Login
Reviews For Project Azkaban

Name: Rhaenyra (Signed) · Date: 10 Dec 2018 05:34 PM · starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Story:Project Azkaban Chapter: Prison Break

Damn, Gina. Was this the project you were working on during NaNo? I hope so, because I need more of this.

 

I will admit that I haven’t read as much Next Gen as other eras (I know, I know). The need to do so much world building has also kept me off of writing it. It is clear that you have nailed all this though. Clearly, the Department of Mysteries and the Unspeakables have been very busy in the decades since the end of the Second Wizarding War.

 

I love how you have given us just a taste of so many things. Teddy was clearly a Hufflepuff and knows Victoire. He must have some strong sense of discipline to continue push ups and the like while in prison, feeling like he is the only person in the world (chills at that description, by the way). The unknown feelings he is getting about himself and the past, like the fact that he wouldn’t leave a person behind, make me want to know more. Ditto for the descriptions you have given in the official document from 1998. This is clearly a complex experiment, giving me hints of the Stanford Prison experiment, but mixed with a bonus of space/time. The concept of time being off so they can serve multiple life sentences is really cool, but sad that it needs to exist.

 

Volunteers!? <— my reaction to that plot twist at the end. I repeat: damn, Gina. That completely changed my expectations of what we will learn of past events.

 

This is soooo good. At risk of sounding cliche, update soon. ;)



Name: M C Crocker (Signed) · Date: 05 Dec 2018 04:21 PM · starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Story:Project Azkaban Chapter: Prison Break

Okay, I was about to say, please tell me that there is going to be more, to this story but I saw the shell and saw that the story is not done.  I am already in love with this story.  There are so many questions in my head of 'why', 'how', 'when'.  This gripped me from the start and I cannot wait until you update becuase I want to read more.

You have done a fabulous job of showing the character's loss of identity and the isolation they have experienced.  You have created a very interesting premise and I feel like I'm leaving such a crap review for you when I love this story so much already.  I am looking forward to a new chapter and see what you have in store for the characters being trapped in this Azkaban 2.0 which seems to have taken control based on your summary.



Name: Crimson Quill (Signed) · Date: 02 Dec 2018 05:30 PM · [Report This]
Story:Project Azkaban Chapter: Prison Break

 

Hey Gina!

 

I'm here to spread some Christmas cheer and check off something from your wish list too!

 

I thought this whole piece was so interesting. I'm already really interested in where this piece is going as this chapter offers certain clues but it offers up a lot more questions too. I think you'v done an amazing job at really engaging me in your writing because I'm now horrified that there is only one chapter of this (but I'm informed that someone had a successful NaNo!).

 

So your description is so vivid, you've really helped me build up this picture about what is going on. I love all the little details that you've included, just some really stunning imagery here. One of the (many) things that you did well was present Teddy's thought process because it wasn't clear, his mind was so foggy up with different things, his memories lost. It was all very confusing for him and you played that really well. I think it was interesting seeing that he was so amazed by other people. 

 

So the ending is where it gets very intriguing. I love the formatting of the project proposal. It was a very unique way to take the narrative. I think that is a real strength in your writing, you're a wonderful storyteller. I'm super excited to see what you have planned for this story and how everything is going to come together. 

 

- Abbi xo

 

 

 



Name: Nix (Signed) · Date: 29 Oct 2018 01:44 AM · [Report This]
Story:Project Azkaban Chapter: Prison Break

Hey Gina! This was such a great setup! I loved the entire thing with Teddy in his cell, knowledgeable enought to know he had a life before Azkaban, but at the same time not knowing what that life was, only getting certain flashbacks without any context. I was so curious throughout reading this entire chapter, wandering what was going on and how he got there. He seemed to think he was the only person in existence, which sounds like a really lonely life. 

And then, when they're released we learned they all were living like this. Completely unaware for each other. I liked how Calliope and Lysander seemed to cling to Teddy when they discovered him, like he was once their leader in another life and it was instinctual to follow him. 

And the ending with the Project Proprosal was great! It explains a lot, but I'm still so curious to read more about them all. Like how did they end up there? What made them volunteer? Were they working in the Department of Mysteries? How long were they in there? How will they adjust as they return to their lives from before? I also love the idea of the self functioning prison, it's like Smart House meets the Matrix or something of that sort. 

I do hope you update more chapters soon!

xxNix



Name: Nix (Signed) · Date: 22 Oct 2018 01:24 AM · [Report This]
Story:Project Azkaban Chapter: Prison Break

Hey Gina! This was such a great setup! I loved the entire thing with Teddy in his cell, knowledgeable enought to know he had a life before Azkaban, but at the same time not knowing what that life was, only getting certain flashbacks without any context. I was so curious throughout reading this entire chapter, wandering what was going on and how he got there. He seemed to think he was the only person in existence, which sounds like a really lonely life. 

And then, when they're released we learned they all were living like this. Completely unaware for each other. I liked how Calliope and Lysander seemed to cling to Teddy when they discovered him, like he was once their leader in another life and it was instinctual to follow him. 

And the ending with the Project Proprosal was great! It explains a lot, but I'm still so curious to read more about them all. Like how did they end up there? What made them volunteer? Were they working in the Department of Mysteries? How long were they in there? How will they adjust as they return to their lives from before? I also love the idea of the self functioning prison, it's like Smart House meets the Matrix or something of that sort. 

I do hope you update more chapters soon!

xxNix



Name: Chemical_Pixie (Signed) · Date: 07 Oct 2018 08:35 PM · [Report This]
Story:Project Azkaban Chapter: Prison Break

Gina! Here for RvG (Team Gold). And also, I think this won SotM, so congratulations on that! :)

 

And, uh, wow. What kind of mind trickery is this? Don't get me wrong--I love being this thrown off, stumbling mentally around, wondering what in the world I just read... and how any of it can make sense. Merlin's beard, this was an intensely fun read!

 

My heart goes out to Teddy so, so much in the beginning. I'm wondering, "What did he do to deserve such a fate?" And also, is this extreme solitary confinement... legal?! I know that the wizarding world has a highly questionable justice system, but I was hoping that maybe it has improved since the Battle of Hogwarts. 

 

But then again, this project was started before that, which makes me think that's the reason why it's gotten so far along. That ending section is very official sounding (well done), and I like how you flush out this concept and tie in different strands of the Department of Mysteries.

 

I think Teddy's... awakening and reunification with Victoire is paired brilliantly with this official sounding document. We have our characters. We have our setting. We have our purpose. It's clear that the characters want to know what's going on and ultimately want a way out, so now we have our purpose. This is a great beginning chapter, and I can't wait to see what unfolds next!



Name: starbuck (Signed) · Date: 17 Sep 2018 05:50 PM · starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Story:Project Azkaban Chapter: Prison Break

hey gina! i'm leaving this for the house cup opener 2018/2019 :D

 

so i actually wanted to read this ever since you posted in my UFG topic and asked for a banner with the title 'Project Azkaban' - it sounded so ominous, mysterious and intriguing! and when i read the summary it was like i was reading an intro to an incredible book i'd want to binge-read.



this whole concept of a self sustaining prison, managing to control space and time, making it possible to do multiple life sentences - it's very dystopian and i'm literally dying to know more!



why is teddy in prison? and lysander and victorie? what could they have possibly done? where is harry/hermione/ron - is this something they'd approve (especially hermione - i'm not sure her moral compass would allow it....but after a war, i wouldn't be surprised, tbh)? why were the prisoners made to be so isolated (oh i see now the answer at the end)? so many questions....



 it's obvious this story has a fantastic start, i mean, there's absolutely no way that i won't read the next chapter as soon as you post it and that's probably something every author loves to hear!



i do wonder why they'd erase the memories of the incarcerated - without no memories, they don't actually know anything else besides the prison, making the serving of their sentence far easier. i'm not sure they'd get rehabilitated in such a way (which is the ultimate goal of a prison?)

 

how did you decide to use teddy as the protagonist? (if it's not too much of a spoiler!)

 

this was a really great read!

 

kris



Name: Stella Blue (Signed) · Date: 31 Aug 2018 04:55 AM · starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Story:Project Azkaban Chapter: Prison Break

Hey Gina!

So, I was browsing the forums and got distracted by your forum signature featuring this story and I was so intrigued by the words 'Teddy/Victoire prison break fic' that I had to check it out :P Prison break fic? I've never seen one of those before. I'm in.

And honestly I'm SO glad I read this because !! asdhfkjahdskjf this is just mindblowing and omg it's so good. It was even more interesting than I expected it to be (which says a lot because I already expected it to be really interesting) and I have so many thoughts about this first chapter and all of them are impressed.

 

I love the structure of this chapter, leading in through this very foggy beginning where he can't remember anything, he doesn't even have a personality, but perhaps vestiges of it show through (he wants to save the others, and he has a flash of a memory of yellow and black, so clearly not everything is gone from his Hufflepuffy self) It just raises so many questions, how he got like this, what happened, what is going on, like a million more questions. And I love that you ended the chapter with the actual project proposal.

 

The project proposal says a whole lot about what Emmanuel Brandt is like as a person and I dislike him very strongly. I get that they don't want to use Dementors any more in Azkaban, because that clearly failed. But I didn't think they could come up with a worse replacement, and it appears they have, even if it is very efficient. Efficiency seems to be the only thing they focused on here. Because like... what about people who aren't serving life sentences? What about people who are there for three years or something and then how do they go back to the real world? They have no memories of who they are or what they did or like, anything. There are so many flaws in this project proposal and I feel like he didn't run this by enough people and no one should have given him funding for this :P

 

This would allow criminals to serve multiple life sentences within the constraints of real time. -- This is ... Wow. I don't know how I feel about this, like impressed but also hugely disapproving of it. Like... it's cool that they can do that? From a point of view of how far humans can manipulate the forces of nature, it's really impressive, but, why? Extending their life just so they can serve a longer prison sentence for a crime they can't even remember... idk, what's the point? Seems almost worse than the Dementors, in a way. At least you only suffered one lifetime with the Dementors, and you had memories (even if they were all terrible ones) - you had your identity. Here, they have nothing, not even their names possibly.

 

Ethically, our trial runs would require willing and able participants. The isolation and memory erasure could be considered akin to torture, though in the punishment of criminals and dark wizards, such features are to be expected. -- This part is interesting too. I don't know when this story takes place in Teddy's life time - is Project Azkaban 2.0 past its testing phase? Meaning that Teddy actually went to prison? Or are Teddy and co. the 'willing and able participants'? Did they get a copy of the project proposal to see what exactly they were signing up for? Omg as you can see I have so many questions and I just, this is FASCINATING. I want to read more and I hope your muse is cooperative and your spare time is plenty! Because honestly this is one of the most original, intriguing fics I've read in a while and I'm so glad I stopped by to read it. It's been ages since I read anything by you, which is a shame, because you're such a talented writer and I have been missing out. Keep up the awesome work (and I will be favoriting and regularly checking this for updates haha)

 



Name: Cat (Anonymous) · Date: 07 Jul 2018 10:09 PM · [Report This]
Story:Project Azkaban Chapter: Prison Break

this is the most interesting, original, fiction I've begun in years! How very inticing.



Name: TidalDragon (Signed) · Date: 01 Jul 2018 04:48 AM · starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Story:Project Azkaban Chapter: Prison Break

Howdy Gina! I'm stopping by after the POGS - and as a congrats and welcome back for returning to staff - to leave my detailed thoughts on this amazing work!

 

When I read this story for the first time, I was gripped by the quality of the description and inner thought we got from Teddy. You put us in his world very well and though his thoughts were rather - unmoored - your handling of him made it entirely clear why. From my perspective it immediately evoked solitary confinement and the effect it can have on one's perception and indeed, their sanity. Here that last bit actually becomes interesting - sanity. If he has no memory. If he has no identity - other than that which has been constructed in this place - is he truly struggling with sanity or is he a product of his environment. The clue perhaps is in his acknowledgment of the number of days. He knows that much - how is unclear even to him - but he knows and so in some sense his clinging to the place, his discounting the memories as flashes he doesn't understand carry the hallmarks of a destabilized mind.

 

The story became even better when I read the project proposal. Frankly, I want to lock this guy in his own prison in the shade realm. The level of clinical cruelty on display really is staggering. He has the occupants of the prison banished to a place where they have no memory and essentially know true existence. Time is meaningless because even as a construct, theirs is distorted and cleaved from reality. But it isn't meaningless to those on the outside, who seem fine inflicting many lifetimes of suffering on its occupants while they wile away their days in the real world. What's to stop the horror really? Will there be another proposal? More advancements in the types of magic referenced that will allow four lifetimes to be served in the space of one outside? Where does it end?

 

What seems really troubling though is the depths to which they allow Teddy, Victoire, etc. to sink. The timing seems to indicate that they may be the "willing and able participants" based on the twenty to thirty year implementation. This would be right about twenty and you wonder how much time they're willing to steal from even volunteers to accomplish what is - even in the service of law enforcement - a truly twisted goal.

 

In the end, this story really reminded me of an episode of Outer Limits called "The Sentence". In there a doctor thinks he's revolutionized criminal sentencing using a VR device to simulate years of prison in an even shorter time. Fortunately in that instance when the guy escapes from his own invention he destroys it, having realized how horrible it truly is. Here, we get no such comfort and no certainty that Teddy and Victoire ever escape. Even assuming they do, they would arguably be even more unmoored in the real world - a place they think they've never been and know nothing about. Not even a sick idea of "home" could stabilize them then so their fate would seem dependent on recovery of their memories. I'm intrigued to know what happens.

 

Thanks for sharing this, Gina! And congratulations on the POG!



Name: nott theodore (Signed) · Date: 02 Jun 2018 04:54 PM · [Report This]
Story:Project Azkaban Chapter: Prison Break

Hi Gina!  I'm trying to stop by and read and review some of the POGs nominations.  I've heard so many wonderful things about this story already, and I know you were excited to write it, and I have to say that this first chapter certainly doesn't disappoint!

 

This was such a fascinating opening chapter!  Your writing was, as always, really compelling, and the description here was great - even though I wasn't entirely sure what was going on at the beginning, I had a very clear picture of the surroundings and what the protagonist was going through.

 

There was a sense of confusion and desperation at the beginning of this chapter which was almost tangible - it had me asking questions with the protagonist and wondering who on earth they were, as they didn't seem sure themselves.  And then of course, we find out it's Teddy, and he's in Azkaban (in some form), and he's not in the best mental state.  The flashes of memory or traces of his former life were so poignant and so effective in showing us that whatever's happened to him, he once had a very different life.

 

Even though there was a sense of confusion, it didn't blur the story for me - I thought you did a fantastic job of capturing the characters' mental states and the lost sense of where they are.  I'm so, so intrigued about what's happening to them and why they're there - my first thoughts were that Teddy must have been wrongfully imprisoned for something - and I have so many questions.  There's no way that I'm not reading on when you update this because I need answers.

 

I wasn't sure whether or not Teddy was imagining the person escaping at first, but then the discovery that he was able to leave his cell and meeting the other prisoners, some of whom have familiar names, just made me even more curious about what on earth has happened.  I can't tell if it's an actual prison break at the moment, or some sort of simulation they're running as torture.

 

It was so effective to have the project proposal at the end of the chapter, rather than the beginning.  It meant I was asking all these questions and then found answers in some form - but in a form that's terrifying and has only made me ask more questions.

 

The project is terrifying.  I can imagine, in a way, looking at the date, why someone might propose something like this as an alternative to the Dementors guarding Azkaban, but equally, it's absolutely chilling - particularly the idea that they're enabling people to serve multiple life sentences, bending time and space, or to treat people in a way that amounts to torture.

 

Looking at the date on the proposal is terrifying as well - it's been submitted just when the war ends, so it seems to me like this Emmanuel Brandt who submitted the proposal has been working on it for a while and just seized the opportunity of the chaos that existed at the end of the war to use it for his own means.  It's just horrifying - and the fact that it's ready in twenty to thirty years means, of course, that the next generation are the prime targets.  And I don't even know whether to trust that they volunteered for the project or if it's even more sinister and terrible than that...

 

This was amazing, and I was completely gripped reading it - I really hope you update soon because I have so many questions that I need answered!

 

Sian :)



Name: poppunkpadfoot (Signed) · Date: 19 May 2018 03:40 PM · starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Story:Project Azkaban Chapter: Prison Break

Hiiii Gina!

 

It's really been way too long - like WAY too long - since I read one of your stories. However, I definitely didn't forget how talented you are and how much I enjoy your writing. 

 

There's so much happening here in this first chapter, but you've really pulled it off - rather than being confusing or overwhelming, it builds up from being just intriguing to being both intriguing and exciting. I have so many questions! Teddy's in Azkaban?! What happened?! And Victoire's there too? Are the effects that the prison has had on Teddy (thinking he's alone in the world, forgetting his name, forgetting his life) intentional, or has something gone wrong with the project?

 

I really like that you ended the chapter with the project proposal. I think that without it, the chapter would border on being confusing, whereas its inclusion keeps everything intriguing and interesting. And I like that it's at the end rather than at the beginning, because that allows the tension to build without the reader's perception of events being coloured by the proposal and without them prematurely jumping to conclusions about what's going on.

 

This is a really unique story and you've pulled this first chapter off extremely well. You've definitely left me VERY curious and wanting more! Fantastic job!

 

-Kayla



Author's Response:

Kayla! *major hugs*

 

You are so sweet. Thank you. Reading this review is a huge relief because I was so nervous this first chapter was just a great big ball of confusion. I’m glad it was the correct amount of confusing with some intriguing thrown in. I’m really enjoying this story so far, and I’m so happy to hear that you’ve enjoyed it too! 



Name: toomanycurls (Signed) · Date: 19 May 2018 03:04 AM · starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Story:Project Azkaban Chapter: Prison Break

Whaaaaaaaaaat?! Gina. This. Is. Awesome. 

 

I mean, I'm not surprised that it's awesome. Reading the beginning I really felt like Teddy's confusion and altered mental state really came through. He was grasping at straws mentally and you described everything so beautifully. I feel like I'm just repeating myself but the mental exertion Teddy goes through just to hold onto his identity is jarringly painful. The description of his cell being as a both mental and physical is very hard hitting. When he heard the voice I wasn't sure at first if it was real which was brilliant. After reading the dossier/proposal in the second half, all the temporal distortion makes complete sense but it's even more sad knowing what he's going through. 

 

Teddy's reaction to Cal and Lysander really show how mentally unstable prison has made him. I'm glad that movement and conversation seem to be getting the cobwebs out of Teddy's head. What a cliffhanger you ended on! 

 

Okay, the proposal. It's so unique and original and I love it. It's heartbreaking to know what they've been going through but I'm dying to know if they are locked up or trapped by accident. 

 

I can't wait to read more of this. 

-Rose 

 



Name: adorably cute (Signed) · Date: 17 May 2018 03:25 PM · [Report This]
Story:Project Azkaban Chapter: Prison Break

Hi! Here for Gryffie Review Tag (and also because I've been looking forward to reading this since you originally mentioned Teddy Lupin prison break fic and was in the middle of reading anyway so would have defintiely been here regardless!) :)

 

Oh my gosh this was such a thriller! You've created such a unique world and I am so excited to read more of it. This first chapter has me on the edge of my seat wanting more and I absolutely can't wait to know what happens.

 

I think you really characterized Teddy well as he sits in this prison for 123 days (or 24 or 125) and that part especially really showed how difficult that life can be. The little game he plays where he counts his breaths to 1000 was kind of heartbreaking and also how he didn't know his name until it just came to him one day! I loved how he made sure to check for others and kind of rallied the group and gasped when he saw Victoire (which seems like it may be the only name he knows besides his own?). I totally want to know more about the two of them.

 

The Project Azkaban file was a really neat way to give us more information about the story without giving everything away. I'm super intrigued by everything now and absolutely can't wait for what happens next!

-Sarah



Name: Pixileanin (Signed) · Date: 16 May 2018 03:59 PM · [Report This]
Story:Project Azkaban Chapter: Prison Break

Wow!  This is super intriguing!  Call me VERY intrigued about the whole setup.  I don’t think you have anything to worry about with the action.  It’s GREAT action, with all kinds of suspense thrown in. I love it!


Firstly, the first scene.  Haha. Well, duh. I think the first scene was a fantastic way to show what’s on the inside of this project and how the project is coming along.  Clearly, these people have been brainwashed in a very thorough way, and it’s disturbing how well that worked. I’m very nervous for all the people inside, and also nervous for the person who imagined that he could break out of a place like that.  Like… are they gonna recapture everybody and make it WORSE!!?? That would be a nightmare.


The whole concept of this is disturbing and frightful.  And of course now, I wanna know more!


Great first chapter!

 

Pix



Name: StarFeather (Signed) · Date: 16 May 2018 09:11 AM · starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Story:Project Azkaban Chapter: Prison Break

Hi, Gina. I stopped by grabbing a chance, Gryffindor Review Tag. I thought of dropping a review at your Amelia I read the other day, but your new story title showed up on this front page and I chose this first.

 

Wow, it's a thrilling read. I remembered the film titled, 'Escape Plan' we watched on TV in my country. The beginning shot is just like the film. Someone let Teddy stay in the cell where it seems hard to escape. Many wonders spinning in my head. Did he do a sort of horrible crime? Why did he forget his memory? The woman he could barely remembered must be Victoire. It's sad two people were forced to live parted. 

 

The latter half seems to explain all for readers. So recruits  agreed to jojn the experiments. They tried to let them be safely in the cells. But I had fear. From the first of this chapter, three people apparently try to run away. What is the kill switch? I hope the recruits would be in no danger. 

 

As a whole, it's a really cliffhanger. When you update this, please twitter at Gryffindor CR. I'll come back.

 

K



Author's Response:

Thanks for the review, Kenny! I am intrigued by the movie you mentioned. I may look it up. :)

 

Sorry to leave you on a cliffhanger! It was intentional, but I have to apologize for it anyway. I know how frustrating cliffhangers can be, and I've been a bit slow with updates... I'm working on chapter 2 now so hopefully it will be up soon!



Submit a Review