Login
Reviews For Icarus

Name: victoria_anne (Signed) · Date: 10 Apr 2019 07:29 PM · [Report This]
Story:Icarus Chapter: Takeoff

Hello! I'm so excited to be back reading this story!

 

(Chapters you don't plan for are the best, I love when ideas just manifest) (also, please excuse me if I make comments that are obvious, it's been a while since I read this story but I did go through a few of my old reviews)

 

Well, looks like the cat's out of the bag! I can't believe Lily and the parallel universes are published for all the world to see! That was a really great technique to open the chapter - I'm so excited to see what happens now. Will this slow down her chance to go home? Will she be in trouble?

 

Iris! There's Iris! Iris is here! I can't wait to here about the story of this version of her. I love that even though she dropped out of Hogwarts, she still worked hard to make a life for herself. And what you wrote about her love for Julian extending across universes? So beautiful!

 

I really love Lily's attitude toward answering their questions. Her annoyance is realistic and palpable. I'm also itching for her to be released and on the ship!

 

Gah, she lost a toe! Splinching is so awful!

 

She's on her way! I can't wait to find out what happens next :)



Name: crestwood (Signed) · Date: 24 Feb 2019 06:14 PM · starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Story:Icarus Chapter: Facing the Facts

Hi Kristin! I’m so excited to be back reading your work!


I’ve decided that I’m going to go ahead and review starting where I left off the first time I reviewed this story because I’m just so eager to go forward and see what you’ve come up since then. Interestingly enough, chapter seven was the very last thing I reviewed on hpff, when it was brand new. So, obviously a lot of time has past and this is now incredibly decked out in awards, twenty chapters long, and completed. I’m so proud of how far it’s come and so excited to jump back in!


So, I open up this chapter and see that it’s dedicated to me! Omg. Thank you so much! That was such a lovely surprise.


I love that astrophysicists are allowed inside of the Department of Mysteries. I can’t even imagine the things they get up to in there. I love Lily’s reflection on how she tends to forget that Muggles can be brilliant, and her fumbles with the word astrophysicist. You know how much I love to see characters dissect the Wizarding world’s dismissal of Muggle culture!


I realize now that I’ve kept Miriam Zhou’s name in my memory for all these years (I’m working on pure memory right now to push me through this review, I didn’t want to spend too much time going back to read all the chapters I’d read before leaving this for you, although I will probably do a brush up before moving on further :P)


The advice from Hermione brings to mind the original meeting they held for the DA! Very fun connection to make there. I also love how casual Miriam is in saying ‘I understand you’ve come from a parallel universe.’


I rather enjoy the idea that Lily wouldn’t be totally clued in on how time travel works even though it exists where she comes from. I’m not sure I could explain how a light bulb works if truly pressed about it from a person in an alternate timeline.


I love the metaphor of jumping from one moving train to another - that is just amazing! What an image for jumping across multiverses.


I’m so EXCITED. A spaceship. And something is alive there. This is everything I could have possibly asked for. This is the best HP fic sci-fi story, still. Everything that happens is everything that I’d want out of the story.


It’s actually pretty sad to see how Marta doesn’t remember Lily - she’s obviously just grasping at straws trying to come up with any semblance of companionship in this strange world. It must sting to see a version of your friend that’s just entirely different in basically every way.


The flashback scene with Iris, Marta, and Lily is so emotionally satisfying. Their friendship is so well defined that even if I’d only read that as a stand-alone drabble I’d come away feeling like I know the bond they share. It’s clear how Iris’ life might not have gone quite as well without the support of friends like these. As ‘out there’ as this story is, you really know how to breathe this air of relatability and grounded feeling into the whole thing. You’ve really blown me away again, and I can’t wait to get to the rest of this. I’ve missed the story so much! It remains one of my all-time favorites and I’m ecstatic to see that it’s become so popular - you deserve it! Thank you so much for the swap :)

 

Joey  



Name: M C Crocker (Signed) · Date: 29 Jan 2019 05:00 PM · starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Story:Icarus Chapter: Tabula Rasa

I just knew that things were not going to turn out for Marta in this world.  It breaks my heart as she has the potential to be a great person but with no Lily that doesn't happen.  The differences in this world compared to the one that Lily came from are brilliant. 

 

I am particualrly fond of the part where you have Miram Zhou be the one who was cleaning up time turners to go back in tiem to invent them.  That is a really fun looping timeline and It blows my mine as there  is the question of how she got to be cleaning them in the first place if she is the one who invented it.  It breaks my brain a little but in a good way and was a nice wonderful touch to add to the story.   I also like how time turners is another reason why people don't travel in space in Lily's world but do in this world.  

 

There are jsut so many layers and you are doing a wonderful job.  You have put a lot of thought in to this story and it clearly shows.  Wonderful work at crafting such a fantastic tale that just absorbs a reader right in.

 

- A Magical Menagerie Review



Name: M C Crocker (Signed) · Date: 29 Jan 2019 04:36 PM · starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Story:Icarus Chapter: Inferno

Incredible, absolutely incredible.  You did an amazing job having Lily deal with the stranger and had the stranger react in a logical way to Lily.  I am glad that she at least has Lance even if he doesn't really know who she is.  I am surprised that Lance is the son of Cho that is certainly interesting.  I am so excited to see what else you have in store.

 

You did an amaizng job thinking a lot of this through.  I mean you incorporated the fact that Colin and Myrtle never died and I love that Lily ran down the rabbit trail that the diadem is still hidden in Albainai.  

 

Not only did you incorporate some of the nice subtle things which was amazing and I love it but I find it so interesting that you have added space ships to this story that there was probably some muggle that Voldemort killed that did that.  Not only are there space ships which is wicked cool, you also eliminated the statue of seacrecy which I find incredibly fascinating.  Wonderful work there was a lot here but it was well handled and a lot of fun.  This story is indeed one wild trip and I am glad I'm along for the ride!

 

- A Magical Menagerie Review



Name: M C Crocker (Signed) · Date: 29 Jan 2019 04:16 PM · starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Story:Icarus Chapter: Playing with Fire

This is the point where things get really exciting, I am practically rubbing my hands together in eager anticipation.  I love what-if AU stories!  I also got really excited when Lily jumped to the future for a few minutes.  That was really interesting even if it was only for a few brief moments.   I am really curious as to where you will take things next however!

 

I also like how you explain the sort of science behind what is going on with the multiverse and how there are different worlds based on different decisions.  You do a nice job of laying the ground work for what I am sure will be a wild ride.  

 

I also find it to be a very nice touch that you not only indicate that Lily isn't in her apartment any more via the lack of familiar furniature and the strange person, you also indicated that with smell - that is such a unique and interesting idea.  I love that you did that it was surprising but in a good way.  Also where the dishes that Lily found really the missing dishes or just mistaken as the missing dishes?  I am really curius as to why the dishes ended up in this verse rather than some other verse.  

 

It is also sweet that what spurrs Lily to consider this particualr word is a photo of her frustrated brother dealing with a paparazi.  Well that and some of the fact that the interview was quick to follow the submission of her application but the photo of Albus was the final push.  

 

You have crafted a very interesting story here and you are doing it very well.  I cannot wait to read more. 

 

- A Magical Menagerie Review



Name: M C Crocker (Signed) · Date: 29 Jan 2019 03:39 PM · [Report This]
Story:Icarus Chapter: Cultivated Arts

And so things are about to start!  That button push is a very dangrous thing indeed particualry with the now missing plates.  At this point I'm torn between wanting to say bless Marta and curs her.  She is a fun character very nice to Lily and friendly but she gets to so much trouble and that's a problem clearly with what I am sure is about to happen.

 

All the same, I have enjoyed this story, how Lily continues to avoid fame and how she isn't the only person in the family doing less than stellar.  I adore the fact that all three of them like o have food fites even as adults while eating together at their parents.  I also find it sweet that Albus is with Scorpius and I like that you addressed the issue that Scorpius is the son of a former enemy.  It amuses me and I am also amused that Albus cursed in Chinese.

 

I will say, that I am particularly amused with James being a writer and the only review/endorsement he got was from Gilderoy Lockhart.  That made me smile but I feel for Jame as I am a writer and only have one book.  Sadly I dont' have the review/endorsement that he has which is more than me in my opinion.

 

I also love the small details you have added to this story, doing a play on Agatha Christi novels only is wizard form is a lot of fun and is interesting.  Keep up the good work and I am looking forward to more!

 

- A Magical Menagerie Review



Author's Response:

You have very good intuition about Marta, haha.

Glad you enjoyed the silly Potter family dinner as they all behave like children, haha. Aw, idk about Gilderoy Lockhart's review of James' book necessariy being a good thing, as Lockhart just used it to further promote his own book, but I'm glad James' plight seems very realistic to you at least! That said, I hope you get many famous authors endorsing your book soon ;)

Haha, in glad you enjoyed the Agatha Christie reference as well. Thanks so much for your review and I'm glad you're enjoying the story!



Name: M C Crocker (Signed) · Date: 29 Jan 2019 02:59 PM · [Report This]
Story:Icarus Chapter: Old and New

You have done a very nice job setting the world up here in this chapter.  You have introduced some very interesting characters who are Lily's friends.  While I am torn on original characters in the realm of Harry Pottter I also find it a nice change of pace that Lily is not quite the closest of chums with her siblings and cousins and has a freind circle outside of them and this friend circle you have created is interesting and unique.

 

You have also done a lovely job of setting things up with the weird humming cube - you did a nice job of giving descriptors to help me picture it without being clear what exactly this glowing cube is persay. 

 

I like how you have already set Lily up as a very sympatheic character.  I feel her pain and agony in struggling to live up to her family's expectations.  While I have not attempted to lie abotu a job to my parents or even have famous parents it is still easy to associate with Lily - you make her very realy and down to earth and her personality contiues to be quirkly and fun.  I also like how you incorporated in the old silly fortune telling date house thing I remember doing it ages ago but I don't remember how it words fully but it was certainly a bit of nostalgia for me and was an enjoyable treat to read about.  I mean I even related to your mention of Iris and the pile of bridal magazines I had a roomate who was prepping for a wedding in college.  

 

Overall this story has been a joy and a treat thus far and while I was wong about Lily's dream world being the AU that you mentioned in the summary you have been crafting an interesting story all the same.

 

- A Magical Menagerie Review



Author's Response:

Hey! Thank you, I'm really glad to hear this was an effective set up. I'm glad you like Lily's friends despite not being particularly drawn to original characters. Because yeah,exactly - while  I'm sure Lily is close with her cousins, I can't imagine that they'd be the only people she hangs out with.

 

Also good to hear the cube is well introduced, thanks!

 

I'm glad you think Lily comes across as a sympathetic character and that you like her personality and can appreciate the pressure she has on her. Ahahaha and that game, glad you enjoyed that XD I had so much fun with that game back in the day. I'm so happy to hear the characters and their lives so far are relatable!

 

Thanks so much for the review!



Name: M C Crocker (Signed) · Date: 29 Jan 2019 02:25 PM · [Report This]
Story:Icarus Chapter: Prologue

Okay, so I am very intrigue by the start of this story and where the sci-fi elements will come in that you have mentioned in your end notes.  I am very curious what shenanigans Lily will get up to in her dream on this particular rememberance day.  Lily sounds like a fun character with the way that you have written her.  She seems to already have a quirky personality.

 

Also, very nice job with pointing out the confusion with the names and the horrendous choices Harry and Ginny made in naming their children.  Also kudos to Lily coming up with a unique name that she likes even if it seems almost a bit odd.  At least it's not Elvendork right?

 

You have done a nice job with explaining the situation of the Potter-Weasley Clan and I like that you have also addressed the fact that Lily is the child of someone famous and has to deal with that day in and day out as well as the fact that she may not live up to her name sake.  You have balanced things very nicely and have provided a very interesting set up for the rest of the story. 

 

- A Magical Menagerie Review



Author's Response:

Hey there! I'm so glad you're interested in the beginning of this and it caught your attention! As you have realized by now from reading on, the scifi doesn't start immediately, as I had to establish 'normal' first haha, but I'm stoked that youre excited about the sci fi aspects. I am a huge scifi fan and didn't shy away from scifi concepts in this story, haha. Anyway, I'm glad you like Lily so far in this brief glimpse you've seen of her.

 

Hahaha the names are SO ridiculous and I'm still shaking my head at JKR for doing such a thing. Bahahah, Elvendork? Yeah I suppose, could have been worse! But yeah bad naming I guess runs in the family :P

 

Thanks, I'm glad this seems set up well and provides enough background about Lily and her struggles with fame, which end up being somewhat important later on. Thanks so much for reading and for your review!



Name: ShadowRose (Signed) · Date: 29 Jan 2019 01:54 PM · [Report This]
Story:Icarus Chapter: Unforgettable

I cannot believe this is the end!!! This whole story has been so creative and delightful, and I’ve really enjoyed reading it.

 

Lily’s new life sounds fulfilling, even though it’s not necessarily the dramatic world-changing one she dreamt of in earlier chapters. Maybe that’ll come in time, though. For now, I’m glad she’s still got all her old friends and Indira, and I feel like it’s only a matter of time until Marta realises she wants to go back to the old life that she loved and was so much happier in. Lance/Marta is something I could probably get behind, they’re different but I think would compliment each other well?

 

And then the Misunderstood Heliopaths!!! Hmmmm, these descriptions of people sound awfully familiar, especially considering one of them plays the saw. So they may not be flying a spaceship, but they’re in a band together and clearly still have that bond. It’s a very different vibe but they still seem satisfied - and it’s also cool because this is now the people that Lily knows from both worlds colliding all over again. I can only hope that the Lily/Celeste ship is a thing in this world too….

 

Omg the fact that smoking gillyweed makes you hallucinate gills is absolutely incredible - that’s honestly so much more realistic than people getting high off of it, because you’re basically just getting the impact of the gillyweed on your brain but absolutely nowhere else. 

 

Ahhhh ok Celeste and Lily are talking and she’s buying her a drink!!! And the brief memory of ‘find me on the other side’ KRISTIN I CANNOT RIGHT NOW. Like I actually cannot figure out how to articulate how I feel about that because it’s so bittersweet and I have no idea how similar this Celeste is to the original one, but it’s also incredible that that memory stuck with her through everything else and there’s so much more potential in this version of their relationship.

 

And as much as I hated that Lily lost her memories, it definitely grew on me SO MUCH here because I really think this is the only way that this version of Lily/Celeste could ever work, because if Lily had retained all her memories, she would’ve constantly been drawing comparisons between the AU Celeste and the OU one, which would probably have killed any chance they’ve got at a relationship in the bud. So the memory thing definitely worked out for the better here, because OMG THEY’RE GOING ON A DATE AND LILY/CELESTE IS OFFICIALLY BACK ON AGAIN.

 

Idk what to do with my life now that I’ve finished this, haha. I absolutely adored this story, thank you so much for writing and sharing it. <3

 

-Taylor

Written for the Magical Menagerie and January RvG



Name: ShadowRose (Signed) · Date: 29 Jan 2019 01:53 PM · [Report This]
Story:Icarus Chapter: A New Normal

I have so many things to address in this chapter, but also I’m remarkably impatient to read the last one, so maybe this will serve as a nice kick in the butt to maybe write a review slightly faster than my (usually v v slow) pace.

 

I was gonna review this relatively chronologically, and I’ll do that eventually, but for the moment I have a revelation that belongs closer to the end of the chapter that I need to discuss right now, because the Agrawal memory thing made me think of something. So, if Marta went back and changed time in that one universe at the same time Lily jumped to the new one, and BOTH Lily AND Agrawal lost their memories at that same time as well, does that mean Marta’s actions in the past changed the present in that universe and that’s why neither of them remember it anymore? Because it didn’t actually end up happening that way?? Because if so, HOLY MINDFRICKERY KRISTIN THAT’S INSANE/BRILLIANT. (And if not, ignore my tangent, lol.)

 

Anyways, I love how supportive and lovely Iris is being in this, which is a marked contrast to Marta’s behaviour. Perhaps OU Marta and AU Marta (ugh, why didn’t I realise that abbreviation like 15 reviews ago, that’s so much easier) aren’t that different after all - they’re both rather selfish and pursuing their own happiness at all costs, whether if be travelling back in time for AU Marta or marrying someone rich and essentially leaving behind her entire old life for OU Marta. But it is nice that Marta is still so supportive of Iris, even though she may not be that way with Lily as much anymore (or at least, bad at expressing that support).

 

Ok, and now we’re back to Agrawal - she’s in such a strange place given that she’s essentially built a whole new life in this universe because she was gone for so long. It’s almost a peek of what could’ve been if Lily never left the AU. And after 30 years, being given that choice to go back or stay has got to be tricky, but I think she probably made the right choice anyways - she’d been in that universe for so long that so much of her life is here now, and it’d be just as hard to leave that as accidentally leaving the first time would’ve been.

 

Unrelated because I forgot to mention this last chapter, but it’s also got to be really hard to come back and realise that both of your grandparents passed away in your absence. That’s such a hard thing to have to miss.

 

But anyways, the end of this chapter is so hopeful, and I’m so excited for the last one!!

 

-Taylor

Written for the Magical Menagerie and January RvG



Name: StarFeather (Signed) · Date: 28 Jan 2019 07:04 PM · starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Story:Icarus Chapter: Inferno

Wa wow, the title 'Inferno' is well said, all that cause was begun by Marta! She is all to blame for Lily's predicament. Though the situation is very serious for Lily, it's hilarious how she jumped into the parallel world. 

It's a relief that Lance had amusement listening to what Lily explained. At the same time, I wondered if the thing had ever happened,  Potters had never existed in the parallel world. I really feel for Lily, but the mood of this chapter looks like rather comical, or humorous than dark or depressing.

 

The idea that Muggles and wizards achieved the very ideal world such as inventing spaceships or they accept each other and wizards can use magic anywhere anytime. It is perfectly freedom. 

 

And I smiled when I spotted Rowena Ravenclaw's diadem thinking she could be smart enough to solve the problem she was stuck in.

 

It's very nice of Lance even in the parallel world, he is so generous to let her stay the night in spite of the situation they have just met (for him, Lily was an intruder...).

 

K

@ Magical Menagerie 3, Team Wolpertinger

 

 

 



Name: ShadowRose (Signed) · Date: 27 Jan 2019 04:59 PM · [Report This]
Story:Icarus Chapter: Hindsight

HAHAHAHA I FORGOT ABOUT THE TOE THING. IMAGINE JUST LOOKING DOWN AND NOT HAVING A WHOLE ENTIRE TOE, THAT’S *WILD*. (Asterisks come into play when I need caps lock on top of caps lock, apparently.)

 

But on a more serious note, I think Lance’s explanation about time moving at different speeds makes sense, and while the first time she changed universes she was on the same spot in time, she wasn’t the second time around, which explains a) why so much more time has passed here, and b) why the massive jump between both universes and timelines would’ve wiped her memory. And then being able to stay with Lance and Iris and watch a terrible action film was the perfect return to her old life, and the whole sleeping-on-Lance’s-sofa thing was a nice nod to her parallel universe life, and it makes so much sense that she has deja vu because of it.

 

I feel like a major theme of this chapter was just all about a return to normalcy - after all the crazy sci-fi stuff and new friends Lily made in the alternate universe and space/time/universe travel, this felt very much like a return to the events of the first few chapters. I’m not sure how I feel about that just yet, because while it’s great that she’s back where she belongs, it really sucks that all she’s going to get out of it is a bunch of media coverage and a massive gap in her memory.

 

The family reunion was super sweet and all but this line - “My cousin Louis has grown a beard and it makes him look like a lumberjack who lives in a hollowed-out tree.” - just made me start giggling in the midst of it. And Percy going off on a whole ramble about cauldron safety seems so spot-on for his character and I love that he got to use his powers for good here.

 

Excited for these last two chapters!

 

-Taylor

Written for the Magical Menagerie and January RvG



Name: ShadowRose (Signed) · Date: 26 Jan 2019 07:57 PM · [Report This]
Story:Icarus Chapter: Ghosts

OH MY GOD SHE CAN’T REMEMBER ANYTHING. AND IT’S BEEN FOUR YEARS. IRIS HAS A KID AND NAMED IT HYACINTH LIKE LILY’S FAKE NAME IN THE OTHER UNIVERSE. (Yes, we’re going back to excessive use of caps lock. This revelation demands it.) It’s so strange and wild that so much time has passed, and somehow Lily never changed - I feel bad that she can’t remember anything though, because she really did grow so much as a person in all the past chapters so it’s really upsetting that all that character development has just……. disappeared in one fell swoop. Hopefully she still gets some of that development in another way though? 

 

BUT NO THIS MEANS SHE’S FORGOTTEN CELESTE TOO AND I AM DISTRAUGHT.

 

But also, MARTA WHAT THE HELL. I can’t believe she blamed all of that on Lily - I suppose it’s in her nature, but I just finished saying how this universe’s Marta was more redeemable than the other Marta and then she goes and pulls that shit. Like, I’m glad she felt guilty for it and confessed eventually, but that’s really terrible of her to have thrown Lily under the bus to begin with. And poor Lance! At least he *did* get his job back though, that would’ve been awful if he’d lost his job through no fault of his own.

 

Ooh, all those letters rushing in! Are those letters people had written years ago that finally found her, or did her family somehow get wind that she’s back?

 

Also, KRISTIN. THIS WAS ALREADY A WILD CHAPTER AND THEN YOU THREW IN THAT AUTHOR’S NOTE. OH MY GOD SHE MIGHT STILL BE IN THE SAME UNIVERSE BUT WITH MARTA SCREWING THINGS UP INSTEAD. WHAT IS THIS MINDFRICKERY.

 

(I don’t have a better, forum-appropriate word for this than “mindfrickery” so that’s what we’re going with.)

 

But omg I cannot wait to see everyone else’s reactions as they figure out she’s back. Or in the same universe that’s been thrown off by time travel. All in all, WOW MY MIND HAS BEEN BLOWN BY THIS CHAPTER.

 

-Taylor

Written for the Magical Menagerie and January RvG



Name: ShadowRose (Signed) · Date: 26 Jan 2019 01:14 PM · [Report This]
Story:Icarus Chapter: Meanwhile...

Oh, Marta POV was not a twist I was expecting! I’ve still got such a weird vibe from her - I think, in Lily’s universe, her good traits at least balance out her bad ones, but I don’t quite know if I feel the same way about this version of Marta. She doesn’t seem to care about anyone other than herself, and I hate that she’s in a place in her life that she hates so much, but it seems that the only way she’s capable of thinking through getting out of it is by manipulating people and stealing things. I do think the process of sneaking into the Department of Mysteries was pretty cool to read about, though.

 

I was a bit confused trying to figure out where she’d gone and what the significance was, but…… OMG she went back in time to the Riddle incident. Which… would it have even happened in that universe initially? Is this version of time travel like the version in HP (the….. non-Cursed Child version at least) where changes in the past occur simultaneously with the present, so any time travel changes would have already occurred? Which could mean Marta’s time travel could’ve actually been the REASON Voldemort never existed? Or, since this is new technology, would Marta’s actions change the trajectory of the future and create a world in which Voldemort DID exist and the Statute of Secrecy never went away? Ahh, this alternate timeline creates so many questions!! And Cecilia was the fake name from chapter 3!! I love that that little detail became important here.

 

“sets off towards her future in the past” - This was such a cool poetic line that I loved. Although it seems her propensity to steal things instead of getting them legally hasn’t changed much. I wonder what happens to her in this era though - even though I’m not necessarily her biggest fan, it’d be nice for her to have found some sort of happiness in this new time period.

 

But also…..  not so nice for her if she accidentally created Voldemort.

 

-Taylor

Written for the Magical Menagerie and January RvG



Name: ShadowRose (Signed) · Date: 26 Jan 2019 12:28 PM · [Report This]
Story:Icarus Chapter: Tempus Fugit

Ooh, they’ve arrived on Balthazar!! AND AGRAWAL IS ALIVE AND IN LILY’S UNIVERSE. AND THE CUBE IS STILL MIA. AHHHHHHHHH. I like, audibly gasped at that letter. I mean, I knew that people in her universe were still going on with their lives and that it had seemed like Lily had disappeared, and that Agrawal was probably somewhere, but it still surprised me to actually get confirmation that all of that was happening.

 

ALSO. GIANT INSECTS ARE A HARD NOPE FROM ME. (Geez, I need to chill with the abuse of the caps lock button in this review.) And slightly off-topic, but I can’t help but be curious as to how Patronuses would do in space - we never see magic and space interact, but I feel like there’s got to be oxygen involved in them somehow? So it would make sense that you couldn’t conjure a Patronus in space. “And to think that five months ago I was just sitting around on a sofa moping about being unemployed. I really have gone places.” I love that she’s thinking about this while preparing to fight a bunch of giant bugs.

 

And awww, the scene with the scrapbook was so sweet (although I guess she’s not going to have one for herself, since there’s a possibility she’ll show up in the middle of an ocean), and it’s so bittersweet that Lily has to leave all of these people after how close they’ve gotten over the past few months. 

 

THE SUNSET. ASDFH;GAHFRLISFGHA;GHA. “Find me on the other side” ok Kristin rip my heart out why don’t you. I know they’ll both be fine, because Celeste has her spaceship and her crew, and Lily has her friends and her newfound mission to use her celebrity for good, but it doesn’t make me any less sad that this ship is sinking when it barely got to sail. “Now that you’re no longer one of my crew…” was such a cheeky line to lead into that kiss.

 

“Lily tried to change history and see what could have been, and only burned in the end.” This line is just perfect and ties in the Icarus title too. ALSO I JUST REALIZED THIS IS THE SAME ENTRY AS THE PROLOGUE WE’VE COME FULL CIRCLE WOOOOOOOO. But also oh no what’s about to happen to the crew, this doesn’t sound reassuring at all.

 

And sweet Merlin, what a cliffhanger. Did Lily get back? What does that mean for the crew? Is Guillermo going to be okay? Is the entire Daedals crew about to be erased the same way Lily started to be? I HAVE SO MANY QUESTIONS.

 

See you in the next chapter, with (maybe) less aggressive overuse of capital letters this time.

 

-Taylor

Written for the Magical Menagerie and January RvG



Name: ShadowRose (Signed) · Date: 26 Jan 2019 11:10 AM · [Report This]
Story:Icarus Chapter: All Good Things

I’ve made it my personal goal to finish binge-reviewing this story by the end of this menagerie round, so I’m back. :P

 

I love the captain’s log entries in here - they’re a nice set-up of the more serious things happening on the ship, but then you  proceed to put them in context and really bring them to life with everyone’s interactions. I’m so jealous of Lily for getting to go out in space, and I love that she’s finding so many spaces to fit in and help out with this crew, even though she’s not technically assigned a role in it. It just goes to show how much she’s found a space for herself here, both in her interpersonal relationships and in the tasks she’s able to help out with.

 

GAHHHHH I ship Lily/Celeste so hard, and unlike Lily and Marta, I think there’s definitely a bit more reciprocation in this pair. And lol at Patrick for calling her out on her blatant flirting. But also, ugh this is gonna make me even more sad when Lily goes home because she has to leave Celeste and all these people that she really loves, and it’s almost unfair that she has to choose one because she’s so happy with these people and so cute with Celeste.

 

The Agrawal story is creepy, and I’m so curious as to what happened to her. Is she dead, or trapped in another parallel universe like Lily is? Oh god, now that I think about it, has everyone in Lily’s world decided she’s dead now? Because that’s kinda depressing to think about. But I love that that serious moment was broken up by a) more Lily/Celeste goodness, and b) flying way too close to a sun for the thrill of it.

 

The birthday scene is great and shows how much all these people have come to care about her and vice versa, and I also love that she’s taken up scrapbooking because hopefully it means she’ll have a physical memento of this experience to take back with her.

 

I also adore the optimistic tone at the end of this chapter - it’s so different from the Lily at the start of this chapter, who doesn’t really know what she’s doing and doesn’t have a firm mission in life established. This Lily is so much more passionate and determined to help, and I love seeing that development in her.

 

<3

 

-Taylor

Written for the Magical Menagerie and January RvG



Name: ShadowRose (Signed) · Date: 21 Jan 2019 10:23 PM · [Report This]
Story:Icarus Chapter: Show and Tell

“So that fact I once heard about how you’re never more than six feet away from a spider is apparently true, even past the end of the solar system.” I HATE THIS FACT SO MUCH HOW DARE YOU REMIND ME OF IT.

 

On an actual let’s-actually-review-the-story note, I love that you’ve contrasted something so dull - cleaning the galleys - with the fact that they’re casually zooming by all these cool planets in far away places. I mean, I’m sure that’s pretty reflective of what actual space travel is like anyways, because those things have to get done anyways, regardless of if you’re zooming by planets, but it’s still so funny to think about nonetheless.

 

And I LOVE LOVE LOVE the conversation that Lily had with Celeste in this chapter (also, I just noticed the fact that Celeste’s name is what it is and she’s a space pilot - I like the parallel there hehe). But I think it’s really important for Lily - she’s lived a life where she’s hated her privilege and felt like she’s gotten things handed to her because of who she is, and Celeste has lived a life where she’s hated her lack of privilege and had to work for everything twice as hard, also because of who she is. It’s two totally different sides of things, and while Lily’s situation is certainly difficult in its own ways, I think this conversation with Celeste certainly opened her eyes to the fact that she’s taken her privilege for granted thus far. And I also love that she’s thinking about using her position of privilege to help people who don’t have that same privilege once she gets back to her own universe - people like that who can elevate the voices of people who are traditionally silenced (not speak *for* them, but give them a platform to speak on) are SO SO crucial, both in the real world and in this crazy sci-fi one.

 

I love that Lily’s made friends with this crew, but I also think it’s going to make the goodbye that much harder. With the people back on this version of Earth, she wasn’t close to any of them and leaving them really wasn’t that hard. But with the crew members, it’s different - I sense some upcoming emotional turmoil in that respect. 

 

Kristin, once again,  I need to tell you that this whole story is really fantastic and I cannot believe it’s taken me this long to read it. I’ll be back to binge-read even more soon. :P

 

-Taylor

Written for the Magical Menagerie event and January RvG



Name: ShadowRose (Signed) · Date: 21 Jan 2019 01:45 PM · [Report This]
Story:Icarus Chapter: 2032: A Parallel Universe Odyssey

Hi hello yes I’m back for more!!

 

Once again, I just love Lily’s sense of humour. “I’ve always preferred odd numbers to even ones” as a way of coping with losing a toe, that just sounds EXACTLY like the sort of dumb thing I’d say in that situation as well. Also, I got very distracted from writing this review after Alex’s saw comment because I swear there’s a show I used to watch when I was little and one of the jokes on it was like “what instrument do you play” and the guy was like “THE SAWWWWW” but I absolutely cannot remember where it came from and Google isn’t helping me with this one, so alas. I have a hunch that it’s Kyle from the Amanda Show (pls tell me you know who that is, otherwise I’m showing just how much of a baby I am with that one) but cannot find proof on the Internet either way.

 

I also loved the comment about forcing Alex to eat pie with her, and how she’s basically become more outgoing as a result of this adventure instead of letting people come to her. It feels like a hint as to how much will have changed in her once she gets back to her universe. (Well, *if* she ever gets back, but I’m gonna be optimistic here.)

 

And wow, I LOVE Fatima and Celeste. You’ve really developed them so well and given them such great personalities and backgrounds in just the short few chapters we’ve known them for, and I love that they’re such complex characters. I feel like that’s been a general theme of this novel though - every character in it, even ones that might be considered minor, has such a rich history and identity and personality, and it makes all of them (and the story seem SO REAL, even though it’s founded on the way-out-there premise of like, magic and sci-fi and parallel universes.

 

This chapter as a whole was a lot less action-y, which was actually so nice and refreshing at this point given all the drama that happened last chapter (and inevitably, all the action yet to come, because we’re just too far from the ending for things to go smoothly from here on out). And yeah, fantastic character development in this chapter as well.

 

Alright, I’m off to the next chapter!! 

 

-Taylor

Written for the Magical Menagerie event and January RvG



Name: adorably cute (Signed) · Date: 20 Jan 2019 12:21 PM · [Report This]
Story:Icarus Chapter: Prologue

Hi Kristin! I've been meaning to stop by and check this out for a while and menagerie has given me the perfect opportunity! (also here for January RvG)

 

Ok, so GREAT start here. I'm very interested in what exactly is happening here. I loved Lily's thing about names, because let's be real, we've all thought about it before. 

 

Lily's defintiely got some issues to work through about her semi-celebrity status, though I can imagine it would be annoying to grow up in such a shadow. Remebrance Day must be a tough day for her and her family, with all these memories, or in her case, thinking of all these stories she's grown up hearing. That'll definitely stir up some feelings in her. 

 

The Captain's Log at the beginning was a cool thing, I'm interested to see where that goes. It was defintiely an interesting way to grab my attention at the beginning and for such a small entry it packed a big punch. What war is happening now, how are they disappearing and who is even writing the entry? Great first chapter here Kristin, will definitely be back to read more!

-Sarah



Author's Response:

Sarah! I'm sorry it has taken me like 400 years to respond to this lovely review!

Haha, I'm glad you could relate to Lily's comments about the names XD And you're right, her celebrity status does have a pretty big impact on her.

V glad to hear you enjoyed the captains log as well and that it raised lots of questions for you!

Thanks so much for reading and reviewing <3

 



Name: ShadowRose (Signed) · Date: 19 Jan 2019 10:21 PM · [Report This]
Story:Icarus Chapter: Takeoff

Aaaaaalllllrighty I’m back for chapter 11, because I couldn’t just STOP after that cliffhanger, honestly.

 

God, you gotta love the irony of being like “we want you to be comfortable!” meanwhile they’re literally keeping her in captivity. That’s DEFINITELY how making someone comfortable works - lock them in a room, give them terrible food, and don’t let them shower for days on end. They’ll be happy to cooperate if you do that!!! (Also I want to see a dog the size of a bear. And I want to love it.)

 

But Iris!!! I’m happy that even this universe’s version of Iris recovered from her eating disorder, but she definitely seems a little different in this universe. But I think Lily’s assessment was pretty spot-on, that she and Iris probably still could’ve gotten along in this universe, because the similarities are still there. And that flashback was so intriguing as well, because Marta’s definitely SUCH a character. Like, following Lily around for pictures is definitely creepy, but I also love how artsy she is about it too. And Iris is the sweetest, and is somehow so nice to Marta? That’s such a strange way for their bond to have been formed but I definitely love it.

 

And then the breakout!! Not gonna lie, I kinda love that Lily did a lot of the breaking out herself. Like, go her, being a badass independent witch who don’t need no rescuer. But of all the people I might’ve expected to come to her aid at the end there, I certainly wouldn’t have expected Marta. And also, I wonder how Marta knew Lily was in love with her in a parallel universe?? Or if she even knew about that at all or if she was just winging things? And also what on earth she was expecting to do in Lily’s universe - like, I get that she doesn’t like her life in this one, but I have no idea how it would work in Lily’s universe either so I doubt it’d be better that way.

 

Also splinching a toe sounds like a whole lotta ouch - I’m glad no one at Mungo’s tried to turn her back in though, and I’ve definitely got the same macabre sense of humour as Lily, so the whole “at least they can study the toe I left” would’ve been my reaction as well.

 

She made it onto the ship!!! She’s going home!!! As long as she doesn’t die first!!! V excited to see what adventures happen in space.

 

-Taylor

Written for the Magical Menagerie event and January RvG



Author's Response:

Hi Taylor!

 

Yeah, they didn't do too well keeping her comfortable and remembering that she's a real person who is under no obligation to explain this whole other universe to them even if she is the only one there who can. Bahaha and I'm glad you love this hypothetical dog.

 

I think the main difference between Lily and Iris' friendship in this universe versus the old one is mainly that they don't have the history that they share in Lily's old universe. But yeah, a lot about Iris is very similar, whereas Marta was a lot more influenced by her environment which was more unstable than Iris'. I'm glad you liked the flashback! Haha, I think Iris really sees the best in people, so despite Marta's attempts at taking celebrity photos, Iris sees at least something positive and I think it was uncommon at that point for Marta to have people react positively and so genuinely to her.

 

Yes! I'm glad you liked that Lily was her own rescuer. And Marta does have a heart, it's just buried under a lot of defensiveness. In this case, though, I think she saw a last chance opportunity to leave, and she may have picked up on Lily's feelings for her when Lily kept trying to be friends with her earlier. and while she was probably not sure, she saw the possiblity and just winged it. Without the history of their friendship, this version of Marta is a lot more manipulative. Youre right though, I don't think it would have been much better had she gone with Lily, but I doubt anyone could have convinced her of that.

 

Bahaha I'm glad you enjoyed Lily's reaction to the toe left behind XD

Yay spaaaaace!

Thanks for the review :)



Name: ShadowRose (Signed) · Date: 19 Jan 2019 03:49 PM · [Report This]
Story:Icarus Chapter: Daedalus

This is the last chapter I have saved to my computer and then I’m gonna have to go back to doing normal boring things on this flight instead of binge-reading this fic. Tbh, I’m a bit impressed with how quickly I’ve flown through this - although that’s definitely in part because it’s just SO interesting and well-written!!

 

There’s so much tech-y stuff here! I love the detail you’ve gone into in describing the spaceship and addressing the whole magic-and-technology-coexisting thing, as well as introducing the crew of the ship. The tour was a really great way to explain a bunch of things that I imagine will become relevant in future chapters, but it doesn’t feel like a giant info dump either.

 

Oh, and RIP lost sandwich.

 

But OH GOD Marta told everyone. Ughhhhhh why is she like this?? And also why is she just standing there to rub it in? She’s actually the worst. Also shoutout to the reporter who, when presented with the opportunity to interview someone from a parallel universe, decided ‘the question I really want to know the answer to is whether or not they’ve got Marmite there. I’ve got one shot at this and THAT is the question I care about the most.’ But ugh, Lily getting detained is NO BUENO and I can only assume (read: hope) that there’s some sort of jailbreak coming up soon so that she can get on the spaceship. Currently trying to decide who’s gonna be the person that breaks her out - I’ve got no forerunner for predictions so I suppose I’ll just wait and be surprised.

 

Also, I’m pissed that this is the chapter I chose to stop at - I’m left on such a cliffhanger!! Once I get Internet again I’ll probably be back for more. :)

 

-Taylor

Written for the Magical Menagerie event and January RvG



Author's Response:

Hi Taylor! I'm slowly but surely responding to all of these. (Don't look at when you posted this review, haha) I 100% support binge-reading fic on flights. Also can I just point out that you were on a plane and you were talking about how quickly you'd flown through this fic, 50 points to Gryffindor for excellent pun (even if it was unintentional) Also omg thank you for saying this is interesting and well-written - gah! ♥ I appreciate that so much!

 

I'm so glad you enjoyed the description of the spaceship and that it didn't feel like an infodump.  And thanks, I'm happy to hear that the tour explained a lot and kind of eased you in to what is a suddenly very sciency/techy part of the story.

 

XD I really enjoy reading people's mixed reactions to Marta :P I'm so glad you liked that reporter - I don't think anyone else has mentioned the Marmite question but I thought it was so ridiculous and was giggling to myself as I wrote it in there so I'm glad to see it is being appreciated :P

 

Muahahaha cliff hangers, I hope you got used to those :P

 

Thanks so much for the wonderful review!



Name: ShadowRose (Signed) · Date: 19 Jan 2019 03:48 PM · [Report This]
Story:Icarus Chapter: Letting Go

I’ve just read the chapter summary, so ‘lettuce’ commence this review.

 

(I’m so sorry that was so bad I’ll see myself out now.)

 

Omg, I’ve just started thinking about this (idk why it took me so long) but if these universes are on parallel timelines, does that mean Lily’s just been MIA in her real world this whole time?? If so I can’t imagine how many people are currently freaking the freak out about the fact that she’s just... gone, and has been for a while now.

 

But ohhhhh this grocery store scene was interesting. First of all, because older Lily isn’t even all that surprised by younger Lily’s information reveal, and the fact that she doesn’t even know young Lily and is already worried about her and her safety, which is just so canon Lily. And THEN. The mysterious person spying on their conversations, because that’s definitely gonna be a thing that becomes a thing (lmao what are words) in the future.

 

Also, what’s Marta doing?? She’s definitely on one side, but I honestly have no clue which one, because she seems even more irresponsible in this universe than in the other one, which could very well mean that she’s working with the bad guys (aka grocery store coat dude) on something related to Lily. Or maybe she’ll prove to be a decent person in this universe too. I guess we’ll see!

 

(You can tell I’m live-reviewing this because I got my answer like one full page scroll later.) She’s working with grocery store coat dude! Or she IS grocery store coat dude, idk. So she’s definitely not the same Marta as in Lily’s universe - I’m glad Lily’s finally able to recognise that and see her flaws and see just how different this Marta is from the one she knows and loves, and isn’t just blinded by the similarities. Also, I’m on board with Lily here - what would she even do in a universe where she already exists once?

 

This chapter ended on such an ominous note, and I wonder if Marta will actually go through with it. I guess that’s a question for future chapters. Onwards I go!

 

-Taylor

Written for the Magical Menagerie event and January RvG



Author's Response:

Omg I laughed so hard at that pun. I don't know what that says about me.

 

I like that you're wondering about the timeline and where Lily is. It's a pretty huge thing to fLily to be worrying about on top of all the other things she currently has to worry about.

 

Older Lily was honestly more concerned that she was buying unsatisfactory lettuce, and I think younger Lily's revelation was more confusing than it was shocking to her. It's funny that you say her behavior there is 'canon Lily', as well. Because that's definitely something I aimed for, even though she *isn't* Canon Lily, and has lived a different life. But I guess her thoughtfulness is just an innate part of her.

 

Marta is on her own side. In both timelines she has had many years in which the only person taking care of her was herself, so it has made her sort of self-serving, especially here where she doesn't have as close friends as she had in the original universe. (lol and yes it was her overhearing in the grocery store)

 

Yeah, I think it was an important moment to realize that she really isn't the same person. And yeah I doubt it'd be any better for her in Lily's original universe if she were to go back with her. A previous reviewer once commented something along the lines of "how would that universe even be able to handle two Martas" which cracked me up and I think is a pretty fair question. :P

 

Thanks for the review!



Name: ShadowRose (Signed) · Date: 19 Jan 2019 03:47 PM · [Report This]
Story:Icarus Chapter: Facing the Facts

Pls tell me why I’m struggling more with coming up with the greeting for this review than I am coming up with the actual

content. Anyways, hi Kristin!!

 

The concept of bringing astrophysicists into the Department of Mysteries is SO DOPE. Like, I feel like the Department of Mysteries is already the most weirdly experimental part of the magical world, so combining it with the most weirdly experimental part of the Muggle would would do SO MANY COOL THINGS.

 

This line cracked me up - “File that statement under the heading of Most Abnormal Conversation Starter I’ve Ever Heard.” It’s totally true, though - and it’s great that Miriam just doesn’t even bother beating around the bush. But, uhhhh, oh damn, what a decision to be faced with. I mean, I imagine she’s gonna go on the spaceship - because what are you gonna do stuck on a planet where you don’t exist? - but still, that’s a hella risky gamble. Also, for Miriam to hear that she invented fine travel in another universe but can’t figure out how to in this one has got to be both a) cool and b) really damn annoying to know that an alternate you already accomplished the thing you’re trying to do yourself.

 

OH GOD IRIS. Oh no. I remember she made a comment about being “too big” in that flashback; it’s horrible that the same thing was so much worse in this universe. The friendship between those three girls really did hold them together quite a bit, didn’t it? The flashback really shows that - even though Marta was pretty tactless about it, that was apparently a million times better than nothing. It got Iris to open up instead of letting the eating disorder gradually consume her more and more. And aww, Julian got mentioned here as well - I’m glad Lily was able to point out that he didn’t care about appearances as much as Iris had convinced herself he would, and Marta’s line about greeting cards was perfect for lightening the mood. The way these three interact as friends and make each other stronger/better is so wonderfully apparent here.

 

And that’s the moment that got her to make the decision to go on the space journey, which is also just so telling about how much those friendships mean to her.

 

Another lovely and intriguing chapter!!

 

-Taylor

Written for the Magical Menagerie event and January RvG



Author's Response:

haha. Hi Taylor!

 

Astrophysicists in the Dept of Mysteries would undoubtedly yield so many cool things. Like the spaceship. But also probably so many ridiculous conversations. I would love to be a fly on the wall (or like, a department of mysteries employee) on the day that the astrophysicists first came in and were trying to handle all these magical things that are against the laws of physics and finding ways to incorporate it in with science, bahahaha

 

Miriam is a busy woman and has things to do, so we are gifted with that conversation starter XD But yeah - it certainly isn't an easy decision for Lily.

 

Thank you, I'm so glad you like the way the three of them interact and that their friendship comes across so strongly through the writing.

 

Thanks for your review!



Name: ShadowRose (Signed) · Date: 19 Jan 2019 03:46 PM · [Report This]
Story:Icarus Chapter: Lily, Meet Lily

I’m out of creative introductions.

 

AHHHH that flashback!!!! It explains so much! I love how you’ve weaved in how Lily ended up with a crush on Marta, and how she became friends with Iris, and how her personality has changed over time. You’ve also very much got the teenage girl mindset of “we’re dating and we’re gonna be together forever” down on Lily’s part, even though that’s obviously not the reality. But this flashback is so perfectly placed to really show exactly why Marta’s rejection last chapter hurt so much for Lily.

 

Also, yet another relatable moment - Lily’s attempt at waking behind a group of people and not being able to get the pace right WHY DO I RELATE SO MUCH HELP. But then she gets hit by a car, which I..... can’t relate to as much. I like the detail of it being Iris’ neighbour, and also, totally do not blame Lily at all for straight-up bursting into tears. I mean, getting hit by a car and meeting your grandparents who don’t know who you are is enough to send anyone’s emotions into overdrive.

 

Ugh, okay, I’m lowkey grateful that my Snape/Lily prediction didn’t come true - like you, I am uhhhhh way too much of a Jily fan to support that, and I agree that Snape probably would’ve gotten into the dark arts even without Voldemort specifically. Also what decision on this universe led to this version of Harry being named Henry? But also OMG “oldest son” JILY GOT TO HAVE MORE KIDDOS, WHICH IS BASICALLY MY DREAM FOR THEM.

 

But also, more discoveries! Ophelia, who’s basically the James II of this universe (and Leah, the Ginny? I can’t tell just yet if Leah’s his wife). Sirius married a Slytherin! But is still friends with James himself, so clearly the Voldemort thing didn’t affect his allegiances or whatnot. Marlene/Remus is a thing!! And Peter/Bertram, apparently!! And Peter’s not a traitor here (although what would he betray, idk why I’m surprised by that).

 

Ooh, I love the space elements of this!! Space technology would definitely be massively improved with magic, and could definitely help with the whole “it takes forever to get anywhere” part of it. Also I’m gonna get tremendously off-topic here and this is now the second review I’ve said this in, but I’m pretty sure I’m naming my next cat Balthazar. For absolutely no reason whatsoever other than that I think it sounds cool.

 

But Lily’s realisation at the end of this - that these are totally different people than her real grandparents and the war had a drastic impact on their personalities and relationships - is a really important one for her, I think. And hopefully Miriam shows up soon and has at least some answers for her - poor girl deserves *some* good news at some point, haha, although the journal entry at the start of this makes me think it’ll be a while longer before things start looking up for her.

 

Also, re your author’s note, I totally feel the whole ‘oh wait that wasn’t supposed to happen’ thing - sometime stories just get a mind of their own and it’s just like...... ok, I suppose this is what we’re doing now.

 

-Taylor 

Written for the Magical Menagerie event and January RvG



Author's Response:

Haha. I'm glad Lily's mindset here came across well as a typical teenage girl, haha. Her characterization is also quite heavily drawn from the little we see of her in the DH epilogue, and how she took one little event and ran with it in her head - when James mentions he saw Teddy and Victoire kissing at the train station and it's clear that this is a surprising new thing and Lily makes a comment about them getting MARRIED. like omg give it a little time. and just based on that one line, I've got this image of her in my head as somewhat of a sentimental romantic at heart even if she doesn't really show it outwardly as much when she grows up. But of course she got super attached to Marta too, and there have been little asides in the narrative that indicate she's still hung up about her ex-girlfriend Anna.

 

I also love that the awkward following distance is so relatable to you XD It's something that happens to all of us, but no one ever writes about! But then the car and then her grandparents, yeah, it's a lot for one day :/

 

Idk what made them decide on Henry instead... They had more time to talk about names? I don't remember whether it was mentioned here but in my head at least, Henry is younger than Harry. YES THERE WERE MORE JILY BABIES <3

 

Writing Peter here gave me more emotions than I expected to have. Like, as a character, I really disliek him for being a bad friend, but here... he wasn't. He just had the potential to be one, but you can't hate someone for that, because he hadn't done anything. V complicated.

 

Yay, thank you! I'm so glad you like the space elements! I just love the idea of magic and technology working together! In space! 100% in support of you naming your cat Balthazar. That's a pretty epic cat name.

 

Poor Lily - she does deserve some nice things to happen to her for a change!

 

Thanks for reading and reviewing!



Name: ShadowRose (Signed) · Date: 19 Jan 2019 03:38 PM · [Report This]
Story:Icarus Chapter: Tabula Rasa

I’m baaaaaack (with a massive drop of five reviews this time, no less).

 

Oh man, Lily’s really getting sent on a wild chase in this universe, isn’t she? This version of the Ministry is SO strange - honestly, the idea of doing tours for Muggles seems plausible but also so bizarre. Also as someone working at the Ministry I would HATE that - I worked for an NGO last spring that was connected to a presidential library and as a result people would show up for tours all the time and even though they didn’t usually come all the way back into the part of the building where I worked, it was such a pain when they did. Also, I’m surprised Lily didn’t immediately realise she doesn’t exist when her wand didn’t scan, but I suppose she also could’ve just been a totally different person and as a result gotten a totally different wand.

 

Lol chasing after an address from 40 years ago is... not necessarily going to be the most successful endeavour, so I’m glad Lance was there to catch her afterwards and make sure she didn’t just get hopelessly lost or anything. Honestly, he’s such a good dude - just willingly accepts that Lily’s from another universe and helps her out in all these different ways even though he doesn’t need to. What a great friend.

 

And Marta!! Omg, she really has gone in such a different direction - and she’s understandably way creeped out by Lily and Lance. Like, honestly I think my reaction to Lily would be way more similar to Marta’s than to Lance’s - I would definitely be calling security, haha. I think Lily’s last statement to her says a lot about how Lily views their friendship, which is kinda sad for her because it sucks that she knows that a good reason Marta befriended her in the first place was for the fame/money. I feel so bad for Lily at the end, but also lol at Lance’s reaction because omg if that ain’t the typical awkward male reaction to someone crying.

 

-Taylor

Written for the Magical Menagerie event and January RvG



Author's Response:

Omg you're so right in that people working for this Ministry probably hate the tours XD Like you're trying to get work done and Muggles are wandering around sending Snapchats of being inside a magical building. XD

 

Lily is really just running on her last fumes of hoping things will turn out how she imagined it in her head, and this is the chapter where she finally realizes that it's out of her control.

 

Lance really is the MVP of this chapter despite not knowing what to do when Lily (who is still an almost stranger) cries on his shoulder. And haha right I honestly can't blame Marta at all for her skepticism and distrust of Lily following her. Lily's last statemenet to Marta is kinda sad, yeah. There was that element to how they first met, which is kind of irrelevant after years of actually being friends, but Lily is kind of taken back to that time as she's trying to become friends with Marta for the first time in this new universe. :-/

 

Thank you so much for the review!



Submit a Review