Login
Reviews For Home

Name: Chemical_Pixie (Signed) · Date: 14 Jan 2019 09:16 PM · [Report This]
Story:Home Chapter: twenty two

Hey Sarah! Here for January RvG (go gold!!!) and for the Magical Menagerie! And the story of course.

 

My pancake comrades and I never signed up for this. It's bad enough that we're used as brunch time and time again, but to have a swan land in our midst and sniff at us like we're some common bird seed? I have never thus been so insulted in my entire shelf life, and that is counting the time someone stuck a nozzle into a tree and drained me from my natural home. And who uses a swan to deliver a wedding invitation anyway? Does someone want to display their wealth that badly? That girl, Carson, has quite the mother to make that loud proclamation when everyone's trying to eat in peace. And then to have her use me as a way to ignore somone? Keep the insults rolling, why don't you?

Sincerely, The Maple Syrup

 

Okay, so I've been watching this romance unfold for, like, a while now. After all, I am the perfect companion to Taco Tuesday!! I can be blended, iced, or, for some inexplicable reason, consumed at room temperature. Give me time to salt my rim and put a festive umbrella in my hair, and you have yourself the perfect Margarita! Okay, I suppose I should, like, get back to the actual human beings here. Like... the girl, Carson, is totally opening up to the boy, James. It's making her so uncomfortable, and I'm like, "Helllllllo! I'm over here! Take a few more sips of me, honey, and you won't feel uncomfortable!" But, like, this couple is kinda cute. I can't wait to see the romance totally blossom! Xoxo, Marg

 

I may be vomit-flavored, but that does not mean that I get to be jostled around in someone's pocket to the point where I feel like throwing up myself. What is Freddy playing at, anyway, carrying me around in his pocket? If he thinks that I'm key lime or something to give him a boost during Quidditch practice, boy does he have another thing coming. Also, why all this drama over a failed romance? It's so sappy, that now I can't tell if I'm motion sick or just sick from teenage angst. It's getting to the point where I hope I fall out of Fred's pocket and land on the grass, to become bird food. I hear there's a swan nearby... that would be fun!

--A vomit flavored Bernie's Bott Every Flavored Bean



Name: Crimson Quill (Signed) · Date: 13 Jan 2019 04:53 PM · [Report This]
Story:Home Chapter: five

 

Hey, 

 

I totally forgot how fun this story is, the first scene in this chapter is screaming proof of this. Your talent for dialogue is exceptional. I always find it to be really fun, it's amazing for building the relationships between the characters. I thought the Quidditch scene was just great for showing a mixture of character especially James in that 'Oliver' role and Freddy/Carson in that 'Fred/George' role so obviously keep in the family. I liked that little nod, my favourite lines is '"I think I caught Meg's asthma," and "He's married,"  - Carson's dry sense of humour is the best!

 

I thought it was really great to get a lot of different characters in this chapter, we really get a look into how they fit into Carson's life. I thought you did a great job at balancing all the different parts within this chapter. It was a amazing chapter for developing characters through their dialogue which always feel so natural. 

 

So Freddy likes Meg, that's interesting. I could totally ship them together so I'm looking forward to a bit more of those two together. I can see Carson and James in some kinda matchmaker roles, the very idea is hilarious. I do like the bond that Carson and Freddy seem to have they make very easy friends and bounce off each other really well. 

 

I can't help feeling a bit sorry for Albus when the family are talking about how he was a disgrace to the family through his poor ability to hold his drink even though it was really funny scene! I really love the silly nature of this fic, it's just so fun to read!

 

- Abbi xo

 

For: Magical Menagerie 

 



Name: starbuck (Signed) · Date: 13 Jan 2019 04:03 PM · starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Story:Home Chapter: four

wait what story about oliver (or alicia?) and condoms and letters? i want to know! or judging by the postscript it's the funning story?

the whole back-and-forth between carson and james about quidditch (quodpot) was really cute, especially carson's last line, very funny!

to me, it seemed like carson really likes quidditch, so i'm not sure why she seems to cmplain about freddy (actually james) making her be on the team? is it just her default sarcastic mode?

tim the slytherin (wow that rhymes :O ) seems the least liked person by the freddy&james&louis gang, i wonder if he's really that bad? is it just because he's in slytherin? if i remember correctly, albus is in slytherin as well, but what about lily and the rest of the weasleys? are we going to meet them soon? it's cool that carson guilt tripped the boys into being nicer though i do wonder at the comment about how he's going to hurt meg :o

kris



Name: starbuck (Signed) · Date: 13 Jan 2019 03:42 PM · starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Story:Home Chapter: three

can i just say that the funning equals marrying joke with freddy crying from laughter into carson's shoulder is one of the, er, funniest (haha!) things i've read in a while?! poor oliver when he hears his kids talking about how they're going to fun lots of people :D and purple pygmy puffs is an adorable name for a boy band (i love thinking up names for wizarding bands, restaurants, clubs, shops).

megan seems interesting - her personality seems to work well with carson's, they're already exchanging witty remarks! but carson's line about the woods being a flying family, not a running one is pure gold!

you've introduced a lot of characters in this chapter and honestly, i'm not sure if i managed to remember them all but i'm sure i'll get the hang of all of them pretty soon. it makes sense since carson doesn't know anyone so everyone is new to her (and to us :P).

i'm excited to see how carson deals with all this new-ness with her transfer. she doesn't seem to think much about her american friends, school or home so wonder whether that's because she doesn't want to think about those or maybe she wasn't that close with anyone there.

kris



Name: starbuck (Signed) · Date: 13 Jan 2019 01:20 PM · starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Story:Home Chapter: two

oh a birthday party for carson! to be honest, i would've liked to see george's cake, it probably would have been something hilarious. i like how in this chapter, even though james and fred appear it's still very much centered around carson and the way she fits in and interacts with her family, especially with oliver. i'm a bit surprised at the totally laid back attitude oliver has towards her (at least in terms of offering her a cigar) but it just goes to show that their relationship has a lot of layers and sometimes it's more like friendship than the typical father - daughter relationship. carson is very fun and sarcastic and i get the feeling that a lot of that is actually her trying to sometimes disguise her true feelings, especially when it comes to her mother and her numerous stepfathers. she may appear like she's totally cool with everything but i think that in reality she's also hurt by her mother's behaviour/her way of life. i do love the fact that she manages to be happy despite her family situation (of course, it helps that oliver and alicia are great) *_*
kris    



Name: starbuck (Signed) · Date: 13 Jan 2019 12:23 AM · starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Story:Home Chapter: one

i love carson's character - she is sassy and witty and snarky. i loved little carson in.moments like these and this teen carson is a lovely, lovable character. i'm definitely intrigued by her mother and what exactly happened for carson to come live with oliver and alicia! by the way, the family dynamic you've set up is great and it's cool t o read about a healthy relationship between a stepmother and child - alicia seems like a good mother who loves carson almost like she is her own daughter. oliver is a lucky guy! quidditch seems to permeate every part of carson's life, courtesy of her dad, and i honestly can't even see it happening any other way with what we know about oliver and his quidditch obsession. i think you wrote hom well - he is still the oliver we know, just older. this was a great introductory chapter and i'm excited to read more!


kris    



Name: Chemical_Pixie (Signed) · Date: 11 Jan 2019 03:53 PM · [Report This]
Story:Home Chapter: twenty one

Hey Sarah! Here for the Magical Menagerie and also January RvG (Team Gold!).

 

Your opening scene is the perfect pick up from where I left off. Oh my goodness! I can totally believe Uncle Justin would be the one to catch him, and I love his price for his silence: a shot (or two or three, lol). He seems so cool and down to earth, and his nickname for James (Boy Toy) is so refreshingly used! Normally, it's used in a more negative context, but Uncle Justin, while teasing her as is their relationship, acknowledges that Carson doesn't need an official partner in order to have a respectable relationship. Does that make sense? He's validating her choice to have a more undefined relationship.

 

Dave... ah. I really appreciate him here. He's such a good ice breaker (like a polar bear). There's so much unspoken tension between Meg and Tim, I love it! I would feel so awkward if I were Carson, sensing it but then also trying to figure out how to get my bestie out of that situation! Freddy's devious picture-taking is also another great way to get Meg away!

 

The ending of the chapter, oh my goodness! I was really wondering what all the hubbub was all about. Turns out... people thought Freddy and Carson were dating? Lol. I mean, they do have chemistry, but not that kind of chemistry. You cleverly use this silly rumor as a way for Carson to publically acknowledge that she is, in fact, dating James (and, to clarify, not Freddy). I love how open and accepting and supportive everyone is of their relationship. I feel like this much enthusiasm and positivity is missing from friends in fics. Kudos to you for including it!



Name: Chemical_Pixie (Signed) · Date: 22 Dec 2018 12:29 PM · [Report This]
Story:Home Chapter: twenty

Hey Sarah! Happy Holidays! (And also RvG)

 

Hahahahaha! Meg's reaction to Carson's reappearance the next day is priceless. So is Carson's! You do a great job at illustrating how Meg teases Carson into telling her exactly what she wants to hear: the status of Carson's relationship with James (or maybe not exactly what she wants to hear because they only 'fell asleep'). Meg is so endearing here, and Carson is a little more forthcoming with how to feels. Love this little scene!

 

That Hall of Fame speech had my heart all warm and fuzzy. It's nice to see the entire Wood family together (and on stage for everyone to see? Priceless, with Justin and Carson's gestural exchange as the cameras go off). It's clear in this scene how much Carson loves her family, and I'm so glad you included this scene in this chapter (and fic overall). You should write a fic that's dedicated entirely to the Wood family going on vacation or playing family Quidditch (crashed by Uncle Justin, of course)!

 

I also like the interaction of the Potter-Weasley-Granger clan, too! The talk about future careers... yeah, I've definitely been there, and I love how all the kids approach it, ahahaha!

 

And then Carson and James's final scene together... the chemistry! I love how normal they feel with each other, despite taking their relationship to a new level. It shows how deeply rooted their friendship is and how much they like each other. I love how they continue to bond over Quidditch facts and stats and snogging! Who catches them at the end?! I gotta come back to find out!



Name: dreamgazer220 (Signed) · Date: 13 Dec 2018 10:59 PM · starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Story:Home Chapter: one

Hey, Sarah! Here for the holiday wishlists, and I've heard so many good things about this story that of course I had to come check it out.

Okay, first of all, I love any good story that features Oliver Wood as a father, so I'm really enjoying this already.  You start off with a light mood here, which is refreshing, especially since Carson's moving from her home and going to be attending Hogwarts starting her seventh year. She seems overall okay/relieved with the move, to be honest, which makes me wonder about her mom. We've gotten hints, of course -- the model career, the string of boyfriends/husbands, but I'm eager to see how this mother/daughter relationship is going to play out, and I'm hoping her mom is going to make an appearance or two in the story itself.

Can I also say that I love that Oliver's a good father? I don't know why, but it just feels refreshing to see him with his kids and his family and that he's not thinking his Quidditch career is above any of that. I also think it's different that you have him with Alicia, but I like it a lot. They seem like a good couple and I can already tell they care about each other.

I also really enjoyed how you went through some of the different homes Carson's had growing up -- the pitch, several different houses, etc. She seems to be pretty grounded despite all of that, and having a famous father, which is cool. I really enjoy her relationship with Oliver; I can tell just from this first chapter that they're close, and I'm glad she has that strong family with the Woods.  But she's also kind of awkward around meeting people or people she's not comfortable with -- ie George and Freddy, so I'm very curious to see how she's going to handle going to Hogwarts. She seems confident but not overly so, at least when she's in her comfort zone.

Overall this was an excellent, light-hearted first chapter! You've introduced a lot of characters, but it didn't feel overwhelming at all, and I can appreciate Carson's humor in the narritive. I'm excited to see where this goes.

Keep up the excellent work, and congratulations on finishing the story! That's definitely a huge accomplishment ♥



Name: javu (Signed) · Date: 12 Dec 2018 02:49 PM · starstarstarstar [Report This]
Story:Home Chapter: five

Hey! Back reviewing for RvG December - Go GOLD!

 

I felt like this chapter further established Carson’s interpersonal relationships. The scene of Quidditch practice showed how Carson tends to complain about things but how she still works hard. And her complaining is all good fun. If it was just her, I don’t think she’d complain or voice her complaints. But her complaining, in jest, is a way she jokes around and thus bonds with others. 

 

Good job job showing and not telling how famous Oliver Wood is. If you had Carson have an internal monologue about how famous her dad is, it wouldn’t have a big impact. But that’s not what you do. You have another character gush about Oliver Wood. It’s a good way of getting across Oliver’s fame. 

 

And... drumroll please! Introducing: Drew - a potential love interest! With blue eyes she could gaze into forever! Later on, James puts his arm around her! I’m not sure if this is just casual friendship or the start of something at this point. Maybe both?



Name: ShadowRose (Signed) · Date: 01 Dec 2018 10:51 PM · [Report This]
Story:Home Chapter: thirty

Sarahhhhhhhhhhhhhhh!!! I had to wait to review this until I could form coherent sentences, but I am SO PROUD OF YOU for finishing this thing, even though I’m so sad I won’t have any Home updates to look forward to anymore. (Although, like, Maeve the baker/Louis the law student AU really needs to happen.) This story is incredible and all of your characters have felt so real and relatable and I’ve been so invested in this story throughout.

 

I have to say, this is really the perfect ending - it’s so fluffy and happy, which is very much how I like my pics, hehe. Carson’s Got Ya party just brings all the storylines together, and really cements the whole theme of the story in that she’s really found a home in more ways than one. I will forever love your take on dad-Oliver and his sense of humour.

 

I love that James ended up at Puddlemere and that he made his decision entirely independently of Carson’s job. The fact that he’s getting trained to death is totally expected, and it’s so in character that Freddy and Carson would be giving him hell for it.

 

I’m so happy that Meg and Freddy are happy together as well, and they seem to be moving along pretty quickly - Freddy’s comment about no surprises and Meg being his best friend was absolutely adorable. And Meg’s pickiness about her apartment (aka island vs peninsula, which is a very important debate honestly) does not surprise me one bit.

 

The grad school line with Lou and Maeve is so true - all my friends currently in grad school are just like that, lol.

 

The last scene was just the perfect thing to end on, with Carson being so comfortable with Oliver and Alicia and her half-siblings (her new family!), and James fitting into all of that perfectly. And THAT LAST LINE. IT WAS SO GOOD AND BROUGHT EVERYTHING FULL CIRCLE AND BACK TO THE TITLE OF THE STORY AND IT WAS DELIGHTFUL.

 

Anyways, moral of the story: you are amazing, this story is amazing, I am so sad that Home is over but I cannot wait to continue to binge read everything you ever write ever. <3

 

-Taylor



Name: javu (Signed) · Date: 29 Nov 2018 02:38 PM · [Report This]
Story:Home Chapter: four

I’m sure you hear this a lot, but the “please don’t be filled with condoms” thing is really funny. And that James chokes on his bacon and everyone else’s reactions really add to the hilarity. I also think it shows how comfortable Carson is with her dad and Alicia. Although I suppose it also shows that she’s comfortable with casual sex, or at least joking about it. 

 

Your wit never ceases to amaze me. You should give a tutorial! “My Mom says it’s cute!” “Probably to get you to stop doing it.”

 

I appreciate The Office reference. I like it when authors sprinkle in some Muggle/RL pop culture.

 

 I’m glad Carson got on the boys’ case about being mean to Tim. Carson probably doesn’t fully understand the House rivalry, but still. It’s nice, and it shows her courage to stand up to friends she just made and her conviction of what’s right and wrong. 

 

And again, I’m sorry, but I’m overwhelmed by the number of characters in this chapter. It’s like I want to get used to the ones introduced last chapter but more were introduced in this chapter. But other than that, good job!

 

Alwynse for RvG November- Go GOLD!

 

 



Name: Kate (Anonymous) · Date: 28 Nov 2018 01:45 PM · starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Story:Home Chapter: thirty

Thats it! What about a sequel?



Name: LadyMarauder (Signed) · Date: 25 Nov 2018 08:40 AM · [Report This]
Story:Home Chapter: two

Tasha back for the November RvG - go Red!

 

This is honestly one of my new favourite stories. I adore Carson! She cracked me up the whole way through this and I adore her teasing Oliver.  I haven't laughed this much at a story for ages. I like how they're both a little afraid of Alicia! 

 

“Oliver,” Uncle George says. “I’m dead serious, I’ll offer you Fred as a son-in-law right now—“  - this was gold. I can literally hear that coming out of George's mouth. I wonder, if maybe Carson and Freddie might end up together. I'm also looking forward to seeing your interpretation of Fred and James too.

 

I also really feel sorry for Carson, especially numbering all her step-fathers. It seems that despite her sense of humour - sarcastic, which is my favourite - she's had it pretty rough. Though, at least she liked one of them I guess. I really want to know what happened to her when she was in the States with her mum, and seeing how she reacts to life at Hogwarts rather than her other school.

 

I love that Neville is assistant Head - I mean, could anyone foresee that happening during those first few years!

 

Tasha x



Name: LadyMarauder (Signed) · Date: 25 Nov 2018 08:11 AM · [Report This]
Story:Home Chapter: one

Tasha here for the November RvG reviews.

 

I love stories that involve Oliver Wood. I always thought he was really funny during the books, so I do enjoy seeing him crop up - there should be more stories about him. 

 

Anyway, that opening chapter was realllllly well done. I read a lot about awful divorces and  custody battles, but this felt very real and let's face it, quite possibly exactly how it's done in the magical world. Her mother seems like quite a bit of work, seeming constantly annoyed that Carson wasn't more like her. I'm looking forward to finding out more about Carson's life before Oliver got custody. It seems like there was a pretty significant event that made it finally happen.

 

I really loved your description of Parker: At age 10, he’s already exactly like Dad. He’s very competitive, very determined, and relatively unreasonable when you tell him he’s wrong. Pretty fun to wind up, though. - exactly how I picture Oliver!

 

I loved Carson's relationship with her dad. They have a really good banter and have a similar sense of humour, which is brilliant. I loved George's quip:

 

“Such love,” Uncle George says. “Nice to know you treat your children the same way you treated your Quidditch team.” 

 

That had me cracking up!

 

I'm looking forward to reading more of this and finding out what adventures she gets up to at Hogwarts!

 

 

Tasha :) 



Name: javu (Signed) · Date: 25 Nov 2018 03:54 AM · starstarstarstar [Report This]
Story:Home Chapter: three

"It's just not going to be the same." "Yeah, it'll be better." Such a witty family. But I'm happy that Carson gets some good mom-time with Alicia. Though Carson doesn't say anything, I can tell she's touched by Alicia tearing up. 

 

"Plenty of guys to fun." Nice save, Carson. I love her slips and how she tries to mend it. And the innocent kids in the mix makes it adorable and funny. And then later she tells Oliver, "Remember you love me!" haha.

 

So... I mentioned in my review for chapter 1 that I originally thought the main pairing would be Freddy/Carson. Just curious, did Freddy ever like Carson, or was his touchy feeling behavior just Freddy being Freddy?

 

Okay okay, since I've read most of this story, I know the "I'm not your brother-in-law!" joke, and I LOVE it. You build it, chapter after chapter, and then ! ... well. You climax the joke and it's fabulous! I'll be sure to mention it when I review that chapter.

 

You have so many good lines... maybe next chapter I'll start listing my favorites. But I love, "It's a little too soon for the L word." 

 

My one crit is that I feel like you introduce too many characters in this chapter. You introduced a fair few in chapters 1 and 2, but most of them were canon characters. In this chapter, with the exception of canon Louis, there's Liam, Dan, Megan, Maeve, Vero, and Lizzie who are all introduced. When I read this story the first time, I remember getting confused. 

 

But other than that, your story's still going strong. Carson's character is awesome, per usual. 

 

Alwynse for RvG November - Go GOLD!



Name: javu (Signed) · Date: 25 Nov 2018 03:04 AM · starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Story:Home Chapter: two

I don't know why, but I really like this interaction: 

""Ok, yeah," she nods, looking a little spaced out. "That--that's a good idea."

She doesn't move, so I give her a little push. "Go!" I hear her laughing as we both walk away." 

I think... there's something so realistic about it that I like. It's important in writing to keep things realistic: realistic consequences to actions and behaviors is a biggie, but also realistic ineractions and dialogue. I can't quite put my finger on it, but I think it's in that ballpark. 

 

Aaaaand, ladies and gentlemen, would you please lift your hands to welcome JAAAAMES POTTER! Woot woot! I love how James enters the story and scene. Literally enters. I know there's nothing special about it, but I like it. Or maybe... it's how James and Freddy enter together. Yes, I think that's it. They head right in and go straight for Carson. Yup, it's that confidence that I like. And the chill, cool, laid-back vibe between Freddy and James. 

 

But before that, Carson's conversation with her siblings while making the sangria is so precious. She's so blunt about her mother and how her mom was, well, a bad mom. Of course, we learn later in the story Carson does have problems from her mom's behavior. But in the meantime, how she jokes about it is really funny!

 

I love how you let the reader in on the inside jokes between the adults of Harry's generation, but how Carson is left out. "That's an awful lot of attitude for someone I allowed to marry my sister." My goodness... with those few lines, you give me a whole mental picture of all the Weasley brothers, minus Percy, giving Harry a hard time over the years. Hahaha.

 

And don't even get me started on how Carson numbers her dads! How did you come up with that? I'm astounded by how your brain comes up with funny things. My brain does not work that way. And I really wish it could.

 

Harry: "Is this what I have to look forward to?"

George: "I'm dead serious, I'll offer you Fred as a son-in-law right now--"

I just... love your sense of humor. This comment will probably be reoccuring in future reviews.

 

Alwynse. RvG November. Go GOLD!



Name: javu (Signed) · Date: 25 Nov 2018 01:50 AM · starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Story:Home Chapter: one

I'm on the writing struggle bus right now, so I thought to myself, "Why not reread Home?" "Yes, that sounds like a brilliant idea," I replied to myself in an internal dialogue. And here I am. Plus reviewing for RvG November (Go GOLD!)

 

So I really like how you start off the chapter and the story. It's Carson being Carson about portkeys. And then once she's spinning away, you do a mini-dip into her background -- who she is, who her parents are, and stating that they're divorced. And what I appreciate about this beginning, and actually much of your story, is how much you show and don't tell. Within the first few moments the reader understands that Carson prefers her dad over her mom. We can infer that her mom is unreliable and flighty. We can tell that Carson has a really good relationship with her dad. 

 

And can I just say how much I love Carson's humor?! I don't know how you come up with half the stuff she says! Are you witty like that in real life? Just curious... So many funny parts in this chapter, but my favorite is when Carson pops the lid off of Freddy's beer and Oliver is all "Please act like this is your first beer!" 

 

So, my only crit is this line: "Did you just--" from Oliver when George and Fred walk onto the porch. I've re-read it several times, and I don't know what he's referring to. Is it about the beer? About Carson wanting people to make her food?? I don't know. 

 

Minor note, but I appreicate how you made Carson's dad be Oliver Wood and her step-mom is Alicia Spinnet. I love it when people feature minor characters into their writing. The reader experiences a unique perspective. It's refreshing, and when done right, as you have, it's a lot of fun to read.

 

When I first read this chapter, I thought for sure you were going to pair Carson with Freddy. And I won't lie, a part of me still would have liked it if they gotten together instead. But maybe that's also because I have yet to read a good multi-chapter Fred/OC story.

 

Alwynse



Name: ShadowRose (Signed) · Date: 18 Nov 2018 11:05 PM · [Report This]
Story:Home Chapter: twenty nine

Hi Sarah! Here for RvG, and because I’m trapped on an airplane and using that to force myself to actually write reviews in a timely manner.

 

So much of this chapter was SO CUTE. Like, that whole first scene was just… my heart. I’m so glad Carson finally got her head on straight and took Freddy and Justin’s advice and fixed things with James. “I am in love with James. Merlin, it sucks to be wrong, doesn't it?” - this is so Carson, it’s incredible. And then the way she ends up saying it too, so casually, is just perfect. Everything is perfect.

 

“He feels...he feels like home, in all the best ways.” aasdfjhklg I LOVE LINES THAT TIE IN THE TITLE OF THE NOVEL AND THIS IS NO EXCEPTION.

 

I love all of the Quidditch things in this chapter - from James talking strategy as soon as they get on the train, to the practices, and all the way through the match. James’ initial insistence that they go with a conservative playing strategy and Carson’s immediate rebuttal was hilarious, but even better that James changed his mind at the start of the game and started playing offensively.

 

AND FREDDY AND MEG!!! Yesss, I have wanted this for so long! I love how, yet again, Freddy is completely oblivious to everything and it takes Carson telling him to go kiss Meg for him to finally do it. And then he does, and immediately comes running back and kisses CARSON, which creates a whole new layer of confusion. That whole scene was hysterical, particularly the ‘palate cleanser’ comment from Carson.

 

Jumping back to Quidditch stuff, this line - “Because when people talk about a player making their teams better, they need to look no further than James in this game.” was just so good and literally you can just feel how much Carson loves him throughout the entirety of this game in her comments about him. It’s so cute and wholesome and wonderful.

 

And James getting Quidditch offers is so exciting too! And I really respect Carson for being like ‘you need to make the decision that’s best for you,’ because well, that’s fair. James deserves to get to choose the team that’s going to make him the best offer. But it means that the chapter ends on a slightly tense note after all the fluffiness and I don’t know how to feel about this, Sarah. I thought we were finally at the fluffy happy ending part and now I’m nervous.

 

Anyways, all this to say, this chapter was a delight and I’m v excited for the next one, even though it’s the last and I’m so sad that it’s going to be over.

 

-Taylor



Name: Crimson Quill (Signed) · Date: 14 Nov 2018 08:34 PM · [Report This]
Story:Home Chapter: four

 

Hey Sarah!

 

So I really like Carson's sense of humour in the chapter (and in general). I love the first scene when she is like 'don't be condoms', I love that elements of the family humour aren't going away even though she is away from them at Hogwarts.

 

Carson feels like a natural within the group and slots in nicely. It's cool to see her starting up the Quidditch aspect of her Hogwarts life. it's so amusing how self important James is in this chapter with his announcement about Quidditch or maybe it's just the popular he does need to but it was amusing either way, Freddie and James bounce off each other nicely. The dialogue is really natural and has a great flow to it.

 

I love this joke "Bob Vance, Vance Refrigeration," as a fellow office fan, I deeply appreciated this joke. my favourite line in this chapter. Carson is my kinda gal.

 

I like that Carson talked to the boys about Tim and getting them to try and accept him more. I think it shows like that really nice to Carson like you can see she's a really nice person but just really feisty too. another great line. "Well if he does, then we can talk about beating him up," 


great chapter, very readable and some wonderful character development for Carson here. I'm looking forward to seeing more of her and the gang.

 

- Abbi xo

 

November RvG - Team Gold

 



Name: Chemical_Pixie (Signed) · Date: 12 Nov 2018 02:56 AM · [Report This]
Story:Home Chapter: nineteen

Sarah! November RvG, team red. Requested review. The story!

 

Okay. That opening scene!!! Freddy is just obnoxious. Meg handles it pretty well. And I'm so jealous of Dan's bowtie... but what really steals this scene is the eye contact between Carson and James. My little shipper's heart of racing!!! And then... the magic was broken. Why?!?

 

And then the countdown to New Years... I relate to Carson well here, because I, too, think New Years is an overrated holiday. Maybe I like change a little more than Carson does, but the whole affair is... yeah, lots of drinking, noise, and soon-to-be-forgotten promises. And once again, you get my hopes up when James comes onto the balcony. The chemistry between them is really good here, and James has Carson almost convinced. But the gang interrupts their moment. And I think it's better that way, because why have their first kiss or whatever during something that Carson doesn't particularly like anyway?

 

But then... she comes to them! I love how they're both serious (after weaving in some jokes, especially the classic Serious one, hahaha). I like the warmth between the two of them, especially at the end. I really hope that they maybe have a first date or something soon! :D 

 

That's all for now, but be assured that I'll be back soon!



Name: ShadowRose (Signed) · Date: 11 Nov 2018 08:41 PM · [Report This]
Story:Home Chapter: twenty eight

Hi Sarah!! Counting this as an RvG review for the month of November. :)

 

Ugh, okay, so you know I love Carson - I've definitely made that very clear over the course of all the reviews I've left on this story. But asdfhkjk James does not deserve to be treated like this either - like, I totally understand why he's so annoyed with her when she drunk calls him in this chapter. The poor boy has done so much and Carson keeps pushing him away and... yeah. Idk, I just feel for him a lot in this chapter and I really want to give him a hug. Or smack Carson upside the head. Either would work.

 

But also very much laughing at Carson having to proofread all of Freddy's texts because honestly I know so many boys who are just like that.

 

And Uncle Justin and Oliver very much make this chapter great, yet again. I love Uncle Justin's simple response of 'you know what to do' and Carson's arguing with her dad about beer she got from the Easter Bunny. Side note: my parents actually did this last Easter - we've been doing an Easter Egg hunt with some family friends since all of us were toddlers and now we're all in our twenties to my parents have taken to hiding alcohol and money in our backyard instead. It's a fun concept until the parents forget where they hid something and my dad finds a beer sitting in a tree three months later. JESUS CHRIST this review got off topic. Whoops.

 

Also screaming at the fact that Carson's lullaby was Tipsy, because that stupid song has been stuck in my head on and off for weeks and it's now on my gym playlist, lol.

 

But I love that she's possibly getting a job in Quidditch Stats - she clearly loves it so much, so I love that she might get the chance to do it as a career. Now, she just needs to get her head on right when it comes to James...

 

Alright, this review was a hot mess of random anecdotes, so uhhh, sorry for the lack of coherence, I guess? Loved this chapter though!!

 

-Taylor



Name: PotterPoppins101 (Signed) · Date: 11 Nov 2018 07:22 PM · [Report This]
Story:Home Chapter: twenty eight

AHHHHHHHH FIX THEM

 

But I love the story! It's always fun and easy going, which is a nice change!

 

Keep writing!

 

Abby Rose



Author's Response:

Hi Abby Rose! I'm so glad you like the story! Thanks for reading and reviewing. I'm working on the next chapter now, so keep an eye out for it! Thanks again and I hope you continue to enjoy!

-Sarah



Name: Chemical_Pixie (Signed) · Date: 11 Nov 2018 06:13 PM · [Report This]
Story:Home Chapter: eighteen

Sarah! Here for the story, the requested review, November RvG (Team Red!), and... along the lines of Oliver, I think I've just about covered all my bases here. ;)

 

I must say that I really, really love the relationship between Carson and Oliver. You write their dynamic so well; it seems like any scene with the two of them together is too short. I'm definitely left with wanting more! It's so apparent that they think the world of each other, and Oliver has enough tact to not directly push what's bothering Carson, because she'd definitely push him away if she felt the pressure. He's such a great dad!

 

This little friends holiday is so cute! I always love meeting up with my besties, and I can relate to their shenanigans well. But Carson's revelations that she likes James... wow! What a big moment (especially emerging from a hangover)! I absolutely loved the way you revealed James's feelings for her in the previous chapter, and the way you show Carson's reaction here is so different from his. I was thrilled to see that Carson and James were partners for beer pong. You write their awkwardness so well, here! I wonder how thier round of beer pong went?!

 

But it's interesting how the Meg-Carson conversation takes a turn at the end. I can't quite determine if it's 1. the alcohol, 2. Carson avoiding her feelings (again) and steering the conversation towards Meg, 3. Meg has such a huge revelation that the topic changes, or 4. a combination of any of those. But I think that highlights the thorny situation you've created in this next gen fic. Keep up the good work, Sarah! I'll definitely be reading more (your other requested review is coming!)! 



Name: ShadowRose (Signed) · Date: 25 Oct 2018 01:37 AM · [Report This]
Story:Home Chapter: twenty seven

SWEET JESUS SARAH I HAVE SOME THOUGHTS. (Also, I’m here for RvG. That part’s important too, I guess.)

 

I should’ve reviewed this as I went along instead of reviewing at the end, because the only thing I can think about is this ending. But ok, back to the beginning, before the shit storm!!

 

I love that Carson and James just, like, set up a stakeout for Louis and Maeve to return. And are completely uninterested in Freddy’s story, whatever it may be. Although it just sounds like he had a good time with Meg? And it brought them a little closer, given her behaviour at James’ party? But ahhhh I love how cute him and Maeve are, and I am completely unsurprised that Louis put his foot in his mouth for most of his speech but managed to bring it back around to something cute and sappy at the end.

 

AND NEVILLE. Lol I love that man so much - he’s got such an awkward dad vibe in this chapter with the whole “I remember what it was like to just start dating someone” line and I just... I love it. 10/10 teacher-student interaction right there.

 

And James and Carson are hilarious at the start of the party, with James already pulling lines about leaving early because of Carson’s dress, and him making a comment about her in red being his weak spot - it’s all so great and they’re just SO good together.

 

Alright, we’re full circle now, yeah? I’m good to start yelling again? OH MY GOD, like I knew Carson would definitely run when he said it (although perhaps not literally, but that was a great addition to the scene) but asdfhjkl knowing it would happen if he ever said it doesn’t make it any better. It’s so her though -  I mean, we’ve already established that not only does she kind of hate commitment to begin with (see: the entire disaster between James’ outburst and her finally being willing to try things) but she also hates change, and… this step definitely counts as change. And poor James, because he was obviously so genuine about it but didn’t mean for it to slip out, and Carson had to go and freak out about it and run away. GIRL, I NEED YOU TO GET OVER YOUR ISSUES REAL SOONISH BECAUSE YOU AND JAMES ARE TOO GOOD FOR EACH OTHER FOR YOU TO RUN OFF LIKE THIS.

 

Ok, I think I’ve officially run out of words and screaming - this was a masterpiece chapter and I only kind of hate you for leaving me hanging like this.

 

-Taylor



Submit a Review