Login
Reviews For Taste of Blood

Name: sunshine_locks (Signed) · Date: 13 May 2019 06:47 PM · [Report This]
Story:Taste of Blood Chapter: Taste of Blood
I owe you a review except that I got caught up in the busyness of exams week. I’m so sorry about the lateness. I also had trouble deciding as to where I should leave a review especially because I couldn’t choose between what you had left on your AP lmao. So anyways.

Uhhh yikes my dude. Why is Selene getting her arse handed to her? Why is Ethan being so... unsympathetic? Evil? Idk man.

Selene is oddly apathetic to the fact that she might die in that moment. It’s not a great place to be at, and I hope she’ll be okay.

The strange finality of her statements as she thinks about the progress of her life really goes to show how resigned she seems to be. Selene has went through some horrible stuff but she’s just become this sort of uncaring? It struck me that she just might not have processed these events and/or chooses not to.

I also can’t tell the sort of tension that Selene and Ethan have between them. In the beginning it seems to be a hatred for the other but closer to the end it looks like there might be something more going on than we’re given.

This one-shot is largely isolated for me because I’m only up to chapter 10 of TAOBN and I’m still woefully unread on your other stories. So. There’s that.

You’ve got great skill at telling so much in so little. This drabble is a testament to that. I really hope you expand on Selene because I’m definitely interested in knowing more!

Thanks for writing my dude.


Name: Rumpelstiltskin (Signed) · Date: 15 Apr 2019 03:23 PM · starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Story:Taste of Blood Chapter: Taste of Blood

Hey, kris! I'm here for the April EvS and for Ethan & Selene! 

 

Why is Ethan choking Selene, and what exactly does he want to know? I mean, given both of their characterizations I can think of approximately a billion reasons why this is happening, but I'm pretty sure it's something I'll have to read more about in TAOBN (I will get there, I swear -- I need to fill in the gaps, hahaha). There is something particularly THERE (I'm not sure what to call it, but it is a moment, intangible but THERE) when Selene lets Ethan penetrate her mind to see her memories. Going through each of the memories, each horrific memory after another, through her childhood and shaping her into what she is -- or who she is shaping each of the events, alternatively -- is so personal. 

 

Her mother dying, her father training her for the future due to the prophecy, and Selene purposefully not fulfilling the prophecy and letting her father die, the searing of the dog tags (what's this about, I have questions!) -- everything is so dark and dismal. Sharing that with Ethan is a huge moment. Her life is devastating, and now Ethan knows too. Plus, there's something damning to be said about not recognizing yourself in the mirror. There's more story to this last bit, and I want it, please!! 

 

HELLO EXCUSE ME WHAT? Did they kiss? I'll take the ship -- they're such dark characters that it somewhat makes sense. Can I have more ship, please, thanks! I mean, it's bound to be toxic and they might kill each other, but, like I'm here for it! 

 

Anyway, fantastic job as always! 

--R.



Name: Downlow (Signed) · Date: 07 Feb 2019 09:03 AM · [Report This]
Story:Taste of Blood Chapter: Taste of Blood

Can you get any better at anything else? Can you dance too?

 

Sorry :D You're just so good at everything you do. I'm so inspired by you :)



Author's Response:

hah, thanks for the compliment! i'm glad you like my stories :D



Name: TreacleTart (Signed) · Date: 29 Jan 2019 03:54 AM · [Report This]
Story:Taste of Blood Chapter: Taste of Blood

Hey there!

 

I'm back for another Magical Menagerie Review and for a Gryffindor Red vs Gold Review Battle for January 2019 review! This universe you've created is so interesting and intense. I've read both Lex Talionis and No Mercy, so I thought I'd check this one out too.

 

I really love the style in which you wrote this. I liked how Selene has a different memory for each. But dang has she had a depressing life. Mother's death at ten. Dad's violent death at twelve. No one should have to go through that. It's a lot easier to understand how she ended up the way she did once you know all of this about her.

 

I have to say that I'm super impressed with how much you managed to convey in such a small word count. I mean this is only like 200 words, but I learned the entire life story of a character. That takes a lot of skill.

 

The ending was a bit of a surprise for me. Ethan goes from wanting to kill Selene to kissing her. I suppose after finding out about everything she's been through, it sort of changed his opinion of her, but still it seems a bit sudden. I do wonder if the taste of blood is for real or more of a metaphorical thing...like as in she tastes weakness?

 

This was a well done drabble! I look forward to reading more of your work soon.

 

~Kaitlin

 



Author's Response:

heh, it's cool when you write in the HP universe and there's legilimency so it makes it easier to tell someone's story in a couple of sentences.

 

ethan and selene were actually in a....compromising position :P when he noticed her scars (that resemble his own....) so he jumped to various conclusions inside his head, what with the treason he has had to deal with recently, can't blame him for being jumpy. then selene basically lets him use legilimency on her and he realises that the two of them weren't quite different. of course, she has a much darker story and is still as mysterious as when he first met her but what he saw was enough to quash his doubts for now (and it lets me write more about these two in the future :D )

 

thanks for the review!



Name: StarFeather (Signed) · Date: 27 Jan 2019 01:40 AM · starstarstarstarhalf-star [Report This]
Story:Taste of Blood Chapter: Taste of Blood

Hi, I came back to your story after 'No Mercy'. The name Ethan sounds familiar to me so I checked and saw he was the protagonist in the story I dropped my review on before. And is Selene the girl who tried to comfort him in that story? If so, I am very confused. Why did he have to end her life? There must have been an awful treason between them. It's horrible that you finished there, the last minute just before she died (?) .

 

You wrote about her life in the first half. What a terrible life she had. Ten year old is too young to lose her mother. And she lost her father, possibly was killed and she was forced to duell or fight to live searing her skin with a dog tag. There must have been a terrible tyrant who controlled her? So many questions I have.  Will Ethan find the truth around her treason later? I request more episodes around Ethan.

 

@ Magical Menagerie 3, Team Wolpertinger

 

 



Author's Response:

hey kenny!

 

this story happens after both no mercy and lex talionis so that's why you might feel confused - selene first appears in lex talionis ;) she's not the girl who comforted ethan at the end of no mercy, though...but for more info on that you'll have to read lex talionis since i don't want to spoil it for you ^_^ but he defnitely didn't kill selene, you can see that he released his grip on her neck after he understood what happened to her (he used legilimency - but since this was a drabble i had to omit some details)

 

thank you for your review!



Name: Finefrenzy__ (Signed) · Date: 18 Jan 2019 01:42 AM · [Report This]
Story:Taste of Blood Chapter: Taste of Blood

Hey there Kris!

 

How? HOW DO YOU DO THIS? WHY DO YOU DO THIS? How do make me have so many questions in such a short amount of words? It isn't fair, and you need to stop causing me so much anguish.  I am glad you were kind enough to tell us that all of this happens after the events of No Mercy and Lex Talionis but at the same, it just poses so many more questions.

 

What has happened between these events that has Ethan now choking Selene? What has she done? And I loved the little snippet we got form inside her mind. We (might?) have found someone that can match Ethan's darkness. I don't know, but Selene definitely seems to have her fair share of secrets, just like Ethan and I can't wait to read more about them. Who is her father? Who was her first kill at aged fourteen. FOURTEEN?? What sort childhood did this woman have? From the sounds of it, her childhood was stolen from her.

 

Amazing as always. I need more!

 

Rhi 😊



Author's Response:

hey rhi!

 

i might have been trying to be subtle and ended up being too subtle.................somehow *cough*i wonder how*cough* ethan is looking at selene's body and noticing the scars resembling his own beneath her neck.........................and he then immediately jumps to various conclusions in his head, threatening her and attacking her with legilimency until she ultimately lets him see her memories. i hope that explains your questions :P

 

as for the unanswered questions....at least they let me write more about these two, right? :P

 

kris



Name: godslayer (Signed) · Date: 08 Nov 2018 04:06 PM · starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Story:Taste of Blood Chapter: Taste of Blood

eXCUSE ME i am dead, rip me. 

as always kris, this is absolutely beautiful. the repetition of "I am" JJSUT EXCUSE ME??? THIS IS SO GOOD

the raw emotion ... searing.. i'd say i'm quietly in awe but i am 100% not quiet this was incredible and it adds such depth to selene that we don't get in TAOBN and i am SO here for it (and that taste of selethan ... they're totally smoochin now, right?) or are they just trying to strangle one another? 

afhlasf i love it i love it i love it!!!! 



Author's Response:

:)))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))

 

that up there is me every time i read one of your reviews!

 

as for whether selene and ethan are, er, smoochin or killing each other now, that's, heh, open to debate :P

 

glad you liked it!



Submit a Review