Login
Reviews For Amortentia

Name: Chemical_Pixie (Signed) · Date: 21 Oct 2018 10:20 PM · starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Story:Amortentia Chapter: potions class

Hallo! Guten Tag! Wie geht's?! ;)

 

Here for the HC Maze Event, with a review on a story featuring the Hogwarts dungeons. 

 

This is exactly the piece of fluff that I needed to read today! Even before reading your author's note, I envisioned the comic you credited, and I was beaming the whole time!

 

I really like your characterization of Lily. Flustered from her Head Girl duty (in combination with the horror that comes with the whole Death Eater ideology), she's determined to catch up with what's she's missed (though, she doesn't need to worry because 1. she's brilliant and 2. Slughorn adores her), but at the same time, she becomes distracted by the scent of a certain Gryffindor boy... too perfect! And her embarrassment is priceless. 

 

And James! He's exactly how I imagined him: with a stupid grin growing on his face as Lily unwittingly goes on about his colonge and broomstick polish. How he pulls Lily out of her embarrassment. His flirting (and her closing response, omg, it's all so perfect!)

 

If Slughorn wasn't invited to their wedding, they owe him a great debt. This whole fic is cute, well written, and a great way to get me to smile. Well done! :)



Name: SolitarySorceress (Signed) · Date: 17 Sep 2018 05:38 PM · starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Story:Amortentia Chapter: potions class
Hello there!
I'm Maggie, aka SolitarySorceress on the forums. I don't know you much so I thought it's best to start out by reading and reviewing your stories, after all it's time for Interhouse Camaraderie.
Jily is my one and only OTP. So, it goes without saying, that reading this one-shot was great fun. Co-incidentally, I had seen the comic by wingedcorgi on tumblr earlier. And though it has been sometime since I saw that comic, reading your one-shot brought it to the forefront of my mind and I could see those pictures in front of my eyes clearly.
I really loved your descriptions, they just felt so appropriate and painted just the picture you wanted to. The description of Lily panting, with one hand at her side and other at her knee was something which stood out for me. It was a single line, yet made me go 'oooh!' at your description. 
The other awesome thing that caught my attention was the behaviour of Hufflepuff and Slytherin other than what is typically expected of them. Kudos for depicting that not every Slytherin is a pure-blood supremacist, there definitely must be Muggleborn Slytherins as well. :D
And need I say anything about my babies? :D They were both so sweet and lovely. Loved Lily's irritated rambling, which actually turned out to be a confession, and loved every bit of James's reaction to it. But, the real surprise for me was the bold statement Lily delivered at the end. That's something I can totally imagine Lily saying, with a mischevious glint in her eye and a smirk of her own. Haha! :D
Totally loved this one-shot! I can't wait to read all your other Jily stories.
xoxo Maggie
For House Cup 2018-2019 Opener


Name: PaulaTheProkaryote (Signed) · Date: 26 Aug 2018 12:11 AM · starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Story:Amortentia Chapter: potions class

YES! THANK YOU FOR GRACING US WITH THIS JILY CUTENESS!


 


Okay, not to oversell my enthusiasm for this story but it might have been one of the cutest, fluffiest little Jilys I've read in forever. I think I validated it (?) and was obsessed with it or maybe I just read it and meant to come back and review but then never did. It was adorable though.


 


First of all I love how the fight that she'd broken up had been a prejudiced Hufflepuff against the Slytherin muggleborn because it's so typically the opposite situation. I had to do a double take while reading it!


 


Lily not paying any attention to the lesson until she's loudly complaining about smelling James is just...the best. It's everything I've ever wanted out of life. Not to mention her sheer irritation to it.


 


Smug James is the best James. Embarrassed Lily is definitely the best Lily. I know that calling her attitude a YOLO attitude makes me one of the despicable sort to modern society, but I really love the YOLO attitude she puts out there once she realizes that she's already embarrassed herself enough so she might as well just go all the way with it. Atta girl!


 


Again, thank you for the masterpiece that this story was!


 



Name: Tantrum (Signed) · Date: 19 Aug 2018 11:10 PM · [Report This]
Story:Amortentia Chapter: potions class

First off, let me say I love James/Lily stories. I liked the ending too where she decided “she might as well do it properly”. Hear, hear, girl! Go big or go home! Good job! ‘🏼



Name: justawillowtree (Signed) · Date: 18 Aug 2018 04:32 AM · [Report This]
Story:Amortentia Chapter: potions class

UM HOW CUTE IS THIS?? I have not seen the original comic that this story was based on but I shall be searching it up immediately after reviewing. (Tumblr has a bunch of phenomenal James/Lily artists, doesn’t it? I’ve spent hours scrolling through the Jily tag before just marveling at everything. If you know of any cool artists let me know! I’d greatly appreciate it. <3)

 

It’s so convenient how Lily was made to be late because of a conflict between the Slytherin and the Hufflepuff. I feel like logistically, that’s kinda impossible, given how JKR herself said that Hufflepuff was the House with the strongest anti-Voldemort feelings, and also because I feel like Slytherin House wouldn’t have a particularly outspoken Muggle-born lol. But anyway, it was an interesting situation for you to have come up with! BUT I GOT SIDETRACKED, what I meant to say was that it’s super convenient that Lily missed the explanation of Amortentia, because the scene that follows was absolutely adorable.

 

Like, she just outright criticized James for wearing too much cologne without realizing she was giving herself away, and that’s just hilarious. And the fact that she still didn’t realize what was going on and then went on about his broomstick (er, that was phrased badly but you know what I mean). Like, that’s adorable. And then when James is just smiling at her because he’s just so delighted at the fact that clueless Lily just confessed to him?? And their banter afterwards???

 

So cute. (Though if I were Lily I’d have been obsessed with the concept of Amortentia long before class even covered it haha.)

 

Great job!

 

Eva

 

[Quadpot – “Friends to Lovers”]



Name: dirigibleplums (Signed) · Date: 15 Aug 2018 03:20 PM · starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Story:Amortentia Chapter: potions class

Hi there!

 

I've seen this prompt around tumblr a fair bit in the past and I never quite realised how good it would be for Jily until I read this. Seriously, I was squealing as I realised just what was going on seconds before Lily herself did - partly because I am a bit of a sucker for fluff and partly because of secondhand embarrassment. I could never be in Lily's position, basically announcing to the entire class who exactly I fancy. Especially since she's sat right next to James as well. How mortifying!

 

I love how she bounced back from it though. What a closing line! Lily really is That Girl who owns her embarrassing situations, I love a queen.

 

This is a cute little piece and exactly what I needed for today, but I have to say I did appreciate the hints of darker times you included what with Voldemort's rhetoric influencing the students to the point where Lily has to break up a duel between a couple of them. I think it was really interesting that you chose to make the supporter a Hufflepuff while the Muggleborn was the Slytherin because it really turned the entire 'Slytherins are always the bad guys and Hufflepuffs are fluffy creatures' stereotype on its head entirely. A nice touch, really. 

 

But I have to admit my favourite part was the dynamic between James and Lily. I absolutely love it when James teases her and how red she turns. They're too cute.

 

Plums <3

 

Quodpot Review: Match 1 - Friends to Lovers



Name: Crimson Quill (Signed) · Date: 13 Aug 2018 06:41 PM · [Report This]
Story:Amortentia Chapter: potions class

 

Hello,

 

So this is so adorable! I love that fact that it's the hufflepuff and slytherin have their roles reversed from the stereotype which I really like that about this piece and it's only a minor detail in this story!

 

I loved what you've done here, it's really sweet way of telling their story and I think it's a really unique take on the whole situation really. I think of Lily as quite a proud and headstrong character so admitting she liked him was going to take something special. I think it's only short but you've nailed the characterisation for Lily here. it's very much like I imagine her and ties in with canon. I think that James is very cheeky here too but again his reaction just says it all about how smitten he is! It was a beautifully written little scene there. A lovely read for a Jily shipper!

 

I feel for Lily because this moment is one of those ones where you want the ground to swallow you up but Lily's end comment is very suggestive like I assume it's like suppose to be playful? over the top? I'm not sure on it but it is one hell of a last line either way.

 

- Abbi xo

 

Quodpot - Match 1 - Friends to Lovers

 



Name: facingthenorthwind (Signed) · Date: 13 Aug 2018 11:51 AM · [Report This]
Story:Amortentia Chapter: potions class

Hello! I'm here to give you the full complement of houses for Quodpot, Match 1 (friends to lovers). It's a shame that you can't link to the comic because it was also super cute, but this fic is a delight and matches the cuteness but in words!

 

I love the detail that it was a Muggleborn Slytherin vs an evil Hufflepuff -- I know I would unthinkingly just switch them, but you've put thought into subverting expectations and I love it. (Also I want to hear more about that Muggleborn Slytherin.) I also love that Slughorn doesn't give a flying fig about her being late -- that's such classic Slughorn favouritism! Godddd, I'd SEEN the comic and I still yelled when she asked James how much cologne he was wearing. QUIETER, PLEASE, my second-hand embarrassment can't take this!! AND THEN IT GETS WORSE. 

 

Thank God Slughorn finally put a stop to that or I would have expired from sheer embarrassment. Someone Help Lily Evans. BUT THEN. But then James whispering in her ear and putting his arm around her is the cutest thing EVER and I can picture it perfectly in my head because you've written this SO WELL aaaaah. 

 

And the way Lily is like "eh, may as well hang for a sheep as a lamb" and just doubles down on giving Far Too Much Information about her private life to the entire potions class is… well it sure is a choice she made. I can absolutely see her doing it, peak Gryffindor, why are these children like this!!! 

 

Anyway, I loved this fic and it was a perfect encapsulation of the comic and a delightful little snippet. It was the perfect length, too! Thank you for writing it!




Name: Nix (Signed) · Date: 13 Aug 2018 01:12 AM · starstarstarstarhalf-star [Report This]
Story:Amortentia Chapter: potions class

Hello! Nix here!

I loved this one-shot! It was very short and too the point which is nice and refreshing, but that spicy yet abrupt ending definitely made me wish there was more to the story.

This story was very interesting to me, first off, I was quite surprised that Lily was caught up in breaking up a fight between a Hufflepuff and a Slytherin where the Hufflepuff was the one supporting Voldemort in his cause. I've never read a story where a Hufflepuff had done this and so it was nice to see that for once the Slytherin wasn't made out to be the bad guy. 

It was also nice to see a story in which Lily isn't the perfect girl she's typically portrayed to be. I'm so used to seeing her as always flawless in appearance, always early to class, and attentive to her professors when they are teaching so it was nice to see her in a position where her appearance is a wreck and she's late to class and just overly discomposed, distressed, and distracted. I loved how since she completely ignored Slughorn's lecture and the potion they're discussing in general, she embarrasses herself by unintentionally giving away her feelings for James in front of everyone in the class. 

And also unlike the typical Lily, she decided not to fight what everyone else already seemed to know. So instead of refusing her feelings, she openly admits them by flirting back with James! I love it! Although, I am quite curious as to how loud she said her last sentence and if anyone else heard it. 

This was such a cute story, I wish I'd known more of there backstory before this moment, but it was a great read anyway. It was wonderfully written to boot. Great job!

xxNix

This review is for the Quodpot, Match One (Friends to Lovers).



Name: javu (Signed) · Date: 12 Aug 2018 11:31 PM · starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Story:Amortentia Chapter: potions class

Oh my goodness, I love it! It's absolutely adorable!! They are so cute.



Name: Phoenix Potioneer (Signed) · Date: 12 Aug 2018 11:15 PM · starstarstarstarhalf-star [Report This]
Story:Amortentia Chapter: potions class

Hello! This review is for Quodpot, match one (friends to lovers theme).

 

I really like how right at the beginning of the story, you turn house stereotypes around on its head. The immediate thought at hearing a Hufflepuff and Slytherin dueling would be that the Slytherin would be doing something bad, and the Hufflepuff would be doing something good. But, nope! The Hufflepuff liked Voldemort, and the Slytherin muggleborn was in the right. Despite me being a Hufflepuff myself, I highly respect this.

 

As soon as you mention a "strong smell" and Lily being slightly disgusted by it, I IMMEDIATELY new it was Amortentia. That is just golden. She's the only person in the class, probably, who doesn't know this because she wasn't listening.

 

I also find it funny how Lily was the only one who didn't look dreamy or have a stupid grin on her face. I understand why; it's just amusing.

 

Poor Lily. She was just outed for having a crush she didn't even realize she had to said crush and the entire class. I don't blame her for sliding down in her seat.

 

"Someone let out a wolf whistle." Five galleons says it was Sirius who let out the wolf whistle.

 

I love how Lily utters the phrase "for the love of Dumbledore". Is Dumbledore part of wizarding euphenisms now? If so, yes! Love it.

 

Lastly, I love Lily's final line, where she's basically like, "Oh well. Cat's out of the bag." She's just taking advantage of the opportunity to flirt.

 

Great story! It was cute, adorable, and gave me all the James/Lily feels. Loved it!



Name: starbuck (Signed) · Date: 12 Aug 2018 06:34 PM · starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Story:Amortentia Chapter: potions class

Quodpot Match 1 - Friends to Lovers


i love how you made the hufflepuff a voldemort supporter instead of the slytherin, and made the slytherin muggleborn - it's unexpected and adds a dose of hilarity right at the start, or well, not hilarity but originality and creativity?


and omg, lily is being silly - she could arrive at the end of slughorn's class and he'd still adore her :D


it was a great idea to have lily be so distracted by first breaking up the duel between students, running to potions and then be completely oblivious to the actual lesson to miss amortentia haha! i loved it when she just casually yelled at unsuspecting james, accidentally (and unknowingly)  admitting she fancies him. and of course james immediately started grinning because how long has he been waiting for that?!?!


and then slughorn being the absolute king of creating awkward and/or embarrassing situations (but also funny) and exposing lily's feelings to, like, all of hogwarts if they didn't already know it anyway!


james is also being really smooth, and yes!!! obviously potions class is exactly the place where you start acting like a couple, that's totally acceptable.

wow that last line is perfect! lily taking charge and actually admitting her feelings and being so open about them is awesome!


loved reading this!! it was lovely and fluffy and made me smile :D


kris



Name: TreacleTart (Signed) · Date: 12 Aug 2018 06:21 PM · [Report This]
Story:Amortentia Chapter: potions class

Hey there!

 

Dropping by a review for Quodpot Match 3! 

 

I always wondered how Lily and James started dating. This is a sweet and amusing way to envision it. How embarrassing for Lily who is usually so clever and astute to accidentally blurt out her love for him. I had a good chuckle as I realized what was happening. And of course Slughorn just let it all happen. 

 

I do find it a bit out of character that at some point she wouldn’t have picked up on it being Amortentia. I know they’re just learning about it, but Slughorn talks about what a great potions maker Lily is and I imagine she’d read up prior to clases. I guess maybe since she was so flustered by being late it just didn’t occur to her.

 

It does seem like a bit of a stretch to me that she’d be so suggestive at the end. I could see her wanting a good song, but it seems like a very rapid progression for her to go from being so modest to suggesting they get into bed together. I would imagine there would be more of a build up. Kisses, dates, song sessions, etc. before they jumped into bed together.

 

Overall, I thought this was a sweet and amusing story. Nice job! 

 

~Kaitlin 



Submit a Review