). Also, I love that Remus can speak [a bit of] Welsh, and that Clara attempted to repeat it -- it's perfectly adorable. Haha! I completely love that he has planned questions that he wants to ask her (plus the teasing, I can't get enough of it). I really love how those questions opened up the topic of magic, as this whole trip must be reminding her of the days she used to use her wand openly and freely. 

 

Of course, the end of their date sounded perfect, with the festival starting and the sweet (and intesifying kiss), and take me home and such!! Remus and Clara are such amazing characters together, it's absolutely wonderful. 

 

Anyway, it was an amazing chapter (as always)! Thanks so much for the swap, Bex!

 

-Rumpels



Name: Felpata_Lupin (Signed) · Date: 14 Apr 2019 11:27 AM · starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Story:That's All Chapter: Chapter 13

Hello, Bex, my dear! Here with your requested review! <3

Ah, I've missed Remus and Clara... coming back to this is always a joy! :)

And, well... I'm far from a smut expert, but I think you did a wonderful job at it! Mostly, it's so nice to see these two fitting so well together... it still felt so romantic, and I love it! <3 <3 <3

But back to the start... I really enjoyed the introduction of Laura's character. It's nice to see Clara having a girl friend and Laura seems so much fun. I hope we'll see her again more, and now I really want Clara to introduce her and Remus. I bet Laura would be delighted. :P

I also really, really appreciated how Laura immediately accepted Clara's explaination about Adrian, without asking for any more detail, but instead being grateful that Clara would care about her wellbeing. And I really appreciate that Clara decided to be honest with her about her motives. It's such a great example of female friendship here, even if the two girls aren't that close.

Talking about Adrian... he is the absolute worst! I wanted to punch him, seriously! So typical, that he wouldn't even realize where he went wrong and try to justify it on alcohol... I'm so proud of Clara for confronting him the way she did, and I'm so glad that it helped her gain some more self-confidence, if nothing else. I hope her words will have some effect on Adrian, too, and that maybe he'll question the way he acts with women... but I don't have high hopes...

The date was so sweet... did I mention that Remus is adorable? I'm sure I did a couple of times (also, I might be biased but I don't care :P)

Their teasing is so great and I can't get enough of it. And, well... I just love the way you write these two, that's all! ;)

Sorry, I'm cutting this a bit short, but just know that I've loved reading it! <3

Let me know when you update again!

Snowball hug,

Chiara



Author's Response:

I've missed having you here!! I'm going to try and update a little more frequently so I can pester you!! 

 

I'm very new to writing smut, but I think that for me as a writer, it was missing that aspect of it. I just wanted to see if I could rise to the occasion, I don't think every chapter will be smutty from here on out, it might just drop in on occasion. If it's in another chapter in future, I'll be sure to let you know so you can give it a miss. 

 

I hate using the word bubbly to describe people, but Laura is very that. She's outgoing, pretty fearless - definitely a Gryffindor. She lives in the moment, and her entire attitude to life is good for Clara. Laura offers her a different perspective. She and Remus will definitely meet, I mean I may not write their first meeting - but there will be chapters in the future with the two of them. Laura was sorely needed in this chapter, we've finally got some fresh blood - and a bit of girl power. There's definitely an unspoken "I have your back" pact in this chapter, and now Clara has seen how much trust her friend has in her. 

 

I really wanted to write another cute Clara/Remus date, they haven't had one in a while! Remus got a chance to be playful and flirty, and she got a chance to relax. They deserved it! 

 

 

Thank you so much for the wonderful review! 

 

Bex



Name: Felpata_Lupin (Signed) · Date: 31 Jan 2019 02:50 PM · starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Story:That's All Chapter: Chapter 12

Here I am again! :D 

I was a bit sad at the beginning... were Clara and Remus going through a bit of coldness? After the perfection that was their date in the last chapter, I didn't want to see their relationship getting strained... but of course, disagreements and times of difficulty happen and they are both too insecure and stubborn to be immune to it, right? Typical Remus, being overprotective and not wanting the people he cares about to take risks for him... And of course Clara has her faults as well, keeping things (like Adrian) to herself and not admitting that the potion is for herself just as much as it is for his sake... In her defence, she hadn't realized that until Severus pointed it out.

I loved Severus here, by the way. I'm definitely not his biggest fan, but he can be so caring when he wants to and he's such a good friend for Clara. I loved to see him in a more sympathetic light and I loved his reaction to Adrian and the way he's trying to be supportive with Clara, even concerning her relationship with Remus. It's obvious that neither man will ever like the other (and absolutely understandable,  too) but the fact that they are both making an effort for Clara's sake is just so sweet!

I also really loved that you included McGonagall here. Her conversation with Clara was so nice, it felt right for her talking to a former student. I've always loved McGonagall and I think you captured her well here! :)

I'm so glad that Remus and Clara talked it through and managed to clarify things a bit between them. I ship them too hard to see them being cold around each other. And I want more, so you'll have to update soon... just saying...

Wonderful chapter, just as always! Thank you so much for requesting and for writing this delightful story!

Lots of love and snowball hug!

Chiara



Author's Response:

Welcome back! 

 

Yeah, these two are going through a bit of a rough patch at the minute...trying to get through a first relationship is tough! The honeymoon period is starting to die down, Remus worries about her all the time and Clara doesn't do much to help the situation. Remus is way too over protective of her - she's an independent woman!

 

Severus is caring in his own grumpy way. He tries to present it as - this information is obvious to no one but me apparently, how can you be such an imbecile? I mean if you think about it, he's actually on Remus' side a little. Like he can see some things from his perspective! So as you can see, this is definitely an AU - ha! Clara knows he will never give her hugs or tell her that he cares outright - but as his closest friend she recognises how he displays affection. 

 

I will bring McGonagall into every fic I have in anyway I can. I love this character too damn much not to! I mean she was around at the beginning...well the end...you know what I mean. She was there for a hot minute. I implied that the two of them knew each other, and were friendly...so here's another example of that. Clara was by no means an amazing student, she wasn't very confident in her transfiguration lessons and didn't apply herself much in class. Even so, Minerva only takes on students that she feels can handle the workload. To let Clara be a part of the NEWT program shows that she had confidence in her abilities. Minerva McGonagall's trust is never misplaced. 

 

Don't worry, Remus and Clara will be back on track soon! I just have one or two things to tie up first...in fact, I think you're really going to love what I have in store for these two in the next chapter. It's in the queue, hopefully you'll get to read it soon. 

 

Thanks for the amazing reviews, as always!



Name: Felpata_Lupin (Signed) · Date: 31 Jan 2019 01:34 PM · starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Story:That's All Chapter: Chapter 11

BEX!!!!!!!!!!

Here with the first of your requested reviews! Finally! It only took me a month, after all... that's acceptable... right? *hides in shame*

Aww! I know I say this at every chapter, but... those two are soooo cute! The idea of the date was absolutely adorable, and I can totally imagine Remus organizing something like that. Well, although Clara is right in saying that their relationship is sort of going backwards... a first date when they'd been living under the same roof for months and got so intimate with each other is kind of funny. But it's adorable that he wanted to live with her that first date he didn't got the chance to have back in school days. :)

Everything was perfect, from Clara's indecisiveness about what to wear, to the polaroid, to their conversation over family and NEWTs, to the music festival... and the ending! That was absolutely delightful, and it's absolutely delightful that they are so in tune about where they stand in their relationship. Also, I think it's kind of adorable that in adolescent Remus' plans there was asking her if he could kiss her. He's the best! But we knew that already, right?

I probably should say more, but I want to move to the next chapter now (and anyway, I'm not sure what I could say more except repeating once again how much I adore Remus and Clara and how your story makes me feel all warm and happy...)

Lovely work as usual! See you in a little bit!

Lots of love,

Chiara



Author's Response:

Hey Chiara!! 

 

I'm sorry it's taken me 2 months to respond, but here I am! 

 

Remus and Clara just get cuter every chapter, don't they? Maybe I'm biased. Their relationship is really cute, and kinda backwards - but it works! This date was a really detailed snapshot of their beginnings, how they're close...but still awkward around each other. There isn't much of a rhythm to their romance yet, although this chapter will definitely help with that. They're trying to do what normal couples do, you know get to know their families like they don't know them already. Find out cute information, go somewhere special and eat decent food, etc etc. 

 

Adolescent Remus was the cutest. He wasn't as insecure and self loathing back then, he had the marauders to remind him just how deserving he was of love. Now all he has is Clara. She's taking on the job of three people here! 

 

Thanks for stopping by!



Name: potionspartner (Signed) · Date: 28 Jan 2019 12:57 PM · [Report This]
Story:That's All Chapter: Chapter 4

And the fragile friendship goes to the next level. I can’t believe Remus made the decision to leave because his transformation worried her. Oh wait a moment, yes I can. This is the very insecure Remus Lupin who thrives on self-isolation and self-pity and abhors relying on others.


The arguments of cigarettes is a great way for Remus to show that he cares without having to actually say the words. Plus he’s right, she needs to cut back. Of course, being Remus he wouldn’t really judge another for such actions because he’s so used to be judged himself.

 

In some ways, I don’t blame Severus for refusing to help make the Wolfbane. Here’s a man who sat by and did nothing allowing others to make his teenage years hell and given Severus’s tortured soul, revenge comes to him quite easily. Of course, we all know (including Remus) that he isn’t offering to brew the option for the werewolf’s benefit. Just like during HP’s 3rd year, he brewed it to keep the children safe and this time, he wants to do the same for Clara.



Author's Response:

Remus is so insecure, but then Clara's no better really! 

 

I think that people's actions show that they care, a lot better than just saying so. Her smoking habits are really just the beginning. He has to start out small, and so does she. 

 

I can see Severus' point of view as well. I mean why would he want to help the man who stood by and watched him get bullied and tortured? I know I'd be hesitant to help if I was in his position. But then, Snape definitely crossed a line in the way that he spoke to Clara. He lashed out, because that's just how he behaves. Clara's just so fed up with it all! 



Name: potionspartner (Signed) · Date: 28 Jan 2019 12:22 PM · [Report This]
Story:That's All Chapter: Chapter 3

“Apparently, you could learn a lot about a person from the way they behaved when sitting on you.” Snort, Snort. If Clara is going to listen to her own advice and not get too close to Remus, perhaps she shouldn’t go sitting on his lap! Seriously, however, what a cute comic relief. I know that little, old lady. I think she was my grandmother (who can talk an ear off a stranger) and, Clara was correct. Short of apparition, there wasn’t much else to do. I wish that we had heard a bit more of the old lady’s conversation, perhaps some accidently interaction which the old lady misunderstands.


Will Clara ever get the chance to ask the Sorting Hat what in the world he was thinking sorting her into Slytherin or are you afraid that she might really take a knife to the old head topper?

 



Author's Response:

I think we all know someone like the old woman on the bus! I usually think they're quite endearing, but Clara and Remus were in no mood! They barely knew each other, and here Remus was - with this virtual stranger sat in his lap, in a place he didn't know, trying to listen to another total stranger as she babbled on about lord knows what. 

 

Clara will most likely never get the chance to kill the sorting hat, because I honestly think if given the opportunity - she would blast it into a million pieces!



Name: potionspartner (Signed) · Date: 28 Jan 2019 11:28 AM · [Report This]
Story:That's All Chapter: Chapter 1

I love the description, Shakespearean Tragedy that was her face. It’s a bit mean, but really creates a mental picture of the trials and turmoils of adolescents. Oh, the trials, poor Clara has. Comparing yourself to Lily Evans is never good advise, but nor is trying to convince Severus Snape not to think of the red head. (By the way, I love the description of Snape: “tortured soul, a wicked sense of humour and a viper tongue.” Love it! Although I think my favorite “is his top five fun things to do, lurking in the shadows”)  Your words are so creative and I just adore the writing!


Still your OC has a logical brain that obviously has a better reality check that Lavender Brown or Pansy’ Parkinson’s giggling ever will and she’s right. Severus Snape really does need to get over Lily Evans.

 



Author's Response:

Whilst this story is in the third person, it's very much tainted by the character's own opinions. Clara definitely sees her face as disasterous, but at fifteen/sixteen - I think most of us did. What's even worse for her is that Lily Evans comes out of puberty unscathed, in fact she's all the better for it. Severus is head over heels in love with her and all she can do is watch as he follows her blindly, frothing at the mouth. 

 

I poke a lot of fun at Severus in this fic, but I just love writing about him. I think JK's portrayal of him in the books and Alan Rickman's acting really connected with my writing - some of my best stuff has him in it! 



Name: potionspartner (Signed) · Date: 28 Jan 2019 11:09 AM · [Report This]
Story:That's All Chapter: Prologue

If your goal was to create more questions than answers in the prologue. Congratulations! I’m intrigued and almost ignored writing a review in favor of jumping into the next chapter.  The first being who is her husband? Which side is he on? (I’m assuming the light but one is never certain of such things.) It’s obvious she’s a very private person which makes Harry Potter, probably one of the more nosey book characters in existence, even more curious. Your portrayal of Potter was spot on from his innate curiosity to his borderline rude questioning, but what really impressed me was how you used Harry’s curiosity to fuel the reader’s own inquisitiveness. Like I said I have a lot of questions now.


I was also shocked when McGonagall said Clara (is she perhaps names after Clara Barton?) had been friends with Severus Snape and Lupin’s wife. First the two didn’t go to Hogwarts together so how did she connect with both? Second, you said Lupin’s wife, not Tonks. Since McGonagall knew that Harry knew Tonks, it make more sense to identify her by her given name, which makes me question is Lupin’s wife is Tonks or someone else.

 

Or perhaps I’m just an overanalyzing Ravenclaw.



Author's Response:

I like my prologues to be full of cliff hangers and too many questions that will probably take 40+ chapters to answer all of them. 

 

I agree with you in that Harry is probably the nosiest character in the HPverse. I love writing things from his perspective, and I knew that the prologue was my only opportunity to do so in this fic. He'll know more about Clara...soon. When I say soon, I mean the distant future for us. I haven't written that part yet! We have to get through the origin story first. 

 

 

Clara's name is actually taken from my own family tree. I was doing some research, and I really liked the name - so I kept it in the back of my mind. When I had to name my OC, I wanted something old fashioned and pretty...Clara Levitt fits that description pretty well in my opinion. 

 

I think you might have over analysed, haha! Clara is Lupin's wife. Sorry if I didn't make that very clear! 

 

Thanks for the review. 



Name: MegGonagall (Signed) · Date: 25 Jan 2019 11:47 AM · starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Story:That's All Chapter: Prologue

Bex!! I’m here for the Menagerie! 

 

So I’ve been meaning to read this for a while. And when I saw it fit the requirements for the Porlock, I was thrilled. What an opening! 

 

I think I have just as many questions has Harry does, regarding Clara. Lupin’s wife! Snape’s friend?? How does that work?? I imagine neither one of them could be happy with her choice of friend or husband. I’m really excited to see the conflict there. Oh, if Snape is dead in this fic, that’s going to be super sad for her. *gasp* oh my god, is Lupin going to be dead, too? I’m already worried I won’t be able to handle the heartbreak. This story is going to break me, isn’t it? 

 

Clara is definitely mysterious. Is she still Lupin’s wife? Or was she Lupin’s wife. Like, did he remarry with Tonks, or is she out of the picture entirely in this fic? I know you can’t really answer anything, and I’ll have to read on to find out, but I just have so many questions! 

 

Harry has a little bit of nerve, doesn’t he? Just flat out being like, “I didn’t see you fighting.” Calm down, Harry. She’s healing your butt. Just because someone isn’t fighting, doesn’t mean they’re not still contributing. Gryffindors... hahaha. But then also, where has she been?? I need to know all the things! 

 

Your writing is fantastic, as always. You could very much feel the sadness of all loss from the war, but also the relief that it wad finally over. I liked the description of Harry standing there, appearing confused. Because, I’m sure that’s how most people felt in the direct aftermath of the Final Battle. You’ve spent so long fighting, that I’m sure you’re left feeling like, “Okay... what next?” 

 

I did find it funny that McGonagall finally saw James in Harry, as he was standing there looking so confused hahaha. 

 

I’m glad I had a chance to stop by! Hopefully I’ll be able to review this more for the comp, and if not, I’ll come back to it to read more! Love you!! 



Author's Response:

Hey Meg! I'm sorry it's taken me so long to reply to this review. 

 

It's quite a concept, being friends with two people who were seemingly on "opposite sides" except they weren't...but they still hated each other for the most part. Ugh, how confusing. Clara's really added a lot of questions to the mix by being here! There will be conflict, most of it amusing (to me anyway!) - but some aspects are going to get a little angsty...so get ready! Regarding who's going to live and who's going to die...I refuse to divulge that information as of yet. I have decided which of my main characters will live, and who will die. 

 

Tonks is most definitely out of the equation. It's AU in the sense that Clara turned up before Tonks did. A ship that I actually love a lot is Dora/Fleur, but I'm not sure if I can work their relationship into this fic. I mean Harry's made a fair point - and voiced it in the least eloquent way possible. He didn't mean anything by it - I think it was just his Gryffindor way of talking first and thinking later - ha! 

 

Thank you so much for reviewing, and I hope that if you decide to stick with my story - that you'll enjoy it! 

 

Bex



Name: LadyMarauder (Signed) · Date: 25 Jan 2019 09:27 AM · [Report This]
Story:That's All Chapter: Chapter 6

This was a great, fluffy and positive chapter. There's nothing like a couple of bottles of red for the truth to come out. I can't believe they both liked each other at school, how very convenient that they find themselves in their current living situation. Can you imagine James and Sirius's reactions if he'd started dating Snape's best friend? My word, to be a fly on the wall during that conversation.

 

Anyway, I really enjoyed watching Clara let loose a bit here and laugh more freely. I feel she holds back a lot of her personality - she seems very guarded. I wonder if she's always been that way or something happened during the war years that made her protect her heart so much. She seems to flippantly mention Snape's Death Eater days so I wonder if anything else will come out of that. She would have been around for a fair bit of him transitioning to the dark side, so it'd be interesting to get her thoughts about it.

 

Both her and Remus are being very open about their feelings for each other - though mainly just to the reader  - so I really, really hope they get a move on and admit it soon!

Great chapter! Tasha: For Menagerie and RvG - Team Red xxx

 



Author's Response:

Whilst I'm not condoning it - alcohol definitely helped ease a few tensions in this chapter. 

 

I was considering writing a one-shot AU to my AU where Remus actually asked Clara out during his seventh year - just to see what happened. Kind of like a "what if" circumstance, though I don't really know how it would have turned out. In a different world, Clara and James would have been good friends. She and Sirius...would have had a very on/off friendship. Assuming they had left Severus alone. Lily...well, that jealousy will probably always be there. She's too perfect for Clara's liking! 

 

As time goes on we'll see a more relaxed side to Clara. I think the war really made her bring her guard up. Muggleborns were being killed, it was the era of "fantasy racism" (I believe that's the term) and she valued her life far more than the war itself. Her closest friend joined the group that killed people like her, so I think that contributes a lot to her behaviour. I'm working on bringing that defense down a little bit though! This chapter was an example that, when it happens, she's really quite sweet. 

 

Thanks for reading!



Name: LadyMarauder (Signed) · Date: 25 Jan 2019 09:03 AM · [Report This]
Story:That's All Chapter: Chapter 5

I feel so sorry for Remus, he's easily one of the most interesting characters in the series. The opening section where you put "Remus was a selfish man", I really think that's how he sees himself. It's such a shame. I totally called it - he totally fancies Clara.

 

I really think with her headstrong, stubborn personality, she'd be able to kick his insecurities away, but I can't see either of them actually doing anything about their obvious attraction yet, despite the new flirting. I can't believe his cheeky comment about him wishing he'd woke up while she was changing, and the bed sharing thing - oh the sexual tension! She is such a solitary woman - by choice - and Remus is a very lonely man, though by his condition. I think they'd be good for each other.

 

I can't believe Severus caved - and apologised! As great as this is, I worry that he'll maybe use it against Remus in the future. Still, he seems to really care for Clara, well as much as Severus can care about anyone, so I think this is a rather positive character development.

 

I'm glad Remus is looking for a job as I think once he feels he has a ‘purpose' and something to do, it'll give him a bit of confidence and maybe they might actually get together!

 

Tasha - For Managerie and RvG - Team Red

 



Author's Response:

At this point in his life, Remus is absolutely certain he deserves nothing. He's afflicted with this "curse" and all he's been conditioned to think is that bad people are werewolves. Therefore clearly he's bad. He doesn't deserve to be happy, to have a relationship, to have a stable job, to enjoy his life...because of his lycanthropy. We're going to try and teach him that isn't the case. He's allowed to have all of those things and not be selfish - live your best life Remus! At this point he's come to terms with the fact that he might fancy Clara...but in his mind he shouldn't. 

 

Two insecure people capable of flirting??? Who knew! There was a lot of truth in it, but really after the night they'd both had - they needed something to cheer them up. Some flirtatious banter seemed to do the trick. 

 

If Severus was going to apologise to anybody, it would be Clara. There was a line that he definitely crossed, and he already lost her once. He had to swallow his pride, and I feel like that was the closest he'll ever get to saying sorry. A rare occurrence indeed. 

 

Thank you for this lovely review!



Name: LadyMarauder (Signed) · Date: 22 Jan 2019 04:06 PM · [Report This]
Story:That's All Chapter: Chapter 4

I'll love this so much! I love the budding friendship between Clara and Remus and that they've become comfortable enough around each other to get a little...snuggly. Well not quite, but it's clear they like each other a little. Clara is quite a closed book really, she doesn't seem to let go much and I hope she relaxes a little more and let's Remus in. I think they could be quite good together.

 

Snape. Oh he's such a miserable sod isn't he? He holds onto a grudge more than any character or real life human I've ever come across, but he cracks me up. Honestly, if he'd let himself enjoy a friendship, he might even cheer up. I always felt so, so uncomfortable that Remus had to rely on Snape to brew Wolfsbane when he was a teacher as I hated Snape lording it over him, and I feel he's going to do the same here if he does get around to teaching Clara how to do it.

 

I'm so concerned about what will happen to him during the next full moon. I've always wondered what he did after his animagus pals weren't around to help him out. It must have been horrendous. I really want to give him a hug, as always! Ha!

 

Tasha xx

For magical menagerie and RvG January - team red



Author's Response:

Hey Tasha! 

 

Clara is definitely a closed book, but she's warming up to Remus bit by bit. Even by just allowing him to get slightly closer physically - at this point it's a huge step in the right direction. 

 

Snape is by far the most miserable person I've ever had to write, but it's so fun doing it. I have to think carefully about how a lot of my other characters would react, Severus is pretty easy to understand - and I enjoy writing it. I don't feel guilty about how it's done because really, he isn't my character - so it's not my fault that he's a total git. 

 

Thanks so much for reading, and for taking the time to review!



Name: LadyMarauder (Signed) · Date: 18 Jan 2019 04:16 PM · [Report This]
Story:That's All Chapter: Chapter 2

Tasha here, back for Magical Menagerie and RvG January - Team Red!


Well, well, well, Remus Lupin has turned up in the most dramatic way, landing himself in a Muggle hospital. I felt so sorry for him, he was so lonely and has no one - can I hug him please?! He seemed to open up to Clara pretty quickly about everything, that he was living rough, and that he was a werewolf, which at first I found a little strange, but then Clara noted him being at his rock bottom. It seemed like he thought he had nothing else, so he may as well be honest with her.


I really like Clara as an OC. It is so interesting that she's decided to shun the magical world as she wanted to stay away from the war and live a simpler life. Despite the war ending, she still seems scared of leaving the Muggle world, which is something I've never really read before and I really like it. 
I like how she still stands up for Severus even in that first conversation with Remus. Her loyalty to her old best friend is still there, even though they're not that close any more. Oh and AS IF he just broke into her house! I have a feeling it could get interesting when he finds out she has a new houseguest!


Great chapter! x    



Author's Response:

Hey! 

 

Remus definitely deserves a hug, but at this point he really doesn't want one. He's stuck in his ways, and believes he should be left alone. I think he was desperate and couldn't risk another full moon ending with him going to a muggle hospital. That was why he went with Clara, and she took him in for similar reasons. She's also a lot more caring and understanding than she lets on. She knows that Severus deserves all the criticism he's going to get in this chapter and all future ones, but her loyalties lie with him more than they do with Remus. 

 

Thank you so much for all the lovely reviews! 



Name: LadyMarauder (Signed) · Date: 18 Jan 2019 03:50 PM · [Report This]
Story:That's All Chapter: Chapter 1

Tasha back again for Magical Menagerie round two and RvG - January Team Red!

 

Well this is interesting! So Clara had a thing for her best pal, Severus, back in school. I really like this take on a Marauders Era as usually girls are in love with one of them and Snape never gets a look in, bless him! Still, Clara notices all his, what most people would class as unattractive qualities, the greasy hair, standoffish personality, scrawny arms...it did make me laugh reading that. But she loves him and doesn't care. I did feel for her when she knew he didn't have any feelings for her whatsoever and he lived and breathed Lily Evans. That must sting.

 

"He'd been doing what he probably listed as one of his top five fun things to do, lurking in the shadows" - made me crack right up! I can imagine this to be completely true as well.

 

Seeing the Marauders behaviour from someone on the outside of the Gryffindors is really interesting, because they really were little bullies a lot of the time. You got the characteristics spot on though, with Remus and Peter pretty much there for the show rather than to pick a fight like James and Sirius always were. Remus's look was very intriguing, I wonder what that was all about - does he have a thing for Clara already?

 

I'm loving this already! X



Author's Response:

It's true, Snape never gets any action in his teenage years - not that he got much in this fic either! Clara's appreciation went unnoticed...although a part of me wonders if he did know and just chose to ignore it. Rude. I really wanted to show that sometimes you don't get what you want...and sometimes what you thought you wanted turns out to be the last thing you needed! I think she looks at Severus and doesn't see the flaws, because she wishes people would do the same for her. 

 

Severus lives and breathes hiding in the shadows! I mean it would have been strange if Clara hadn't noticed, haha! 

 

Personally I'm usually torn between liking the marauders and hating them for their behaviour. Remus is no exception to that rule, like I know that Severus is a terrible person - but to treat him the way they did makes them no better in my eyes. 



Name: LadyMarauder (Signed) · Date: 18 Jan 2019 03:46 PM · [Report This]
Story:That's All Chapter: Prologue

Tasha here for Magical Menagerie round two and RvG - January Team Red!

 

Anything Remus Lupin and I'm there, banging the door down and first in the queue, which is why I'm so confused as to why I've not read and reviewed every single word of this! ‘Tis good though as there is loads for me to read.

 

Clara seems an intriguing character, from what I've seen already. Minerva remembered that she had "friends on both sides", but I'm interested to find out whether this started at school or after... if she was friends with Snape, would that make her a Slytherin maybe? And was she pals with Lily? This has set up a great story already! I'm with Harry here too, in that why wouldn't Remus mention having a wife? But then I'm not sure yet just HOW au this will be, so I'm sure I'll find out.

 

I liked what Minerva thought about seeing Harry after he'd been all healed: "However, for just a fraction of a second, she was looking at James Potter, a student unsure of whether he was going to get a well-deserved detention or a slap on the wrist." For some reason I found it a really sweet comparison.

 

I'm looking forward to seeing where this goes - great job! Xxx



Author's Response:

Hey Tasha! 

 

All will be revealed in the next chapter. Clara has a lot of loyalties, and doesn't like to pin herself to one cause. So she's ruled out for fighting in this war...that amongst other reasons. Again, they'll all be explained 100 chapters later! Haha! 

 

Though Minerva's love for the marauders is biased, it was well worth mentioning. Everyone talks about how much Harry looks like his father, and I don't remember McGonagall explicitly saying she thought the same, but I think she would make the comparison if only to herself.

 

Thank you so much for this lovely review!



Name: nott theodore (Signed) · Date: 14 Jan 2019 01:24 PM · [Report This]
Story:That's All Chapter: Chapter 12

Helloooo!  Here for RvG and the Magical Menagerie - and I'm all caught up, yay!

 

The start of this chapter was quite tense to read, especially after the closeness and fluffiness that we've seen in the last few chapters.  One thing I found really impressive about that is that you had me worried as well as Clara about the state of their relationship, even though realistically I know that the two of them are going to end up married because of the prologue.  So I think that's really good writing - when I'm reading the story I kind of forget that I (vaguely) know the ending and I'm really rooting for these characters.

 

I can understand why the Wolfsbane potion would start to come between them - out of all the things for them to argue about (or just not talk to each other about), I definitely imagine anything related to Remus's lycanthropy as the main cause for issues, at least on his part.  Clara's worries that this just means they've left the honeymoon phase (probably true) and that this is the end for them is really sad, though, and I was so nervous at the start of this chapter that something would go wrong at the end of it for them.

 

McGonagall's cameo was really nice!  It was good to see her and I get the impression that she's retained a certain affection for Clara, which is something given how many students she's taught over the years.  That linked really nicely to how warmly McGonagall speaks of Clara in the prologue, too.

 

Snape... really surprised me in this chapter, to be honest.  I've said before that I'm really not his biggest fan, and the insinuations that he made earlier in the story would have taken far longer to earn my forgiveness than it took Clara, but I felt quite sympathetic towards him here and was impressed at some of the advice that he gave.  It was quite startling that he realised she was the only friend that he really had (more introspective and less selfish than I expected of him, to be honest).  His advice that she should protect herself if anything else happens is actually great advice - she doesn't want to be a victim or want to need rescuing, and her magic has already proven she's strong enough to fight.  Him pointing out that she wasn't just making the potion for Remus was also surprisingly insightful and helpful for the two of them.  In spite of his expected sarcastic comments, he actually took the news of Clara and Remus being together quite well, all things considered.  I only hope that holds up...

 

And I was really pleased that the two of them finally had a proper conversation after skirting around the subject and just avoiding each other, and it led to much better understanding between them - I think now they've managed to face this first hurdle, hopefully they'll be more sensible about some of the others they're sure to encounter!

 

Sian :)



Author's Response:

The beginning on this chapter was so difficult to write as well. Sulky Remus was a struggle to bring out, but I suppose there's no such thing as plain sailing! I think it's good to show that there can be bumps in the road and you don't have to give up right away. God only knows what would happen if these two threw in the towel at the first sign of trouble.

 

McGonagall is another character that I really love to write. I haven't put her in a story for ages, so it was tough to get back into the swing of things. She's not important to this fic, but it's nice for Clara to have another friend (if you can call Minerva that) from the magical world. Clara left quite the impression on a lot of teachers - for Minerva it was more because of how she saw Clara as a very capable witch, but a nervous one. One that let her low self esteem get the better of her. One that spent time with a questionable crowd of one Severus Snape. She was very talented, I imagine that Slughorn would have liked to add her to his collection if she had made something of herself.

 

Severus is one of those people who isn't very forgiving himself, and presents himself as an unemotional person. He's only capable of being rude, resentful, angry, indifferent...etc. It's rare to see him smile. I think to have him jump to her defense and try to poison Adrian would have been great...but not in character. He knows that if Remus knows, then he's offering more than enough support. She had to be reminded of her own capabilities, even if it meant going to Azkaban for it. Severus would rather that.

 

Things should be a lot better for Remus and Clara now, they've found a routine of sorts - and they're starting to grow up a bit. Yay! 



Name: nott theodore (Signed) · Date: 14 Jan 2019 12:58 PM · [Report This]
Story:That's All Chapter: Chapter 11

Hello again!  Here for RvG and the Magical Menagerie :)

 

Well wasn't this chapter ADORABLE???

 

Ah, I really liked the opening of this, and the fact that Clara's not quite sure how she feels about surprises because she's not had many of them.  Severus doesn't seem like the sort of friend to organise surprises at all, and I imagine with Clara's parents being so busy running the pub they wouldn't have much time to do anything like that.  It's sad that Clara's kind of isolated herself from most people around her, though - I know that's one of the things that's drawn her and Remus together, but it's still sad that she has so few friends.  I'm glad that she has Remus there for her now, though.

 

(Speaking of friends, I'm intrigued to see what'll happen when Snape finds out that she and Remus are together, because I can't imagine that his reaction will be particularly pleasant...)

 

Anyway, how cute is this date?  Remus taking her on a first date and basing it around the plan he had for their trip to Hogsmeade back when they were in school is so adorable, and I think it's a great way to make a first date still feel like a first date when they already know each other so well and are living together.

 

Remus's pride when he knew that he'd given Clara valuable information about there being cobbles made me laugh.  He's not wrong - I live in a place full of cobbles and they really do not mix well with heels, something I've seen far too many women learn the hard way.

 

I really liked the way that you used this first date chapter as a way for the two of them to get to know each other better - or at least a bit more about their history - and that it worked in the same way for the readers.  It was really interesting to know that Clara had planned on becoming a Healer if the war had been over by the time she left school.  I wonder if she'll train as a Healer in the future?  

 

Jack's backstory was so fascinating - you know already that I love things like family history so this was really no exception.  I felt sorry for him, but the story felt very realistic - the war changed so many people's lives and it really did affect the relationships between siblings and family members who survived, particularly when the parents had been away from home or the children were evacuated.  It was a nice detail about how he got there - he's not quite as Yorkshire as he makes out, then :P

 

I'd laugh along with Remus if I had any idea how to pronounce Welsh.  I'm generally quite good at picking up languages but Welsh continues to baffle me, in spite of my name xD

 

The detail about her duelling was really cute - although I dread to think what would happen if all angry teenagers started duelling with each other to let out their frustrations.  Merlin help the people cleaning up Hogwarts after that.

 

This was a really cute and fluffy chapter, and I really enjoyed it - these two are adorable!

 

Sian :)



Author's Response:

I think Severus' idea of a surprise would have been very self involved and have more to do with his own enjoyment than Clara's. Like, oh come on we're going to pick these super rare ingredients...that I need. Her parents love her dearly, but they were earning money and making a living to support her and help their daughter live life to the fullest. Surprises and presents didn't come very often, but she didn't mind. 

 

I don't see Remus as the kind of person to be all about hearts and flowers, but I think it was important for him to do this for his girlfriend. I see their idea of a date being pizza and wine, or just spontaneous walks. He's not a grand gesture sort of guy, in my opinion at least. I think he's still trying to prove that he wasn't all that bad in his teenage years, and that if they had gotten together in their teens, she might have been impressed. If she hadn't been then, she certainly is now. 

 

It was important for them to try and date like "normal" people, whatever that is. They got to know each other better, they both love hearing about one another. It was a nice break to do this in Hogsmeade rather than in Sparrow Bridge. 

 

Jack's backstory is a sad one, but like you said, it isn't uncommon. He's southern born, but a northerner at heart. His siblings might come into play later on - or at least his sister will given that they live in the same area. 

 

Clara and Severus were definitely the stranger, more outcasted sort of students. I like to think their use of duelling wasn't very common, or at least if it wasn't it might have been supervised by staff. Maybe there was a duelling club! 



Name: nott theodore (Signed) · Date: 14 Jan 2019 12:21 PM · [Report This]
Story:That's All Chapter: Chapter 10

Hello, Bex!  Here for RvG and the Magical Menagerie :)

 

Well, this chapter was certainly a change of tone from the last chapter, but I think that it worked really well - we needed something lighter and fluffier after the heaviness of the last chapter, and so did Remus and Clara.  This was really cute to read, as they're getting to know each other better and they're just so adorable in these exchanges.  

 

Aw, Clara being disappointed about waking up in bed alone was really sweet.  It has to be because their relationship's still so new, and Clara has so many insecurities, that she doubts that Remus wants to wake up beside her.  (That girl really needs a hug and to be told she's wonderful, but at least Remus seems to be doing a good job of making that point fairly clear.)  But of course Remus is trying to surprise her with breakfast in bed, even if they got slightly distracted and the first pancake definitely suffered for it.

 

I love that Remus has a secret stash of chocolate in his bedroom, and the nod to canon there.  I can imagine that becoming a sort of game between them at some point, with Clara trying to find out where on earth it is :P

 

The two of them were really cute here.  There was something really youthful about their relationship and I think that's probably from their inexperience, but it's really sweet to read about them.  I felt quite sorry for Remus in the way that he's so hesitant about everything, not wanting to pressure her into anything (that's a valid concern generally, though I don't think he needs to worry about it here) and then the added insecurities about not being good enough for her and not wanting to hurt her.  I hadn't even thought about the fact that his transformation coming up might affect things.

 

I loved Clara's confidence in this chapter, though.  She's been so insecure and I know she still has those insecurities, but she's found someone she trusts enough to push past them with Remus and that's so important, and I'm really happy to see that - it's nice to see her being more forward and trying to assert herself more.  I can definitely understand why she wouldn't want to be seen as a fragile woman, especially after what she revealed to him last night - she doesn't want to be branded a victim or think of herself in that way, and I think that's true for a lot of survivors of sexual assault.

 

My favourite thing about this chapter was probably the way that you balanced the fluffiness with humour - it felt very well balanced overall and you have a talent for comedy, injecting it in the conversations at exactly the right moments, and that made it really fun to read.

 

Sian :)



Author's Response:

Hey Sian! 

 

I was getting so bogged down in all of that angst, it was nice to have a fluffy, funny chapter that didn't really have much relevance to the fic itself but just explored this new relationship between them both. Remus really wants to impress Clara and treat her like the queen he believes that she is. It's appreciated, but she doesn't really need that. She interprets things like that as treating her with extra care, and makes her feel less of a person. Or at least, it does at the minute. That will change eventually. 

 

At first I thought that his transformation might just affect him the same way every month, but I've decided to change that up a bit. Instead it varies - because I mean it's a bit like a female cycle. Some months you power through with the help of exercise, sometimes you get mood swings, sometimes you're bogged down in one particular emotion, sometimes you have lots of energy...or none at all. 

 

Thank you! I really want to write more comedy, especially in the form of plays and sitcoms - so it really means a lot that you like what I've been trying out so far. 



Name: nott theodore (Signed) · Date: 14 Jan 2019 08:00 AM · [Report This]
Story:That's All Chapter: Chapter 9

Hi!  Here for RvG and the Magical Menagerie.

 

Well, this chapter certainly took another turn that I wasn't expecting - something you've been doing since the beginning of the story, so I should really be expecting the surprises by now, shouldn't I? :P  But this one was much heavier and difficult to deal with than some of what's happened in previous chapters, so I was quite impressed with how you dealt with it.

 

The opening was really sweet, with Clara missing having Remus around when he's at work, and choosing to go and visit him.  I think that really captures the feeling of a new relationship when you just want to be with someone constantly.  Although it certainly makes seeing your boyfriend just a little more awkward having to have your parents around if you visit him at work.  Thank goodness Rosemary took the hint and left them to their own devices for a while.

 

Remus and Clara flirting and talking to each other is just so sweet - and I think the banter early on in this chapter made a really effective contrast with what happened later on.

 

As soon as Adrian appeared and Clara reacted so strongly to him, I suspected that something bad had happened between them - I just wasn't sure what it was.  The fact that he's so casual about it and acts like nothing at all has happened makes me so angry, but it's really believable because unfortunately this sort of thing happens to women (and men) all the time and the people committing the assault often get away with it.

 

It was so important that she was able to open up to Remus about it.  I think that marks how much she trusts him and is a real contrast between Remus and Adrian, especially the fact that Remus immediately called what had happened an assault and didn't hesitate to condemn Adrian for it.

 

As difficult as the story was to read, and as sorry as I am for Clara, I think she's so brave.  You wrote this so well - she's been dealing with this for a whole year without confiding in anyone, and she was the one who managed to throw him off (thank goodness for her magic, since in the real world people don't get that chance).  She's kind of her own saviour, in a way.  And as much as I'm intrigued to find out what might happen if Remus sees Adrian again, or her parents find out, I really admire Clara.

 

The two of them are becoming so close in this chapter and I'm really enjoying reading that, the way that this relationship is based on trust and consideration of the other person is so important, and I'm looking forward to seeing you develop that.

 

Sian :)



Author's Response:

Welcome to a fic by bex, little plot, lots of dialogue - and more twists and turns than you could ever want or need! Their relationship is still pretty fresh, and Clara is used to having him around a lot. So when Remus isn't there, she misses him, but feels silly and immature for thinking like that. It's all new, and both of them just want to be around each other all the time. It's sweet really. 

 

Ugh Adrian. I couldn't think of a name for him for the longest time, in the fic I'd just had him titled as several expletives - thankfully I didn't leave any in the chapter! I mean, the fact that Remus could call him a monster even when Clara reminded him that he had called himself that once upon a time shows real growth. Or at least it does in my opinion. Remus knows he isn't the terrible person he makes himself out to be, and though he's not completely sure that he deserves Clara...he knows for certain that Adrian never did. 

 

One thing that I'm going to make sure with this Adrian sub plot, is that Clara is her own saviour. A lot of women have to deal with assault by themselves, or they try to, and I think for Clara to do that too sort of shows how strong SA survivors are. 



Name: nott theodore (Signed) · Date: 14 Jan 2019 07:40 AM · [Report This]
Story:That's All Chapter: Chapter 8

Hello!  Here for RvG and the Magical Menagerie.

 

Yay, THEY KISSED!  WOOOO!!

 

Ahem.

 

Ah, I'm so glad that Rosemary's words stuck with Clara and she didn't just let herself brush them off and talk herself out of being honest with Remus.  I think it really shows how close a relationship she and her mum have that she's happy to take that advice, and I think it's great advice to give - life's too short to waste opportunities.  Just maybe more difficult advice to follow.

 

I loved all of Clara's attempts and mini plans to try and talk to Remus about her feelings and be honest with him.  They really made me laugh.  Honestly, imagine getting Ringo to deliver a note to someone who lived in the same flat, just to talk about feelings.  I loved the Slytherin element to her character though, the determination not to give up.  We didn't see much of her in school and I know that she didn't really fit in, but you're doing a great job of bringing out the elements of her character that do fit well in Slytherin.

 

The description of the walk was so pretty!  I could imagine it all so vividly, the summer's day and the walk in one of the pretty little villages in Yorkshire (yes, I'll even concede that :P).  And FINALLY!

 

I'm going to call this one a joint effort, because Clara stuck to her resolution to be honest with Remus by saying that she'd go with him, and Remus was the first one to kiss her.  Well done, you two!  I was so excited that they finally kissed and they're getting somewhere with this - and that Clara was so determined to show Remus that she wasn't disgusted by him kissing her.  Ugh, these two are adorable.

 

Tea is one of the most British ways ever to start a conversation like this.  Love it.

 

I'm actually really glad that they sat down and had a conversation about their feelings, though, because I think if they'd jumped into something straight away there'd be a lot bottled up beneath the surface that they were afraid to say.  I'm excited that they're going to give this a try and I'm hopeful that this start means that they'll be able to be more honest with each other as the relationship progresses.

 

Sian :)



Author's Response:

I think if she hadn't taken her mother's advice...we'd be here forever. Clara isn't the most forward person or knowledgeable when it comes to romance. She tried bless her, but in the end it was her and Remus' combined efforts that brought them together. 

 

That walk really captures what I like about our little corner of the world. I'm not big on winter, but I think that in the summer the countryside can be really beautiful. 

 

The two of them definitely need to work through the idea of a relationship together. Neither really knows what they're doing and if they just acted on feelings then it wouldn't last very long. They need to talk about everything, their emotions, what they want - and get over their low self esteem. Both of them. Nothing really needs to change, they're still friends, they still live together - now they're living more truthfully - and there's romance in the mix. Eventually it will be a lot easier for them to be honest with each other, but for that to happen a couple of bumps in the road have to happen first.



Name: nott theodore (Signed) · Date: 14 Jan 2019 07:19 AM · [Report This]
Story:That's All Chapter: Chapter 7

Hi Bex!  Back again for RvG and the Magical Menagerie :)

 

Ah, the opening of this chapter was so much fun to read - I really enjoyed the insight that we got into Remus's background and the snatches of childhood memories that he has from before he was bitten (it's so heartbreaking to think how much of a normal life was robbed from him by Greyback when he hadn't done anything wrong) - and then the thoughts he had about Clara.  The two of them are so cute and they definitely both like each other (I mean, they're going to end up married so I would hope they do) but it was really fun to read his thoughts when he was trying and failing not to stare at Clara, especially with the transition from the winter to summer wardrobe.

 

You capture the dynamics between the two of them so well here.  There's just the right amount of flirtiness and tension lying beneath their easy friendship, and I'm so intrigued to see how you keep developing it.

 

Ah, I love that we got to meet Clara's parents in this chapter!  I think all too often we don't tend to see the parents of a character who's an adult and especially if the character's Muggle-born, since it seems to be easier to kind of ignore the Muggle world.  But I really love the fact that Clara's parents are so important to her and her roots mean so much, as well.  Jack and Rosemary both seem brilliant!

 

I felt so sorry for Remus in certain parts of this chapter - early on, when he's trying to dissuade himself from trying to go any further with Clara because he doesn't want to "inflict" himself on her and her family, with his curse.  And then again later, when he's explaining his lycanthropy to Jack and Rosemary.  You captured his character really well there and I thought you conveyed his sense of shame and regret at that point.  It was so brave of him to be honest with her parents on the first time they'd met, too.

 

And then Jack offering him some shifts at the pub <3 Clara's parents seem so warm-hearted and genuine, and it was so sweet of them to do that despite the fact that Remus has lycanthropy.  I think they can both see how much he means to Clara and trust her judgement of his character.

 

(It was really interesting to see that they kind of seem to feel that she's wasted by staying in the area rather than going off and exploring new places and doing new things - I wonder what prompted them to think that in the first place.)

 

That chat with Rosemary at the end was brilliant - I'm excited to see whether Clara decides to act on it sooner rather than later!

 

Sian :)



Author's Response:

It is my biggest headcanon that Remus tells everyone he hates summer because of the heat, but he's grateful because having to transform in the winter when it's so cold and bitter - isn't that fun. I mean at one point he lived in a tent, he probably had to endure some awful weather when he was living rough. He might have enjoyed snow as a child because things were easier then. Now with Clara and the Wolfsbane, he has a new found appreciation for summer.

 

I have a lot of background information on Clara's parents that I want to share with everyone, more family members that I'd love to introduce...but I'm not sure how relevant they'd be to the story. Jack and Rosemary are very sweet people, and I think in this era - the sense of community was so strong. The pub brought a lot of people together, so the landlords would have been known throughout the town. They're a well respected couple, so whether she likes it or not, Clara's well known by other residents too. 

 

Rosemary is pretty observant and wise, she's definitely a slytherpuff - like Clara! To the point, but still caring. 



Name: nott theodore (Signed) · Date: 12 Jan 2019 06:30 PM · [Report This]
Story:That's All Chapter: Chapter 6

Hello!  Here for RvG and the Magical Menagerie.

 

SO MUCH CLARA AND REMUS IN THIS CHAPTER.  WOOOOO!!!

 

I really like the way that Remus and Clara have grown so close - how two people who've been used to being on their own for so long would easily get used to the companionship of another person being around.  It's lovely to see how easily they get on and how effortless their conversation and spending time together comes, to the point that Clara even misses him when he's not here.

 

And I love that Remus has got a job in a library - that's so perfect for him!  I feel like seasonal Muggle work would probably be a way forward for people who are dealing with lycanthropy, because nobody in the Muggle world would suspect such a thing.  His failure to understand the decimalised currency made me laugh, too - it's quite funny to think that the witches and wizards who had a vague grip on the Muggle world in that way would find that a real stumbling block.

 

It was really sweet seeing Clara manage to make Remus open up a bit more about his friends.  She didn't try and force him to speak about them and he obviously feels comfortable enough at this point to talk about them - at least about the people they were when they were in school together and they were young and carefree.  Laughing about those pranks that they pulled seemed like the best way to start dealing with the loss, though I might have thought he'd have mentioned Peter a little more, too - even just something surprising about how he'd been the one to think of such-and-such a prank, maybe (though I'm not a big fan of Peter, so I'm not great at suggesting that sort of thing).

 

The drunk conversation brought out SO MUCH INFORMATION!  Remus having had a crush on Clara when they were at school gave me so many feelings and it was so sweet to see him all embarrassed talking about it - no wonder he gave her such an intense look when he saw her kissing Snape.  But I loved the story about the way she comforted the Muggle-born, as well, and all that we're learning about her character here.  I'm so intrigued to see more!

 

Sian :)



Author's Response:

I think it's just natural development. It probably would have been a lot harder for them both to live together and try to lead two seperate lives, especially given that they only see each other. Clara doesn't really connect with anyone at the hospital and Remus is a bit out of place in the library. It's a good job for him, but I think he feels unfulfilled. Although, I know that a lot of libraries do these storytime sessions for young children - and my heart melts at the idea of a young Remus Lupin reading children's books.

 

A lot of normal people struggled with the new decimal system when it came out, so I'm told. My nan once told me she sometimes forgets and tries to count money like that. It's crazy. Remust definitely doesn't have any sort of grip on muggle society anymore, thank god Clara's around to help him through it.

 

Honestly, I need to try harder with Peter. It's so difficult to write him, I just can't get into his head. I'm going to try and write him in somehow, and make sure people know that Remus is thinking about him...not that she should. Traitor!

 



Submit a Review