Login

Name: crestwood (Signed) · Date: 05 Feb 2019 04:21 AM · [Report This]
Story:Of Bookshelves and Baby Carriers Chapter: Chapter 1

Hi Kayla!! It’s been ages since I’ve read your work, and I am so excited to be back to it.


This is so different than I what I’ve come to expect from you, but I love it. I’ve been known to adore fluffy romance as much as I do the sad stuff, so I’m very here for this gear you’ve slipped into.


I love Remus working at a bookstore, it seems like the sort of cute thing he’d do. I’m so glad that he is immediately smitten with Sirius, because it let’s us skip right into the good stuff! (pining)


I love that Sirius is taking care of Harry and it’s especially nice to see the dramatic irony in Remus thinking he’s his kid even though we all know it isn’t. I just love how Remus is in general, too.


All of the parenthetical asides are SO good - Remus’ inner monologue is amazing and funny and relatable.


Harry is melting my heart and so is Sirius’ wink omg. Also, I can absolutely picture him wearing a Ramones shirt and Docs, honestly I can’t really imagine him wearing anything else.


Sirius is obviously trying to spark up a conversation multiple times in this story and of course Remus is too shy and insecure to even register it! It’s frustrating, but in a good way :) It makes it so that when he finally does come around to realizing that he’s actually reading these things right (yeah, he was totally disappointed dude) that I’m gonna cry and be happy forever. Such a good chapter to start, and I’m extremely excited to see that you’ve gone and finished this already so I can see how it all goes without having to wait!! I'm happy you decided to step out of your comfort zone and give a Muggle AU a chance because you're really good at writing them. Thank you so much for the swap, this was such a good read!

 

Joey



Name: ShadowRose (Signed) · Date: 30 Jan 2019 04:07 AM · [Report This]
Story:Of Bookshelves and Baby Carriers Chapter: Chapter 2

Alright I’m back with a very very last minute menagerie review!

 

So little baby Harry is absolutely the cutest thing ever, I love how excited he gets about the bookstore and everything at all times. Cute baby noises are the best.

 

Ooh okay so I was curious about why Sirius was so intent on finding books about Hinduism, but I think the author’s note really helped explain that. So basically, Sirius seems like he’s trying to learn more about James’ religion - and, as a byproduct, Harry’s? As a result of this chapter, I’m starting to lean more towards the inclination that James and Lily are dead at this point and Sirius has custody, which would explain why a) Sirius has him all the time, b) he’s trying to learn about the religion so that he can teach Harry about his culture when he’s a little older, and c) he gets oddly sad when Harry makes the comment about his appa. 

 

And if that’s the case, can I just say how much I appreciate Sirius being the rockstar of a stand-in dad that he is? First of all, he’s just so good with Harry and I love the way he talks to him - ‘ “Book," Sirius says to him patiently. "With a K, mate." ‘ - and also he’s trying to make sure Harry stays connected with his parents and the world that they (or James, at least) came from.

 

I love that Sirius’ response to Remus’ name is just like “So I'm not the only one of us with a weird name” because I can definitely imagine that being a thing in the Muggle world, because there aren’t quite as many bizarre names. And I love that Remus’ explanation for going back to his first name again was getting into Classics - that makes a lot of sense and totally fits with his whole bookstore vibe as well. 

 

But ohhhhhhh Remus, sweet boy, you’re absolutely SO oblivious to how much Sirius is flirting with you. Honestly, at this rate, Sirius is probably going to have to show up with a neon sign or something and even then, Remus STILL might not get it.

 

I probably won’t make it back for another chapter before the menagerie closes, but I’ll definitely be back for more of this story very soon!!

 

-Taylor

Written for the Magical Menagerie event and January RvG



Name: ShadowRose (Signed) · Date: 29 Jan 2019 11:44 PM · [Report This]
Story:Of Bookshelves and Baby Carriers Chapter: Chapter 1

Hi Kayla! First of all, congrats on finishing this story! Second of all, idk why I’m just now realising that this is a Muggle AU but HECK YES I AM HERE FOR THIS.

 

So just like, first of all, all of Remus’ narration is INCREDIBLE. Seriously, he had me laughing to myself the entire time I was reading this, particularly on the nickname transition from Mr Godlike Beauty to Hot Dad where he’s just internally smacking himself every time he uses the new nickname, and is just convincing himself that he’s made an absolute fool out of himself. Which like, maybe he’s been a little awkward, but he’s definitely being ten times harder on himself in his head than necessary. 

 

And SIRIUS. He’s just so cheeky and I love that he falls somewhere between that bad-boy vibe with the way he’s dressed and the tattoos and piercings, and being a dedicated dad with constantly encouraging Harry and genuinely caring about him. (Which begs the question of what Sirius’ actual role is in Harry’s life - did something still happen to James and Lily in this universe that caused him to get custody, is he just babysitting, or is Harry actually *his* kid in some way? I suppose that’s a question that’ll get answered in an upcoming chapter!)

 

But lol, it is very obvious (except not to Remus, apparently) that Sirius already likes him, at least a little bit, between the obvious smirk/wink thing and the fact that he made sure Remus knew his name and was disappointed that no further interaction happened there. (Side note: “As in the star. Not the adjective.” is perfect omg.)

 

I’m so excited to keep reading this - this first chapter was excellent!!

 

-Taylor

Written for the Magical Menagerie event and January RvG



Name: M C Crocker (Signed) · Date: 29 Jan 2019 02:11 PM · starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Story:Of Bookshelves and Baby Carriers Chapter: Chapter 1

I typically do not ship Wolfstar but I do appreciate some of the Wolfstar stories and this one certainly caught my attention.  

 

This was absolutely adorable. This made me all giddy and fuzzy inside.  I love your pacing in this story and I love how you just pull me into your story in an instant.  I love that you gave Harry brown skin, I always love those kinds of small details.  

 

You have certainly caused me to be curious about what Remus' condition is in this story seeing as this is a Muggle AU but I'm sure you will give more details in later chapters.  I adore the voice you are giving Remus how he keeps calling Sirius all of these unique nicknames.  I think my favorite was "hot dad" particularly when Remus keeps telling himself no and geting upset with himself for the user of that name.  The asides are very amusing to me and makes me smile it just adds a lot of fun quirkiness to the story and Remus as a character here in this story.

 

While I know that Sirius is just a god father, I adore how great of a godfather he is to the little guy.  It just melts my heart and makes me smile.  Of course the end of the chapter gutted me some.  Sirius was dissapointed becuase Remus didn't give Sirius his own name.  It's soo sweet, it is clear that Sirius is interested in Remus even through Remus is not aware of it as he is so exeedinly worried about not leaving a bad impression with Mr. Godlike Beauty.  At least Remus has a name which should help with the nicknames.

 

Honestly, a wonderful job, this first chapter sets up a wonderful promise of a great story ahead.

 

- A Magical Menagerie Review



Name: nott theodore (Signed) · Date: 28 Jan 2019 01:11 AM · [Report This]
Story:Of Bookshelves and Baby Carriers Chapter: Chapter 5

Kayla!  Here for RvG and the Magical Menagerie.

 

EEEEE A HAPPY ENDING!

 

And also, congratulations on finishing your first multi-chaptered story in ages!  I'm proud of you - I know exactly what it feels like not to be able to finish what you're writing, and I'm really happy you managed it today!

 

I feel like me and your Remus would be excellent friends, but also maybe not too helpful for each other.  The overthinking thing is definitely something that I can sympathise with him on, and maybe Peter's right that he's overthinking too much, but try telling anxiety that and actually having it work (if there's a way that it does work, let me know?).  I'm with Remus on the hot chocolate over coffee choice, too.

 

Remus's distraction when he sees Sirius wearing a crop top needs photographing and framing, honestly.

 

I was so, so glad to see Sirius arriving without Harry - not that Harry isn't adorable, of course, but because it meant that he'd taken Remus's suggestions on board.  That conversation was so important for them to have had in the past, and I'm really glad that Sirius took Remus's advice and actually tried to get help - and that he's starting to acknowledge the ways that he's been struggling, and that he needs to face up to things in his past.  But also that part of his speech is confirming that he doesn't want Remus to fix him, because that's so important.

 

That woman rushing into the bookshop and looking for such a niche book made me laugh, though - I've definitely witnessed people in that state of desperation when essay deadlines are looming (and I've been close to it myself once or twice, too).

 

There was something so special and good about Remus and Sirius being so honest with each other before they actually try anything resembling a relationship.  It sets a really good precedent for them going forward, and I loved seeing that.

 

The ending was amazing!  I'm so happy that they got their happy ending, finally (and I did, too, woo!) and the line about the way that Harry just reaches up naturally to hold Remus's hand, which shows just how easily he's fitted into Sirius and Harry's lives, is adorable and perfect.

 

Sian :)



Name: nott theodore (Signed) · Date: 28 Jan 2019 12:11 AM · [Report This]
Story:Of Bookshelves and Baby Carriers Chapter: Chapter 4

Hey Kayla!  RvG and Menagerie :) 

 

I should have known that you couldn't write a Wolfstar without some angst and sadness, shouldn't I?  The summary for this chapter had me worried enough, and it was definitely a rollercoaster to read.  I loved the opening of this chapter, and the easy way that Remus and Sirius are starting to spend more time together, just because they want to, because they like each other, and the way that they're getting closer.  You managed to capture that progression in a couple of lines, and it really set us up for things getting more serious in this chapter - even if you did decide to go and smash my heart into little pieces.  Again.

 

(Honestly, why haven't I learnt by now???)

 

Although of course Remus still hadn't broached the whole 'Whose is the baby?' subject with Sirius, which is kind of a big elephant chilling in the room with them.  When I realised he hadn't tackled it (and to be fair, I can understand why it would be hard to bring up) I could sense that things were going to come to a head here, and I wasn't far wrong.

 

The elation of being asked over to see Sirius and then the way that it all came crashing down, ugh.  MY HEART.

 

The image of Sirius just sobbing with Harry sleeping against him is so sad.  I thought Remus actually dealt with it all really well, all things considered - it's not like he was prepared for a conversation to go along those lines, but he gave Sirius some really good advice.  Babies definitely pick up on moods and emotions, and he has to look after himself before he can really look after Harry.  But the way that Sirius was so desperate to prove he was coping and not wanting to let James and Lily down was just heartbreaking - perfectly in character, but heartbreaking.  I need my happy ending!

 

Sian :)



Name: nott theodore (Signed) · Date: 27 Jan 2019 11:55 PM · [Report This]
Story:Of Bookshelves and Baby Carriers Chapter: Chapter 3

Kayla <3 RvG and Menagerie, etc. etc.

 

I honestly don't know how each chapter of this story somehow manages to be more perfect and adorable than the last one, but guess what?  You've managed it.  This chapter was so cute and fun to read and I kind of want to spend the next few days just reading fluffy, modern Muggle AU Wolfstar to take a break from you breaking our hearts with the rest of your writing.

 

(Please don't break my heart with this story.  Pleeeasssee!!)

 

Remus trying to convince himself not to like Sirius, and then that Sirius wasn't straight, and then that he shouldn't be thinking that because there's no way that Sirius would be interested in him anyway - that poor guy.  His internal monologue was so fun to read and there are so many lines from this that I loved, but it would end up in me just quoting the whole story back at you.  I kind of sympathise with Peter a little bit (and that NEVER happens) in the amount he must have had to hear about this mythical Sirius xD

 

And they run into each other at the supermarket!  And Harry and Sirius are wearing MATCHING SUNGLASSES!  That's both adorable and a little bit heart-breaking, because it just makes me imagine what a great godfather Sirius would have been if he hadn't ended up in Azkaban and could have actually looked after Harry properly.

 

There was so much flirting in this chapter and it was so fun to read, and see the two of them getting to know each other more - the way that they click, with Remus not feeling pressured to share things he's not comfortable about yet, and just feeling comfortable (and simultaneously on edge) in Sirius's company.  But seriously, he needs to learn to spit out a question and just pluck up some of that Gryffindor courage to find out exactly what the situation is with Sirius and baby Harry and the relationship status.

 

Baby Harry melts my heart every chapter <3

 

Sian :)



Name: nott theodore (Signed) · Date: 27 Jan 2019 11:38 PM · [Report This]
Story:Of Bookshelves and Baby Carriers Chapter: Chapter 2

Hi Kayla!  Here for RvG and the Menagerie.

 

I forgot to mention this in my last review, but I'm really intrigued by the way that you have Remus and Sirius meeting here, without any of the context of having known each other before.  Since Sirius is with Harry, I'm assuming that he and James are (were?) friends and Remus is friends with Peter - and even though I don't much like Peter, and I know you don't much like him either, I'm glad you included him.  Remus needs at least one friend to moan to about making a fool of himself in front of cute guys, right?

 

I felt sorry for Remus at the start of this chapter, but I think your choice to replace his lycanthropy with a chronic illness of sorts works really well - unfortunately those invisible disabilities tend to be stigmatised even more than visible ones, a lot of the time.

 

And Sirius came back looking for him!  There was definitely a blush on his cheeks when he let that slip - and even though he came up with a pretty good excuse to cover for it, there's no mistaking the fact that he likes Remus.  If only Remus would actually realise that and let himself believe it.

 

Ugh, this was just SO GOOD.  The sadness that came over Sirius when he was reminded of James and Lily, and Harry's obliviousness to what's happened, and then the little glances and moments shared between him and Remus.  This is so fluffy and fun and I love it.

 

Sian :)



Name: nott theodore (Signed) · Date: 27 Jan 2019 11:27 PM · [Report This]
Story:Of Bookshelves and Baby Carriers Chapter: Chapter 1

Kayla!  Here for RvG and the Magical Menagerie!

 

I honestly thought that I'd at least reviewed SOME of the chapters of this story, rather than just lurking, but apparently not, so here we go.

 

THIS STORY IS SO. DAMN. CUTE.

 

Honestly, it's only the first chapter and I'm not sure that I can handle it already.  I know you're going slightly out of your comfort zone here by writing a modern Muggle AU, but if you ever feel like doing this again, then I can confirm you'll have at least one reader for it.

 

It's no surprise that you've managed to capture both Remus and Sirius's characters perfectly here - I mean, come on, when don't you? - but I really loved seeing the way that you transferred them to a Muggle setting.  Remus working in a bookshop is a very Remus thing to do, and I suspect (from a few details that you slipped in here) that you've replaced his lycanthropy with some form of chronic illness that he struggles with, and that's going to make life difficult and unusual for someone his age.

 

Sirius, too - with his black skinny jeans and earrings and tattooed arms.  And his confidence - that's so Sirius.  Plus he walks in with a baby Harry strapped to his chest!  I mean, come on.  That isn't fair - I suspect I'd be with Remus on the reaction to that.

 

Baby Harry is possibly the most adorable character I've ever read, and maybe your new thing should just be writing him interacting with different members of the Order.  Just a suggestion, if Sirius ever gets on your nerves ;) 

 

The disappointment at the end!  Argh, Sirius was definitely disappointed, and Remus was being his usual self-deprecating self and not noticing the MASSIVE HINTS that Sirius was flirting with him from when he walked into the shop.  I mean, I can kind of see why Remus would think that, with him having a baby, but STILL.  Sort it out, you two!

 

Sian :)



Name: LadyMarauder (Signed) · Date: 27 Jan 2019 08:48 PM · [Report This]
Story:Of Bookshelves and Baby Carriers Chapter: Chapter 5

You've completed this! Although it's a great achievement and all that, I'm sad there's no fluffy Sirius and Remus anymore. I'm terrible at writing this ship (which btw I've never really been into before until recently), so you'll just have to write more. There's no other choice I'm afraid :) 

 


Anyway, could this have been any cuter and fluffier if it tried? I actually LOVED this so much, I can't even tell you. It started with the crop top, because of course Sirius Black has a crop top. He also knows how good he looks in it too. I was pleased to see that he'd taken Remus's advice and gone to see a therapist. The panicky and teary customer looking for the wallpaper book really was brilliant and defused the serious and awkward moment well - also, it's a real article? Amazing attention to detail there!

 


I loved the 3 months later section at the end as it is full of hope and happiness, which is exactly how it should have ended. They're both flawed and a little bit damaged, but the ending gives them a lot of positives to look forward too. I liked that Sirius is doing better every day and that Remus has slotted so well into Harry's life too. All in, this was an adorable, sweet story and I've loved reading it. 

 

Tasha xxx

For Menagerie and RvG -Team Red    



Name: LadyMarauder (Signed) · Date: 27 Jan 2019 08:46 PM · [Report This]
Story:Of Bookshelves and Baby Carriers Chapter: Chapter 4

I called it and I really wish I'd got it wrong. I was really hoping that Sirius was simply Harry's babysitter while James and Lily worked, but obviously that wasn't going to happen, I knew it. My little heart can't take so much cuteness and then this...it was just SO SAD when he was explaining what happened and his eyes were welling up. I can't bare it. Although, I do like that in your version of Sirius's story, he didn't get chucked in prison for something he didn't do and could raise Harry himself rather than going to his racists aunt's. 

 

The moment where Remus let himself in and watched Sirius and Harry dozing was possibly the cutest thing ever. Fluffy, fluff! Also, Remus gave him some super helpful advice about looking after his own mental health that I found myself almost applauding when he was done. This really was written so well - kids definitely pick up on mood, so Remus was spot on there!

 

Also, Sirius admitted he fancies Remus - well of course he does! I'm looking forward to finding out if they ever get a baby-free date, bless them, it seems like something they both need!

 

Tasha - For Menagerie and RvG - Team red x



Name: LadyMarauder (Signed) · Date: 27 Jan 2019 08:44 PM · [Report This]
Story:Of Bookshelves and Baby Carriers Chapter: Chapter 3

Ohmygosh!!! This was the CUTEST thing I've ever read! The whole date was so adorable, but Remus couldn't seem to relax for like a second, bless him. It was obvious Sirius wanted to ask him to hang out even before he said it. I wonder if he's been pining for Remus as he has for him? Ha!

 

The park and picnic date all seemed to happen quite organically though and nothing seemed forced. Like there was no life story given within the first five minutes, giving them the time to get to know each other properly. Well, that bit about Sirius pushing him on the swings made me laugh, they're such dorks, honestly!

 

Even though Remus is dying to find out all about baby Harry and the story about him being a single dad, at least he knows that Sirius is interested in him like he is. Remus is the most awkward guy ever, he's so terrified he's going to make a fool of himself, he just ends up acting even more awkward, bless him. Oh and Harry's getting attached to Remus already - he didn't want him to leave. Babies do have a talent for making you feel really guilty about leaving and Harry seems to have it down to an art! It seems like they're going to make a really sweet - dare I say it - family, one day.

 

Tasha - For Magical Menagerie and RvG Team red xxx



Name: LadyMarauder (Signed) · Date: 27 Jan 2019 08:41 PM · [Report This]
Story:Of Bookshelves and Baby Carriers Chapter: Chapter 2

I was wondering how you were going to write Remus's lycanthrope as something Muggle and I liked what you did here and left it ambiguous. I felt sad that he was so lonely, just watching horror films on his own for a couple of days. I know some people love to do that and just be in their own company, but I just wanted to hug him here, especially when Pete couldn't come and hang out. I love that the others are being brought into this too. I always get a kick out of seeing other characters crop up in AUs.

 

Ohhh and Sirius and Harry came by and Remus wasn't there - how cute! It's so fluffy and lovely already and they know nothing about each other yet. It's so adorable.

 

Also, I love how you bring other cultures into your stories, it's a really interesting aspect to Marauders-centric stories. This one is especially cool as it tells a lot about the characters without necessarily just saying they are a particular religion, or culture. I liked how Harry instantly recognised the book cover. Though Sirius's forced smile makes me think sad things... like are Lily and James dead and Sirius raising Harry? Please don't make me cry, Kayla, I can't take it!!

 

Tasha xxx

For Menagerie and RvG Team red.

 



Name: LadyMarauder (Signed) · Date: 27 Jan 2019 08:37 PM · [Report This]
Story:Of Bookshelves and Baby Carriers Chapter: Chapter 1

Ok so I've been meaning to stop by and read this for ages and since you've updated and completed this, I thought I'd binge read and review! Well, this was about the most adorable thing ever. Poor Remus getting all flustered at the sign of a very pretty face and mop of dark hair drenched by the rain, how very dramatic. Not to mention the little baby, so cute - and IT'S HARRY!! It was hilarious how Remus kept fleeing at the sight of Sirius and getting all embarrassed, he's so awkward and totally relatable. I loved "on the other hand... people" - this is correct, always! Those nicknames - utterly brilliant. Mr Godlike Beauty was a particular highlight. 

 

I loved the setting of this in a bookstore, it's just so Remus, even though he does seem a little fed up. The fact that Sirius told Remus his name as he left makes me think he already likes him a little, because that generally doesn't happen really. I liked his little explanation about his name too, just in case he didn't get it. So I think they're going to meet again sooooon! Love it.

 

Tasha - For Menagerie and RvG -Team red.



Name: Tammi (Anonymous) · Date: 27 Jan 2019 06:52 PM · [Report This]
Story:Of Bookshelves and Baby Carriers Chapter: Chapter 1

Oh my god I am already in love with this! I'm too excited t even sign in under my pen name haha 

I can't wait to read more! This is literally the first harry potter fan fiction I've read I  a very long time, and I'm so glad that it's your story that has gotten me hooked again

 

Love it!



Name: Crimson Quill (Signed) · Date: 27 Jan 2019 05:49 PM · [Report This]
Story:Of Bookshelves and Baby Carriers Chapter: Chapter 5

 

Hey!

 

I'm so happy that you finished this! It's so exciting, it doesn't disappoint either!

 

I love how everything is so perfectly them, It didn't feel over dramatic and crazy like final kiss scene but it feels so loyal to the characters that you've created. Remus is such an adorable human being I really love everything about his characterisation that you've done it this story. I'm so obsessed with how dorky is but I really like  his overthinking. I mean who doesn't go from 'I'm not going to date him to I'm going to die alone' in like a milli second. 

 

you've made me love these characters so much, you've written so well. you've taken element of them from canon but also made them your own. Sirius in a crop top, Remus's favourite jumper. I like how you addressed  the last chapter and Sirius is getting help now which was really nice. I love little name drops of Marlene and Mary too.

 

The ending is the bloody best because it's all just so normal like two people just living life together. Love is about the everyday things and helping each other through whatever life throws at you. You've shown that perfectly. I'm so happy that we got to see Harry in the final scene. I was missing him a bit in the main chapter but I love his cameo.

 

this was my favourite wolfstar that I've read.

 

- Abbi xo

 

Magical Menagerie/RvG

 



Name: Crimson Quill (Signed) · Date: 14 Jan 2019 06:47 PM · [Report This]
Story:Of Bookshelves and Baby Carriers Chapter: Chapter 4

 

Hey Kayla,

 

thank you for the warning for this chapter! It was just wonderful but has you reaching for the tissues because I think you've done a great job at making these two cute and relatable so I feel really invested in their story.

 

I thought the emotions in this chapter were totally spot on because it wasn't some crazy scene. It was just a guy grieving in his own way, it feels perfect because he didn't want to show these emotions too but opening up didn't feel over dramatic. It was emotional and sad but it felt so real. I thought it was just wonderful and it was in fitting with the tone of the rest of the story (thought this was a sad bit obviously!)

 

Sirius was so adorable and this is the type of godfather that I know that he would have been to Harry if things have been different in canon. I love getting a look into his life as a godfather but it does make me very sad that Lily and James aren't around especially Harry is so cute but he is lucky to have Sirius there. 

 

I thought Remus' thought process was really well done. It flowed really nicely and I think that all of those thoughts just came across natural. He is still a huge awkward dork but it worked. He was unsure of himself and the situation but he was just perfect in the role that Sirius needed him to be which is why I know they'll be great partners together. 

 

I NEED THEIR HAPPY EVER AFTER. THEY DESERVE IT. I NEED CLOSURE.

 

great job on this chapter!

 

- Abbi xo

 

For: Magical Menagerie 

 



Name: Crimson Quill (Signed) · Date: 13 Jan 2019 10:31 PM · [Report This]
Story:Of Bookshelves and Baby Carriers Chapter: Chapter 3

 

Hey Kayla!

 

I'm back for more, I've really loved this chapter, They moved away from the bookshop but it was so cute. I'm basically dying right now from this story being beyond adorable. I just love how natural it is, it's just some guy living his life, doing normal stuff. It works really well. I love how you've moved their relationship forward in such a believable way (but in awkwardly Remus way!)

 

I thought it was really interesting that we got to see a bit more of Remus' life in this chapter. It's cool to see him opening up to Sirius about some of the tougher stuff in his life. I can really relate to him when he talks about being at uni and not having stuff under control anymore. I think you're going down in interesting route with that plotline and looking forward to getting to know Remus better. I'm really proud of him that he opened up though.

 

THEY ARE BEYOND CUTE. just roirhnioehoribr that was an excitable crazy keyboard smash btw. Just Sirius asking for his number, Remus being dorky cute then THE HEART <3 OMG OMG. MARRY HIM. I ship them so hard rn.

 

I need more of them in my life!

 

- Abbi xo

 

For: Magical Menagerie

 



Name: Crimson Quill (Signed) · Date: 13 Jan 2019 10:05 PM · [Report This]
Story:Of Bookshelves and Baby Carriers Chapter: Chapter 2

 

Hey Kayla!

 

I'm back, yay. 

 

I thought this chapter was really interesting and I'm really wondering how you're going to tackle some of the issues in canon in a muggle way but you seem to have hinted about some things that are going on. I thought the first section had some relation to him having an health issue which is equivalent to his werewolfism (totally not a word) but it's cool that you're building on Remus' character having that detail.

 

I need the heart shaped eyes emoji for a lot of this chapter. Sirius came back looking for him. He is totally interested in Remus! his excuse is totally lame about why he came back again but I love it. They are dorks for each other and I'm here for it. I adore that little bonding moment over their 'weird' names too. Another detail but I really like how Sirius is kinda referring to Harry as a friend. '"With a K, mate." because my husband  talks to Leo like that so I feel this in my real life.

 

I really like that you're keeping your headcanon even in this AU setting. I saw a quick thing about how the next chapter is going to be sad. I think that is hinted at quite strongly in this chapter with Harry (being adorable) recognising images in the book. It was super sweet and I'm really interested to know the context of all of that. 

 

- Abbi xo

 

For: Magical Menagerie 

 



Name: Crimson Quill (Signed) · Date: 13 Jan 2019 09:27 PM · [Report This]
Story:Of Bookshelves and Baby Carriers Chapter: Chapter 1

 

Hey Kayla!

 

So you're known for being an amazing angsty writer but it's so awesome see you reading fluff here. I'm excited to be here as it's been a story that I've been meaning to review for a while!

 

This story gives me huge Notting Hill vibes. I love it. I don't know if you've seen it before? I love that movie and I just love the idea that Remus is working in this little bookshop. Just watching the people going by, I totally understand that feeling of watching people in the rain and just thinking 'mwhaha' at least it's not me. 

I thought you've made Remus is relatable character because I love how awkward he is with Sirius. He is such a dork but I love it so much. His inner monologue is so wonderful because he is so funny and I just think that we've all been there right? trying to be cool in front of the hot guy/girl. I just love awkward situation humour as I was just IN LOVE with this whole chapter basically.

 

I love the description that you've used in this chapter, I think you've done a great job at describing Sirius, I totally imagine him and I can see why Remus is more than interested. I thought you had a lovely description of Harry, he sounds so adorable. He is just a beautiful baby, I love that he picks out Dr Seuss book because Leo has Dr Seuss books. I thought that detail was just so sweet. I love Harry's characterisation even though he's a baby. he seems like a happy chap.

 

I'm really looking forward to seeing more of hot Sirius and awkwardly adorable Remus along with little baby Harry. 

 

- Abbi xo

 

For: Magical Menagerie 

 



Name: Unwritten Curse (Signed) · Date: 08 Dec 2018 06:07 PM · [Report This]
Story:Of Bookshelves and Baby Carriers Chapter: Chapter 2

Hi! I'm back to review more of this story... finally. Sorry it took me so long. It's just as wonderful as I remember it, though. <3

 

"Maybe his life is kind of sad and boring. So sue him." - HA! That made me laugh.

 

Okay, so this chapter explores his "furry little problem" a bit more. I'm still not convinced I know what's going on here, but if this is connected to "silence. death.," then I am suddenly very sad.

 

REMUS. Gosh, I want to shake some sense into him! Of course Sirius came back to see you and of course he's flirting with you! Poor guy is a bit clueless, or maybe he just can't accept the fact that this guy he's falling for is also falling for him. I think Sirius is going to have to convince him that he's serious (okay, I really didn't mean for that pun, but I'm leaving it now) before Remus will accept that it's real. And I am going to freak out when it happens.

 

I'm not entirely sure what Harry was pointing to when he mentioned his dad, but it felt bittersweet. I wonder what happened to James in this version. I'm assuming he is gone, along with Lily, but I'm curious to see your interpretation in this AU.

 

It's so nice to read more of your writing. I always enjoy it. Happy holidays!

 

--Gina



Name: StarFeather (Signed) · Date: 12 Oct 2018 12:34 AM · starstarstarstarhalf-star [Report This]
Story:Of Bookshelves and Baby Carriers Chapter: Chapter 4

Hi, Kayla. It’s my pleasure that I could stop by your Sirius-Remus ship after my story challenge. I read through 4 chapters. You have carefully written how they meet in the AU world. Your plot is good, Remus works at the bookshop and Sirius happens to visit there with baby Harry under the circumstances, heavy rain and seeking for fun places for Harry.

 

The story is told from Lupin’s POV, I feel like he is you who loves Sirius so passionately. :D It’s a great thing that you focus on writing about Sirius. I smiled at each mind movement you wrote, sometims mumbling, "Go for it, Remus. Sirius likes you." And then my guess is right. Sirius fancies Remus. 

 

However, the thing is not simple. There lies the fact, James and Lily died in a car (accident?) and Sirius has been suffering from the loss but he can’t heal himself caring for Harry's happiness. Oh, the idea came up. Were Harry’s parents killed by bad guys just like J.K.Rowling's basic plot? Then another mystery will begin from here? :D :D (hahaha, I am going back to Auror's Tale Host mood.) 

 

You are adept at writing suffering people. I am curious to know how you will develop the story from the next chapter. :D

Keep writing, Kayla!

K

 



Name: justawillowtree (Signed) · Date: 05 Jul 2018 04:37 AM · [Report This]
Story:Of Bookshelves and Baby Carriers Chapter: Chapter 3

Hi hi! <3

 

Remus is me anytime I develop a new crush lmfao. “It’s just… like, yeah, he’s ridiculously beautiful, but he’s also so… nice?” is so funny because I feel that in my soul omg. Anyway, aside from Remus’s extensive Sirius daydreams and thoughts, I’m really curious, too, about the truth of the situation behind Sirius taking care of Harry.

 

SIRIUS WENT TO REMUS’S GROCERY STORE AHAHAHA. REMUS, YOU ARE THE LUCKIEST MAN TO HAVE EVER EXISTED. And he brought Harry!!!!!!!!!!!! (I am so so sorry for the excessive exclamation marks, but omg anytime I think I can’t possibly love Harry more, I do. Because MATCHING SUNGLASSES?? I’m like over here having a seizure just imagining a chubby little baby wearing sunglasses. Also I’d like to apologize for the excessive caps lock usage, as well. I should really tone that done.)

 

Oh my god did Sirius just ask Remus out?? I mean, I guess not, because Harry’s going to be here, but still! Also I need Remus to get into his head that he can totally do this. *smacks* Look how smitten Sirius is even with Remus acting like a totally awkward introvert, and now imagine what he’d be like once Remus gets used to interacting with him.

 

“Swawbees” I SWEAR EVERY TIME HARRY TALKS I DIE OF HAPPINESS.

 

That entire park scene gave me so much joy. Sirius is such a good father figure?? I just. I need time to recover from this omg. First of all. Let’s appreciate how cute Harry is, and how amazingly you’ve written him. If you have any other stories featuring adorable babies, just send them my way because I will read tf out of them. Second of all. That conversation between Sirius and Remus was the greatest thing ever (Wolfy McWolf lmfaooo).

 

Oh my god I just realized I’ve been smiling like mad at my screen for the past who knows how long, and I can’t seem to stop smiling?? That bit when Sirius was trying to get Remus’s number and he was being Awkward was so funny, I don’t know how you do it. This story is just so good?? And I can’t wait to read more of it. I love it so much, and I’m so thankful you managed to get three chapters in before I started judging!

 

Thank you for entering this in my challenge!

 

~Eva



Name: justawillowtree (Signed) · Date: 05 Jul 2018 04:19 AM · [Report This]
Story:Of Bookshelves and Baby Carriers Chapter: Chapter 2

Hi, I’m back! <3

 

I don’t know what it is exactly that Remus has, but I hope that he doesn’t suffer too much from it. At the very least, I hope he takes care of himself (though, to be fair, I’d also probably spend half an hour whining to a friend about embarrassing mistakes, so I can’t really blame him for forgoing the hot bath).

 

Also I love that Remus was expecting a nice and normal and boring afternoon, because I was 200% prepared for Sirius to walk through that door and surprise Remus with his re-existence, and he did! And I was happy! And I’m sure Remus was utterly delighted as well. I was made even happier by the fact that Harry was, once again, there with Sirius! Strapped to his chest, again!!! (I love baby Harry so so much. I think my love for babies is becoming a slight problem in the face of productivity tbh.)

 

“Buh!” I LOVE HIM. I LOVE HIM SO MUCH. CAN I JUST. ADOPT HARRY.

 

(Maybe I should be focusing on the more plot-related point, which is that Sirius actually came in looking for Remus! As soon as Remus called out of work sick I had a feeling that Sirius was going to miss him, and I’m just flailing at this development. But also baby Harry is so so so cute and of course I have to give him a bunch of love.)

 

That entire little dialogue between Sirius and Remus about their names just made my day.

 

Oh. Oh, my heart broke a little bit just now. Because Sirius is getting these books on Hinduism to teach Harry about his father’s culture, right? And for a second, I genuinely hoped that James and Lily survived and were available to take care of Harry, and that Sirius was just babysitting Harry…but as soon as Harry said “like appa” I felt like crying a bit. Of course I’m speculating a bit, and I’m curious to see what happens further on.

 

Wow I never knew I could love a story this much. The combination of flirtatious Sirius, awkward Remus, and baby Harry just makes this so, so perfect omg. <3

 

~Eva



Name: justawillowtree (Signed) · Date: 05 Jul 2018 03:59 AM · [Report This]
Story:Of Bookshelves and Baby Carriers Chapter: Chapter 1

Kayla! <3

 

I’m here judging entries for my challenge! Thank you so much for entering.

 

First off, that summary is just plain adorable, and so is your title. I’d be dying to read this even if it wasn’t written for my challenge, just from the way your story shell is presented haha. Second off, your Remus omg. Okay. The snark that saturates his internal dialogues is so completely, utterly perfect, and he is literally the most relatable person ever, from “From the safety of the small bookshop where he works, Remus Lupin watches the scene outside with a mild sense of pity” (because yes it’s sad that they’re getting so wet, but at least you’re dry, amirite) to “On one hand, he’s desperately bored of looking at tacky, painfully heterosexual cover art; on the other hand… people” (people are, in fact, my greatest enemy and I do my best to avoid them at all costs).

 

Also the fact that Remus works in a bookshop! That’s literally my dream job right there, I would kill to work in a bookshop.

 

Remus’s reaction to Sirius had me smiling so much. The description of Sirius (alive and well, yay! I’m never going to be over Sirius’s death in the books, never, nope) had me smiling so much too. THE BABY STRAPPED TO SIRIUS’S CHEST?? KILLED ME. I LOVE BABIES. IS IT BABY HARRY? I LOVE BABY HARRY EVEN MORE. Also Remus’s reaction to seeing pretty Sirius is literally the exact same reaction I had once walking into class and bumping into literally the most gorgeous girl I’ve ever seen in my life. He is so relatable omg.

 

After having now read the description of baby Harry, I can confirm that it is, indeed, baby Harry. Also MR GODLIKE BEAUTY OMFG. Remus, get it together. *smacks* You totally have a chance with this guy, but you have to, like. Talk. (Also I’m literally the most juvenile person ever but the children’s sections of bookstores and libraries are always my absolute favorite places to be; I just feel so happy and calm in them, and so your description of the bookshop’s children’s section made me feel all warm and cozy inside. And then the way baby Harry reacted to it!! My heart just about melted.)

 

HOT DAD I’M CRYING. And literally anything baby Harry does, I just want to give him the biggest hug ever. I. Love. Him.

 

Oh, no, is Remus sick? The walk up the stairs carrying the books tired him out a lot. :(

 

SIRIUS PLAYING WITH BABY HARRY. SIRIUS LOOKING OVER AT REMUS AND WINKING. SIRIUS FLIRTING WITH REMUS??? I’M DEAD. (Also, when Harry said “Buh!” I was pretty much just melting into a puddle in my seat. Have I mentioned I love babies and when they attempt words? I love them. And you write them so well I’m crying.)

 

Oh, yes, Remus. Sirius definitely looked disappointed at the lack of further interaction. Who wouldn’t fall in love with a tragic mess like yourself?

 

I love this omg.

 

~Eva



Submit a Review