Login

Name: Chemical_Pixie (Signed) · Date: 11 Mar 2019 02:18 AM · [Report This]
Story:The Ghost in the Attic Chapter: Chapter 1

Hey Juls! Here for our second review swap of the weekend, lol.

 

This is such a lovely little piece! I love the personality that you have given Wilfred Wilkinson. With his flair for drama, his longing at a more glorious death, his determination to scare people away, he is very endearing. He must have been a forced to be reckoned with during his lifetime, ahahaha! I wonder why he chose to stay and not go on. Was he too upset he was murdered? Or perhaps he loved his life too much? Regardless, he seems pretty content with haunting his old home and protecting his keepsakes.

 

Rianion Welch seems to be such a level headed witch. It's not everyday you come across a ghost in your new house! (Though... I ~did~ live in a haunted house once during uni... but that's a story for a different time, lol) At once, you create good chemistry between Wildred and Rianion, but you also create a lot of tension. Clearly, Wilfred would rather she not touch his things or be around them. And it's awesome that Rianion is willing to give him the space he desires. I also like how she wants to be a potions master. 

 

Within such a short piece, you've given your characters such complexity! I'm left wondering if they'll develop a friendship, if that toy solider will connect them in any way, if they'll coexist peacefully... all good questions, because there is so much room for interpretation! Good job writing this fic!



Name: TreacleTart (Signed) · Date: 29 Jan 2019 08:51 PM · [Report This]
Story:The Ghost in the Attic Chapter: Chapter 1

Hey there!

 

I'm here with a review for the Magical Menagerie Review Event as well as the Gryffindor Red vs Gold Review event for January 2019! Ooh! A story about a ghost! I had to come check this one out.

 

This was so cute! Wilfred is like an insolent child who's lonely and lashing out. He's angry at being murdered and no one understands him, so he chases everyone out by scaring them. It keeps anyone from getting to close to him.

 

I like that Rianion is a witch. Of course, she wouldn't be scared of a ghost. As Wilfred points out, the odds are that she's encountered one or two in her life, so she knows how to deal with them. This makes it so difficult for him to try and push her away.

 

This is perfect. I think she realizes that he's lonely and they manage to come to a mutual agreement to share the house. I think he'll find that he's much more happy with a companion. He'll have someone to talk to and get stories of the outside world from. It's perfect!

 

I'm not sure I understood the significance of the toy soldier. Is it just meant to show that he's paying attention to her or is there something deeper that I missed?

 

Also, I had a good chuckle over him "suffering for his art".

 

Good job! This was a very enjoyable one-shot!

 

~Kaitlin

 



Name: shadowkat678 (Signed) · Date: 05 Jan 2019 07:06 PM · starstarstarstar [Report This]
Story:The Ghost in the Attic Chapter: Chapter 1

Hi! 

 

Short but interesting story opening. I do wish there had been a bit more time between her coming and Wilfred agreeing to be housemates. Maybe also some more stuff about certain topics that came up, but other than that there's not much I can say about this I didn't enjoy.

 

I like the idea of how he became an actor. There's a lot about this character that seems humorous. I can see how he and Nick would have gotten along. I could totally see him recounting past encounters to Ria when they get closer. Fully acted out, of course! Maybe even take after nick and do a recounting of his deathday.

 

Anyway, interesting opening, and I do hope you continue!

 



Name: MegGonagall (Signed) · Date: 14 Dec 2018 10:15 PM · [Report This]
Story:The Ghost in the Attic Chapter: Chapter 1

Hey there! Back for Team Silver! 

 

I absolutely loved this. It almost reminded me of the movie Beetlejuice, with Lydia making friends with Adam and Barbara when they couldn’t scare her off. That was one of my top 3 favorite movies as a kid, so i think that’s why I just fell in love with this story of yours. 

 

I got a kick out of the fact that he was so dissatisfied with the nature of his death. And when he described Sir Nicolas’s as “fantastic” haha. And yeah, it certainly would have been a lot more difficult to scare off a witch or wizard than a Muggle. Like he thought, considering they’d spent years surrounded by girls ghosts at Hogwarts. I wonder if he and Rianion will end up getting along? Are you planning on writing more of this? It’s an interesting dynamic. This lonely ghost, and the witch who I’m assuming is pretty alone, too. Since she lives by herself, and was pretty alright with offering to be a roommate with a ghost. I would love to read more about them. 

 

This was such a cute and interesting idea here. I really enjoyed reading this a lot. Hope to see more of these two! 



Name: Stella Blue (Signed) · Date: 03 Dec 2018 10:27 PM · [Report This]
Story:The Ghost in the Attic Chapter: Chapter 1

Here for your holiday wishlist!

 

Okay, so the thing about him leaving his potential future as a wizard to go become a Shakespearean actor is so funny because he's like the ultimate starving artist. I can totally see his parents (when he was alive) being like "Wilfred, you have to get a real job, acting doesn't pay the bills" and he loves the romanticism of suffering for his art and THEN. he's haunting his own house, like I don't even need to pay bills bc I got murdered and I'm a ghost and still acting. So there! ...idk it was just a really funny opening to me XD

 

AND HE'S UPSET BECAUSE HE DIDN'T DIE IN HIS FANCY CLOTHES, hhaha. And because his death was boring compared to Caesar, and because he got compared to Professor Binns. For a ghost he sure has a lot of personality and his flair for the dramatic is so entertaining XD

 

I love how possessive he is over his house and I really wonder how things are going to work out as Ria does not seem to be intimidated at all. What an odd pair of roommates. The only criticism I have is that I think there should be more of this story! :P I could see this continuing as a buddy comedy sort of story, haha. I would love to find out what happens next and I'm so curious about the toy soldier at the end and how he picked it up.

 

What a great fic - loved it. :D



Name: Rumpelstiltskin (Signed) · Date: 03 Dec 2018 04:12 PM · starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Story:The Ghost in the Attic Chapter: Chapter 1

Heya, Juls! o/ I'm here for the EvS battle #TeamSilver ;)

 

I just really love the concept of a ghost being upset that people keep moving into his house, while he continues to try to scare each successive owner away.  Things like this remind me of Beetlejuice, when Adam and Barbara cut up Delia's designer bedsheets to try to scare them off. While that is neither here nor there, I still find the entire concept funny, as I can imagine that Wilfred has spent an exorbitant amount of time trying to come up with ways to scare various owners out.   As an "almost famous" Shakespearean actor, I imagine he's become quite creative over the years. 

 

And I really love how possessive he is about everything. It's HIS house -- HIS attic. I mean, I get it...in all technicality, it is. What I love more is that he's realized that, of course, the witch who now lives in his house would be incredibly more difficult to scare of than an ordinary Muggle. And I loved that, ultimately and in so many words, that Wilfred has resolved to coexist with Ria [but that the attic is HIS, lol].

 

I feel like this is the set-up to a much longer story! I'm highly invested in knowing what sorts of antics Ria and Wilfred could get into together. I also want to know more about the toy soldier and, well, about a lot of things, really! 

 

Anyway, lovely job!

 

--Rumpels



Name: starbuck (Signed) · Date: 19 Nov 2018 03:48 PM · starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Story:The Ghost in the Attic Chapter: Chapter 1

hey juls!

 

i thought this was a really original take on both the prefect's challenge prompt and on ghosts in general! i loooove how dramatic (and funny!) wilfred is. it goes perfect with his history *_*

 

the idea of him getting a roomate is quite cool and to be honest, i'd love to read more about him and ria and how they deal with each other in the future!

 

and what is up with the toy soldier????? i absolutely need to know....and how wilfred managed to pick it up?!?! :O 

 

it's a short story but you've definitely legt me wanting more!

 

kris



Name: Diogenissa (Signed) · Date: 18 Nov 2018 04:21 PM · starstarstarhalf-star [Report This]
Story:The Ghost in the Attic Chapter: Chapter 1

My darling Juls!


 


I don't leave reviews as often as I would like (something to work on!), but after having initially read this, I just had to because I loved it so much!


 


The one thing that sticks out with this the most is the overall originality:  a Hogwarts wizard disinherited for wanting to become a Shakespearean actor (and it certainly helps that he looks EXACTLY LIKE SHAKESPEARE -- that STILL tickles me to no end lol).  His mannerisms and the overall flourish with which he goes about both of his lives is both endearing and amusing all in one.  A truly 'tragic' character that Shakespeare would be proud of.


 


The beginnings of the relationship between him and Ria is both amusing and interesting:  watching two souls from two totally different worlds come to an 'agreement' of sorts, as well as the mystery of the toy soldier makes me want to know more about them (I DO hope you'll be writing a sequel to this so we can find out?  not so big HINT  :-P)


 


I really loved this when you showed it to me and I love it more now (I added it to my favorites).  Thank you so much for sharing it with me initially.   Congratulations on a great story lovely!  <3


 


Love, Karen  



Name: godslayer (Signed) · Date: 09 Nov 2018 10:08 PM · [Report This]
Story:The Ghost in the Attic Chapter: Chapter 1

I LOVE IT. 

I LOVE IT. 

(once more for the people in the back) 

I LOVE IT!

i love "he moaned out mournfully" i 110% have a weak spot for alliteration and it's just... MWAH. 

"he thought thoughtfully" ... intentional or hiccup?

i must say i am LIVING for the drama. the theatrics. "Hadn't Caesar been stabbed?" a dramatic ghost.... me af. 

and their relationship is so cute! a ghost roommate! living! together! ahhhhhhhh amazing, incredible, showstopping. and REALLY CUTE! 

 



Submit a Review