Reviews For Essence of Revenge


Name: StarFeather (Signed) · Date: 14 Mar 2020 03:03 PM · For: A Day with Teddy.

I enjoyed the process of reforming Grimmauld Place. The detailed information about the refreshed rooms made me smile thinking of Harry's happiness after the battle of Hogwarts. He deserves it.

 

I like the plot that Ginny is cooperative with Andromeda when she tried to prepare surprise for Harry. Just my humble opinion is that the readers may expect description of Andromeda who resembles Bellatrix and they may be curious to know how Harry feels about it.

I really love your ideas such as the floating crib of Teddy, or the automatic painting the wall or the other parts of the ceiling by magic.

As a whole,  I like this chapter, you added Dursley family members. It's a good thing that Petunia and Dudley came to realize what they could change about their future life.  

 

I feel for Molly who couldn't stop caring about their only daughter. Ron is, well, always Ron, I like the way you wrote about him.

 

Ah, the last scene, romantic description. You nailed it. And the shadows  of the flame flickering on the plaster moulding or the cornice, the image is just beautiful.

 

 



Author's Response:

Many Thanks StarFeather, glad you enjoyed it. I like the idea of describing Andromeda, although they had met in a previous chapter I didn't think of that then either, oops. I shall look at doing that in a future edit though.
Hope you enjoy the rest of the story.
Best wishes
Tgfoy



Name: LadyMarauder (Signed) · Date: 02 Feb 2020 05:59 PM · For: Trust

Yay the Grangers are back! Bless them, they seem completely overwhelmed by it all, but then they have just been told they had their memories modified by their teenage daughter and travelled by floo powder all the way to London, it's enough to shock anyone. I really thought it was a great way of getting them back, I don't like the thought of it taking years to track them down in Australia. I thought it was lovely of Kingsley to arrange a house and surgery for them too so they can just settle back into life in Britain as quickly as possible.

 

I love that Kreacher refers to the house as Harry and Ginny's, it's like everyone and their pet toad know that they are destined to be together forever.

 

I LOVE that Arthur is not only head of his own department, but now he is also Deputy Minister for Magic! It's so well deserved and I love that you've written the Weasley's this way as before many of the wizarding community looked down upon them for not being a wealthy pureblood family. However, Harry seems to be the most wealthy wizard on the planet after getting a look into all those vaults - no one would ever have to worry for the rest of their lives! I imagine Harry would make sure everyone was looked after and I thought it was a nice touch setting up the trusts. I thought it was hilarious that Harry had to face the goblins at the bank so soon after letting a dragon free and destroying half the building - how awkward.

 

Rita's back! She's actually becoming one of my favourite characters in this story as she's so determined to get a story on Harry that she's just everywhere. And of course she's writing a book about Harry.

 

Erm, Molly and Arthur are rather trusting leaving their daughter and Harry together in the house, especially when they are seeing each other again. 

 

Anyway, as ever this is a very well thought out chapter that is really setting things up for them going back to Hogwarts!

 

Tasha



Author's Response:

Hello again, yes I know Molly and Arthur are being very trusting, but there is method behind the apparent madness and of course they are not alone in the house. 
Things are begining to move forward in the aftermath of the Battle, but it is early days.
Many thanks as always, looking forward to seeing what you make of the rest as you make your way through them, hope you continue to enjoy it.
Best wishes
Tgfoy



Name: LadyMarauder (Signed) · Date: 02 Feb 2020 04:02 PM · For: Out of the Closet and into the Fire

I like that this chapter starts off very domesticated, with the group doing something as simple as degnoming the garden, it's something so normal that they can do without having to face what they've had to endure. I guess Harry would feel like he was a constant reminder of what the Weasleys lost by him living there all the time, so I'm not surprised you've written him as moving into Grimmauld Place. Just like the Burrow, it was full of dark magic, so it's a good thing the aurors went ahead and sorted that out.

 

Again, you have Rita Skeeter scuttling about and still getting nowhere, which really makes me laugh. She's just getting what she deserves after all.

 

Hermione's rant about her parents made me laugh as the whole thing was said quickly all in one breath, just like we know her to be from the books, so perfect characterisation there!

 

Kreacher's speech to Sirius's mother's portrait was brilliant and it sounded so professional too, so I'm guessing that really is House Elf magic at work, so at least things will be a little quieter around the house now! I really loved that you wrote about Sirius leaving Harry a chest filled with a lot of things he would nee like deeds and papers, but also personal things such as his father's old broom, it was a lovely touch.

 

I really love the amount of thought that goes into your chapters and the same for this one. It's packed with so many details that I would have never thought of, but make perfect sense. It's clear so much thought and effort has gone into making this seem as realistic as possible and keeping all the characters true to their canon characterisations. I'm really enjoying finding out what all the gang are up to after the battle!

 

Tasha



Author's Response:

Many thanks once more LadyMarauder, really glad you are still enjoying it. I really couldn't resist with Hermione and the idea that the humblest of magical creatures knew how to do something that Dumbledore couldn't just appealed so much as well. 
I see you have already left a review on the next chapter, so I shall see you there. :D
Best wishes

Tgfoy



Name: LadyMarauder (Signed) · Date: 02 Feb 2020 01:56 PM · For: The Burrow

Me again!

 

I thought it was really sensible that the aurors had the Burrow checked before the Weasleys, Harry and Hermione moved back in because it would have been one of the first places the Death Eaters would have searched I think, so I thought it was a really good plot point. You really thought of everything here by having the aurors discover all those spells that had been put onto the house. I would have never thought of such details, but I imagine this would have been exactly what they all would have had to have gone through after the Battle. And of course there was a dodgy auror -  I really enjoyed reading about the battle there, it seemed very natural and I'm glad they caught the rogue Death Eaters!

 

It was a really nice touch that you wrote the House Elf got the place in order just to take some pressure off of Mrs Weasley and that he prepared the meal he had previously made fore Harry, Ron and Hermione the day they had to go on the run - it really brought things back full circle.

 

I thought the section at the Ministry of Magic was great when Dumbledore's Army received their awards and thought it was great that Fred Weasley and Colin Creevey received awards too. I love that Rita Skeeter is still hanging around like a bad penny, desperately trying to get an interview with Harry, but is still being told no - this is so believable!

 

I really liked Harry and Ginny's chat. It felt very mature and that Harry needed to tell her everything like it was a weight on his shoulder. I like that she didn't shout and scream at him either, I thought it was great. Though I was just waiting for Mr Weasley to give Harry the speech about Ginny - at least they got it out of the way early on.

 

It was nice that they had the party just to try and take their minds off all the sadness for a few hours too and that Luna and her father were reunited. I felt there was so much that needed to happen in this chapter and you covered everything! Though now the funerals have started I think things aren't going to get lighthearted for a long time.Great job!

 

Tasha



Author's Response:

And I am very glad to see you again. I really hadn't thought of such things as out of the ordinary for the situation the Weasleys etc find themselves in, they just seemed a natural thing to include to me. I am pleased you like them and with you mentionning it I don't recall reading such a process in other Fics of this period, but that could be my faulty memory not remembering of course. I kind of liked the way Kreacher mellowed towards the trio in Deathly Hallows a little, I have developed on that a little and the effects of having a master who cares on him. I thought the talk between Harry and Ginny was needed, otherwise it was like leaving unfinished business between them, and I wrote the talk with Arthur at a time my own daughter (I have sons as well) was a little older than Ginny is in this, so it was quite easy to put myself in his place. 
Glad you enjoyed this chapter and many thanks for the review, hopefully see you on here again soon.
Best wishes
Tgfoy



Name: LadyMarauder (Signed) · Date: 02 Feb 2020 12:25 PM · For: The Minister and the Wand

I really loved this chapter! I liked that you showed exactly what the Dursleys were up to while they'd been in hiding, because I always wondered and I really love what you've done with this storyline. The fact that they're in a completely different environment in the countryside rather than in the suburbs and in a small time job, rather than a big company was quite a change for them, though I really liked that they made sure they were an important and integral part of the village - it was very fitting for them.]

 

I really liked how you portrayed all the characters here, especially with how Dudley has grown up and embraced life in a small village with just a witch and wizard for company - that would have never happened when he was younger. I really love how he has befriended Dedalus Diggle and spent a lot of time just talking to him. I imagine they would both learn lots about each other's worlds. I also thought it was really interesting that he was looking forward to meeting Harry again some time in the future so I'd love to read how you would write that reunion!

 

Your description of the Peak District was really great and I've really enjoyed reading this story as you pack so much imagery into it, I can really imagine being there.

 

I loved Kingsley's speech to the media. It was so professional, but very much to the point, so hopefully they listen and give Harry and the rest time to actually grieve, though I wouldn't count on it knowing the press! I really loved how you wrote this section and feel that you really captured Kingsley's personality and fondness and respect for Harry and all he has had to face.

 

The moments at Dumbledore's grave were really sad, but necessary and I'm glad you wrote Hagrid being there too as I feel he's such an important character as he was the one who initially moved Dumbledore's body when he died, so it just seemed fitting he would be there for this. I loved seeing Fawkes tend to Dumbledore's grave too, I thought that was a really nice touch.

 

Overall this was a fantastic chapter and I am loving how you are writing all these missing moments in this story!

 

Tasha



Author's Response:

Many thanks LadyMarauder for your review, so glad you enjoyed this chapter. You might be interested that I have a story that links into this one about the Dursleys time in the Peak District called "To Hide a Dursley", if you haven't noticed it. 
I am really pleased you could imagine being in the village, it is not based on a particular one, but several I have visited in the area, which I used to love hiking in. 
Hope you enjoy the rest of this Novel too, I look forward to seeing any reviews you leave.
Best wishes
Tgfoy



Name: LadyMarauder (Signed) · Date: 02 Feb 2020 10:41 AM · For: Ginny

I'm finally getting stuck into this novel and I really enjoyed reading this chapter. I love stories that are set in the rebuilding era and finding out what all the characters are up to and I thought you packed in a lot in this opener. Your descriptions are fantastic and I really loved the opening paragraphs where you explained how everything looked after the Battle of Hogwarts.

 

Your descriptions of Harry waking up were also brilliant, especially when you talked about how he had sustained so many injuries in the final battle and that he could barely remember going to sleep because he was so exhausted. I always seem to forget that they had almost came straight from Shell Cottage to then go to Gringotts and then onto Hogwarts for the Battle. It just seems like so much time has passed. In that same topic, I liked how Harry referenced the passing of time, how he was surprised it had been seven years ago when he started school. 

 

I really liked getting into his head in those moments after he woke up and how he was dreading meeting the families of those who died and facing the press after everything that had happened because he knew they would twist everything. I thought you really 'got' Harry in those moments.

 

Ron's exclamation at being able to see the thestrals was exactly as I imagined - in that you got his characterisation spot on here and I could actually hear him say that. It's so sad though that now, they would all see them.

 

Harry's shock at seeing the devastation of the castle was quite shocking for him as he had only really seen the inside of the dorm and common room which had remained untouched, so I thought you wrote that so perfectly. His meeting with Ginny was really sweet because you made it so clear she knows him really well and I loved her threatening Ron too! Ha!

 

Professor McGonagall's speech to Harry was lovely - she even called him Harry and not Potter! She's a bit of a legend telling Rita Skeeter where to go after she tried to get close to Harry. It just shows what is to come for them all now the Battle is over. I'm looking forward to finding out what the Minister For Magic wants with all of them - I'm guessing it is to start their careers as aurors... I can't wait to find out what happens next!

 

Tasha



Author's Response:

Firstly I am very glad that you have got stuck in, and many thanks for your review, I am glad you enjoyed the first chapter, and that you think I have captured the characters of those you mentioned. Descriptions are things I like to work at, trying to paint a picture for readers to imagine what I have in mind, I am glad it worked for you. 
I look forward to seeing what you make of the rest of the story, if you are kind enough to let me know. Many thanks once againfor the review, it is much appreciated.
Best wishes.
Tgfoy



Name: Aurorofthelight (Anonymous) · Date: 16 Jun 2019 01:53 AM · For: Daimler

Absolutely magnificent ending to an absoulutely magnificent story! Hate to see this special tale end but then, all good things(in this case great) must come to an end at some point!  I look forward to the sequel with bated breath and so happy to hear about it!  Thank you for such a marvelous adventure, TG! This has been more fun than riding a Firebolt at 150 MPH!  May your life be blessed! :D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D



Author's Response:

Many thanks Auroraofthelight, glad you enjoyed it. I look forward to seeing what you think of the sequel, which I hope to start posting soon. Blessings to you as well.

Tgfoy



Name: Aurorofthelight (Anonymous) · Date: 19 May 2019 01:00 AM · For: Beside the Seaside.

Another brilliant chapter which I enjoyed immensley, especially the kids and the beach!  Glad to see the twins doing so well!  Teddy is always a riot!  Harry and Ginnys' bond is certainly becoming stronger!  Sad about Ted Tonks but closure always helps, especially for Andi! Will be interesting to see what happens with Hermoine and her destiny! :D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D



Author's Response:

Many thanks Aurorofthelight, glad you enjoyed this one. I felt Ted deserved a proper resting place. The beach scenes were fun to write as were the scenes with Harry and Ginny.
Until next time.
Best wishes
Tgfoy



Name: Aurorofthelight (Anonymous) · Date: 28 Apr 2019 11:58 PM · For: Taking Umbridge.

Absolutely superb chapter!  Glad to see Umbitch and Wolfe get their comeuppance!   Count me among those who think  Umbitch got off too easy!  I still like the idea of feeding her to the acromantulas!  I'd spare Wolfe that since he showed some remorse!  Glad to see the twins doing so well and settling in their new home where they can be normal kids!  Good to see Harry and Ginny are helping out with them when not planning their wedding!  Can't wait for the next one!  :D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D



Author's Response:

Many thanks Aurorofthelught, glad you enjoyed it. I know what you mean about the sentencing, I just thought death was too easy an out for Umbridge.

Shouldn't be much longer until the next chapter.

Best wishes

Tgfoy



Name: Aurorofthelight (Anonymous) · Date: 05 Apr 2019 08:22 PM · For: Jet Power.

Manifique!  Was starting to worry about you until I saw this gem of a chapter! Well worth the wait!  So happy the twins came out of their funk with the help of our  favorite couple!  Hope it helped Harry too! Umbitch and Wolfe should be fileted alive with a dull scalpel for what they did to those kids!  Can't wait for the trial and the wedding!  Wonder if Petunia will show up? Great chapter!  :D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D

 

 



Author's Response:

Many thanks as usual my friend, glad you enjoyed it. Sorry to have worried you, real life is intruding from a number of sides at the moment, one major one unexpectedlyunexpectedly, meaning extra work, though for good reasons. Hopefully things will settle soon.

Best wishes

Tgfoy



Name: Aurorofthelight (Anonymous) · Date: 12 Mar 2019 09:20 PM · For: Incedolixire

This one was certainly worth waiting for!  Glad Archie was their to help Harry! Hope Slughorn's potion  works for Harry! Can't wait to see who the Centaurs destined one is!  Much anticipating  your take on Ginny and Harry's wedding!  Thanks for keeping after this marvelous story!  :D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D 



Author's Response:

Many thanks Aurorofthelight, glad you enjoyed it. Centaurs are such enigmatic fellows aren't they. Sorry about the wait, I'm afraid there are a few more chapters until the wedding though.

Best wishes

Tgfoy



Name: Aurorofthelight (Anonymous) · Date: 27 Feb 2019 09:11 PM · For: A Year to the Day

Magnificent chapter and what a stirring memorial! And a very surprising  ending cliffhanger!   Hope Harry is okay!  Love this story! :D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D



Author's Response:

Many thanks Aurorofthelight, glad you enjoyed it.

Best wishes

Tgfoy



Name: Aurorofthelight (Anonymous) · Date: 10 Feb 2019 02:42 PM · For: Pawns in the Game.

Brilliant chapter!  Much to celebrate but so very sad what happened to the twins both while growing up at the hands of a cruel aunt and a farce of a father but even worse the result of their shock in the office!  Certainly wasn't expecting them to end up in catatonic states like Harry!  Sincerely hope a way is found to bring them back so they can have the fear-less childhood and life they deserve!  As far as I am concerned, soaking those sorry excuse for human beings Umbitch and Wolfe in honey and staking them spread-eagled near the Acromantula den for a spider banquet would be too easy for sick scumbags who abuse children!  Looking forward to seeing what happens next especially with Harry's recovery!  :D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D 



Author's Response:

Many thanks Aurorofthelight, yes a bitter sweet chapter. Sadly I am not sure wizarding law would allow such a punishment, though I understand where you are coming from.
Best wishes as always,

Tgfoy



Name: StarFeather (Signed) · Date: 28 Jan 2019 08:56 AM · For: Trust

It's humorous that Ron said about Hermione when her parents told everyone they were proud of her not only for reading many books but also taking action when it was necessary. I like you added Ron's characteristic, his humor in this chapter. I remembered how J.K.Rowling described Ron as a very humorous person, especially related with Hermione or other female characters such as Luna Lovegood.

It's interesting to see enormous amount of coins keep bearing interest of Potters vault.

I like the idea Harry thought of setting up the fund for the family of the dead.  I came to like Percy after all events, he had searched Harry's firebolt and got it back to him. I wonder what Lucius Malfoy tried to do or plan conspiracy using Harry's firebolt.

 

It still hurts for Harry who has been sad after he lost his poor pet, Hedwig. It's great Molly and Arthur bought a new owl for him.

The most highlighted spot is Dudley found Harry with Ginny, oh, how that one-shot, Hiding Dursleys is linked with the scene in this chapter! A penny dropped. What a heart-warming and humorous plot!

 

@ Magical Menagerie 3, Team Wolpertinger ( the forum review activity ).

 



Author's Response:

Many thanks StarFeather, wonderfully tought out review as you often do. I kind of like Ron's humour and am trying to include it, so I am glad to see that you think I have managed that. Also glad you saw the link between the two stories, we have not seen the last of the Dursleys yet.
Many thanks once again, glad you enjoyed it.
My best wishes
Tgfoy



Name: Aurorofthelight (Anonymous) · Date: 27 Jan 2019 05:09 PM · For: The Thirty Soldiers.

 



Author's Response:

Many thanks Aurorofthelight, glad you enjoyed it.

Best wishes
Tgfoy



Name: Aurorofthelight (Anonymous) · Date: 13 Jan 2019 07:04 PM · For: Revelations and Deception

Great to see a new chapter from you,TG! Hope  you had happy holidays!  I must admit after I re-read the last chapter I realized the pink sparks being fired as a signal made me realize the Aunt that likes pink had to be the toad!  Not sure how she is directing things from Azkaban unless she has a double in there!  Can't help but wonder if the leader of the hit team needed a change of drawers when the trap was sprung!  Brilliant bit of deception by  Harry and Ginny!  Hope they figure out what's up with Harry!   Can't wait to see what happens next!  :D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D



Author's Response:

Many thanks once again Aurorofthelight.  Yes had a wonderful festive season with family, hope you did too.
No not a double my friend. Glad you enjoyed it, next one will be up as soon as I can.
Best wishes
Tgfoy



Name: Aurorofthelight (Anonymous) · Date: 23 Dec 2018 07:21 PM · For: The Visitor

HAVE A VERY BLESSED AND MERRY CHRISTMAS!



Author's Response:

To you as well, AurorofthelightAurorofthelight.



Name: Aurorofthelight (Anonymous) · Date: 23 Dec 2018 07:19 PM · For: The Visitor

Oh what a dirty cliff hanger!  Hopefully the ambushers were being ambushed!  One thing is for sure - Tarquin(glad you didn't use Samson) and Delilah are definitely not the Bobsey twins!  No wonder Aunt Toad doesn't like children!  Hope Harry gets his strength back soon!  Can't wait for the next one! :D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D



Author's Response:

Samson? That really made me smile, yes it would have been too much. :-)

Once more many thanks for taking the time to review, I really appreciate it. Glad you are still enjoying it.

Best wishes.

Tgfoy



Name: Aurorofthelight (Anonymous) · Date: 14 Dec 2018 08:01 PM · For: The Bath.

Magnificent!  Awesome! Superb! Terrific!  This chapter ran the gamut of  Webster's superlatives!  Couldn't be happier to see Harry back to his old self and Erebus get the flying fickle finger of fate!  No surprise that Harry and Ginny share a very special bond!  I hope the reunion between Harry, Ron and Hermoine will be soon!  Can't wait to see how they nail the bad guys.  Thanks for a this wonderful gem!  :D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D



Author's Response:

Many thanks as always Aurorofthelight, glad you enjoyed it, 
Until next time.
Best wishes
Tgfoy 



Name: Aurorofthelight (Anonymous) · Date: 07 Dec 2018 08:27 PM · For: The Anchor

Oh what a dirty cliffhanger that was, right when Harry might be giving Erebus the finger and coming back to Ginny!  Terrific chapter and nice move by Ginny with her memory!  Glad to see they finally ID'd the Wolfe twits as their suspected ringleaders but I have feeling nailing them will be a tougher task!  Can't help but wonder who their evil aunt is - for some reason I keep seeing the color pink!  Can't wait for the next one!   :D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D



Author's Response:

Many thanks as always Aurorofthelight glad you enjoyed it. Can't think why you might be seeing pink. :D ;D



Name: Aurorofthelight (Anonymous) · Date: 28 Nov 2018 08:37 PM · For: Voices

This was certainly a busy chapter but not alot of progress for Harry although he seems  to be starting to sense Ginny's presence!  I wish someone would step on Skeeter while she's in her bug form!  Still surprised noone has figured out the twins yet - can't be that many twins in Hogwarts!  



Author's Response:

Many thanks as always Aurorofthelight. Yes lots going on and slow progress for Harry. As for twins, at the sorting there were four sets in the new first year in take and don't forget, we are seeing more of what they are up to than the the occupants of Hogwarts are, yet.

Best wishes

Tgfoy



Name: StarFeather (Signed) · Date: 25 Nov 2018 06:58 AM · For: Out of the Closet and into the Fire

Hi! Finally, I came back to your story. It's great you thought of writing how Harry inherited Black's property and Grimmauld Place. As I read many similar scenes to yours, I can tell there are two fabulous spots.

 

First, the scene with Kreacher and Mrs. Black of the portrait. I didn't expect what was coming in the end. Kreacher could persuade Mrs. Black, he made it, he let her accept a new master and a new mistress and was willingly going to retire from the guardian's task.

 

Second, the process how Harry had hard time to say good-bye to Sirius and his left things in his room. I was so moved and clapped my hands in my mind to Harry's decision in your story.

 

I was surprised by the family tree of Potters. I enjoyed the lifting Potter's chest scene and Hermione's remembering her parents in Australia.

 

In both scenes, there are full of love  and banters among Weasley family members including Harry and Hermione.

 

K



Author's Response:

Good to see you back and enjoying my story StarFeather. Many thanks for your comments, they are much appreciated, this was a fun chapter to write and I wanted to include a few things which were a bit different.
Best wishes
Tgfoy



Name: Aurorofthelight (Anonymous) · Date: 20 Nov 2018 07:32 PM · For: Pensieve

Another stellar chapter!  I wouldn't  say there's no progress with Harry's recovery because I sense there is some method in the perceived madness of his  pulling those memories out like he's looking for something specific!  I'm also surprised they aren't taking a  closer look at those Wolfe twins - he may have been trying to tell them something showing the memory of them!  Also enjoyed the development of Dudley into a decent bloke! Keep those chapters coming! :D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D



Author's Response:

Many thanks again for reviewing AurorofthelightAurorofthelight, it is much appreciated. I am glad you enjoyed this chapter. Yes there is progress, but it will take time and chapters to get there, but sometimes things are not easy even in the magical world. 

Best wishes

Tgfoy



Name: Aurorofthelight (Anonymous) · Date: 11 Nov 2018 02:24 PM · For: Those Left Behind

Well this chapter and the last were very intense and heart pounding!  You left a lot hanging in the fire in this one - cliff hangers abounding!  Can't wait to see what's in the memory Harry gave to Ginny!  Maybe a light in a lot of shadows!  :D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D



Author's Response:

Many thanks as always Aurorofthelight. Yes it's all getting a bit dark at the moment and the story has a long ways to go yet.
Best wishes

Tgfoy



Name: Aurorofthelight (Anonymous) · Date: 22 Oct 2018 08:22 PM · For: Yuletide Felicitations

Marvelous chapter and loads of fun!  :D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D



Author's Response:

Once again many thanks for reviewing.

Best wishes

Tgfoy



Submit a Review