Login
Reviews For Tis The Season

Name: StarFeather (Signed) · Date: 14 Dec 2018 12:10 PM · starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Story:Tis The Season Chapter: December 1st, 2002 - Advent

Hi, I came back again.

 It's really a beautiful piece which is full of love and nostalgia. Even if the readers are not Christians,  they will be sure to feel them while reading this story.  

In the first sentences, you set the protagonist's memory with her mother. We imagine how the adolescent boys and girls are difficult to deal with. At the same time, we learn the difference between the Irish traditional catholic Christmas decoration and the modern one.

 

The next sentences are sad with information that her mother seems to be dead already. The scenery with her father makes us feel for them without his wife or her mother, celebrating Christmas coming just like the time when she was alive with her husband and her daughter. The protagonist seems to have grown up to understand her mother's obsession with decorating her home in the traditional way. 

And the last part is a super spot which draws tears from the readers. The sudden snow from the heaven, must have been the message from the protagonist's mum to her daughter and her husband.  

 

Thank you for a very moving story, Kaitlin! I love it.

 

K

 



Name: javu (Signed) · Date: 06 Dec 2018 06:00 PM · starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Story:Tis The Season Chapter: December 8th, 2002 - Christmas Sweaters

Dangit Kaitlin! I’m at work I can’t cry!!!! There I was, reading along expecting a merry story once I got to the part of Molly knitting sweaters. Then WHAM read how she still knits one for Fred Sr. My goodness! It’s so simple, yet so sad!

 

 I can totally see Molly doing this, and I can see that she wouldn’t tell anyone. It was always her thing, her gift, of knitting all those sweaters. Though her children may have been embarrassed by them and would be reluctant to wear them out in public, the sweaters represented Molly’s love for them and also affirmed their place and identity in the family. As seen when Harry gets one and he feels touched because not only someone gave him a gift, and a handmade gift at that, but it was a gift that Ron, Fred and George and Percy also had. Harry felt included! So of course Molly continues to make one for Fred! If she didn’t, it’s like saying he’s not part of the family anymore. Fred is apart of the family even from the grave. 

 

I appreciate how you wrote “She knew it was silly.” That word - silly - Molly’s used it in the books, like when she struggled with the boggart in OotP. Good job keeping that part of her character in your story, even though If was a small part of her.

 

Alwynse for RvG December - Go GOLD! 

 



Name: javu (Signed) · Date: 06 Dec 2018 03:31 PM · starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Story:Tis The Season Chapter: December 3rd, 2002 - All I Want For Christmas

Ayo Kaitlin! Here for RvG December- Go GOLD!

 

Lately I’ve really developed a hankering for Draco rebuilding era stories, so I’m glad I found this! And I love Christmas, so it’s a win-win! 

 

I can relate to Draco in this chapter, though for different reasons. I’m an introvert, so parties generally aren’t my scene. But I also have a dislike for meaningless conversation. It’s not that I dislike talking with people per se, but I like for it to have a purpose. I struggle with small talk even with people I’m very close to. I feel like I’d be hiding there with him haha!

 

 I find it endearing that Draco hid behind the Christmas tree, and even more endearing that Astoria hid there too. That’s super cute. And it’s adorable how it’s that fact that starts off their conversation and bonding. I feel like they really hit it off and their chemistry developed quickly. Lucky ducks! 

 

I like how you left some things open ended. Or at least I perceived things to be. For instance, Pansy. Draco considers her to be one of his best friends, but c’mon! I feel like there’s a good chance that Pansy wants more than that and this party was designed in part to woo him. Also has she really changed? It could be she just told Draco what he wanted to hear?? 

 

And why does Daphne dislike Draco? He actually was a death eater. Is her dislike because she doesn’t want to be associated with a past death eater or does she dislike his reformed thinking? Could be both. 



Name: Margaret (Signed) · Date: 04 Dec 2018 02:14 PM · [Report This]
Story:Tis The Season Chapter: December 8th, 2002 - Christmas Sweaters

Had to skip to this one given that the 8th of December traditionally marked the beginning of the Christmas season in Ireland. I mean technically, the 8th of December celebrated the conception of Mary in her mother's womb and had nothing to do with the birth of Jesus at all, but it was a day most of the schools closed so it became the day for Christmas shopping, a bit like Black Friday in the U.S., I guess, but without the sales. It was a big deal up to about 10 years ago but it seems to have died out now.

 

I think Christmas must be a particularly sad time for any parent who loses a child. Even though Fred was a (young) adult when he died, Christmas must still bring back a lot of memories and after all, Christmas is the time when adult children return home, bringing their own children if they have any.

 

And yes, it must be heartbreaking for George as he and Fred were so close.

 

The part where Molly is remembering the past is so sad, it brought tears to my eyes. I can totally believe that Molly would want a timeturner so she could return to the days when her children were young and under her protection. 



Name: Margaret (Signed) · Date: 04 Dec 2018 02:06 PM · starstarstarstar [Report This]
Story:Tis The Season Chapter: December 1st, 2002 - Advent

Thank you so, so much for your gifts. My dad actually died recently so it was sort of nice to wake up to your long list of gifts.

 

I see you also have a chapter for the 8th of December, which I must read, as that used to sort of mark the beginning of Christmas in Ireland. But anyway, this chapter first.

 

Love the use of the word "Mam" here, which is quite Irish. Actually, the word people use for their mother can be something of a social marker here, with "mum" more urban and middle class and "mam" more rural and working class. And "mom" very modern and upper-middle-class, southside of Dublin city, somewhat yuppieish.

 

And one thing I noticed when I visited England was how nobody speaks to anybody else. Even when I almost bumped into somebody and said "sorry," they just walked on without saying "sorry" in return, as people would over here. Getting on the train thing to the runway for the plane was really back among Irish people again as this old guy was telling everybody about where he was from where he was going and so on. For a holiday, the difference was interesting but I think it could get kinda lonely permanently.

 

LOVE the detail about magical advent calendars. That makes perfect sense.



Name: poppunkpadfoot (Signed) · Date: 27 Jun 2017 10:56 PM · starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Story:Tis The Season Chapter: December 6th, 2002 - Breaking The Fast

(transferred from hpff)

 

Hi Kaitlin! I'm here reviewing for Day 15 of the advent calendar :)


There's so much that I love about this story! First of all, I never imagined Demelza as Muslim - in fact, I never really put much thought into her character at all. So I think it's really awesome that you took a minor character and added to her character so much :)


Second of all, I don't know too much about Eid, but from what I can tell you did a beautiful and sensitive job of describing the festivities. It was very much a standard holiday story in that it focused on the caring relationship between Demelza and her family (and their community) and highlighted the joyfulness and spirit of the season, but you focused on a holiday that, unfortunately, gets overlooked all the time.


What really brought this story to life for me was your descriptions of the food! My mouth was practically watering. I don't that's not surprising, given your profession!


My only bit of criticism would be to be careful with the spelling of Demelza's last name - it's not consistent throughout the story. It switches between "Robbins" and "Robins" (I can't remember off the top of my head which one is correct).


I really enjoyed this, it's so sweet and beautifully done! :)


-Kayla
Happy Holidays!    



Name: merlins beard (Signed) · Date: 30 Apr 2017 04:31 AM · starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Story:Tis The Season Chapter: December 3rd, 2002 - All I Want For Christmas

Hey Kaitlin – I thought this would be a bit more fluffy, maybe?

Awwww I love twinkling lights d84; d84;

Eggnog not so much, that’s dangerous. And way too sweet.

Well so much for fluffy. Draco isn’t really enjoying himself so far, is he? He’s acting exactly like I would at any given party so I completely understand. Hiding in a corner is the perfect way to pass the time, after all.

OOOOOH there’s the fluff I’ve been waiting for. I looooove how they meet here. It’s perfect. (can I meet someone that way? It would be a fun story for the grandkids 😝 )

Wow really? Having to hide from a guy is the worst. I don’t know why they continue insisting on being such gits???!

Wow Pansy repenting on her mistakes seems to be a theme in your stories. I haven’t quite pictured her like that before, but I can sort of see it now.

It’s sweet of Draco to come despite hating the event and hating the people there. But I’m pretty sure if Pansy is a real friend, she’d understand if he wouldn’t come, too. Oh no… making people come to parties isn’t all that great. Ugh.

Wow bloody hell daphne really? I mean. Quit trying to set up your sister? That’s rude and uncalled for?

Wow draco sure is falling quickly, but I really like it.

Please tell me the flag is here?

Xoxo Anja

 



Name: Veritaserum27 (Signed) · Date: 20 Apr 2017 12:33 AM · [Report This]
Story:Tis The Season Chapter: December 3rd, 2002 - All I Want For Christmas

Hi Kaitlin, how are you?  So I am just dropping off a few reviews for my fellow staffers.  I thought maybe we could use the morale boost and I picked a story which is called ’Tis the Season because it had no reviews and it was kind of difficult to find a story of yours that had no reviews,   This one looked cute and I also wanted to kind of review some fluffy stuff I was in the mood for something a little lighter.

 

It's an adorable Draco/Astoria meeting story!  I love these!  This is so cute and it seems so perfect that they meet at a Christmas party and that the two of them would be hiding from everybody else.  I actually really like how you characterize Pansy -  that she has has changed since the war and she's got a new sort of lease on life and a new goal to try to change the pureblood’s way of thinking — good luck with that, Pansy!

 

Aww, they were having such an awesome time until nasty little Daphne appeared and she's just completely vile. What did you do?!  She gets slapped by Daphne and I'm waiting for Astoria to stand up to her or even for Draco to put his foot down and get between the two sisters but she just leaves!  :(   

 

And then Draco just goes home.  This is so sad.   What are you doing to me Kaitlin?!   

 

This was a really good story and I actually really like the ending but my heart is a little hurt from this.  

 

Keep smilin’!

 

p.p1 {margin: 0.0px 0.0px 0.0px 0.0px; font: 12.0px Helvetica; color: #454545} p.p2 {margin: 0.0px 0.0px 0.0px 0.0px; font: 12.0px Helvetica; color: #454545; min-height: 14.0px}

Beth



Author's Response:

Hey there! 

 

I am good. Hope you're well as well. Ahh. Trying to review fluff on my page is a bit difficult since I don't write much fluff. 

 

I don't always characterize Pansy that way, but I do think she always gets written as incredibly awful and I would imagine that she like anyone else might be able to redeem themselves.

 

Yeah. I picture Daphne being really obnoxious and controlling for some reason. 

 

I'm sorry the ending hurt your heart a little bit. I sort of imagine this being what starts Draco off on pursuit of Astoria. 

 

Thank you for the lovely review! 

 

~Kaitlin



Submit a Review