Login
Reviews For Let Me Love You

Name: ShadowRose (Signed) · Date: 29 Jan 2019 11:44 PM · [Report This]
Story:Let Me Love You Chapter: The Nights of Wonder

Oooooh yes I love that this chapter is set in the PoA/GoF era! After the introduction to their relationship back in the first chapter, this jump is really cool in that it fills in all the gaps and explains where Chi was during this middle period where Remus showed up in the books.

 

Their relationship is certainly complicated, but it makes a lot of sense that it would progress the way it did. They were never really anything official when they were younger, but it makes a lot of sense that Remus would just naturally cut everyone off after James and Lily died, because he lost almost everyone important to him in one fell swoop, and that’s a lot for one person to handle.

 

I love how clear Chi’s character is in this chapter - she’s obviously extraverted given how many people she ends up talking with at the Order meeting, and is entirely unafraid to call Remus out on his shit for trying to leave the bar without talking to her. She’s got a rather commanding presence at times, and doesn’t hesitate to speak her mind, which makes me really respect her character and understand exactly what Remus sees in her.

 

And the explanation of where she went - off to Vietnam where her mother was from - definitely helps fill in the gaps of where she went during the time between when Remus initially pushed her away and now. It sucks that her husband was so awful, but she seems to have fully embraced motherhood and her role as a teacher for the Auror department over there. She’s got a relatively solid grasp on her place in the world at this point in her life, which I think is really different from Remus, who’s unemployed again and doesn’t really know what he’s doing next other than that he’s working with the Order.

 

The fact that they went from hissed arguments to an actual retelling of the incidents and checking up on each other is really such a clear show of what their friendship is like. And the fact that they’re essentially discussing their love lives with other people as a form of pillow talk. It is interesting though, that neither of them really consider an actual relationship between the two of them to be plausible at this point - they certainly seem to have the chemistry for it, but I suppose the years where he pushed her away would cause irreparable damage to their ability to trust one another with that amount of commitment.

 

And I love the nods to both his upcoming relationship to Tonks, as well as their massively differing opinion on which of the two of them that Sirius fancies. I’d also put my money on him being into Remus though - but I did actually find that whole standpoint really interesting, because I’ve always imagined that unrequited wolfstar would involve Remus being the one with unreciprocated feelings, rather than the other way around. But also it 100% wouldn’t surprise me that Sirius would fancy anyone with a pulse after 12 years in Azkaban - that does seem like it would lead to a bit of desperation.

 

Ooh, one tiny note before I sign off - there’s a spot where you’ve got the year down as 2005, and I think that’s supposed to be 1995 instead? Since they’re talking about the Order and whatnot.

 

Anyways, this was such a lovely chapter and I’m excited for more of these two!

 

-Taylor

Written for the Magical Menagerie event and January RvG



Name: Sleepingbagonthesofa (Signed) · Date: 29 Jan 2019 09:06 PM · starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Story:Let Me Love You Chapter: Into The Mystic

Hi Tasha! So, fun fact, as I write this I’m currently on a plane flying over the Atlantic which has given me all the time to finally read and review the start to this story.


I don’t know if I’ve mentioned this before but your writing style is wonderful! Your descriptions and the way you manage to set the mood in the scene are so readable- I couldn’t stop once I started!


I love Remus. I especially love your version of him and the way you introduced us. He’s a gangly teenager who wants- needs- to help out. We can see it when he runs for the door at the start and again when he can’t bring himself to stay outside the bathroom door when he knows Chi might need him. It’s perfect characterisation. You’ve also started to introduce the idea of him ‘feeling human again’ which is always an interesting theme with Lupin that I can’t wait to see you build on. I’d also add that it’s one of the most ironic things about him since, as you have shown so beautifully on this chapter, human emotions are the thing that drives his character the most.


It’s rare that we see his parents appear in fics, especially when he’s a teenager and still living at home. Hopefully we’ll see some more of them in future instalments of the series because from the first brief glimpse I already want to know more about both of them!


Now, onto Chi. Her situation seems to be an interesting one. Her father is an abusive, violent asshole from the sounds of it and everyone knows it. Her mother also seems to have been absent but we don’t kno go long this has been the case for, nor what prompted her sudden return. It all makes for a very interesting picture, especially when it comes to the war going on around them. Was the mother’s absence and the fathers violence something to do with that or was it more domestic? Either way it’s horrid but you’ve got me asking so many questions!


The relationship between Remus and Chi seems sweet and at least relatively well established. He’s known her since childhood from the sounds of things and they are obviously more than a little romantically interested in each other if his memories about being in bed with her are anything to go by. It’s also very telling that she came to him before anyone else when she was in her hour of need.


As an opening to this series of stories I thought this was brilliant. You’ve dropped us right into the middle of things and I can’t wait to see what comes next but also what came before! There are certainly a lot of interesting characters and situations that you’ve set up here.


Anyway, this was so well written! I can’t wait to get stuck into the next instalment soon. Great work Tasha!


All my love,


Deni xx


(Review left for January’s RvG and Team Chimera!)



Name: ReillyJade (Signed) · Date: 28 Jan 2019 11:17 PM · [Report This]
Story:Let Me Love You Chapter: The Nights of Wonder

Hello! I'm back again for the Menagerie!

 

Aaaaah, I love Chi even more now! She's such a dynamic character, and she definitely would've fit right in with the Marauders, Lily, and the like. She's so convincing that it's amost like Rowling just forgot to mention she existed. Seriously, she's that well written, and compliments Remus so well. I love how well they play off each other. It's obvious how comfortable he feels around her, even when she's making him nervous. 

 

Haha, Remus totally would be oblivious about Sirius's potential feelings. He spends so much time worrying about how unlikeable he is (i.e. thinking Chi likes Sirius more than him), that he completely misses how amazing he is and how he actually has more people who're into him than he realizes. It's the same thing with Tonks; he's so oblivious. Classic Remus. Some things never change! 

 

There was just one teeny continuity error I spotted in this. In the first section, you mention that Remus and Chi are getting breakfast at a Muggle cafe, but later on, Remus is paying with Galleons. Again, it's super minor, and it definitely didn't take away from my enjoyment of the chapter. :) 

 

Again, your writing is stellar and throroughly entertaining. I didn't have to "work" to get through this, if you know what I mean. It was simply delightful from start to finish.

 

Excellent work!

 

Cheers,

Reilly



Name: ReillyJade (Signed) · Date: 28 Jan 2019 10:44 PM · [Report This]
Story:Let Me Love You Chapter: Into The Mystic

Hi there! I'm stopping by for the Magical Menagerie!

Oh... oh, my heart. This was gorgeous, however painful. I can't get over how perfectly in-character you've written Remus; his kind, gentle soul radiates off the page (er, screen). I thought it was really beautiful how delicate he was when it came to Mac's injuries, both in how he helped treat them and how he reacted to them. After all, he understands more than most what it's like to be in such a vulnerable position. I also thought it was really sweet how he didn't take advantage and try to sneak glances at her when he helped her in the shower, despite it being implied that he'd already seen her in such a way. His respect and consideration for her was beautiful, and is perfectly in-line with what we know of him in canon. 

 

We know very little about Mac so far, but I'm very attached to her already. I feel awful about her situation, but I'm excited to see what direction you take it and how it all plays out. Also, I can't wait to see you hopfully dive deeper into her friendship/relationship with Remus. 

 

Your writing itself is very engaging. You strike a good balance of narrative and dialogue, and it overall flows quite nicely. The dialogue itself feels very natural, too. 

 

Looking forward to reading more of this!

 

Cheers,

Reilly

 



Name: StarFeather (Signed) · Date: 27 Jan 2019 10:00 AM · starstarstarstar [Report This]
Story:Let Me Love You Chapter: The Nights of Wonder

Hi! I came back (I am itchy for reading your dragon tale... I have to wait so I dropped by your Remus again).

 

This chapter has various time lines. We can trace back what happened after James and Lily were killed and Voldemort had gone, from your Lupin's POV. 

 

I can't get in the ship between Chi and Remus. It's apparent that they have still something special feeling towards each other. They seemed to get back together even they made love later, while Remus confessed his feeling for Tonks...I am confused.  I guess you may start AU from the battle of Hogwarts. I reckon your plot is like this : Tonks dies, Remus survives, Chi confesses she still loves him, then happy ending. Right?  :D

Hmm, Sirius has a thing towards Remus. You seemed to be influenced by Kayla in the Den. ;) I wonder how you will develop from here, not only complicated triangle but quadruple, Remus, Chi and Tonks plus Sirius... so complicated!

The episode, Chi worked in Japan, a good idea. Few people mention East Asian Magical World even after J.K.Rowling added more information via Pottermore. I request write more, please!

 

K

@ Magical Menagerie 3, Team Wolpertinger

 

 



Name: Felpata_Lupin (Signed) · Date: 26 Jan 2019 10:08 AM · starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Story:Let Me Love You Chapter: The Nights of Wonder

Hey, Tasha! Here for the menagerie (and to say thank you for all the wonderful reviews you left me during this event... you are wonderful!)

Ah, Remus... when will he learn he deserves to be loved? *rolls eyes*

Meeting Chi again, after all those years, must have been a bit of a shock... and of course he would feel guilty for abandoning her... but I can't really blame him, for closing into himself after Halloween 1981, it always breaks my heart to think what that was like for him. :( It's just so much in character of him to run away and avoid to confront her, but I'm glad she didn't let him escape the second time. :P And btw, I loved the description of the cafè, it's only three lines, but it gives such a clear picture of the place. So good.

Their conversation was so good as well, and I loved that we got to learn about Chi's life in the years of separation... even if it was heartbreaking that she ended up marrying a violent man, too... it was awful to be reminded of what you showed us in the first chapter, but I guess I'm glad she got out of it.

Seeing them later, during OotP, was even better. I found it funny that they would tease each other about their crushes for other people after spending the night together... :P But I guess that's how they work? I wonder if there actually is any Chi/Sirius interest from either part, or if that's just Remus' mind not accepting that someone might be in love with him, just for a change...? And btw, Remus absolutely denying that Sirius might have ever been interested in him is just so... Remus. *rolls eyes again*

A couple of notes, nothing important, but just things that I thought I might mention. The first is actually more of a typo: you said the second section was set in 2005, when you obviously meant 1995. The second is probably more my personal idea, so feel free to disagree and ignore me: did the Order actually be rebuilt right after PoA? I was sure it wasn't till Voldemort's return... but at the same time Dumbledore would start to take measures after Peter's escape, and then the World Cup, and then Harry becoming a Champion, so... yeah, you might be right, after all...

Sorry, this review is a mess! But I think you did a great job with this chapter, especially at showing and not telling, something I need to work on, so... And of course I love your characters, and the way you picture Remus and Chi's relationship. They are both great and so, so interesting!

Great job!

Chiara



Name: TreacleTart (Signed) · Date: 26 Jan 2019 08:22 AM · [Report This]
Story:Let Me Love You Chapter: The Nights of Wonder

Hey there!


I'm here to leave you a review for the Magical Menagerie Review Event on the forums and also for the Gryffindor Red vs Gold Review Battle for 2019! After reading the last chapter, I had to come and see what happened in this chapter! I had to know if Chi ever got away from that awful excuse of a father.

 

Wel, let me start by saying that I'm glad that Chi got away from her messed up family. I think it was important for her health to find her own place in the world and to heal from their toxicity.

 

What the hell is Remus' problem though? I mean I know he was hurt after the whole Potter murder, Sirius conviction, and Peter's suspected murder, but I can't believe he'd just abandon Chi like that. He could've told her he wasn't ready to talk about it. He could've asked for space, but to just up and disappear like that was wrong.

 

I'm glad she called him out on it, several times in fact. I know it's uncomfortable for him to have to deal with it, but he needs to. It's unfair for him to never give her any sort of explanation.

 

And then they end up in bed together. Personally, I would never sleep with someone who treated me that badly. I feel like maybe Chi should examine the guys she's attracted to. Also, super weird for them to have just slept with each other and then be talking about the other people they're potentially interested in.

 

This was another interesting chapter! I'd definitely be interested in reading more in the future.



Good job!


~Kaitlin



Name: TreacleTart (Signed) · Date: 26 Jan 2019 07:53 AM · [Report This]
Story:Let Me Love You Chapter: Into The Mystic

Hey there!


I'm here to leave you a review for the Magical Menagerie Review Event on the forums and also for the Gryffindor Red vs Gold Review Battle for 2019! I've been meaning to stop by your AP and catch up on your lovely writing! Thought now was as good a time as ever to do so!

 

This was an interesting concept! I never thought of Remus as much of a ladies man when he was a kid, so it's interesting to see him having this relationship with Chi. It's an interesting balance of friendship and a relationship.

 

Wow. It's awful that Chi is getting so horribly abused by her father. It sounds like he really put her through the ringer. The glass and curse marks is definitely not standard abuse tactics. I'm glad Lyall called the police because after what he did to her that horrible man deserves to be in jail. (I could use much stronger words but trying to keep the review PG)

 

I know Remus' parents didn't want him going into the bathroom while she was in there, but it's a good thing he did or they might not have found out about the curse. I imagine leaving something like that unattended could only make it worse with time. I'm glad they treated it.

 

The end of the chapter with them lying on the bed together was very sweet. He seems to really care for her deeply. He wants to protect her and keep her safe. It's nice to see that in someone so young.

 

Good job!


~Kaitlin



Name: Crimson Quill (Signed) · Date: 18 Jan 2019 08:52 PM · [Report This]
Story:Let Me Love You Chapter: Into The Mystic

 

Hey Tasha,

 

I've been meaning to check this out for a while as it seems really interesting idea. Remus/OC doesn't get enough love. 

 

I really like the Remus that you've created here. I love seeing this really feisty strong side to him which isn't often associated with him. I thought it was wonderful to see this side to him but it's a shame that it has to this situation to bring it out but I'm happy that he has someone that he feels that protective over. 

This chapter was totally heartbreaking, it was really raw listening that kinda of abuse that Chi has faced over the years. I really feel for her, I can't wait to get to know her better. She is obviously a very strong girl though through all that abuse, she's still standing (just about!). I would love to see more of her backstory which you say is coming so yay. I love things that are non-linear so I think I'll enjoy this story a lot. 

 

The ending was very sweet that holding each other was enough there. I thought in that paragraph the emotions were really strong. I thought you did such good job at making an emotional punch there. This is very strong first chapter which offers a lot of questions that need to be answered. I feel very engaged with your version of Remus! Great job!

 

- Abbi xo

 

For: Magical Mengerie/ RvG

 



Name: starbuck (Signed) · Date: 18 Jan 2019 12:05 PM · starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Story:Let Me Love You Chapter: The Nights of Wonder

i think you've written a really interesting backstory for chi, even if we didn't see much of it yet. i would love to know more about her, her work and her family. i find it interesting that chi and remus would so casually talk about both of them possibly fancying other people after they just slept together, but i guess it shows just what kind of a relationship (friendship) the two of them have. 


even though you have hinted at remus ending up with tonks, like in the books, i'm still holding out hope he might actually end up with chi - she seems perfect for him, at least to me. she has always accepted him, she probably knows everything about him and she hasn't turned away from him ever. it was his problem that he put up walls around himself, and he is still doing it - i can only hope that chi, being older and smarter, might not let him this time.


kris    



Name: starbuck (Signed) · Date: 18 Jan 2019 09:31 AM · starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Story:Let Me Love You Chapter: Into The Mystic

the fact that you included remus listening to van morrison is a small thing but it means so much in terms of showing the time when he's living and that he's a teenager just like any other, not necessarily the serious and quiet person we often see him portrayed as. and when someone comes to the door and upsets his mother, it's just like remus to come rushing, absolutely unprepared, just in his boxers, but he is a gryffindor and that's what they do.


but what happened to his friend? she was attacked? by whom? oh, wait, is it her father? or is her mother with someone else (and where did she some back from?)? oh god, there is too many questions! but if they all know who attacked her, it's probably some sort of domestic abuse, i think. okay, it's her father. i'm worried that remus might really lose control (to be honest, i can't blame him!). 


so chi is a victim of her father and doesn't want to truly talk about it or have a healer look at her injuries - from what i know about abuse victims, this seems quite believable to me, even if it is incredibly sad. she loves her father, can't help it, and he is the one who is hurting her the most.


oh and they were together...kind of? but it is sweet, the way he takes care of her and how he only wants to hold her in the state that she's in. i would definitely like to know more about remus' and chi's relationship!


kris    



Name: StarFeather (Signed) · Date: 04 Jan 2019 04:21 AM · starstarstarstarhalf-star [Report This]
Story:Let Me Love You Chapter: Into The Mystic

Hi, Tasha. Thank you for making an entry for my story challenge. I am looking forward to reading your Dragon Tale around coming May.

I just stopped by to drop a Happy New Year review.

 

I am impressed by your description about Lupin, I spotted these descriptions:

padded into his bedroom... / hopping slightly on his recently healed leg... / the wolf was never far from the surface... his skin was crawling...

 

I wondered how intimate their relationship was, Chi and Lupin until you clearly mentioned later in this chapter reading Lupin could enter the bathroom while injured Chi was washing in the shower. And it is intriguing you began the story with Chi who was attacked by her own father ? Was she abused by her own father? Why? Did he attack his wife, Chi's mother, too?

 

I am afraid more terrible things may happen and I worry Lupin can't control his wolf when the circumstances get darker.

 

 

K



Name: Felpata_Lupin (Signed) · Date: 26 Dec 2018 09:50 AM · starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Story:Let Me Love You Chapter: Into The Mystic

Hello, Tasha, fellow Remus' lover! ;)

Here for your wishlist! Happy holidays! :D

Poor Chi... domestic violence is the most horrible thing... my heart breaks for her... I suppose I'm glad she has the Lupins to watch after her, at least.

Even if we don't have many details yet, Remus and Chi's friendship/relationship seems so sweet. You can just tell how deep their bond is and how much he cares for her. I think you captured Remus' character so well, too. I love your interpretation of how the wolf influences him constantly and his effort to keep in control. It's very close to my own interpretation, which is probably why I liked it so much.

I'm so glad Chi's father got arrested, and I really, really hope she'll be safe from him from now on!

Great work on this. I'll try to be back for more soon.

Lots of love and happy holidays again!

Chiara



Name: ShadowRose (Signed) · Date: 12 Dec 2018 04:13 AM · [Report This]
Story:Let Me Love You Chapter: Into The Mystic

Hi Tasha! I’m here for December RvG, and for some holiday cheer!!

 

I absolutely adore when stories are inspired by music, so I’m most definitely listening to “Into the Mystic” as I write this review - I love getting the feel for the mood of the chapter based on the song.

 

This story definitely starts off on a powerful note - poor Chi has been through a lot, and her reaction and resistance to talk to law enforcement feels very real and raw. I really like that you tie Remus’ lycanthropy in with - “The wolf was never far from the surface, but Remus had learned a great deal of self-control over the years. However, his skin was crawling as his friend sat bleeding on his sofa, just like in the hours before the moon rises.” - because it makes his emotions so powerfully present and tangible.

 

The ending of this was really soft and sweet, just the image of the two of them together and just holding onto each other, but I like that you hinted at some previous goings-on as well. I was curious as to why Remus was relatively nonchalant about going into the shower to help Chi out, but you hint at the fact that they’ve had at least some sort of previous history, which explains that. (And since this isn’t written in chronological order, I’m hoping we’ll get a little peek into the backstory behind that one at some point.)

 

Anyways, this was a lovely read and I’m excited for more chapters, as well as the Marauders novel that’s going to go along with this!

 

-Taylor



Name: Rumpelstiltskin (Signed) · Date: 03 Dec 2018 10:01 PM · [Report This]
Story:Let Me Love You Chapter: Into The Mystic

Hey, dear! I'm here for Keep-Away (From the Nifflers)!

 

I have such a soft spot for Remus Lupin -- I feel you 100%. I mean, honestly, how can you NOT. If you're up for a really fun Remus discussion, I know that Bex (beyond the rain) and Carrie (scooterbug8515) are super fans over on the Forums, so definitely hit them up with Remus talk ;).

 

Anyways, onward! 

 

I can say with some degree of certainty that even though the Marauders were absolutely insane for becoming animagi in order to run around with a werewolf, it is also an absolute heart-swelling display of friendship and devotion. I can imagine that, now that he's accustomed to the company, full moons might feel more difficult without them. 

 

But what a way to start a story out with some action and chaos! I'm immediately left trying to figure out what happened to Chi (and her mother, for that matter). I'm stricken to find out that her father was the cause of all this. It's absolutely heartbreaking that anyone would have to go through something like this. At least Remus's family has contacted the authorities -- but I do wonder, to what avail. 

 

I also love that Remus is so careful and sweet to her. I'm kinda terrified to find out what will happen when her father is released from prison. 

 

At any rate, I had a lovely time reading it. I'll have to stop by your Marauder novel sometime to see what's going on behind the scenes! 

 

Happy Holidays, Tasha!

 

-Rumpels



Submit a Review