Login
Reviews For Complex

Name: Crimson Quill (Signed) · Date: 14 Mar 2019 09:30 PM · [Report This]
Story:Complex Chapter: Complexity #14

 

Hey Taylor,

 

I'm seriously feeling for Abby in the chapter. you've written it so much because it's really realistic that she isn't talking to anyone about her problems because James and her have always seen as the perfect couple to their friends. It's really difficult to reach out for help and support because you have to admit that you're not ok. I think that would be such issue that Abby would struggle with. She is pretty stubborn so its something that would be hard for her. You've captured all of those emotions.

 

It's great to see the comeback of Dom. At the risk of sounding way too much like Deni - this story could do with more Dom and her friendship with Abby. I know that Abby loves Caroline but I think there is something that stands out about their friendship. Dom is such a fun character, I think she's good for Abby. They bounce off each other so well. Who doesn't like giving their friends advice that they won't take themselves? 

 

It was really cool to see just a big cast of characters in this chapter. It's really big stregth of yours how you can balance such a cast. Everyone feels different and has their own clear voices. Everyone had a little starring role, I forgot a bit about Scorpius and Rose appeared in this story honestly so it was nice to have Scorpius back even if he is just announcing that they're moving away. 

 

YAYYYYY. FREDDIE AND CAROLINE. I'M SO HERE FOR THIS SHIP. They are totally my ship like I really love them together. They are totally obsessed with each other really and I love it. I was so excited to her back so I'm looking forward to see them being all adorable together (because someone has to be happy in this story right?! :P)

 

Poor Abby. I do feel for her as she is just wandering the streets in a hell of her own making basically. I think James and her need seriously talk! I know the Potchester meltdown is going to be epic and I know that you'll really kill that chapter/s but I'm not ready for it. It's all too much for me! I miss my babies from Complicated! I do love how Complex is such more grown up, there is real progression in their ages and relationship but the elements of Complicated is still there.

 

I've been meaning to say this but I'm not sure if I feel weird about commenting on it but I think you write smut well. like some of it is really smutty but it's not like cringe/embarrassing either (which I kinda find smut often is??) ha ha!

 

anywayy... RVG FOR MARCH YEAH. :)

 

 

- Abbi xo

 



Name: javu (Signed) · Date: 14 Mar 2019 02:23 AM · [Report This]
Story:Complex Chapter: Complexity #7

And from the first sentence, we're back to conflict yay! And I am back for part two of your requested review and for RvG March. 

 

I love how Abby fakes knowing who the Quidditch player is. Not only is it hilarious, but I totally relate. I do the same thing with sports names and celebrities hahaha.

 

I'm kinda impressed by Harry and the rest. Harry announces that there might be another war, and he just continues on in his speech. Abby gets tight-chested, but other than that, it's all business.

 

Markus Clark. He seems good. It's hilarious that he's the guy Louis was flirting with on New Years. I'm curious about his background. Harry said MACUSA has experience with dealing with similar things. What similar things? I'm surprised that Abby opened up to him so fast. I feel like that's not quite like her. Or maybe Markus is just one of those people that once they tell you you can open up you just end up spilling your soul. Markus must be fairly observant as well. He noticed that Abby's mind went somewhere else for a second or two. Markus has some solid advice though -- don't get involved in people's love life. That is a good nugget, and I'm going to take that with me thank you very much.

 

Those last few lines were gold! Pretending to be fake dating haha. It's nice to see that they haven't lost the spark and can still flirt and joke around like that. 

 

One thing I recently noticed as part of your writing style is that you'll have a character talking, and then they abruptly start talking about something else. For example: "Good evening, gorg - ow, what was that for?" I noticed the same technique in the previous chapter too. This is an awesome way of showing and not telling. Through dialogue alone, I could tell that Abby hit James. That's pretty dope when you think about it. I like it as a way of expressing something. I'm going to definitely use that in my writing now.

 

Aubrey



Name: javu (Signed) · Date: 13 Mar 2019 09:54 PM · [Report This]
Story:Complex Chapter: Complexity #6

Hey Taylor! Here for your requested review and I'm gonna tag on RvG March as well.

 

Abby has, of course, really grown and matured in Complicated, but I think we see even more development in Complex. I think this sentences is an excellent example of the contrast of who she was and who she is: "It doesn't feel like my news to tell," (with regards to Caroline returning.) Pre-meltdown-Complicated Abby would have eaten up that gossip and used it as leverage for something. Complex, mature Abby understands that just because she knows something doesn't mean she gets to tell everyone about it. Another example is when she waits for a natural segway to come up in their conversation at lunch to talk about her wedding. She no longer dominates the conversation. Even though she's matured and grown, there are still parts of her that are the same: her sense of fashion and love of sparkles. Sorry if it's a bit redundant in pointing all this out -- I'm just a fan of character development and all that ;)

 

"Have you seen her makeup? There's no way it would still look that good if we'd just had sex right before coming here." This line, omg. And I get where Abby's coming from. It's a compliment observation? It's sweet, but odd though.

 

The knut game sounds awesome. I think it would be the kind of thing that gets progressively worse as the night goes on. The drunker people get, the worse their aim is. 

 

Sooo I have a CC for you: this chapter lacks conflict. There is stuff going on in the lives of people around her, like Molly's newfound sexuality and Caroline/Freddy woes. But the thing is, Abby appears to be like a loadstone for both of those. There's nothing that actually actively impacts her. You could say that she's overworked or dealing with all the deaths, but we don't see it affecting her. She is actually able to handle the stress and the second-hand trauma. As a reader, I want a conflict to personally affect the MC, and I don't see that in this chapter. I also understand that a story needs breathers, but in my opinion I don't think a whole breather chapter is a good idea. You risk losing momentum. 

 

That all being said, I do know from others' reactions that the story does have conflict and picks up in intenisity. (And I'm sorry I'm not up to date reading). So it sounds like you're good and it's maybe just this chapter? 

 

My favorite line in this chapter was "And for just the briefest of moments, the rest of the world falls away." I like to think that there's duel meaning here. One, because it's a second away from the new year, and two, of what James says the second before. It's the combination of James' lovely words and the impending year (and also, if we're honest, the effects of the drinks, music, and lighting), that makes Abby truly BE in that moment. In that one second, it's just her and James.


Aubrey



Name: adorably cute (Signed) · Date: 24 Feb 2019 02:27 AM · [Report This]
Story:Complex Chapter: Complexity #13
UM EXCUSE ME MA'AM WHAT WAS THIS??? (also hi hello, here for february rvg)!

First, I can get hella behind Amelie getting all grey's anatomy in St. Mungo's! I'm excited that AT LEAST SHE GETS NICE THINGS! well her and Molly it seems since we have abolsutely NO IDEA what's happening with Caroline and Fred right now! I don't like being left in the dark like this and I don't like that they're being SO SKETCHY about everything. Why willl they not just tell everyone what happened on their date, Taylor? WHAT COULD POSSIBLY HAVE HAPPENED?

Honesty, nothing could have happened and everything could be fine and your monsterness has just conditioned me to expect the worst.

This was such a...uncomfortable Valentine's day? Like I feel like a huge bouquet of flowers like that would be a gift that Blaise would buy old Abby. It's definitely a VERY showy display and I think she's nailed it in one though-James is making a huge display out of everything and it's solely to prove a point to Abby. 

I mean the rest of the evening was just as uncomfortable though. Like it was kind of nice to see them pretending to be happy and I thought it was positive that they could agree to put their recent trouble behind them for one night without having to actually discuss it, but it was still very clear from all the comparisons in Abby's inner monologue that they were just pretending. 

I'm anxious to see how this all plays out next chapter. The aftermath of all this, whatever happens with Dom! Abby's little moment with the wedding invites makes it clear that they still have a lot of issues and she's made a few comments about the wedding this chapter that have me a little concerned and uneasy but promises have been made to me that there is a happy ending!

Congratulations on being not as terrible as you could have been here!!! Two thumbs up!! (already terrified for next chapter)Sarah


Name: Stella Blue (Signed) · Date: 23 Feb 2019 09:57 PM · [Report This]
Story:Complex Chapter: Complexity #13

akskfkjdkssgkdg HALP. These last few chapters have been so stressful, aaah! All the fake and pretending to be okay and not addressing the underlying problem, I'm just constantly on edge waiting the shoe to drop. *Hyperventilates* (Literally I'm in the airport biting my nails as I read this and must say I agree with all of the gifs that appeared on Twitter in response to you posting this chapter: i.e. you monster, etc. XD) Please be nice to them Taylor!!!

PS your writing is as addicting and wonderful as ever!



Name: Sleepingbagonthesofa (Signed) · Date: 18 Feb 2019 10:06 PM · starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Story:Complex Chapter: Complexity #12

 

There once was an author named Taylor

Who wanted her readers to hate...r

She warned them on Twitter,

But they're all still bitter.

A monster with sass,

Who needs kicked up the ass.

So fix James and Abby,

Because that would be... fabby? Please?


Well hello again, Monster.

 

This chapter was interesting on so many levels, not least because in a lot of ways it mirrored eleven but even in so little time SO much has changed. There's the pattern of tension and arguments and sex and never dealing with their problems but this time there is an underlying current thats just bubbling away. They really are NOT in a good place here.


Ironically, it does occasionally feel like we are on opposite teams lately. Yep. This sums it up. They are 100% on opposite teams and it's just so... ugh. I'm not even angry anymore, I'm just resigned to this miserable discontent with the state of my OTP. Which is some brilliant writing because EUGH THAT'S WHAT ABBY IS FEELING AND WHY TAYLOR?

 

Abby's worries about the newspapers are of course totally fair. She overreacts a LOT and is definitely going fishing for a fight here but you can tell she's scared. If this girl knows anything it's the misery that "dirty laundry" being aired can bring. James on the other hand, he's a deer in the headlights here. He doesn't know what's happening and I just want to hug him.

 

Once again they don't solve anything and baced on your comments and the preview of the next chapter this is spells BAD news! I'm not ready for it. I'm really just not...

 

So lets leave Potchester and focus on the one thing we all really want to talk about in this chapter.

 

DOMINIQUE WEASLEY RETURNS.

 

My shot drinking, dont-need-no-man, totally smitten with Rajhi baby is a quidditch SUPERSTAR! I loved every bit of her here. The lines about ehr feelings on Molly and Zara were both amazing and slightly sad because her anti-relationship mindset is definitely a leftover of he-who-cannot-not-be-named (the other one...). DESPITE THAT THERE IS SOME FIERY CHEMISTRY THERE! Can she not just get onto the English team with Rajhi already and then get with him already! PLEASE! TAYLOR IM SCREAMING IN CAPITALS FOR A GOOD REASON THIS TIME!

 

Also the way she's clearly totally oblivious to Abby and James and their troubles is all sorts of heartbreaking but we'll leave that for a later chapter...

 

I could read a whole fic about her... i could read a whole second chapter of a fic about her so *cough* if you could arrange that soon then that would be outstanding.

 

Another excellent yet thoroughly depressing chapter! Bring on the next one!

 

Deni xx

 

(February RvG)

 



Name: adorably cute (Signed) · Date: 15 Feb 2019 02:47 PM · [Report This]
Story:Complex Chapter: Complexity #12

HELLO MONSTER WHAT ARE YOU DOING??

 

I am back for Febuary RvG and to throw down a review for this again (which may or may not end up being less shouty than the last one, we'll see how things turn out). 

 

Ughhh James and Abby, whyyy? They are making me VERY SAD right now and they are defintiely NOT on the same page. James' comments in this chapter were VERY unnecessary, but on the other hand, he makes some valid points about Abby's work habits, which are obviously leading to some problems with him. Of course he could have brought these concerns up to her in a much better manner, but she's not really being too great right now either. I JUST NEED YOU TO FIX THEM TAYLOR!!

 

On a brighter note, Zara and Molly are very cute, even if they are definitely moving much faster than most people. I totally respect her logic though; why waste time when you know where you want things to go? At least THEY'LL be a bright spot coming up, it seems!

 

Dom and Rahji are a hot mess right now because he is DEFNIITELY flirting with her and girlfriend needs to get out of Egypt because she is in denial! They would be SO GOOD TOGETHER, like they obviously already are on the pitch! They have such good banter and chemistry, it would be so fun to see them together as a couple! (except Dom's logic about sexism in sports is both sad and all too true, so I get all of her totally valid points about actually being okay with staying single until she makes it into national team consideration, girl is rocking the quidditch world right now, except i totally just want them to be together in all their snarky comments).

 

The ending of this chapter was SO ROUGH BECAUSE IT WAS SO UNEASY. LIKE YOU JUST KNOW SOMETHING BIG IS COMING BUT YOU DON'T KNOW WHAT! *casually goes to hide in corner for next chapter of monsters* Great work, Taylor!

-Sarah



Name: nott theodore (Signed) · Date: 12 Feb 2019 07:54 PM · [Report This]
Story:Complex Chapter: Complexity #12

Hi Taylor!  Here for February's RvG.

 

So, I told you that this chapter made me feel very shouty the first time I read it, and now that I have chance to read and review again - well, I'm still feeling very shouty.  I swear, I just want to reach through the screen and grab both Abby and James and shake them until they see sense and realise what they're doing to each other/themselves/their relationship.  Why must you torture them (us) so??

 

You built up the tension so well through the course of this chapter, though.  The opening seemed fairly normal, but it was obvious that there was something simmering beneath the surface and that it was only going to be a matter of time before there was another argument between James and Abby.  The little comments and snide remarks that kept coming through in the earlier part of this chapter were so effective at building up the picture of what their relationship is becoming, and the way that the fight and supposed resolution last week isn't really resolved at all.

 

Thank goodness you gave us Molly and Zara to counter that tension, though!  It might be a little soon for them to be calling each other girlfriend by other people's standards, but it seems to be working for them and they're super cute.  (Please don't destroy them as well, I'm begging you.  Someone in this story deserves to be happy if you're going to torture your protagonists.)  And like Abby says here, Molly does need someone who's not going to mess her around and leave her guessing where she is in a relationship, and it seems like Zara could be that person.

 

Dom and Rajhi are DEFINITELY flirting!  Honestly, it's so easy to see that they like each other, though I can understand all the reasons that might be stopping them trying anything.  But I want it on record that I'm shipping these two completely and if I were a gambler, I'd bet on Dom taking Rajhi along to the wedding (if it ever happens *sob*).

 

The discussion about sexism in Quidditch was so interesting, too!  I think it's kind of easy to assume that Quidditch is more equal because the teams are all mixed (apart from the Harpies, of course), but those sorts of ingrained sexist beliefs are hard to combat anywhere and I can definitely see how that would affect the way that a woman has to approach her career.  It makes me mad that Dom's having to take things like that into account as she tries to make the national side, but the discussion of it was really interesting.

 

And... the argument.  It was brewing through the rest of the chapter and I think you built up the tension to it really well, so when it did explode it was kind of easy to understand?  You're writing the breakdown of this relationship so believably, and I'm kind of mad at both of them here, but somehow I can also understand both points of view and see why the tensions are coming out?  

 

It's very frustrating to watch them destroy their relationship but also understand both points of view, thank you very much.

 

The remarks that both of them have been making through the argument, and the thoughts that Abby has been having, are very believable - and obviously (even without the sneak peek) things that will stick with them and they'll dwell on afterwards.  I don't think that they've got the healthiest approach to trying to resolve these arguments at the moment - and even Abby is realising that it's not working - but I wonder how long they can keep this attempt going before it breaks down further at the moment... and what will happen then?

 

Ughhh this is so sad and frustrating to read.  I know that you've said that everything will be okay with them in the end, so objectively I'm intrigued to see how on earth you're going to build this back up between the two of them, but emotionally I am Not Okay with what is happening here.

 

Sian :)



Name: adorably cute (Signed) · Date: 09 Feb 2019 02:13 AM · [Report This]
Story:Complex Chapter: Complexity #11

EXCUSE ME MISSY WHAT IS THIS NONSENSE??

 

I just--I don't really care for Abby's attitude about the whole thing? Like after reading this whole chapter (even more than last one), I can see both sides and they are BOTH FIRMLY AND DEFINITELY IN THE WRONG. But the fact that they're so out of sync that she thinks she's already apologized when she really actually hans't kind of rubs me the wrong way. Even the whole beginning scene when she's just waiting for it, was frustrating, but at least then I kind of understood it, because she still totally thinks she's in the right. (and well, james is being just as annoying and terrible because he thinks he's right) (sidenote: HOW was james not hungover from that? my 25 year old body is dying for him)

 

Their fight was honestly so below the belt on BOTH of their parts and it was a) absolutely unnecessary and b) so worrying. There are DEFINITELY some heavy underlying issues here that are going to keep popping up and I'm nervous that Abby's going to have an epiphany about what's wrong between them and make that extra connection the same way she had the eipphany at the meeting about the suspect list. Like it's bubbling right under the surface for her and something is just going to make it click and the BOOM by bye potchester until the end of june.

 

On the bright side, Abby is CRUSHING IT at work now! That is amazing and I'm so proud of her for sticking up for herself and following through with her findings from the files. It's nice to see the Aurors (well at least some of them) finally listening to what she says and respecting her contributions, even if it took them this long and for her to make some case-changing observation in order for it to happen. I love that she describes this feeling at work as a rush. It makes me kind of sad, because it means that no one has really validated her work yet or at least enough for her to feel like apart of something, but also, I feel like it just proves that she really loves what she's doing and that she's in the right place. Here's hoping this epiphany is good to her and that there's continued improvement with this team moving forward!

 

I'm already terribly anxious about chapter 12, like what are you going to do to these people, but I mean great chapter here!! (in terms of writing I mean, not in terms of ruining lives although I suppose you're doing great work at that too)♥

-Sarah

February RvG team red



Name: Sleepingbagonthesofa (Signed) · Date: 29 Jan 2019 11:48 AM · starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Story:Complex Chapter: Complexity #11

TAYLOR WE NEED TO HAVE A WORD ABOUT WHAT YOUR BRAIN THINKS IS ACCEPTABLE BECAUSE RIGHT NOW I'M A MESS AND IT IS ALL YOUR BLOODY FAULT.


Okay… now that I’ve got that out, this is for January RvG and for Team Chimera.


What. A. Chapter.


There was drama, there was an argument, there was angry sex and storming out and now my two favourite idiots are in a total mess of complicated (hehehe - been a while since I’ve got to drop that one) emotions.


So focusing on the positives first. Abby is killing it at work and I love it. She’s showing all of the ego-driven assholes of senior aurors that she is more than capable and it was such an amazing moment. It’s a huge breakthrough in this ever evolving case which is really starting to intrigue me. The why’s and the who’s are getting bigger and the fact that it must have been someone inside the ministry or hogwarts is HUGE! Abby being the one to work it out is another huge thing for her career which is amazing but couldn’t have come at a worse time for her personally. I’m guessing that with the newfound respect the others have for her she will only have her workload added to and more pressures put on her time, which is NOT ideal with the current state of her relationship.


Added to that though (I’m loving the current EUGH MEN theme we both have going on currently) James should really be more supportive of her work rather than this odd jealousy thing that he has going on. He was the one who pushed her to do this in the first place! Her relationship should not be holding her back from her career because THAT is just a bit blaise-esk - but hold that thought because I’ll be back with more on that particular topic.


Now that I’ve been through Abby’s good bits of the chapter let’s talk about James and the bad bits. Wow they have both reverted back to their worst qualities here. James is just turning into this spoiled, jealousy idiot who needs to get a grip of his own life. I get the idea that we have a bit of the James who felt overshadowed by the ‘green eyed seeker brother with the redhead girlfriend’ that we glimpsed in complicated a little. Now he has the crazily successful auror fiancé who works for his dad and gets about as much attention in the papers as he does these days. Still, that’s no excuse for bottling up your issues and getting so ridiculously drunk that you can’t stand. (Side note: I wish I had James’s anti-hangover endurance) Bringing up Blaise was, tbh, pathetic. It’s throwing something at her that he doesn’t actually think purely so he can hurt her and it’s an awful, unhealthy thing to do. Not that Abby is faultless here though, she shouldn’t have ditched him and then probably shouldn’t have thrown his insecurities in his face. It’s all such a mess and the apology at the end just feels a little empty.


I agree with Abby and her bad feelings at the end.


So this review was long but this chapter was amazing. So well written. You’ve spent the start of this novel building up to something and while this feels big you’ve still left me with the horrible feeling that something much much worse is on its way.


I’m really not sure who I’m more mad at here (Both of them.) Let’s not forget the real villain though- you!! WHY TAYLOR? WHY? Let them be happy!!


All my love, as ever.


Deni <3


PS - 10/10 for the TS references.


PPS - WHERE IS DOM?! SHE NEEDS TO COME IN AND FIX THIS.







Name: Stella Blue (Signed) · Date: 27 Jan 2019 02:42 PM · starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Story:Complex Chapter: Complexity #11

Ok, so I guess what goes around comes around, because after your review that was 40% capslock, I think I'm gonna end up doing the same thing right back because OMG, I AM SO WORRIED ABOUT JAMES AND ABBY CAN YOU JUST PLEASE LET THEM BE HAPPY, THANK YOU. This was such a stressful chapter to read and it really confirmed this 'calm before the storm' feeling I've been getting since the beginning of this story. I am really glad they apologized and talked about it, but Abby's right, the apology did feel a lot like a bandaid to fix a bigger problem.


Regarding the previous chapter, I do feel bad for James that Abby didn't show up on his birthday, but I also sympathize with Abby more, just because I can easily see myself in her shoes as someone who makes a lot of sacrifices for my job. I get that. And I'm so proud of her for making such a big breakthrough with the case! She was kicking so much ass in this chapter and everyone finally respected and listened to her and I was so happy for her. But I can also see this turning into an issue as she is in danger of getting too deep into it and being essentially married to her job, while she's trying to plan her wedding to James who feels left out. That's such a realistic issue, and I think it makes a lot of sense for James and Abby to be struggling with something like this bc I'd forgotten they're so young -just 21 - and so they're really just beginning to figure out that work life balance thing. (I'm in my late 20s and sure as hell haven't figured that out yet either XD)

 

This was an awesome chapter!  BUT I AM STILL DREADING WHATEVER MEAN DRAMA YOU HAVR PLANNED FOR THEM even though it's realistic BUT I JUST WANT HAPPINESS FOR EVWRYONE



Name: Crimson Quill (Signed) · Date: 26 Jan 2019 05:29 PM · [Report This]
Story:Complex Chapter: Complexity #11

 

Hey!

 

Wow!

 

This chapter was kind intense on all levels. I thought it's such a tricky situation for both of them. I think it's something about their personalities that does clash a bit is how they are very stubborn. I didn't really like any of their attitudes. I think James kinda walking away after their 'moment' (what do you call it in reviews?? vaguely smutty??) is unacceptable and I'm surprised Abby isn't more mad about that. She is suppose to be the love of his life not just someone to work out his anger issues on. unacceptable. I think that got to me.

 

I love that Abby is really flawed. It makes her so much more realistic as a three dimensional character. Abby has an insane amount good qualities but her less good qualities were raging in this chapter. All behaviour between James and Abby weren't great. I'm really interested in the conflict you're creating between the two of them and how you're building up all these little things. It's going to explode. I don't know how I feel about that.

 

Work Abby slayed. I love her so much. She is just so determined. This chapter was amazing at showing the contrast between her best qualities and her worst. I'm so happy that people are taking her seriously now because she has worked so hard for it over here time at the Auror Office. I'm looking forward seeing more of this story line because I love work Abby and the case is really engaging. I wanna see more of her and Markus' friendship (wouldn't say no to more Louis and Markus too!)

 

- Abbi xo

 

For: Magical Menagerie/RvG

 



Name: nott theodore (Signed) · Date: 26 Jan 2019 04:09 PM · [Report This]
Story:Complex Chapter: Complexity #11

Hi Taylor!  Here for RvG and the Magical Menagerie - and with a bit of luck, I'll actually get the first review on this chapter!

 

Oh noooo.  I know you're planning on ripping my heart from my chest and thoroughly stomping on it before you put it back with this story, but I still don't like it.  Reading this chapter was so sad and worrying and I'm not sure how James and Abby are going to cope in the next few chapters or months - at the moment it kind of feels like there's some significant cracks appearing in their relationship and while they're doing their best to paper over them, there's only a limited amount of time that will actually work for, and I'm terrified to think what's going to happen when it doesn't work anymore.

 

Abby's attitude at the start of this chapter just seemed really... off to me.  The fact that she seems to feel so entitled to an apology and can't imagine why she would need to apologise or why James drank so much last night is a bit worrying; the two of them have been together for a while now and they're a really good fit, so I don't think it's unfair to expect that she'd understand.  She seems a little wrapped up in herself and what's important at work - and yes, of course the case is important, and there are lives at stake, but that doesn't mean she can behave thoughtlessly to everyone else in her life.  

 

You built up the tension really well in this chapter, with the two of them not talking and the argument brewing until it reaches a point where some of the words that spill out can't be taken back.  And even though they apologise later for bringing up James's job and Blaise, I still don't think they're going to forget those comments that easily, especially when there's other tensions that they're dealing with.  

 

After James came back with the apology - which I think was entirely needed, too - I was a bit worried that Abby didn't seem to feel the need to apologise for her own behaviour until James prompted her.  They've said that they're okay but even Abby can feel that there's something there that isn't, and I really hope that instead of trying to pretend that everything is okay and waiting until a big explosion happens, the two of them try and deal with it properly and communicate a bit better with each other.  Unfortunately, I'm not holding out high hopes for that...

 

The final scene was a relief after some of the tension in the last two chapters.  The case really is fascinating, and it's great to see Abby working on it and succeeding at something she loves - even if I get the feeling she's going to throw herself into work more and more to ignore the problems with her relationship.  But I was glad to see her speaking up for herself here.  When she mentioned that Harry wasn't there, I was a bit worried about whether they'd actually take her discovery on board or not, but I'm so glad that the two most senior Aurors did; even though she went against direct orders, she's probably done more to increase her standing in the Auror office with that than the last several months (and probably especially because Harry wasn't there to stand up for her).  It's a bit frightening to think that whoever is behind the murders has access to those records, but at least now they have somewhere to start looking - I'm really looking forward to finding out more about this mystery as Abby and the other Aurors uncover new details.  I just hope that she doesn't forget about James completely along the way!

 

Sian :)



Name: nott theodore (Signed) · Date: 26 Jan 2019 03:55 PM · [Report This]
Story:Complex Chapter: Complexity #10

Hi Taylor!  Here for RvG and the Magical Menagerie.

 

I don't know how I missed you posting this chapter, but I come back to not one but two chapters to read, so yay!  Although with the way that this chapter ended, I'm honestly quite worried to see what's going to happen next.

 

Abby's present for James's 21st is so sweet!  I love the fact she's taken something that she knows is so important to him and made a present from it (I love getting photos for presents though, so maybe I'm biased).  The little backstory that goes with it, of James's inappropriate remarks during the proposal, just seem to fit the two of them so well.  I can definitely imagine him making comments like that when he's asking her to marry him, and it's so cute that the moment's been captured.

 

Having said that, though, that scene felt like a real contrast to the rest of this chapter and the state that their relationship's actually in at the moment.  I feel like the two of them are on completely different pages at the moment and it really doesn't bode well for what's going to happen in the future...

 

The breakthrough on the case is so fascinating!  It definitely feels like a big moment for Abby, and hopefully the other Aurors take it on board when she tells them about it, even though she's gone against orders to work on finding similarities on the files.  I think it'll definitely help the investigation, and I can completely understand why Abby would be so determined to find something out and keep on working on something like that, even when she's been told not to.

 

But... not on James's birthday.  Especially not his 21st.  I'm a bit worried about Abby's attitude towards it, to be honest - it was so easy to see how happy and excited James was to be able to spend his birthday with Abby after all, and this is the one night of the year that she can't stay in and catch up on work/sleep, no matter how much she wants to.  And she doesn't really seem to understand that, or think she's done anything wrong in sending him a note to cancel.  She dealt with James quite well considering how drunk he was, because it's never nice to have someone coming home that drunk, but I have a feeling that something's brewing here that won't just resolve itself easily in the next chapter(s)...

 

Sian :)



Name: Finefrenzy__ (Signed) · Date: 21 Jan 2019 06:10 PM · [Report This]
Story:Complex Chapter: Complexity #10

Hey Taylor!

 

I adore the start of this fic. One of my favourite parts to read are where Abby and James are interacting just the two of them. They are so cute and sweet together. And of course James would say something inappropriate like that during his proposal. So having Abby's eye roll caught on film is gold. But Abby is so evil, and such a little tease. But I'm not saying that James doesn't deserve it.

 

And Abby has FINALLY made a breakthrough in the case. It was about time, I think she would have started losing her mind if she didn't come up with something soon. I know she was slightly annoyed at James for coming home that drunk, but I can also understand from James' point of view as well. I know I said last chapter their communication was really good... This time, not so much. But it was great to see that though. It gets boring if it's all sunshine and roses. I just hope James' hangover isn't too brutal, haha.

 

Thanks for the read. I can't wait for the next chapter to come out!

 

Rhi 😊



Name: Finefrenzy__ (Signed) · Date: 21 Jan 2019 06:00 PM · [Report This]
Story:Complex Chapter: Complexity #9

Hey Taylor!

 

I’m so envious of James and Abby’s communication. If only every relationship was that easy! They will no doubt have their own problems as time goes on, but at this stage they work so well together. I mean, they have been together for three years at this stage, and have learnt about each other… But still! I think it’s amazing that Abby immediately went to James to clear everything up. That’s love.

 

And again with the sexism in the workplace. Seriously, calling someone a Diva? And infront of the entire department as well? That’s so wildly inappropriate. As always, I think you handled it really well. But it is definitely starting to annoy me like it annoys Abby. It’s such a boys club and I feel like it really needs to change. Whether it does? I don’t know. That’s a pretty big mountain to move, and I don’t feel as though Abby is quite ready to tackle that particular battle just yet.

 

Thanks again for the chapter. Onto the next!

 

 

Rhi 😊



Name: Finefrenzy__ (Signed) · Date: 21 Jan 2019 05:51 PM · [Report This]
Story:Complex Chapter: Complexity #8

Hi Taylor!

 

CAROLINE IS BACK! I’m sorry for the excitement, but I have been waiting for her arrival. I know I said I love Dom, but Caroline holds a special place in my heart. She’s one of Abby’s original friends and if living overseas and still maintaining that friendship says anything… It’s that Caroline is Abby’s ride or die. She’s her person. I know that sounds naff, but that’s honestly how I feel about that girl.

 

Argh, I really hope her, and Freddy sort their stuff out. I think it would be great if they got back together. But then again, I do love a bit of drama, so… I don’t know, I’m really torn about how I want their relationship to pan out, haha. I’m sorry, this review has kind of turned into a bit of a love fest for Caroline and Freddy, but they were such a cute couple in Complicated that I can’t help but get all giddy. I really hope to see more of the relationship later on, but till then… On to the next chapter.

 

Thanks again for the read!

 

 

Rhi 😊



Name: Finefrenzy__ (Signed) · Date: 21 Jan 2019 05:40 PM · [Report This]
Story:Complex Chapter: Complexity #7

Hey there again!

 

Gosh, I can't imagine how it must feel for Abby to be confronted with that sort of traumatic work. And to be faced with the prospect of pureblood supremacy and war? That would be horrible, I wouldn't wish that on anyone. I also really liked the little nod to the sexism in the work place here. I can definitely see the Auror department being dominated by men and have the boy's locker room vibe to it at times. I think it's really important that you're highlighting that certain aspect, and it's not overdone either.

 

I really like Markus' character already. I thought it was hilarious that Abby knew him as Louis' one-night stand as well. Also, continuing on from my point above, it's great to see someone that's in a more senior role (other than Harry) let Abby have a voice and respect her. I do really hope that we get to see more of that.

 

And lastly, Brooke. She can go back under the rock she came from. Abby doesn't need that toxicity.

 

Thanks again!

 

 

Rhi 😊 



Name: Finefrenzy__ (Signed) · Date: 21 Jan 2019 05:13 PM · [Report This]
Story:Complex Chapter: Complexity #6

Hi Taylor!

 

Argh, I can totally relate with Abby, adulting can be hard, haha. But it's great to see that she still puts in effort and makes time for her friends, that's definitely important to maintaining a good work/life balance. Which is something I feel Abby is going to need, especially later on as her caseload and wedding planning reach an all-time high.

 

It's also great to see that she's still really good friends with all of her Hogwarts buddies. I think that it is testament to her character that she's been able to maintain those friendships even outside of school. It is not always an easy thing to do, especially when everyone has their own lives and personal stuff going on.

 

Now, who doesn't love a good New Years party? And of course, Dom was all sparkly. I would have been extremely disappointed if she wasn't. I had to look up what Ring of Fire was, as we call it King's Cup where I'm from. But good to see even witches and wizards stick with the good ‘ol classics when it comes to drinking games.

 

Thanks for the chapter!

 

 

Rhi 😊



Name: Finefrenzy__ (Signed) · Date: 21 Jan 2019 04:58 PM · [Report This]
Story:Complex Chapter: Complexity #5

Hey Taylor, back yet again. This is probably going to become a thing if I'm honest, lol.

 

First up, I'm so so so glad to see that Abby's relationship with her dad has improved. I definitely think that Diana has been a good influence in that department. Abby really did need to have a solid relationship with at least one of her parent's.

 

It does sadden me a little that she still doesn't have that with her mum. I do hope that they (Abby and her mum) make amends at some point though. I think it would be neat if she got an invite and actually went to the wedding. I think it would be an amazing opportunity for them to find middle ground. I also know that James isn't the biggest fan, but I think he should support Abby in whatever decision she makes and not try to sway her.

 

Oooh, I'm getting excited for this wedding though. I can't wait to see how it pans out. Of course, it being Abby that is planning it, it's going to be spectacular. I think I'm most excited about Caroline coming back though. I've missed her character so far, and it'll be interesting to see what happens between her and Freddy.

 

Thanks for the chapter!

 

 

Rhi 😊



Name: adorably cute (Signed) · Date: 20 Jan 2019 06:10 AM · [Report This]
Story:Complex Chapter: Complexity #10

magical menagerie, team red, january rvg, etc!

 

James and Abby seem very out of sync right now and I DON'T LIKE IT! Everything starts off nice and pleasant, she gets him this great picture, she's got nice lingerie planned for the evening. But shotrly after that, you can tell that something's definitely off. James is all set for Abby to meet up with them later on for hir birthday and Abby is perfectly happy to gab a nap and wait for him to come home (I feel like this is when I knew; it's his birthday, no matter how much she doesn't want to go out, this is the one day she can't say no)

 

BIG break in the case for Abby here. That's a huge solve for her to figure out they're preying on people who are poor at defending themsleve. I'm curious to see how she presents this at the office. They've already decided that going through the files wasn't a good lead, but now she's found one from them--will they take her and it serious or will they decide to brush her off with it?

 

I can understand Abby being a little upset at James' state when he comes home but she totally ditched him when he asked her to come out, and personally, I think she's the one in the wrong here. I know she's pissed at James for ruining her plans and ruining her concentration when she was working on her big break on the case, but he asked for one thing on his birthday. Curious to see if I still feel the same way next chapter! Can feel the heartbreak coming on! Great chapter Taylor!

-Sarah



Name: adorably cute (Signed) · Date: 20 Jan 2019 04:41 AM · [Report This]
Story:Complex Chapter: Complexity #9

Back again! magical menagerie, january rvg, tem red!

 

Truly, I feel like I have set myself up for this sneak peek here, I am my own worst enemy. (although procrastination has officially been my friend here since I do not have to wait to read the next chapter now)

 

James is the perfect fiancee in this post Prophet reveal. Loving and supportive at the perfect amount. I can see how this specific story may bring up some old feelings in Abby and may be a particularly touchy story. James is great here though, and the fact that he's 1)pulled her aside to have this discussion because he knows that they don't want to have it in public, 2) knows why she's upset, what to say about how much she's changed, and 3) can tell her that she needs to fix her make up because he knows it'll bother her if she went anywhere else jsut shows how perfect they are!

 

The Auror meeting is ABSURD! I've forgotten how much I can't stand some of these men! Good on Harry for standing up for Abby because these articles are nonsense and no one knows this better than him! 

 

I'm SO excited that Lou and Marcus have a thing! It was such a fun little thing to hear that they have something that's clearly worth talking about enough that Marcus is going to have to explain this little sitch to him! I'm looking forward to hearing more about that as we go on! AND MOLLY HAS A DATE!! YESSS can't wait for her and Zara, this will be good!

 

I'm very anxious about all upcoming chapters as we approach what I've termed "the danger zone" but looking forward to reading on! Great chapter!

-Sarah



Name: adorably cute (Signed) · Date: 20 Jan 2019 02:39 AM · [Report This]
Story:Complex Chapter: Complexity #8

Helllooo, here to catch up, for menagerie and january rvg (go red)!!

 

It probably says a lot about me that I read that news article about Abby cheating on James in Kristin Bell's gossip girl voiceover.

 

Anyway, back to the beginning AND CAROLINE'S RETURN!! Before I get too far ahead of myself. A cute little reunion lunch with the girls was wonderful! It was nice to see the gang back together again and talking adult things like who has their like together the most (also, def with the gang- by default, Abby has her life together the most rn, just by being engaged).

 

I can totally understand Abby's annoyance with Caroline for not telling Fred anyting about her return. Even with her justification, it's still a little shady to me, although I guess it would be kind of awkward or uncomfortable maybe to put in a letter.

 

The meeting with Fred was SO weird? Like I could FEEL the awkwardness. Ahbby handled this so much better than I would have, I'd be like trying to hide behind a pole and still hear what's happening. I do not do well in awkaward situations in case you couldnt tell. 

 

Abby does some GREAT eavesdropping this chapter. First on Fred and Caroline (which I guess wasnt really eavesdropping since they knew she was there) and then on Fred and James. I really feel bad for poor Fred here. It must have been SUCH and shock for Caroline to return like that. It'll be interesting to see how their drink goes!

 

James and Abby have found a venue! That's very exciting! Except there is definitely some tension between them! James' annoyance at Abby's bringing work home is a little telling and definitely probably going to contribute to their problems coming up. Super cute how Scorpius slips a litte aplogy note into their Prophet when something happens. Friends are the best. Good cliffhanger here at the end. Curious to see what happens next--there's definitely something happening between James and Abby though because the Abby of chapters 1 through like 4/5ish wouldnt have gone running off to dispel such a silly rumor. Great chapter, as always!

-Sarah



Name: Finefrenzy__ (Signed) · Date: 19 Jan 2019 06:44 PM · starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Story:Complex Chapter: Complexity #4

Hey Taylor!

 

I loved this chapter! Christmas is my favourite time of year, and I love reading stories centred around the holidays. I feel as though the Potters obviously have a good tradition going. I don't mind the big Weasley shindigs, but it was so nice to see them interreact as an immediate family. The rivalry between Albus and Harry was cute too. I wonder though... Does that/is that something that bothers James?

 

It's interesting how you've expanded the types of jobs people can have in the Wizarding world. In fact, it's really refreshing and was definitely something that needed building on in my opinion. Not everybody is going to work in Diagon Alley or at the Ministry of Magic.

 

My favourite moment was unquestionably between Lily and Abby. It's great to see that budding friendship there and I really hope we get to see more of it.

 

Thanks for the chapter, now on to the next one.

 

 

Rhi 😊



Name: Crimson Quill (Signed) · Date: 19 Jan 2019 06:44 PM · [Report This]
Story:Complex Chapter: Complexity #10

 

Hey Taylor!

 

Another chapter is out! yay. 

 

I'm obsessed with Abby's character while she is working. I love how you've created her mind, the logical she uses and how gutsy she is about the beliefs aka how stubborn she is that she is right is quite an endearing quality and I bet it comes in handy. I'm really interested in this mystery but I can't help feeling that Abby's old habits are coming out when she was judging that people for not being good at defence. It feel very old 'Complicated' Abby but I guess they are the same person. I can totally see why she put off James in favour of work. 

 

I think Freddie maybe wanted to talk about something with James or maybe just didn't want the pressure of Caroline being there maybe which is why he was set on it being 'boys'. I feel like James pretty much overreacted about her not being there but I guess I can see both sides though. Abby was very good with him considering how drunk he was. I'm glad that you've stirred up a little drama between them. It's funny because I feel like this is kinda a petty problem, it's also I have realistic grown up issue. 

 

again, things that I say all the time but I feel like I should say them again: love the amazing chemistry between the characters and dialogue is exceptional as always.

 

- Abbi xo

 

For: Magical Menagerie/RvG

 



Submit a Review